Hakka Restuarant

Chill_Factor

Hakka Restuarant

Postby Chill_Factor » June 2nd, 2011, 7:46 pm

Just wanna get a quick run down on what people think about this place...how the food is... pricing... dress style... etc.

rdeonarine

Re: Hakka Restuarant

Postby rdeonarine » June 2nd, 2011, 7:50 pm

food not all that and over priced

Postby stev » June 2nd, 2011, 7:58 pm

where is dat place...soundin like d sound my neighbour does make on mornings :|

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 2nd, 2011, 7:58 pm

The sweet and sour pothound not too bad

Postby Redman » June 2nd, 2011, 8:04 pm

if this is the Japanese place in movie towne:
2 diners-4 soft drinks 4 cups of saki,2 appetizers,3 orders of sushi and 1 meal(pork and rice),1 dessert-about 800

The Food wad good-its sushi so we have little real competition, although I didnt enjoy the pork-personal preference-no fault of the rest.
The presentation of the food is excellent.
The service is really good-pleasant attentive and willing to inform,
The place was very clean, and the aircon kicking.

All round 7-8 out of ten

They were also accommodating-we had stuff to bring home-so they boxed it and kept it until we came back from the movie and picked it up.

We will go back.

If Hakka is not the place in Movie towne - disregard above

Later

Postby j.o.e » June 2nd, 2011, 8:12 pm

^ disregard above...Corner of Taylor St and Ariapita Ave...u are talking about Hong Kong Graffiti

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 2nd, 2011, 8:35 pm

rdeonarine wrote:food not all that and over priced

I was there last month.....long story short its the opposite of what this guy said.

Definitely worth a visit.

Postby Redman » June 2nd, 2011, 8:41 pm

j.o.e wrote:^ disregard above...Corner of Taylor St and Ariapita Ave...u are talking about Hong Kong Graffiti

Well you know all of them does look the same

Thanks for the heads up.

Later

Postby j.o.e » June 2nd, 2011, 8:48 pm

Anyway..back to the original question,the food is good, kinda Asian fusion...imagine Chinese food with a twist, food is sold in portions like all Chinese restaurants, so its very reasonable. Like u and a date will share entire bowls of the various dishes. Is not a fancy, fancy restaurant...its casual but classy dining......good ambience,interesting interior(looks like a Chinese meets contemporary design),average service. Cool for a normal date or eating out with co-workers or friends.

Postby Bizzare » June 2nd, 2011, 8:50 pm

Redman, why yuh doz ride out after every post bai?? Stay a lil bit nah....:?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 2nd, 2011, 10:42 pm

Redman wrote:
j.o.e wrote:^ disregard above...Corner of Taylor St and Ariapita Ave...u are talking about Hong Kong Graffiti

Well you know all of them does look the same

Thanks for the heads up.

Later

All of them dont look the same.....Alya men does go somewhere to eat and doh even know where it is?

They serve Hakka chinese food; similar to what Rasam in Grand bazzar does but just much better. Prices used to be dirt cheap(something like $45 a portion), but went up by $15-20 recently.
Service is horrible most days and they are very often understaffed. Expect to wait a while for your food. I once had the pleasure of waiting 15-20 minutes to get my cheque.

Dress is casual; place is usually very loud as it's a very tiny space and people somehow feel the need to shout while talking; especially the 40+ West side women during the day.

Food is however very good.
Last edited by crazychinee on June 2nd, 2011, 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » June 2nd, 2011, 10:42 pm

I like it. Definitely worth a try. Food is quite unique. Could not figure out if it was Japanese or Thai cooking. Hong Kong Graffiti is just Kam Wah by another name.

Postby DFC » June 2nd, 2011, 10:51 pm

Goood fooood!

I lieked the tofu n garlic sauce and black mushroom thingy.
And friend musrooom appetizer was bess!

Prices reasonable, ambience okayish.
Drinks sorta expensive though.

But I keep my nip of oak in my pocket!

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 2nd, 2011, 10:53 pm

My experience with Hakka is a 4/10.

Food was terribly oily and apparently not up to their previous standards as stated by people who were there before

Food is cheap, as it is portion priced

I think the Japanese place you talking about in Movietowne is Kaizan

HK Graffiti is chinese and where Long John Silver used to be

Postby bushwakka » June 2nd, 2011, 11:17 pm

vehemently disagreee....

food is something special, not chinese, not indian, not thai......a mixture of all really.....good prices too, good portions

def worth a visit

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 2nd, 2011, 11:43 pm

loved the food...nice ambience but small and if there's a crowd (which there is most times) its pretty noisy...its also pretty cheap imho...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 2nd, 2011, 11:43 pm

it small and strictly reservations or you'll have to eat at the bar or outside... food yummy but nah.. it aint worth it 3/10

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » June 2nd, 2011, 11:52 pm

Hakka are chinese who speak the Hakka Language.

They have moved all over the world as a result taking their traditional chinese food and mixing it with blends of different seasonings and spices from all over the world.

Postby bluesteel29 » June 3rd, 2011, 12:39 am

d spicy prawns does cut

Postby equipped2ripp » June 3rd, 2011, 2:18 am

Postby SMc » June 3rd, 2011, 2:20 am

I went there last year and the the food was good and the prices were very reasonable. Also I struggle to find decent vegetarian food in most places but the selection there was good.

The food seems to be a fusion of Indian (not Trini indian), Chinese and Polynesian.

Good stuffs, would reccomend

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 3rd, 2011, 3:18 am

must try them

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 3rd, 2011, 5:11 am

you serious??? food was decent and pretty cheap....

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 3rd, 2011, 6:14 am

Food and drink for 8 people came up to iirc around $1400
Food is good,ambiance is decent,service is decent.I dunno what genre the food is(some combination of what them fellas say above) but it was real good for me.
It like DirecTV-CGW.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 3rd, 2011, 6:34 am

Yeah food at hakka was okay.
As aaron said above, it really was pretty cheap as well.

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2011, 7:10 am

the name is a misnomer
the food is not bad, more of a spiced up Chinese food and definitely
not in the main road Chinese fast food category like what most people assume Chinese food is.
it is a bit greasy though.

The Chinese food available locally should really be categorized as there are several types

a good place to go which is also not in main road junk food category is Swan on Maraval road near to Newtown boys/girls school. kinda pricey though but nice quiet hole in the wall ambience

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 3rd, 2011, 8:25 am

Will let the owner know all the comments. Just to let all know the food is a mix of both indian and chinese cultures. The cooks are a combination of Indian chefs that were brought in and also some local chefs. The owner has worked hard to try and bring a new style to the country at an affordable price. The introductory price was suppose to be changed a while back and for people that say the price is too high you really need to get out and check other local prices as this was and is still being done to on the competitive side, other owners of local restaurants frequent the place and ask why is it that the prices are so low telling them that they are losing out but remember that not everyone can afford and the price fits a lot of people's budget.

As for service, that is always a problem when you have local staff that chose to show up whenever and also having a high turnover. You seldom get dedicated staff that are commited to put the customer first. Like any business there are always people there to try and rip you off and in time the service will be where it should be, the owner has taken the no-nonsense approach and he is not about giving second chances the minute you slip up you are out. Please keep the comments flowing so I can relay them, the customer's opinion is the only opinion that should matter. Just remember the food is made to be naturally spicy and the chili sauce can be requested as well on top of the regular flavour to make it even more 'firey'. Last time I posted a topic like this it was deleted, glad I am not the OP. I can also, assure you it is not dog either :lol:.

LOCO

Postby LOCO » June 3rd, 2011, 8:43 am

ZeroOne wrote:

I was there last month.....long story short its the opposite of what this guy said.

Definitely worth a visit.

^^^^^^I agree, the food was quite good, a bit on the spicy side as it is Japanese food with an infusion of east indian spices, and the price is quite reasonable as far as I am concerned. Went there the other night, 3 adults, appetizer, dinner, desert and alcohol, and the bill was just over $500.

Postby AllTrac » June 3rd, 2011, 9:01 am

Redman wrote:if this is the Japanese place in movie towne:
2 diners-4 soft drinks 4 cups of saki,2 appetizers,3 orders of sushi and 1 meal(pork and rice),1 dessert-about 800

thats actually pretty good for what you are getting and compared to the prices in other restaurants of the same caliber. If others find that is too much then they should stay the fcuk home and nyam down on dey ramen.

mossman

Postby mossman » June 3rd, 2011, 9:03 am

if it's the place on ariapita ave then you should def check this place out. the prices are reasonable (cheaper than ruby tuesdays and places like that) the food is awesome... the food is prepared in different levels of spicyness depending on how u like it. service was good. the ambiance is nice, place is clean, decent crowd.