The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

mojosodope

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » June 5th, 2011, 7:43 pm

oh k I understand now, yeah if you want you have two options.

1. stay on 4.2.1 and you get all your full bars.

2. do a clean restore to 4.3.3 and gevey will work with your full bars, the one bar is an issue when you use a lower baseband that what is meant for the ios.

also I think there's a fix in cydia for the 1bar issue if you're jailbroken.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQNBi9LwDcs
Last edited by mojosodope on June 5th, 2011, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 5th, 2011, 7:44 pm

Nice.

Would like to be on the latest os.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 5th, 2011, 7:47 pm

I remember when the dev team told the unlockers that have preserved the original unlockable baseband to hold off on upgrading to 4.3.3, they had to update ultrasn0w in order to fix the 1 bar issue, any ios after 4.2.1 had that issue.

do a clean restore and you should be fine . have fun with updating your iphone normally now :D

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 5th, 2011, 7:52 pm

Good.

Well I going to run iTunes and let it update to 4.3.3.

Taking your word the regular gevey would work. Don't know what BB it will be updated too though.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 5th, 2011, 9:26 pm

you have to do a complete restore since you preserved your baseband... it updates your baseband to the latest which is 4.10.01

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGHUjaUy ... h_response

that video ^ ^ shows it working with the regular gevey if you wanted some video proof..

if you need any help feel free to send me a DM

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 5th, 2011, 9:34 pm

Disclamer

GEVEY PRO PLUS and GEVEY SUPREME are NOT gevey products. These are imitations and do not work as advertised.

They are advertised as being an untethered version of the gevey pro and you don't need to dial the 112.

I have spoken to the official distributors of the gevey pro sims (applenberry) and they said an untethered version is in the works and the public will be notified via their website when it is ready.

hopefully tho we wont need to use any other unlock solution (we being bmobile iphone 4 users) when bmobile launches their iphone network in a couple weeks :D

..hopefully they'll be able to transfer the imei's from whichever network we got our iphones from and in most cases it's AT&T

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 5th, 2011, 10:20 pm

M_2NR wrote:actually that reminds me... SRASC... delete CallerID and format fix and test it and see if it works for we na?

Survey says, nope.

------

Used zcrugby's Atrix 4G for the 1st time Saturday. Aside from the camera launching very quickly, I can't say I was particularly impressed. The picture gallery (aka Photos) took forever to load it seemed, though he did note he had some tweak installed that I think limited its speed or something like that.
Since then my brother's Galaxy S was rooted (jailbroken) & man that was some major surgery in itself. I've used that phone as well since then & it does feel a little more clunky than it was prior. Also learnt that through rooting you basically get a bare OS in its place where you have to put everything back on.
Long story short, I'll stick with iOS for a while with no regrets. Can't wait for WWDC :) , though it'll suck I wouldn't be able to see event live :( .

------

TechCrunch has posted a photo that shows Twitter notifications integrated into the iOS status bar. The site is unsure if it's an authentic image; however, their sources say it's the "right idea".

Again, no clue if it’s actually real or not, but the idea might be right. Notifications that come down from the top bar could be how Apple ends up doing things in iOS 5. After all, this would mimic already existing functionality — when tethering, a blue strip appears along the top; when on the phone, it’s a green strip. Might notifications (or at least Twitter notifications) produce a gray strip?

Postby M_2NR » June 6th, 2011, 7:29 am

mojosodope wrote:hopefully tho we wont need to use any other unlock solution (we being bmobile iphone 4 users) when bmobile launches their iphone network in a couple weeks :D

..hopefully they'll be able to transfer the imei's from whichever network we got our iphones from and in most cases it's AT&T

yea :| roight

those iPhones are tied directly to AT&T eh. Just remember that. If you tried activating an iPhone from another legit carrier. Say a rogers sim with an AT&T iPhone, AFAIK it doesnt work. (We tried it a time)

SRASC wrote:
M_2NR wrote:actually that reminds me... SRASC... delete CallerID and format fix and test it and see if it works for we na?

Survey says, nope.

:cry: :cry: :cry:

oh well.. jailbreak ftw. And yea.. i decided a while now that i cannot switch. Im too deeply "rooted" into iOS.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 6th, 2011, 8:17 am

anyone has a link to stream the WWDC LIVE?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 6th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Check Engadget.com. Seems that Apple not streaming this year.

07:00AM - Hawaii
10:00AM - Pacific
11:00AM - Mountain
12:00PM - Central
01:00PM - Eastern (Trinidad & Tobago)
06:00PM - London
07:00PM - Paris
09:00PM - Moscow
02:00AM - Tokyo (June 7th)

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 6th, 2011, 12:43 pm

thnx

I using this stream jus now they had video of the area for a little while

Postby M_2NR » June 6th, 2011, 12:46 pm

WWDC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Its started!

Phil wrote:1:06PM "They're great not just because of the hardware, but because of the software they run."

yuh dun know

___

Right now its all about Lion and multi-touch

___

Now its mission control (cant wait to VMWare this!)

___

Well look ting...

and doesnt this look familiar..

___

yay twitter integration!

___

Camera button on lockscreen and you can use vol+ to take pics (bye bye snaptap)

___

Rich Text Editing for Mail app!

___

global dictionary support!

___

new additional keyboard layout for iPad (great!)

___

OTA Updates and no need to activate using a pc... hmmm

___

2:10PM "In just 9 months we have 50 million Game Center users. To put that into perspective Xbox Live has been around for about eight years and they have around 30 million users."

ouch!

___

Good bye BBM and Whatsapp. Hello iMessage

Technicolor

Postby Technicolor » June 6th, 2011, 1:59 pm

Tab browsing for safari

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 6th, 2011, 2:14 pm

these updates are amazing, i gotta get an unlocked iphone now, this iOS5 has all the sheit we've been asking for.

Postby M_2NR » June 6th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Bezman wrote:these updates are amazing, i gotta get an unlocked iphone now, this iOS5 has all the sheit we've been asking for.

i know right.

i bet they would have to say sorry 3GS and iPad 1 or something....

EDIT:

YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

thank God 3GS is getting it. Im sure as hell it will lag but new notifications FTW!!!

___

iCloud time

this is great!

___

Honestly... one word comes to mind for me... Finally!
But I must say Apple has me sold again... :oops: sorry android... UDFR

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » June 6th, 2011, 2:37 pm

All in one word

Boom!

Technicolor

Postby Technicolor » June 6th, 2011, 2:51 pm

icloud.....it just works

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 6th, 2011, 2:51 pm

:snipersmile: :faint:

Technicolor

Postby Technicolor » June 6th, 2011, 2:52 pm

iCloud stores your content and wirelessly pushes to all your devices. Everything happens automatically.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 6th, 2011, 2:52 pm

lol wow @ the things u guys get excited for...:lol:

Postby M_2NR » June 6th, 2011, 2:57 pm

mitch wrote:lol wow @ the things u guys get excited for...:lol:

LOL yuh back again this year bai? dont let me whatsapp bez and bring Duane for yuh now yuh know

Postby M_2NR » June 6th, 2011, 3:00 pm

and thats it... WWDC keynote is over...

(no new iPhone)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 6th, 2011, 3:30 pm

So when is it available to try ? :P

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 6th, 2011, 3:32 pm

Not sure if anyone saw this ...

iFaith allows you to dump your iPhone SHSH blobs, no matter what Apple is signing, jailbreakers rejoice
June 5th, 2011 byPrasad
Mobile software

Good news for iOS jailbreakers. Developer iH8sn0w has released the iFaith tool, which allows you dump SHSH blobs of your current current firmware on your iOS device even if Apple closed its signing.

In case you are not a regular jailbreaker and are wondering what SHSH blobs are, here’s the deal. Apple allows you to install only the latest available version of iOS on your device. If you need to use an older version, such as for jailbreaking or unlocking, you can only install those by emulating Apple’s authentication servers on your computer (easier than it sound).

In order to emulate them though, you need those bits of code that are unique to every iPhone. They are called SHSH blobs and they are like authentication tokens that validate the process of installing the respective version of iOS.

Those blobs change with every firmware version and to install a specific firmware, you need to have the blobs for it. To get those blobs previously you had to generate them and save them on your computer while the firmware in question was the latest and the real Apple serves were still issuing the blobs for it. Once that firmware was no longer the latest, you had no way of getting the blobs anymore.

What iFaith does is generate the blobs straight from the firmware that your device has without caring what is the latest firmware that Apple servers are signing at the moment. Essentially, it allows you to reinstall an older firmware or to downgrade to older firmware without the prior need of downloading those SHSH blobs.

It’s quite a breakthrough in the iOS hacking world really. Gathering SHSH blobs for each firmware versions “just in case” was a real pain before. But iFaith makes it all easy-peasy now.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 6th, 2011, 5:03 pm

Apple WWDC 2011 Conference

Apple has just updated its free Find My iPhone app for iOS devices. From the release notes accompanying the 5.2MB version 1.2 update.

• when you are unable to locate a device because it is is offline, you will receive an email if the device comes online and is located
• ability to remove an offline device from the list using the app

------

Interesting note from the changes to OS X today. Apple is ridding itself of the “Mac” moniker.

------

iTunes 10.3 is out. (Or at least Apple.com says it is. Downloads are still 10.2.2 apparently)

------

The cloud is already covering...

Clicking the iCloud icon downloads the app to your iDevice. Pretty sweet.

------

"We may not be the first but we will be the best"

bmobile EDGE... Well least it tried.

Unless in iOS 5 the iPod app becomes a Music app, I think Apple boo boo'ed.

------

Just a warning to any iOS 5 compatible device owner who may by chance get a hand on the new upcoming firmware. Devices updated to iOS 5 beta can not be restored to earlier versions of iOS. Of course they will be upgradable to future betas & the final release.

------

Apple is once again upping their accessibility game with iOS 5, this time adding LED flash and custom vibration patterns to better inform users when calls and other alerts come in. Interesting.

------

As with every major iOS update, some existing apps essentially become useless through new features announced by Apple. Mac|Life has put together a good list of 10 of those affected this go round. Lifehacker has put together a list of apps you can get now to get some of announced features of iOS 5.

Postby ismithx » June 6th, 2011, 7:38 pm

link here nah.... http://gizmodo.com/5808937/apples-new-i ... -mac-stuff

and I nearly wet my pants when iHeard the price of Lion.... good stuff

Bezman

Re: TSTT to offer IPhone4

Postby Bezman » June 6th, 2011, 7:59 pm

Habit7 wrote:Cable&Wireless Communications, the minority shareholder in telecommunications provider TSTT, last week reported that its share of the after-tax profits of the local company had declined by more than half from US$19 million (TT$121.6 million) in 2010 to US$7 million (TT$44.8 million) in 2011. Cable&Wireless Communications, which owns 49 per cent of TSTT, is the London-based group that owns telecommunications companies throughout the region. Cable&Wireless Communication’s share of the revenue also experienced a marginal decline. For the year ended March 2010, the group’s share of TSTT’s revenue amounted to US$238 million (TT$1.52 billion) while its share of the local company’s revenue declined to US$232 million (TT$1.48 billion) by the end of March 2011. In its annual report for the year ended March 31, 2011, issued on May 25, Cable&Wireless Communications also announced that it will roll out the iPhone4, the highly successful Apple phone, in its Caribbean markets, including its joint venture in Trinidad and Tobago.

A TSTT source said the company would launch the iPhone4 in the next few weeks and described the launch as “a very exciting opportunity to bring one of the most innovative products in the world to Trinidad and Tobago.” The official said that TSTT has been prevented by Apple from providing much pre-launch publicity on the product. Asked whether TSTT would have exclusive rights to sell and service the smart phone in the local market, the telecommunications official said: “It is not exclusive, but when we launch we will be the only authorised Apple distributor of phones.” Verizon, the US mobile provider, released the iPhone4 in February. On March 2, 2011, at the iPad 2 event, Apple announced that they have sold 100 million iPhones worldwide and that by leveraging solid volumes and the iPhone’s high selling price, Apple became the largest mobile handset vendor in the world, surpassing long-time leader Nokia.
Cable&Wireless Communications may be hoping that the launch of the iPhone4 provides a boost to TSTT’s sagging results.

Of TSTT’s three main lines of business, it experienced declines in the number of its mobile and fixed-line subscribers but double-digit growth in the number of its broadband subscribers. The company had 288,000 fixed-line subscribers in 2010 but this declined to 277,000 subscribers in 2011. TSTT, however, saw a 13 per cent growth in the number of its broadband subscribers with those jumping from 82,000 in March 2010 to 93,000 in March 2011. At the end of March 2010, TSTT had 883,000 mobile subscribers but this had declined to 877,000 by the end of March this year. The company’s disclosure that it had 877,000 subscribers at the end of March raises questions about whether TSTT can still boast of being the nation’s number one mobile provider. The quarterly market report published by the Telecommunications Authority of T&T states that T&T had 1,839,695 mobile voice subscribers as at March 2010. This suggests that TSTT had 48 per cent of the local market and its bitter rival, Irish-owned Digicel, had 52 per cent of the local mobile market 14 months ago. At the end of 2010, the total number of mobile subscribers in T&T inched ahead by 2.6 per cent to close the year at 1,894,240 subscribers.
While TSTT has concentrated its marketing might on attempting to blunt the Digicel onslaught, it also faces a threat from Flow Trinidad’s introduction of its triple-play package offering television, Internet and telephone services to T&T.

Explaining the TSTT results, Cable&Wireless Communication wrote in its annual report: “TSTT faced difficult economic conditions resulting in fixed line and mobile usage declines, whilst settlement of union litigation and increased handset subsidies to maintain market leadership further impacted results. “We also saw increased levels of depreciation following capital investment in the network during the year.”
Asked to comment on the TSTT results, the company’s chief financial officer Rakesh Goswami noted that 51 per cent of TSTT is owned by National Enterprises Ltd (NEL), which is a company that is listed on the local stock market. Goswani said: “We cannot and should not comment on any TSTT results until they are declared by NEL. “We are not allowed to talk about TSTT’s numbers that have not been declared by our parent company.” NEL, which comprises shareholding of the State in TSTT as well as Tringen, Phoenix Park Gas Processors, Atlantic LNG and the National Flour Mills, is expected to release its March 2011 results this month.

Trinidad Guardian 2/6/11 http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... too-high-0

if TSTT really bringing it, they will have to sell it for Apples MSRP, same everywhere else in the world from an authorized telecom partner

phones will NOT be $5000, they will be subsidized through the carrier contract. you will have to sign a 4-5 year contract, with a predetermined data plan (EXPENSIVE) and phones will sell for the apple manufacturer suggested retail price of ~$200 USD..

check phone prices world wide from authorized carriers.. the only way they would sell for 600-800 USD would be if they are unlocked, which they will not be, they will be locked to TSTT, which i would have no prob with..

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 6th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Can anyone recommend a better/faster application for me to transfer .ipa files from Pc to the iphone?

I'm using WinSCP but it takes long to transfer files.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 6th, 2011, 8:19 pm

We just loaded up Apple’s brand new iOS 5 on our iPhone and iPad 2, and man… we’ve been waiting a while for this stuff. For starters, notifications with Notification Center are so, so necessary, and while we haven’t lived with it for a while, we can already see how much of a difference this will make in daily usage. Also, the Twitter integration? Ridiculously slick and easy. Now, the really interesting part… iMessage. We haven’t found anyone to use this with, so we’ll report back, but it’s tied to your Apple ID which is how your iPad and iPod touch can make use it of, since they obviously don’t have cell phone numbers. Well, you know, the iPod touch doesn’t.

Preference to open pages in Safari in a new page or in background (amazing!).
    More alert choices for emails, calendar, and the ability to buy more.
    Ability to create keyboard shortcuts (autotext) to replace custom phrases. The default entry is “omw” which is replaced with, “On my way!”
    Software update option in settings to check for the latest OS.
    Sync now button to wireless sync to iTunes
    Ability to customize how notifications in Notification Center look — you can customize how many recent ones to show, 1, 5 or 10, if it’s showed in the lock screen, if it’s in Notification Center, and also the alert style, banner or alert style.
    Twitter installs directly from the settings page if it’s not installed directly, you aren’t even taken to the App Store.
    FaceTime button in iMessage messages at the top now
    Tweeting photos is, so so slick. It displays on Twitter as powered by Photobucket, and it’s from iOS.
    There’s a new option to print out from the Maps app… hilarious.
    You can make new albums right from the device itself in Photos.
    You can move and add photos to albums.
    Doesn’t look iMessage is fully baked in here yet.
    You can customize the default alert times. This is so needed — so now when you enter a calendar entry, you don’t have to set the default alert time you like — I’m a 15 minute calendar alert type of guy.
    Email flagging doesn’t look to be enabled in this beta, though S/MIME support is. Never mind, it is. You have to go into the message and tap “mark”.
    It seems that Reminders sync with Exchange (Tasks basically), but you can’t set location-based reminders if you’re on Exchange, just with iCloud. You can selectively choose where to sync the reminder though, it’s just not streamlined if you use Exchange.
    You can set the caller ID for FaceTime calls, so if you call someone, you can choose it to display your cellular number or email address.
    In the weather app, there is a new pane for a current location which will show you weather for wherever you are.

Bye bye Connect to iTunes screen

So the iPod app did change to a Music app. Hmmm

New look for the On/Off switch

New Email message tones. Nice.

Integrated Twitter. (Would have preferred Facebook personally)

Hmm, Read Receipts. That's a new one

New keyboard shortcuts option

New Set Up

Can't wait to see that on my own iPhone 4

Newstand

Reminders

------

iTunes 10.5 beta.

Re: TSTT to offer IPhone4

Postby M_2NR » June 6th, 2011, 9:21 pm

Bezman wrote:phones will NOT be $5000, they will be subsidized through the carrier contract. you will have to sign a 4-5 year contract, with a predetermined data plan (EXPENSIVE) and phones will sell for the apple manufacturer suggested retail price of ~$200 USD..

4-5 years contract? There i thought my padna was on a 2 year one in the US?
AFAIK its 2 years or more but i doubt its 4 years :shock:

also wont it be the 200usd figure PLUS whatever VAT and Duties?

_____

Gah! So where are videos now? i hate that the iPod app is seemingly gone :cry:

(Although as of lately i got fed up of syncing and was just streaming everything)