Re: TSTT to offer IPhone4

Postby Captainzaak » June 2nd, 2011, 2:29 pm

OMGZ, that iPhone4 is gonna run soooo sweet on 4.. 3...EDGE :|

Postby Sky » June 2nd, 2011, 2:32 pm

^^^Exactly. I was wondering what network they throwing these on.

Postby Stephon. » June 2nd, 2011, 2:37 pm

Hopefully this means 4g coming soon for mobile phones?

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 2:38 pm

The current iphone 4 doesnt support 4G.

Postby Habit7 » June 2nd, 2011, 2:39 pm

Captainzaak wrote:OMGZ, that iPhone4 is gonna run soooo sweet on 4.. 3...EDGE :|

sarcasm aside TSTT has had 3G and 4G (Blink on the Go) just that you won't get coverage throughout T&T

shesh

Postby shesh » June 2nd, 2011, 2:42 pm

hmm interesting, wonder if threy gunna be factory unlocked or have some special software installed to have them locked to bmobile.... i highly doubt it would start at 5500 if they are just a retailer...

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2011, 3:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:OMGZ, that iPhone4 is gonna run soooo sweet on 4.. 3...EDGE :|

sarcasm aside TSTT has had 3G and 4G (Blink on the Go) just that you won't get coverage throughout T&T

for phones or computers?

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 3:13 pm

ShanaEnterprises wrote:hmm interesting, wonder if threy gunna be factory unlocked or have some special software installed to have them locked to bmobile.... i highly doubt it would start at 5500 if they are just a retailer...

im thinking it most likely will be locked. See here:
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1937

now if they offering authorized unlocks is another thing tho.

and yes.... we have 3G and 4G already but DATA not VOICE. Unless things change, your gonna buy an iPhone and end up on a shitty edge network.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 2nd, 2011, 3:29 pm

knowing TSTT, I'm sure the base prices on a post paid plan will be nothing less than $5000.

Just look at the N8 ... that was like about $4100 post paid?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 2nd, 2011, 3:32 pm

Apple has released an official WWDC app for the various iOS devices.

One problem though...

...which leads to...

A flood of MacRumors readers have reported in saying that they are having difficulties downloading content from Apple's online download stores, including the App Stores for both iOS and Mac OS X as well as iTunes Store content. The issues appear to be widespread although not universal, as others have reported that they are having no problems downloading content.

The reason for the downtime is not currently known, although speculation has of course centered around potential preparations for Apple's new iCloud service set to be introduced on Monday at the company's Worldwide Developers Conference. Such preparations could involve the company shifting content around such as to its North Carolina data center, moves that could result in some issues with access to the content. Alternatively, Apple could simply be experiencing some sort of network problems unrelated to new product and service launches.

(Just tried again & got through though)
------

iCloud icon at Moscone West

------

Speaking during the D9 conference in California on Thursday, Adobe’s CEO, Shantanu Narayen said that his company’s feud with Apple, which was a result of Cupertino’s decision to omit support for Flash in its products, has come to an end. “Yes, the argument is over from our point of view,” Narayen said. “We are so excited about opportunities we have. We’re focused on that.” He added that Adobe welcomes, and is contributing to, the new HTML5 standard. Apple’s argument, which has been backed by many developers, is that HTML5 is a more efficient than Flash — particularly when it comes to battery consumption — for presenting and viewing streaming video and other multimedia content. “At the end of the day, where Adobe makes its money is through our application tools, as well as our solutions, (and) being able to make that content and measure that content and manage that content,” Narayen told The Wall Street Journal.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 2nd, 2011, 4:08 pm

well look at that!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 2nd, 2011, 4:34 pm

Today at the D9 conference AT&T CEO Ralph de la Vega was surprised to find out that AT&T did not sell unlocked iPhones. When asked why AT&T would not sell unlocked iPhones to those going out of the country, de la Vega responded by saying to buy the phone at full price and it would be unlocked. When the crowd and press corrected him, De la Vega said he would look into the issue.

Ralph de la Vega has also confirmed at the that AT&T is indeed working a shared data plan. For example, if you had an iPhone, iPad, and an AT&T netbook all your minutes and data would be shared from a unified pool.

Unfortunately, there is no time frame or cost associated with this shared data plan.

------

Rumors are flowing fast in the days before WWDC. LATimes reveals some additional details about Apple's iCloud service.

The iCloud service will function as many have expected. Offering iTunes users the ability to save their purchases to iCloud and then being able to listen to it from any web browser or Apple device. Apple will be offering a free trial for those who buy music from iTunes and later expects to charge "about" $25/year for the service.

The LATimes also adds without detail that "Apple would also sell advertising around its iCloud service." It's not clear in what form this advertising would be, and whether it would be present for only free or also paid customers.

Finally, Apple expects to extend the iCloud concept to movies, TV shows and other digital content. Apple will be announcing iCloud at next week's WWDC.

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 4:41 pm

How d fork yuh could be a CEO and not know that your company doesnt sell unlocked devices... :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 2nd, 2011, 6:15 pm

A glimpse of that "sweet"ness

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2011, 6:25 pm

SRASC wrote:

damm Digicel net better yes, my upload does be like 800k Up and Down is about 300k

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 2nd, 2011, 8:12 pm

]]]

L-o-L

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2011, 8:23 pm

hmm i go see about 6000 with a plan and 8000 with out and these phones will be LOCKED.

TSTT is the most expensive and the service there offer is mess.

Someone in TSTT told me 4G service will be out in ending this year to early next year. in the States Verizon wireless uses CDMA on its iPhone 4 Mobile phones. Plus Apple will be lunching the new iPhone either ending of this month to next month. i Feel the nexus 3 will give it a run for it money.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2011, 8:25 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
]]]

L-o-L

About the EDGE i have a iPhone 4 FU runing on EDGE and it runs like sheit in California and real good in POS.

i hope they bring out 4g Soon otherwise i go have to take myhotspot everywhere i go.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 2nd, 2011, 10:10 pm

Apple is always filing patents for strange and fantastic things that never seem to find their way into actual products. But an application published today details some interesting tech that we could actually see getting jammed into a future iPhone (for better or worse). By pairing an infrared sensor with the camera already on board, portable devices could receive data from transmitters placed, well, wherever. Beyond simply blasting out text and opening links like a glorified QR code, transmitters could disable certain features, such as the camera, to prevent recording at movie theaters and music venues. If completely shutting off the cam seems a bit heavy-handed, watermarks can also be applied to photos identifying businesses or copyrighted content. Some potential uses are a little less Big Brother, like museums beaming information about exhibits to a user's or launching an audio tour. Obviously third parties would have to get behind the IR push and there's no guarantee that Apple will put this in a future iProduct. Still, we're a little worried that the days of blurry YouTube concert videos may be coming to an end.

------

This iOS 5 concept video by Monkey Color shows how they think Widgets, Settings, Notifications, and Favorite Friends should work in the upcoming operating system.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 3rd, 2011, 7:47 am

firstchoicett wrote:
SRASC wrote:

damm Digicel net better yes, my upload does be like 800k Up and Down is about 300k

digicel's edge really works faster but even though on bmobile edge I get 10kbps sometimes , the pages still load faster than dial up for me or so it seems

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 3rd, 2011, 10:19 am

We’re well and truly in the middle of iPhone rumor territory these days, and everyone’s an expert it seems. Today’s latest expert to offer claims of knowing what’s going on in Cupertino is Hudson Square Research‘s Todd Rethemeier, who thinks the next iPhone will actually carry the iPhone 5 moniker and not the 4S we’ve been warming to.

Along with an amazing ability to guess model names, Rethemeier also claims that the said iPhone will feature a 4G radio, but only for AT&T’s system – no increased speed for Verizon.

For AT&T iPhone 5 users, this could mean download speeds of 5-10 Mbps, compared to less than 1 Mbps for a Verizon user. Certainly, when an LTE iPhone is introduced AT&T would lose some of its marketing advantage. However, even when that happens, the phone will be backwards compatible, so the AT&T iPhone 6 would be able to roam onto the HSPA+ network when an LTE network is not available, giving AT&T an advantage in suburban and rural areas for several more years, we believe.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, Rethemeier doesn’t share where he got this information, and simply says this scenario is ‘more likely than not. Right then, that’s confirmation right there.

Rumors of the iPhone 4S/5 have swayed from one extreme to the other over the last few weeks. Some sources claim the next iPhone will be little more than a slight revision to the already super-successful iPhone 4, while others expect a much more altered handset to arrive in stores later this year. Apple are not expected to announce any new iPhone hardware at WWDC next week, with a September timeframe expected to now be accurate for any new iPhone release – a departure from the last four releases.

Instead of new iPhone hardware, WWDC 2011 will play host to three big software show and tells – iOS 5, Mac OS X Lion and Apple’s new iCloud service are all confirmed by Apple to be part of the opening Steve Jobs keynote. Particularly exciting is the introduction of iOS 5 with many of us hoping the update will sport a new notification system amongst other much needed improvements.

------

iAndroid is a new iOS application for jailbroken devices that simulates the Android operating system experience on the iPhone or iPod touch. While it’s still very far from completion, the project is taking shape.

This App can be launched from the home screen, just like any other iOS application. The application will display a Google logo, followed by an Android-like screen that takes cues from HTC Sense user interface. The big large digital clock is easily recognizable from Sense, while the bottom slider is similar to the one found on Android’s default interface. There are a few default "Apps" built into the simulator, such as a web browser, a finger-doodling application and even a number pad, although it’s not that clear whether it makes real calls or not.

Unlike what it may look like at first, this doesn’t emulate Android in any way, shape or form. It simply replicates Android’s user experience inside a standard iOS application. That’s easy to tell, since there’s no access to Google’s Market, and in fact, doesn’t allow Apps to be installed altogether.

This application was created by fr0st, who has authored apps such as “OS Faker", which simulates both the Android the the Windows Phone 7 user interfaces on iOS. The developer has also announced a few other simulators on his website, including a PS3 simulator and even a Windows XP simulator, even though they’re all allegedly "Coming Soon" at the moment.

If you’re an iOS 4.x user and want to try this simulator for yourself, you can get it from on Cydia. Sadly, iAndroid is not available for iOS 3.x users, in order to make sure that the app works as well as it possibly can on newer versions of iOS.

Last but not least, it’s important to note that this App will require you to jailbreak your phone first, since, just like anything outside the official App Store, it’s not approved by Apple. It’s recommended that you have basic skills on how to restore your device, in case something goes wrong.

------

One of these iPhone 4s is the real thing. The other’s a fake so good that it’s actually compatible with Apple’s own 30 pin iPhone connector, as well as its headsets. Are you savvy enough to spot the fake?

It’s the one on the left, of course, but unless you’re really familiar with the fonts and shading Apple uses, you’d never guess it at first blush from this photo (although we imagine the lack of a retina display would give it away in real life).

Just look how insane the detail on this clone is! Remember, in the pictures below, the fake is always on the left:

------

According to conjecture from Linley Gwennap (reported by Barron's), senior editor at Microprocessor Report, Apple's next-generation mobile processor, the A6 chip, should be quad-core but only available in iPads.

Gwennap wrote a piece examining the structure of Apple's current A5 processor found in the iPad 2 and come up with two interesting conclusions about how Apple is using their own processor technology to advance their hardware faster and more efficiently than their competitors.

One conclusion is that Apple:
"has gone for bigger chips than the 'merchant' silicon offered by vendors such as Nvidia because it can get greater performance at the same price: Apple doesn't pay the markup it would have to give to Nvidia or another company. Larger chip, same money, in other words."

When you make your own product, you reap all the rewards--only fair if you accept all the risk of doing so.

Gwennap notes that because Apple sells so many iOS devices that use Apple's own chip technology, the cost of research and development per device is well under $1. Not a bad price to have your own processor that is outperforming anything from other companies.

Gwennap then concludes that Apple's next chip, the A6, will most likely be a quad-core processor, but will run much too hot to be included in the iPhone 5. Instead, expect the A6 in iPads only with iPhones running a version of the A5 until Apple engineers a way for the speed of a quad-core A6 processor to run cooler.

Conspiracy theorists can get in on the action too. Gwennap offers a bit of mystery surrounding Apple's A5:

"Gwennap notes that about 33 square millimeters of the A5 is extra circuitry that can't be accounted for. It's not the CPU, it's not the GPU, it's not any kind of integrated functions, such as wireless controller logic, etc., as all of that stuff is still external to the processor, as it was in the A4."

Is Apple smart to use their own chip technology in their products?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 3rd, 2011, 8:07 pm

That's new (to me). Hot off the rumors of the iPhone 4 coming to bmobile... Hmmm

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 3rd, 2011, 9:07 pm

what OS is the fake iPhone 4 running ?? is it windows mobile? ....I must say I am definitely impressed

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 4th, 2011, 11:18 am

With that being said, I thought it would be a good idea to see the phones with the highest & lowest SAR (Specific Absorption Rate) score & of course since this an Apple thread, where the iPhone falls in that list. So from lowest to highest that is (not every single phone of course)
Keep in mind they are all under the limit set by the FCC, so there's no need to freak out.

20 lowest
#01 Samsung Blue Earth, SAR Score: 0.196
#02 Samsung Infuse 4G, SAR Score: 0.2
#03 Samsung Acclaim, SAR Score: 0.29
#04 Samsung Replenish, SAR Score: 0.3
#05 (Tie) Huawei Ideos X5, SAR Score: 0.34
#05 (Tie) T-Mobile Sidekick 4G, SAR Score: 0.34
#07 LG Quantum, SAR Score: 0.35
#08 (Tie) Samsung Haven, SAR Score: 0.41
#08 (Tie) Samsung Evergreen, SAR Score: 0.41
#10 Samsung Captivate, SAR Score: 0.42
#11 Samsung Smiley, SAR Score: 0.43
#12 HTC Surround, SAR Score: 0.439
#13 Doro PhoneEasy 410, SAR Score: 0.445
#14 (Tie) Motorola Devour, SAR Score: 0.45
#14 (Tie) Motorola i890, SAR Score: 0.45
#16 Kyocera Neo E1100, SAR Score: 0.479
#17 Samsung Contour, SAR Score: 0.49
#18 HTC Imagio, SAR Score: 0.498
#19 Motorola Flipside, SAR Score: 0.5
#20 (Tie) Samsung Flight SGH-A797, SAR Score: 0.505

#21 Apple iPhone 3GS, SAR Score: 0.79
#22 Apple iPhone (2G), SAR Score: 0.974
#23 Apple iPhone 4, SAR Score: 1.17
#24 Apple iPhone 3G, SAR Score: 1.38

20 highest
#25 (Tie) Motorola i576, SAR Score: 1.45
#25 (Tie) Kyocera X-tc, SAR Score: 1.45
#27 Kyocera Wild Card M1000, SAR Score: 1.46
#28 (Tie) Motorola Atrix 4G, SAR Score: 1.47
#28 (Tie) LG Chocolate Touch, SAR Score: 1.47
#30 HTC Desire, SAR Score: 1.48
#31 (Tie) Motorola DROID 2, SAR Score: 1.49
#31 (Tie) Sanyo Vero, SAR Score: 1.49
#31 (Tie) Motorola DROID, SAR Score: 1.49
#34 LG Rumor 2, SAR Score: 1.51
#35 (Tie) Motorola Grasp, SAR Score: 1.52
#35 (Tie) Motorola Defy, SAR Score: 1.52
#35 (Tie) ZTE Salute, SAR Score: 1.52
#38 (Tie) Nokia Astound, SAR Score: 1.53
#38 (Tie) Motorola i335, SAR Score: 1.53
#40 (Tie) Kyocera Jax S1300, SAR Score 1.55
#40 (Tie) Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Mini Pro, SAR Score: 1.55
#42 Sony Ericsson Satio, SAR Score: 1.56
#43 Motorola DROID 2 Global, SAR Score: 1.58
#44 Motorola Bravo, SAR Score: 1.59

------

Call of Duty Elite, Activision’s recently announced subscription based stat tracking oddity has many interesting facets, but one that’s not been talked about too much is the mobile applications that will give users access to the world of Call of Duty on their travels. New apps for iPhone, iPad and Android are on the horizon and promise to go some way toward making the yet unspecified subscription free worthwhile.

The decision to offer bespoke apps is an interesting one, after all the company could have simply plumped for a mobile specific web page which could arguably have been an easier course of action to take. Perhaps Activision are trying to justify that fee?

One potential plus side to going the app route is the ability to either multitask or utilize push notifications for a variety of occurrence – push notifications for messages, player achievements etc. perhaps?

No word yet on a release date for said apps, though it’s logical to assume they will be ready for the start of Elite, if not before considering a beta of the service will go live soon – Activision are taking applications right now.

Call of Duty Elite will first be part of Modern Warfare 3, with Black Ops being added to the roster as well.

While the jury is still out on the whole idea of charging fanatical gamers for stats and tournament prizes, there is little doubt as to whether they will stump up the cash at the end of the day.

------

Apple has accidentally leaked a new 'Automatic Download' feature that is likely coming in iOS 5.

A MacRumors reader discovered the following statement on iTunes' update page:

Or if your device has Automatic Download enabled for apps, your updates will download to your device without having to sync.

This capability doesn't exist in iOS yet. Currently you have to sync or download app updates manually through the App Store.

Further confirming the slip-up, Apple has now deactivated the Updates page in iTunes.

------

ComScore today reported key trends in the U.S. mobile phone industry during the three month average period ending April 2011. The study surveyed more than 30,000 U.S. mobile subscribers and found Samsung to be the top handset manufacturer overall with 24.5 percent market share. Google Android led among smartphone platforms with 36.4 percent market share.

OEM Market Share
For the three month average period ending in April, 234 million Americans ages 13 and older used mobile devices. Device manufacturer Samsung ranked as the top OEM with 24.5 percent of U.S. mobile subscribers, followed by LG with 20.9 percent share and Motorola with 15.6 percent share. Apple jumped to the #4 position with 8.3 percent share of mobile subscribers (up 1.3 percentage points), while RIM rounded out the top five with 8.2 percent share.

Smartphone Platform Market Share
74.6 million people in the U.S. owned smartphones during the three months ending in April 2011, up 13 percent from the three-month period ending in January 2011. Google Android ranked as the top operating system with 36.4 percent of U.S. smartphone subscribers, up 5.2 percentage points. Apple also gained share, capturing the #2 position with 26.0 percent of the smartphone market. RIM ranked third with 25.7 percent share, followed by Microsoft (6.7 percent) and Palm (2.6 percent).

Mobile Content Usage
In April, 68.8 percent of U.S. mobile subscribers used text messaging on their mobile device. Browsers were used by 39.1 percent of subscribers (up 2.1 percentage points), while downloaded applications were used by 37.8 percent (up 2.4 percentage points). Accessing of social networking sites or blogs increased 2.7 percentage points, representing 28.0 percent of mobile subscribers. Playing games comprised 26.2 percent of the mobile audience (up 2.5 percentage points), while listening to music represented 18.0 percent.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 4th, 2011, 1:14 pm

need to know how to set a theme for a iphone 2g firmware(04.05.04_g)

Postby M_2NR » June 4th, 2011, 1:24 pm

SRASC wrote:Image
That's new (to me). Hot off the rumors of the iPhone 4 coming to bmobile... Hmmm

hmmm... what did it do though? u got settings for data or something?

I saw a guy on twitter got it pushed to his phone:
http://twitter.com/#!/kofster/status/76867048961085441

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 4th, 2011, 1:56 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:need to know how to set a theme for a iphone 2g firmware(04.05.04_g)

Shouldn't it just be a matter of going into Cydia, installing Winterboard & downloading an available theme for it?

M_2NR wrote:
SRASC wrote:Image

hmmm... what did it do though? u got settings for data or something?

I saw a guy on twitter got it pushed to his phone:
http://twitter.com/#!/kofster/status/76867048961085441

Well it changed the APN I set for the bmobile prepaid data plan from bconnected (prepaid) to internet (postpaid) (I had that before, was trying something at the time). Only just noticed that the Personal Hotspot feature is gone :(

Before update

After update

Also noticed that Kofster's Carrier in the About is different from mine

Kofster's

SRASC's

Postby Ted_v2 » June 4th, 2011, 2:06 pm

dont got cydia well it isnt working :| any other ways?

dont got a router at the moment :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 4th, 2011, 2:07 pm

Well you'd definitely need Cydia.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 4th, 2011, 3:12 pm

With Apple’s official announcement of iOS 5 just around the corner (watch this space!), concept videos for possible UI features are cropping up from all over the place and we have another one today!

A concept UI feature, appropriately titled, Dynamic Icons has the ability to, well, display different information on an app’s icon depending on what Push Notification it pushed last, à la home screen Tiles in Windows Phone 7.

Quoting the person behind the concept, Jan-Michael Cart:
Users have the option of turning on these "dynamic icons" by going to the Settings. Icons are granted the ability to change their appearance given a variety of push notifications. In turn, once the notification badge is pushed, a new icon file is displayed. These icons can have text (albeit small, but legible text due to the Retina Display), images, a mixture of the two, or something constantly changing (but based on an internal source, not using cellular data — a la Clock app that displays time).

I thought of another alternative to the widgets as well. This time, it’s called "App Preview", or just "Preview". Double tap anywhere in the grid pattern that is not an icon (one handed), or pinch-to-zoom (two handed), and the icons immediately expand as if your icon grid is 2×2. The same information and interaction typical of a widget is found on the app icon itself — the App Preview comes with the app download. No need to download anything more.

Cart doesn’t stop at this. He has also brought up an alternative to widgets which he calls App Preview. It works by zooming in on the app’s icon to show information typical of widgets right on the icon itself. App Preview won’t have to be managed separately (as is the case with Android) since the preview is coded with each app.

Here’s a video of it in action:

I'm quickly becoming a fan of these.

It’s certainly a unique approach to handling notifications and widgets, but it is the bit about App Previews that really isn’t what one would expect from Apple. The dynamic icons, though, is a fine idea and it would be a great addition to iOS 5.

------

You've taken the plunge and bought your first iPhone. You've activated your service with your local wireless carrier, connected and synced it with your main computer for the first time, and brought over as much music, photos, and videos as you can squeeze onto it. Maybe you've even played around with Apple's default apps a bit.

"Now what?" you may be asking yourself. "I've heard about all the great apps that are available for the iPhone, but where do I start?"

That's a very good question, and it's one that gets harder and harder to answer the more apps make their way into Apple's App Store. With hundreds of thousands of apps now available for the iPhone, it may seem overwhelming trying to sift through them all if this is your first few hours with an iPhone.

Not to worry, because we've got you covered. We put our heads together and came up with a list of the apps you should install first on your brand-new, factory-fresh iPhone. Keeping in mind that people from all over the world use iPhones and read TUAW, we excluded from consideration any apps that don't have full international functionality. This meant leaving a number of very cool and useful apps out of consideration, but we wanted to make sure this is a list that applies to everyone, not just US or UK readers. We also kept this list pretty simple; if you're familiar with the way iTunes separates music collections into The Basics, Next Steps, and Deep Cuts, you'll see that we very much went for The Basics for this go-around.

1. Find My iPhone - This is hands-down the first app that should go on every iPhone, and it's frankly surprising Apple doesn't include it out of the box. This free app won't help you find your own iPhone, but if you live in a house with multiple iPhones and iPads, it will allow you to find someone else's.

2. Camera+ - For US$1.99, this app does everything the built-in Camera app ought to do. Camera+ takes photography on the iPhone to levels that seem impossible on a cellphone camera. With built-in exposure controls and grid lines, you have much more control over composing your photos. Once you've taken your photos, Camera+ gives you access to a tremendously powerful suite of editing tools that can make simple snapshots look like works of art by the time you're finished.

3. Dropbox - Dropbox gives your iPhone the file storage solution that Apple still refuses to. While you can't use your iPhone like a hard drive or flash drive to store files locally (at least not without jumping through a lot of hoops), Dropbox is the next best thing. It offers online-based storage of files, with 2 GB of storage space for free. Even better, you can install Dropbox on a Mac or PC, too, which means sharing documents and files between your Mac and your iPhone is as simple as dragging the file into your Dropbox folder.

4. A messaging app - Why give your wireless carrier more money than you already do? Skype does video chat similarly to Apple's own FaceTime, but unlike FaceTime, it works over 3G (most of the time). You can also do free Skype-to-Skype audio with other Skype users, and there's a free (if basic and sometimes flakey) instant messaging feature as well. If you're already a Skype user and use the service regularly, Skype for the iPhone will serve your needs.

5. Any Twitter app - Speaking of keeping in touch, Twitter is a fully viable replacement for SMS/MMS, especially if your client app has built-in push notifications that will allow you to get instantaneous updates wherever you may be. Again, why give your wireless carrier more money for overly expensive texting packages? Chances are if this is your first iPhone, you haven't signed up to Twitter yet. Signing up is free, and if you sign up and get your friends to sign up too, with the right Twitter app you'll be able to ditch your texting plan entirely.

6. 1Password - Typing in passwords on the iPhone's keyboard is usually more of a pain than it's worth, and it's a good way to feel safe while you're doing mobile banking. 1Password allows you to store passwords for websites, bank accounts, Wi-Fi networks, whatever you may need. It's also got a great "wallet" feature that lets you input things you'd normally carry around in your wallet, like discount cards, library cards, or even your driver's license -- just don't expect the cops to accept your iPhone as legal ID if they pull you over. You can even jot down notes that you want to keep secured from prying eyes. If you want something on your iPhone, but you want to be the only one to have access to it, 1Password is what you need.

7. Instapaper - If you like to read articles online, and if you ever foresee reading them on an iPhone, you want Instapaper ($4.99). With just a bit of initial setup, you can configure a link in Mobile Safari to send articles to your free Instapaper account so you can read them later. Instapaper is an invaluable tool for creating a cache of reading material on your device. See a lengthy article that you don't have time for now? Send it to Instapaper and read it when you've got the time. Does part of your daily commute involve going through areas with no wireless coverage? Store articles in Instapaper before you leave, then read them later on the train. Instapaper's one of those iPhone apps that may not seem strictly necessary at first, but once you start using it, you'll never want to be without it again.

8. Evernote - With a simple interface that lets you make notes with text, photos, or audio, this is your brain on iPhone. This free app can also sync notes with its Mac-based counterpart, so you can type up a grocery list in Evernote on your Mac, sync it to Evernote's online servers, and have that information waiting on your iPhone when you hit the store. With Evernote on your iPhone, you never need to worry about forgetting anything again -- at least as long as you remember to look it up in Evernote, that is.

9. An ebook reader app - The thought of reading entire novels on the iPhone's tiny screen might seem ridiculous at first, at least until you try out either Amazon's Kindle app or Apple's own iBooks. If you've already got a Kindle, you can sync over any Kindle books you've purchased to your iPhone, and you can even sync your reading progress between the devices.

10. Any game - The iPhone's a great communications and productivity device, but it's also got one of the widest games selections ever. Whether you're just after some casual fun or an in-depth, full-featured experience, you'll be able to find it on the App Store. You've probably already heard of Angry Birds ($0.99) by now, and that's as good a place as any to start your iPhone gaming experience if you're just after some pick-up-and-play fun. Plants vs. Zombies ($2.99) and Tiny Wings ($0.99) are other casual titles that are good for first-timers to check out.

------

Ready for WWDC