Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 7:58 am

tru..but its basically the same..
the 9780 is just a refresh of the 9700 with a 5MP camera( which the torch has) and more memory (512 mb) , the torch has 4gb of memory built in.

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 8:33 am

i need some help tuners..
i got a 9780 two days ago..set up everything including email.. everything working fine except: i can send emails but i cant receive. it is not even being pushed to my phone.

Called tstt numerous times but like they dont kno they a$$ from they elbow.. :|

Does it take long to switch over to a new device from ur old one on d bmobile network?
Anyone else experienced this and solved it?

Dunno if it matters but im on a corporate plan with the 5MB Data plan.

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2011, 8:55 am

resend service books, it's in the email settings

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 8:59 am

tried resending service books..tried battery pulls...tried deleting the email address from setup and recreating it..
nothing.

starting to think d prob is on hotmail end. but it was workin fine on my past BB. :?

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » May 26th, 2011, 11:28 am

hi...ppl...i currently have a storm...when i go to check the credits (*120#)...the phone calls the number...any solutions to this problem? Any help will be appreciated..thanks.

Postby foss » May 26th, 2011, 11:37 am

get post paid, the problem will be fixed.

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » May 26th, 2011, 12:59 pm

^^^^^thatz d onli solution???

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 1:36 pm

what u mean by "the phone calls the no"?
it supposed to jus say "requesting"

i have post paid tho.. lol @ foss

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2011, 2:00 pm

is it digi or bmobile

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 3:03 pm

for all those ppl who try to get hotmail on their BB. hotmail servers are very inefficient with pushing emails and present problems, sometimes u dont get any.
i ended up forwarding all my emails to my blackberry.com email in order to get emails pushed to my phone. :|

Postby foss » May 26th, 2011, 3:05 pm

push it back and start to wineeeee

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2011, 3:07 pm

simple solution, leave out hotmail
keep up with the times
hotmail is so mirc

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 3:13 pm

yea i kno.. :oops:
but everybody have that email..cant jus switch..all my accounts for amazon, new egg, etc are linked to that email.. too much work to switch imo

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2011, 3:15 pm

even simpler method

to all,
please note that my new email is .....................................
kindly update your address book accordingly

regards
*insert name*

note, insert name means that you put your name, not insert name

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 3:19 pm

and then i hav to go to every website i order from and change my credentials..na..
its alot simpler to jus forward d emails.. :lol:

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2011, 4:21 pm

not my fault you decided to stay with an outdated, email provider, who has a history of their accounts being hacked easily

casper

Postby casper » May 26th, 2011, 5:46 pm

^^^what email u recommend then?

Postby Kenjo » May 26th, 2011, 6:53 pm

casper wrote:^^^what email u recommend then?

gmail is probably one of the better email options.if you do open a new gmail account you can just forward your hotmail messages to it and that will save a lot of time.if you have gmail in a normal desktop browser you can use chat without having to install any software although this is available in hotmail and yahoo also.for the rest of the year gmail gives you free calls to the US also so check it out

i have a pearl 9100 from tstt for the last 6 months has anyone ever had a problem of the lateral edges of the keyboard being raised and the keyboard light is escaping from the sides.i had noticed that the keys at the edge were double typing letters before i noticed this.

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » May 26th, 2011, 7:07 pm

S_2NR wrote:what u mean by "the phone calls the no"?

I know it suppose to say "requesting"..but it calls the number as if im trying to contact someone......but this phone was brought from away and unlocked so i don't know if that could be of any problem.

tr1ad wrote:is it digi or bmobile

well i currently have a digi sim but same problem with bmobile sim.

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 7:48 pm

mastamind17 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:what u mean by "the phone calls the no"?

I know it suppose to say "requesting"..but it calls the number as if im trying to contact someone......but this phone was brought from away and unlocked so i don't know if that could be of any problem.

tr1ad wrote:is it digi or bmobile

well i currently have a digi sim but same problem with bmobile sim.

i rel loss..this is a first for me..
did u try googling the problem?

Postby bushwakka » May 26th, 2011, 8:53 pm

casper wrote:stuck inna dilemma between a bold 3 or a torch...help please...dunno which to get

doh get no torch bai....flip and slide phones always more prone to failure....more moving parts.....candybar solid one piece ftw!

Postby Stephon. » May 26th, 2011, 9:11 pm

bushwakka wrote:
casper wrote:stuck inna dilemma between a bold 3 or a torch...help please...dunno which to get

doh get no torch bai....flip and slide phones always more prone to failure....more moving parts.....candybar solid one piece ftw!

Now a days people don't have phones long enough for it to go bad, by the time 6 months reach the phone old and it's time for an upgrade :lol:

Postby tr1ad » May 27th, 2011, 12:14 am

mastamind17 digicel to check credit i think its *120#
bmobile is *140#

Postby S_2NR » May 27th, 2011, 7:37 am

na..i had prepaid ..to check credit on bmobile is *120#

on post paid, checkin account balance is *140#

casper

Postby casper » May 27th, 2011, 8:22 am

^^checkin balance on post paid is either or...*120# or *140#

one gives u ur current bill and the other gives u ur current bill + arrears i believe

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » May 27th, 2011, 9:46 am

ppl...thanks for the help...when i phoned digicel they said the phone was brought from abroad hence that is the problem...If i purchased it from trinidad or a digicel or bmobile store it would have worked fine..

btw to check credits are *120# for both digi and bmo.

Postby tr1ad » May 27th, 2011, 2:18 pm

bullsh!t.... try reinstalling a OS

casper

Postby casper » May 27th, 2011, 3:17 pm

got me one of these...its a Bold 3 (9780)

fastest and most problem free berry i've owned up to date...i pass through a 8320 (1st gen curve with wifi NO gps), 8310 (1st gen curve with gps NO wifi), 8800 (1st gen world your/world phone), 8900 (javelin), 8520 (2nd gen curve), 9550 (storm 2) so far,....and well now onto my 1st in d Bold series...i'm impressed...best built device so far out of the bunch i owned...now see why blackberry consider the Bold series their flagship series...

keyboard supposedly is the best keypad blackberry ever bring out daz why they use the same exact keypad in most of their high end phones...bold 1 9000, bold 2 9700, bold 3 9780, tour 9630, torch 9800 and other high end blackberries seemn to lean towards this same exact keypad just in diferent colors

i's ok but IMO not the best keypad d brand ever had...i rather the spaced out keys like what the curves have, ESPECIALLY the 83** curves...they're easier to press and less likely to make erros...only think i dont like wit all curve keypads is the annotying click they make while typng whereas the Bold style keypad iz completely silent

this is the keypad for the javelin

and this is the 8300 series keypad

^^^best keypad IMHO!!!

curve 8520 uses the same as the javelin and the storm 2 uses either optical qwerty or optical suretype which takes a few days almost a week to get used to..

WRT to a comparison to a Bold 2...i'd say the bold 3 is an excellent upgrade if u comin out of the javelin or curve series....but if u already have a Bold 2 u won't appreciate the upgrade cuz it's physically the same phone...jes double the RAM and better camera...Bold 2 have 256MB RAM and the bold 3 have 512MB RAM...so the doubled RAM comes in very useful to properly run OS6 which compared to OS5 is chalk and cheese...the Bold 2 can do an OS update of OS6 and runs pretty smooth,...but the Bold 3 is more capable of running OS6 more effiiciently given that it has double the RAM

camera is far more beter...talk dun..lolz...the camera on the Bold 3 is in fact clearer and better than the Torch's even though they both are supposedly to have d same 5MP camera...d camera on d Bold 3 is less laggy and shows truer colors on the LCD

compared to the torch it alls come down to if u want a candybar (1 piece) blackberry or a sliding one with a big screen...i chose d candybar 1 piece bold cuz i doh trust sliding touch screen phones wit d amount of messaging i do...and i heard the touch screen isnt that accurate on the torch so most ppl use the keypad to type instead of the touch qwerty...i did fraid that constant sliding up and down of the torch wudda wear out the strip in it quick as i do plenty messaging from meh phone per day...

even though the specs on both the torch and the bold 3 are the same (same processor and same RAM, same camera too) only thing is different besides the physical aspects of the both is the internal device storage in which d torch blows out d bold 3 in...bold 3 have 256MB internal storage and d torch have 4gigs...so u dont really need a memory card with a torch unless u happen to full up that 4gb somehow...but this is really minor to me...cuz i didnt even full up the 2gb memory card in my storm 2 when i had it...

battery life on d Bold 3 is excellent...i unplug meh phone from charger this morning and used d phone alot to download stuff from d app store, type on bbm, and jes use normal functions of d phone and it still on 3/4 battery...doing those same stuff on my storm 2 i wudda hadda charge back d phone since 2pm cuz it wudda be blinking on red...i suprised i dont even need to charge d phone before leaving work :o ..on gsmarena they have d specs that the bold 3 talk time is longer than the torch too...so it has better battery life than the torch by bout 40 minutes - 1 hour on talk i believe

overall, its a real good phone if u want somn that gonna last u long and u lookin at most practical instead of bling...if u want the best cosmetically lookin blackberry in d market right now and u wanna feel like u get d MOST out of ur money spent then get the torch as the bold 3 and the torch is a few hundreds difference in price...if u want somn more reliable IMO den go wit d bold 3

Postby S_2NR » May 27th, 2011, 3:50 pm

have a bold 3 as welll..
ur rite..it bess
the stock os is buggy tho.
upgrade the os to os 6.0.0.546 official and yu ornnn!

best build so far. :mrgreen:

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 27th, 2011, 4:01 pm

I fully agree with casper "especially on the 8300 keyboard"
I have a torch it has been great, vs bold 3 like he said it comes down to preference
i enjoy best of both worlds i honestly hardly touch other than when im on the move/music
the tracpad is very fast and accurate mostly there are a few times where touch is faster/better but lets just say ...sometimes forget i could touch lol.