PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » May 28th, 2011, 12:32 am

Some pics of my systems from last year:

This was when i had 4 5850 cards, sad the board coulda only take 3 gpus.
Did just put together the system for benching so cable management wasn't done.

This was when i had 3 towers, only have the middle case now along with a next armor and an ANtec 1200.

System on the left:

Middle system:

System right:

Gonna build over my 2 desktops so new pics would be uploaded when i'm done.
Core i7 and AMD Phenom x6 systems. :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 28th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Officially jus realized I really don't need a high end pc at all! I'm to bz with work and running a business and wen I'm not. It's time to go lime and drink a cold one. U guys have fun! If I do build a power house for my photography needs it wud b an amd x6 and no less dan 6gb ram. Dats it. Normal board and ssd.

On a side note. Forking iPhone and auto correct. I nearly jus fling it typin dis

Postby Chimera » May 28th, 2011, 12:23 pm

any idea where I could get this locally?

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Adv ... s_572238_4

circuit zone had it listed for $1300 but they don't have any in stock and don't know when they getting.

Postby bushwakka » May 28th, 2011, 1:36 pm

shizzzz.....HCCA i didnt realise a 750W PSU cud push dem 3 cards....i hav de same PSU running only one 470gtx yes.....talk abt overkill lol

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 28th, 2011, 2:01 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:any idea where I could get this locally?

circuit zone had it listed for $1300 but they don't have any in stock and don't know when they getting.

wizzzzz for around 1200 wholesale

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 28th, 2011, 2:09 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:any idea where I could get this locally?

You could also check PRW

Postby M_2NR » May 28th, 2011, 2:17 pm

if push comes to shove, ask RapToR ;)

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 28th, 2011, 6:46 pm

bushwakka wrote:shizzzz.....HCCA i didnt realise a 750W PSU cud push dem 3 cards....i hav de same PSU running only one 470gtx yes.....talk abt overkill lol

It also pushed two GTX 295s overclocked as well in the same system. ;)

Another low wattage psu i had that i stressed out and it stood up to the beating was an Antec 550 Basiq modular psu. Had two Radeon HD 4870s overclocked (crossfire) and a Xeon E3110 dual core cpu at 4.5GHz that time. Woulda buy a next one for a mid range system but the Corsair TX750 (x2) i have is the best psu for mid-high end systems as i proved.

Gonna be selling the Core i7 system soon but i just waiting on a good gpu to throw in there.
The 6 core AMD system proving more than enoguh for my gaming and application needs. :D

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 28th, 2011, 6:56 pm

bushwakka wrote:

lol yes....my 775 still fulfilling all my needs...

ditto,still on a 775 here myself,Q6600 actually.Works great as all i do on this system is media streaming and interwebz browsing.

kevinsonny

help please!!!!! (pc tech guys)

Postby kevinsonny » May 28th, 2011, 9:24 pm

i have a western digital 160gb passport usb external hdd , today when i plugged it in, it shows up on device manager but not on my computer ,i tried everything witched cables tried different pc and still the same problem what could be the problem here guys? please help i got some important files that i need, is there a scan i can try and see if i could at least get back my files? thanks

Re: help please!!!!! (pc tech guys)

Postby hydroep » May 28th, 2011, 9:51 pm

I came across a similar problem with the 500GB model. It turned out to be a shorting USB port on the unit itself.

In that case, I was able to get it working temporarily by playing around with the USB jack that plugged into its port.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 28th, 2011, 9:59 pm

u cud ask in the pc thread dey cud help yuh dey

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 28th, 2011, 9:59 pm

hopefully you have the old WD My Passport
if it's a faulty USB port you can open up the drive and connect it to a SATA cable in your desktop PC and se if you get access to it.

the older WD Passport is just a SATA laptop drive in a USB powered case

If it's a new model WD My passport then you're screwed cause the USB is built into the HDD controller

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ebMZogXA7U

Postby skylinechild » May 28th, 2011, 10:00 pm

kevinsonny wrote:i have a western digital 160gb passport usb external hdd , today when i plugged it in, it shows up on device manager but not on my computer ,i tried everything witched cables tried different pc and still the same problem what could be the problem here guys? please help i got some important files that i need, is there a scan i can try and see if i could at least get back my files? thanks

why not take out the hard drive out of the enclosure.....and try it with another enclosure....???? that way you can see if it's your enclosure or the hard drive

Postby M_2NR » May 28th, 2011, 10:18 pm

Ok.. i finally realized why i would need to upgrade...

VMwared it and 4GBs + 2 cores is not enough to share up.. Performance hasnt taken a hit yet but im sure if i use this virtual os more it will.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 28th, 2011, 10:32 pm

^^ well done

starting to work with NXTop

Postby M_2NR » May 28th, 2011, 10:56 pm

nice.

i eh gone complicated at all... that was a preloaded setup. Download, extract, install, point to file and boot. No headache at all

Postby cinco » May 28th, 2011, 11:36 pm

peeing on it tends to work for me

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 28th, 2011, 11:37 pm

wdmc

talk ting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 28th, 2011, 11:50 pm

LOL

Windows 7 x64 + Object Dock + OSX wallpaper
desktop.jpg

Postby M_2NR » May 29th, 2011, 12:31 am

LOL

did that on ubuntu 8.04 i think.

Chiney,
http://www.mahmood1.com/Mac_OSX_Lion_vm ... dowsPC.php
enjoy!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 29th, 2011, 1:06 am

M_2NR wrote:LOL

did that on ubuntu 8.04 i think.

Chiney,
http://www.mahmood1.com/Mac_OSX_Lion_vm ... dowsPC.php
enjoy!

ooh shiny ... noice!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 29th, 2011, 1:06 pm

i didnt want to actually do it m2nr.. u forget i have a mbp

but..for my work pc...why now :D

duane...link one time!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 29th, 2011, 1:15 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 29th, 2011, 1:31 pm

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 29th, 2011, 1:51 pm

ru$$ell wrote:
bushwakka wrote:

lol yes....my 775 still fulfilling all my needs...

ditto,still on a 775 here myself,Q6600 actually.Works great as all i do on this system is media streaming and interwebz browsing.

same thing I have...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 29th, 2011, 4:56 pm

gracen wrote:EVGA's first CPU cooler

http://www.evga.com/articles/00631/

It is a rebadged Swiftech Polaris 120 but different color/fan.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 29th, 2011, 5:12 pm

fouljuice wrote:
gracen wrote:EVGA's first CPU cooler

http://www.evga.com/articles/00631/

It is a rebadged Swiftech Polaris 120 but different color/fan.

Even the SR-2 power supply they have is ah Antec TruePower Quattro 1200 which more cheaper than the EVGA.

It have better air hsf anyway.

r4v1t3ch

Postby r4v1t3ch » May 29th, 2011, 10:09 pm

not enough power sometimes to the drive. Configure the port to 500mah or more. or try it on a desktop. or last soln jus take out drive

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 29th, 2011, 10:21 pm

http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=28024,42772,

I currently have the one on the left, should I buy the one on the right?

It's 0.8GHz more but has a 1MB cache (my current has 2MB)
and it has a higher bus/core ratio than my current which I read up on and they said 'the lower the better'