Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 5:12 pm

^notice where the links take u to?

the uk site...

lol.JPG

Aaron 2NR wrote:dammit......hope digi step up to the plate...lol

I doubt it. But in the article on Guardian site
Asked whether TSTT would have exclusive rights to sell and service the smart phone in the local market, the telecommunications official said: “It is not exclusive, but when we launch we will be the only authorised Apple distributor of phones.”

Lets hope Digicel can do something and break that only talk :D

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 5:18 pm

I'm interested in their prices & plans for it. Also would be nice if we got back Personal Hotspot! Well as you said M_2NR, we've got < a week to find out...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 5:22 pm

I still can't believe that Apple will allow a carrier to sell their phone without having 3G data.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 6:05 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I still can't believe that Apple will allow a carrier to sell their phone without having 3G data.

This.
I for one was thinking it was a requirement from Apple. I feel they will supplement the devices with the 4G Hotspots but that will be meh.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 6:28 pm

true it is weird that apple allowed it without 3G but who knows if we get a suprise along with the launch :O. but if they try doing that '4G with your Android phone' with the iphone. F that.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 7:09 pm

I can confirm bmobile works with the iphone 4 on iOS 5.0 beta 1 with the gevey pro

also tested the internet and it works as normal for mobile internet and personal hotspot.
AT&T locked

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 7:21 pm

^this is excellent news mojo!

btw how u got iOS 5, you got your UUID reg'd with a dev? or you used the trick gizmodo outlined?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 7:27 pm

gizmodo's tricked was flawed alot of the stuff didn't work from what i heard so I just paid $5 u.s to some dev and downloaded the torrent for the file, I must say tho this is the first ios beta i've ever tried and it's pretty damn nice lol. not using it as my main phone tho still have 4.3.3 on my main iphone 4.

*by flawed I mean is that i read that certain features didnt work such as iMessages etc and you had to re do the process everytime the phone turned off and you were not able to sync new data to the iphone via itunes. I tried it out for like 5 mins and decided to just spend the 5 bucks.
Last edited by mojosodope on June 9th, 2011, 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 7:29 pm

damn nice sir! If you dont mind im gonna share this with macrumors and 9to5mac etc. :)

and yes... your name on it...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 7:32 pm

lol no problem man just trying to help out the apple community in trini...i really dont care about the name thing tbh haha, btw I called my apple support and they said that there isn't one network in the world that officially caries the iphone 4 that doesn't have 3G. not to be pessimistic but I really don't think apple would make an exception..especially here lol.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 7:34 pm

I wonder if the iPhones bmobile plan on selling would have proper Caller ID or would bmobile's site have to have instructions on jailbreaking?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 7:38 pm

btw something I just noticed, I put my AT&T sim card back in the iphone 4 running 5.0 and I noticed that instead of roaming on digicel as 374130 it now shows up as DIGICEL.

network selection is automatic and when turned to manuel the two networks still show up as TSTT and 374130, not Digicel.

just thought it was interesting, never saw it as Digicel before and I've had it roaming for almost a year (data off obviously)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 7:40 pm

SRASC wrote:I wonder if the iPhones bmobile plan on selling would have proper Caller ID or would bmobile's site have to have instructions on jailbreaking?

the carrier settings only applied to factory unlocked iphones right?

If that didn't fix the caller ID problem I would expect a second carrier settings update when the service is officially launched.

I really, really doubt that bmobile would be stupid enough to post jailbreaking instructions on their site if they do in fact have a contract with Apple... but then again,.....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 7:49 pm

Lol, the jailbreak thing was a joke. Not sure if the carrier update only concerned factory unlocked iPhone 4s or just iPhone 4s alone.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 8:02 pm

oh haha my bad but nah I think it was only factory unlocked ones because when I plugged in my gevey pro unlocked one it didn't show any updates available.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 8:11 pm

SRASC wrote:I wonder if the iPhones bmobile plan on selling would have proper Caller ID or would bmobile's site have to have instructions on jailbreaking?

i lol'd. If i went to that press conference i would certainly ask them A LOT of stuff about 3G and why it isnt here and that callerid thing. But of course there wont be any questions like that asked there and then :roll:
(lets hope some press see this and get a hint)

mojosodope wrote:btw something I just noticed, I put my AT&T sim card back in the iphone 4 running 5.0 and I noticed that instead of roaming on digicel as 374130 it now shows up as DIGICEL.

network selection is automatic and when turned to manuel the two networks still show up as TSTT and 374130, not Digicel.

just thought it was interesting, never saw it as Digicel before and I've had it roaming for almost a year (data off obviously)

lol @ manuel xD

my padna had a joke with that.

and yea it shows up as both DIGICEL and 374130. When i did the carrier logo mod i had to account for both.

and dude... good job on the gevey and whatever recog. u get, yuh deserve it :)

mojosodope wrote:oh haha my bad but nah I think it was only factory unlocked ones because when I plugged in my gevey pro unlocked one it didn't show any updates available.

remember they are activated legitimately so that's why. :)

BTW we hadda start charging for Jb's im certainly upping my price... :|

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » June 9th, 2011, 8:16 pm

a good question would be if they offer imei unlocking like other third party operators worldwide
sounds good

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 8:19 pm

haha thanks man...bro if I had a chance to question bmobile first thing I would ask them is why do they have to be so lackadaisical when it comes to innovation and the second would be why verizon customers roaming here get to use the VOICE and data capabilities of the 3G/4G blink network and we dont! especially how blink only has the license with the gov to utilize the data streams on it :O (so iv'e heard)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 8:33 pm

hang on....

rewind to last week Wednesday - a tuner working bmobile mentioned to me in passing that they were rolling out 3G data on their voice network soon and that all the equipment and hardware was already acquired.

I brushed it off as something that wont happen till 2015, but in hindsight it might happen alot sooner with this iPhone 4 rollout.

I am hoping it is not some bolt-on EDGE Evolution that will peak at 1Mb/sec just to barely make the 3G standard to say it's 3G.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 8:35 pm

Boy... I was once a bmobile hater.. (ok lemme rephrase) i am a bmobile hater. Yes Digicel /almost/ runs on top of bmobile but as in the 3G thread, to them it wont make them money apparently and until we lobby the big boys in TATT (thanks to the person who pointed that out) we hadda suffer. But seriously... I was thinking the same thing... How on earth we are getting the i4 and there is no 3G..

I having a feeling tho... in my mind... (doubtful it will happen) but would TSTT launch 3G alongside the i4? hmmmm

yea D, someone told me by end of the year... but what if they launch it alongside the i4.. that would be super. *starts the rumor mill* :lol:

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 9th, 2011, 8:42 pm

Or maybe they will offer the pricey 4G hotspot crap with the iphone4 like that android deal.

Heavy price tag to begin with and then high long term bills.

I sure this will be the only downside but yet still trinis will flock to it ... and then we will might half of them on sale on tuner.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 8:43 pm

think positive HA!, iphone 4 launch coupled with the launch of TSTT's 3G service. Sounds like a possibility to me.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 9th, 2011, 8:49 pm

As much as I would welcome that to use all features of the i4 ... I'm positive the price is gouing to be discouraging ... as a recurring monthly fee that it.

So you think that means Trinidad will be listed as official in the iTunes store?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 8:52 pm

I think the price may range from $200 - $250, just for the 3G data service. I'm not sure if they would charge extra for tethering features.

but that iTunes store question is a really good one..hmm I have no clue all of this is speculation but whenever we find out I wonder if it's going to be reflected off the U.S store or the U.K

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 8:58 pm

^ if they are a Apple authorised carrier then yes, T&T should show up in iTunes.

Apple has far more clout than bmobile, so I think bmobile will have to roll out 3G if they are to support iPhone 4 - no if's, am's or but's.

I'm kinda curious what bmobile will do about unlocked and jailbroken phones - or even about factory unlocked iPhone 4's - will they support them?

Does this mean that visual voice mail will work here??!!!! Finally after waiting 4 years!!!

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 9:03 pm

is it even possible for a carrier to prevent a factory unlocked iphone OR other method unlocked to work on their network?, I dont think they can.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 9:06 pm

Visual voicemail would be a real treat. A bigger treat would be personal Hotspot given back to us! (sorry for sounding like a broken record about that)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 9:08 pm

they took hotspot with edge away to give it back boosted with 3G :D