nissan frontier 3.2

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Paullct

nissan frontier 3.2

Postby Paullct » April 28th, 2011, 3:27 pm

Good afternoon to all,

As some of you may know I've been on this forum before asking for opinions and views to make a decision on buying a second hand truck.

Although the information was useful and very much appreciated, i got a good deal on a car and ended up going with that.

I recently sold that car and I am thinking all over again about going diesel. But I'm looking to purchase something brand new and also something a little more on the cheaper side in terms of cost.

I did my research and came across the Nissan Frontier. The basic one with the 3.2 N/A engine (QD32 i believe). As before, I'm just looking to get some feedback/opinions, pros and cons, etc etc on this truck as the price is actually just about in my range and its 4x4 to boot!

I also checked lighthammer's blog (very good job btw) but dont see anything on this particular vehicle there.

All comments are welcomed and i look forward to your continued help and support.

Regards,
Paul

MrCuddles

Re: nissan frontier 3.2

Postby MrCuddles » April 28th, 2011, 4:38 pm

QD32 is wat alota maxi men runnin.....so needless to say its a very strong, reliable and durable engine
parts are also readily available an maintenance/running costs are on the lower end of the scale
being non-turbo means dat acceleration wont be dat great, but in terms of torque dat 3.2L packs quite a punch
for mor info u can pm Rutless Tiida, he has a 3.2L Frontier

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 28th, 2011, 5:08 pm

Thanks MrCuddles. I'm hoping Rutless Tiida would share some of his experiences and information on this thread so I'll wait for his post

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 28th, 2011, 5:10 pm

yup. whatever u do don't buy a ranger. dem van no good... :)

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 5:16 pm

we have a 2.7L Frontier at work and I really like the instant response from that N/A Diesel. it is a slow vehicle, but the smooth power delivery from down low in the rev range makes it an easy driver..

if the 3.2L has similar power & torque curves, i'd strongly recommend.

more info here..
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=125305

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 28th, 2011, 5:31 pm

sierra...offa rangers

but paul the common problems ive heard with frontiers are:
1) clutch problems
2) diff problems

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 28th, 2011, 5:40 pm

Haunted wrote:sierra...offa rangers

1) clutch problems
2) diff problems

X2.
my unc had one. prob changed the clutch @ least 3x before deciding to sell it. could have been a bad egg but others complained about the same as well.....

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 28th, 2011, 7:44 pm

Haunted wrote:sierra...offa rangers

1) clutch problems
2) diff problems

hmm...I'm waiting to see what Rutless Tiida and anyone else who has had first hand experience with it says.

thanks daryl :wink: *ahem* i mean Haunted 8-)

ps. if I don't buy a van, I have another monster waiting for me to purchase :twisted: but I'm trying to make the smart decision here and buy the van and cool myself for the hour :roll:

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 28th, 2011, 8:48 pm

hahaha buy the monster....i tlkin to some padnas who hav frontiers and i go let u kno what dey say bout it

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 28th, 2011, 10:35 pm

Haunted wrote:hahaha buy the monster....i tlkin to some padnas who hav frontiers and i go let u kno what dey say bout it

haha we'll see...and remember is not just the frontier...but the 3.2 non turbo one...maybe u could talk to sango..he have one...but doh say is for me :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » April 28th, 2011, 11:22 pm

bought my 3.2 frontier in 2001 and i nvr regret d day i bought it.fuel economy is great, low down torque is amazing for a NA and engine response is quite well. but it is QUITE DURABLE and can take mileage , the suspension as with all frontiers abit bouncy due to the torsion bar suspension but performs well offroad, it has manual running hubs and is less cosmetic than the 3.0T equipped ones
Recommending a frequent oil and filter change for long engine life.
as for clutch and diff like these guys spoke off................i'm running all original an no probs yet ** knocks wood**........ as so my cousin who has 338 xxxkms on his

if you ask me i'd definately recommend
best bang for buck

Paullct wrote: But I'm looking to purchase something brand new and also something a little more on the cheaper side in terms of cost.
Paul

is N&M still bringing in these??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 29th, 2011, 6:06 am

^ yes they are bringing them in - $155K for the 3.2L 4x4.

It's great value for money, the frontier is just as durable as the Hilux. Not as comfortable as other trucks, but excellent value for money.

THe QD32 engine is a workhorse that will be faithful to you once you keep it well maintained with regular oil-changes and filter changes. The engine is very strong, the torque is excellent and it will pull like an ox. It's not fast like a Navara, but it will get the job done - every single time.

For $155K, and it comes with 4x4 with LSD - that's a great value man.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 29th, 2011, 7:57 am

cant go wrong with the Frontier - very good truck, just one thing i can't handle with it - is the suspension.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 29th, 2011, 9:05 am

Thanks a lot guys, especially sliderz. That's the kinda response I was looking for. Of course, I will take very good care of it as I do with all my family vehicles.

Any other comments from any owners or anyone with experience with these trucks are still welcomed. I'm looking to make a decision first thing next week.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 29th, 2011, 9:15 am

even if u buy a 3.2 frontier which has less creature comforts than the 3.0, u can still add on and get conversion kits......like p/w, p/l, roll bar, duraliner, fogs, whatever u may desire to make her a bit more appealing to you......
i personally find they does pull real good, they jus not as fast as others and a bit more noisy after some age, but that's small issues......

one good thing about the 3.2 is that its not common rail, so parts will be much cheaper and it wont f-up with our dirty fuel.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 30th, 2011, 12:48 am

get the qd32 frontier and do this to it.....

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 30th, 2011, 9:16 am

haha looking real good. Don't worry if I do decide to get it I'll do my share of tasteful mods to it.

I'm thinking some 22" chrome spinners, under carriage LED's, drop low suspension, etc etc :twisted:

Haunted knows my taste in mods :roll:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 30th, 2011, 11:35 am

Paullct wrote:haha looking real good. Don't worry if I do decide to get it I'll do my share of tasteful mods to it.

I'm thinking some 22" chrome spinners, under carriage LED's, drop low suspension, etc etc :twisted:

Haunted knows my taste in mods :roll:

:out:

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 30th, 2011, 12:25 pm

MrCuddles wrote: :out:

hahaha :lol: i was expecting that response...but we all know i was just kidding

this is my favourite truck of all time and more my style :wink:

termite01

Postby termite01 » April 30th, 2011, 7:55 pm

I have a D22 with a QD32 with no problems at 255km, i stick to original parts except for filters.

If its the D22 model i have posted the service manual. If its not, you can use it for the engine information

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 30th, 2011, 11:03 pm

Paullct wrote:

^^^ Hooray!!
:wiggle: :wiggle:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 1st, 2011, 8:58 pm

Paullct wrote:

ok, u can stay....jus dont make jokes like dat, yuh go raise men presha in here!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 2nd, 2011, 12:47 am

^^ LOL!! kool it dey shasta! :P hahaha!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 2nd, 2011, 9:08 am

dat SR5 is a beast there paul......

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 2nd, 2011, 9:34 am

droppa wrote:dat SR5 is a beast there paul......

you got that right droppa. my favourite truck of all time

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 2nd, 2011, 11:13 am

Question:

How is the QD32 Frontier offroad? I know it has the manual hubs. Does is affect offroad performance at all? Is it better or worse if any? I was told it has a rear LSD, how well does it perform?

Anyone with experience please share.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 2nd, 2011, 1:13 pm

they does wukk real good, was in las cuevas once, b4 it get so bad and a 3.2 real get on, no excessive wilding up, jus made his way tru impressively...

IMHO having manual hubs on the jimny and auto on the surf, both are good, some offroaders say the manuals are alot stronger, some say the autos engage and dis engage for themselves, i beg to differ.....with manuals u have to come out in the rain/mud/sand and lock up cause its not reco to drive them onroad, with auto when u inside and engaging yuh 4wd.....manuals need servicing more frequently, they take in more dust and water.....but thats eh no biggie, 6X10mm bolts, some wd40, some purpel blaster and a quick lube....

if i could choose, id choose manuals...

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 2nd, 2011, 3:32 pm

Great response. Thanks again droppa.

When you say one has to get out in the mud and lock up cause its not recommended for onroad use, let's say i was going into the las cuevas trail, will i not be able to stop right before the trail, lock up, put it in 4wd and drive thru? Also, won't I be able to drive on the beach in 4wd?

Another question:

When to use 4H and when to use 4L? I have an idea but I would like to hear from people with actual experience.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 2nd, 2011, 7:25 pm

jus before u enter d actual trail u can get out and manually lock ur hubs so its not dat inconvenient UNLESS u try goin tru in 2WD, get stuck an den hv to com out to lock ur hubs.....dat wood relly suk!!

drivin on sand in 4WD is recommended because d vehicle's power is distributed across all 4 wheels so once u keep ur accleration smooth u wont bog down

4H is ur high-range gears; dis is used in less extreme conditions such as loose sand, gravel, dirt and in slippery situations ware mor traction is needed

4L is ur low-range gears; dis is used wen maximum power is required such as in deep mud, snow, rock-crawling and wen towing large, heavy objects

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 2nd, 2011, 7:52 pm

Thanks MrCuddles. That information is comprehensive enough.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”