a warning to all about email passwords

Postby ismithx » June 7th, 2011, 9:12 pm

REMEMBER TO MAKE YOUR PASSWORDS SECURE!

Just heard a horror story from my friend... His sister's hotmail got hacked and used to send spam. The story is that she couldn't log into it, it was blocked, and the recovery email address was some strange email.

So when i checked out the scene, the original password still works (must be brute force at work there) and i was able to change that. However the account is still blocked, i tried to get into the recovery (hotmail account) email, that email happened to be blocked too.

I check the recovery email for the recovery email, which is a brazilian email, and that one turn to be blocked too. However, the recovery option for the brazilian email is by call only, and i certainly can't provide any details about the person. So just to recap

Original email - blocked for spam
Recovery email - blocked
brazilian email address for recovering previous account - blocked

weeeeyyyy them not easy yes... and i was so looking forward to messing up the hacker's account....

So the moral of the story is to make sure your passwords are insanely strong... the email password that got cracked was about 10 chars long, with numbers and letters. take mine as an example for security - 16 chars with symbols, numbers, and letters.

REMEMBER TO MAKE YOUR PASSWORDS SECURE THESE PEOPLE NOT EASY
Also look into securing all of your account recovery options (security question, sms, etc.)

I AM WARNING YOU!

rodfarva

Re: a warning to all about email passwords

Postby rodfarva » June 7th, 2011, 9:14 pm

Most common passwords: love, sex, secret, and god

Postby foss » June 7th, 2011, 9:17 pm

rodfarva wrote:Most common passwords: love, sex, secret, and god

*makes note*

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 7th, 2011, 9:19 pm

happened to me twice.. recovered both times

Postby cinco » June 7th, 2011, 9:20 pm

tell we yuh password nah so we can use it as example

Postby S_2NR » June 7th, 2011, 9:22 pm

cinco wrote:tell we yuh password nah so we can use it as example

Postby foss » June 7th, 2011, 9:25 pm

cinco wrote:tell we yuh password nah so we can use it as example

kinky.

Postby gastly369 » June 7th, 2011, 9:29 pm

my password is 26 characters long :| :|

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » June 7th, 2011, 9:31 pm

OP story happened to an Ambassador to one of the embassies here. I still working on the case.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » June 7th, 2011, 9:31 pm

Viva la Résistance
Last edited by rodfarva on June 7th, 2011, 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » June 7th, 2011, 9:32 pm

another common password is "password"

i kid u not! :lol:

Postby foss » June 7th, 2011, 9:33 pm

saxman642 wrote:OP story happened to an Ambassador to one of the embassies here. I still working on the case.

The Ambassador using hotmail?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » June 7th, 2011, 9:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:another common assword is "assword"

:?

Postby foss » June 7th, 2011, 9:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:another common password is "password"

great now everyone knows :roll: :roll:

W2J

Postby W2J » June 7th, 2011, 9:38 pm

foss wrote:
saxman642 wrote:OP story happened to an Ambassador to one of the embassies here. I still working on the case.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 7th, 2011, 9:39 pm

here's mine:

Postby K74T » June 7th, 2011, 9:39 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:here's mine:

yuh old thief :x

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 7th, 2011, 9:43 pm

sorry, here is my other one:
••••••••••

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » June 7th, 2011, 9:45 pm

rodfarva wrote:Most common passwords: love, sex, secret, and god

watch Hackers recently?

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » June 7th, 2011, 10:02 pm

man say he was told a horror story yes. lol

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » June 7th, 2011, 10:06 pm

foss wrote:

YES! (believe it or not!)

Postby foss » June 7th, 2011, 10:08 pm

saxman642 wrote:
foss wrote:

somehow I wanna think it was his daughters email address, and he was 'spying' on her.

W2J

Postby W2J » June 7th, 2011, 10:12 pm

saxman642 wrote:
foss wrote:

is this a supplied machine from embassy?

Postby Bizzare » June 7th, 2011, 10:29 pm

What these hackers have is a list of common passwords, a list of email addresses and a bot to try every password against each email address. This is done in seconds. So imagine you have 1 million email addresses and about 500 popular passwords to check against each of them. Might take a while, but one must go through. I don't see what hackers get outta crack an email address though :?

Also, its easy to get in on data sent through a wireless network, like we do at the office here :D.
MAJOR TIP IS NEVER USE YOUR EMAIL PASSWORDS ON OTHER SITES. For example if I get your Tuner password, I'll log in to your Tuner account, check your email address in the UCP and go try to login your email account using those details. I feel thats the ambassador's story with whatever site he had.

Also, suppose Duane and company were peeping Toms. The can configure phpbb to dump all passwords in its raw form (currently encrypted) in some file or database anytime someone registers or logs in and go try that same password for your email account when the feel a bit nosy. :) Never trust any site, so again never use your email's password on any other site.

I created a Facebook like page (phishing) and always send people messages saying "You have 41 friend request etc" directing them to it so when they try to log in, the its sends their FB details to me and redirects them to the real Facebook link, so they think they probably entered the wrong login details and carry on. Not a corrupt guy so Its all for entertainment as I usually tell them.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 7th, 2011, 11:03 pm

hotmail... bleh,,,, yahoo mail ftw!

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 7th, 2011, 11:34 pm

don't ever use hotmail as your main e-mail client, as sheep stated yahoo (or gmail)

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 8th, 2011, 12:09 am

hackers ahhhh

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 8th, 2011, 2:45 am

I accept your warning!

Postby SMc » June 8th, 2011, 2:51 am

zcarz wrote:don't ever use hotmail as your main e-mail client, as sheep stated yahoo (or gmail)

:lol: I get catch with that right through

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 8th, 2011, 3:34 am

SMc wrote:
zcarz wrote:don't ever use hotmail as your main e-mail client, as sheep stated yahoo (or gmail)

:lol: I get catch with that right through

always......bess he change it to sheep and done.. :D