The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Parvin

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 5:42 pm

@ mediahouse

Search for a custom ipsw and install it while the device is in DFU mode.

Make sure to edit the 'host' file before though.

It should work fine, have 4.2.1 running on mine.

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 5:47 pm

once digicel launch the iphone u will see how fast bmobile will get their act together and reduce prices.. :lol:
they have a monopoly on the iphone in trinidad atm, being the only authorised reseller and in normal tstt fashion wana dig ppl eye out.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 14th, 2011, 5:52 pm

teems1 wrote:
jsm1985 wrote:
Actually its:
16GB iPhone 4 from bmobile TT cost over 24 months (2 years)

Plan 1
$3000 (subsidized rebate downpayment) + $3599 (for the iPhone 4) + $6000 ($24x$250) = $9,599 TTD

So after your initial payment to get your phone and upfront payment, every month you'll only have to pay half of your bill out of your hand, as half will come from your downpayment... for eg. on Plan 1, every month you'll have to pay $125 on your bill, and the other $125 will come from your downpayment credit.

Your final figure is correct, but there is an error when you calculate your monthly bill part. You forgot to divide by 2

Let's take Plan 1

It's 3000 + 3599 + (24 * (250/2))
= 3000 + 3599 + 3000
= 9599

I knew something was wrong with the equation, I just edited the previous posters addition and didn't pay attention to the numbers... thanks!

That just goes to show how damn complicated their pricing plan is!
I don't think anywhere in the world requires you to make a downpayment of US$500 - $1,000 to buy a phone! WDMCKSID?!?!
Last edited by jsm1985 on June 14th, 2011, 5:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 5:53 pm

Got it sorted out.

Uninstalled the last 3 games i added and restarted the device.

NFSU, NFS Hot Pursuit and Absolute Instant ... will try them 1 by 1 to figure out which caused it.

Thanks SRASC

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 5:59 pm

I confirmed with bmobile today that existing iPhone users will receive no support when it comes to existing handsets, only new handsets purchased through bmobile will receive the micro sims, slightly faster data plan, etc. I confirmed via, phone, online and in person at the bmobile store in trinicty.

they said it may be subject to change in the future but as of now we're shitt out of luck, they simply don't care that we've had these phones for the last year.

Postby teems1 » June 14th, 2011, 6:01 pm

So that guy who bought his unlocked iPhone from the Apple store, won't be able to get a micro sim for it? Are they allowed to do that?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 6:06 pm

Well for now we just have to cut a regular sim.

Will stick to 4.2.1 with the regular gevey until mojosodope decide to sell the gevey pro :P

btw ... I find the battery life to be excellent on this. Charged it last night, ran through it today playing Hero Of Sparta 2 for about an hour, used Zilla for about 4 half hour drives, mail set to sync every 30 minutes, sent about 4 emails, used wifi for about 15 minutes, browsed tuner on safari with regular data plan, restarted it about 3 times trying to sort out the 'bell icon' issue ... now down to 52%

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 6:09 pm

it's kinda sketchy that they kept this soo under wraps, the phone has been out for a year already it's not like it was unreleased hardware, and bmobile still isn't listed under apple's official carrier listing.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Parvin wrote:Well for now we just have to cut a regular sim.

Will stick to 4.2.1 with the regular gevey until mojosodope decide to sell the gevey pro :P

btw ... I find the battery life to be excellent on this. Charged it last night, ran through it today playing Hero Of Sparta 2 for about an hour, used Zilla for about 4 half hour drives, mail set to sync every 30 minutes, sent about 4 emails, used wifi for about 15 minutes, browsed tuner on safari with regular data plan, restarted it about 3 times trying to sort out the 'bell icon' issue ... now down to 52%

I don't want to order anymore yet since the suppliers may release an updated version soon that is going to be untethered :p

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 6:15 pm

Will be waiting then ... keep me informed

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 14th, 2011, 6:40 pm

mojosodope wrote:I confirmed with bmobile today that existing iPhone users will receive no support when it comes to existing handsets, only new handsets purchased through bmobile will receive the micro sims, slightly faster data plan, etc. I confirmed via, phone, online and in person at the bmobile store in trinicty.

they said it may be subject to change in the future but as of now we're shitt out of luck, they simply don't care that we've had these phones for the last year.

Can you shed some light on the "slightly faster data plan" you talking about?

Considering right now there is no 3G signal in Trinidad, and even on the website they say it's GPRS / EDGE...

Jamila: Good evening, Bmobile is the option Jamila speaking. How may I assist you?
Me: Hi, I have a question about the new iPhone data plans... are they they same 2G EDGE speeds, or are they faster 3G speeds?
Jamila: The speeds for the iPhone is 4G
Me: I'm not talking about via the hotspot, i'm talking about the speeds without use of the 4G hotspot
Me:The 4G hotspot is not feasible for my usage. That's why I would like to know what is the speed of the data connection on the phone itself.. is it the same old slow EDGE?
Jamila: It is the EDGE/GPRS service
Me: Ok, are there plans to have a faster network such as 3G to support the iPhone?
Jamila: The information is not availble to me.
Jamila: But I do believe that there are trying to improve all our servcies

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 6:49 pm

^ ^ that's the reasoning they gave me for the cap of the data plan, the $250 and the $300 iPhone plans have data caps on them and the $150 gprs I have now is unlimited for everyone., they said it was 'slightly faster' and they had to cap it... smh.
Last edited by mojosodope on June 14th, 2011, 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 6:50 pm

Good stuff jsm.

Parvin wrote:M_2nr

Here is the screenshot, the icon is there regardless of if I have it on silent or not.

that looked like something from OpenNotifier yuhno...

iDynamic wrote:yea man that's a plan if u quote the full email here I'll edit it a bit and send it to Steve jobs ...If enough tuners do that I won't be surprise that he gets fed up and actually look into it and give bmobile a dred manners....rite now bmobile abusing that authorized iPhone reseller thing

sjobs@apple.com
I think there are others though. But i emailed him already.
S_2NR wrote:once digicel launch the iphone u will see how fast bmobile will get their act together and reduce prices.. :lol:
they have a monopoly on the iphone in trinidad atm, being the only authorised reseller and in normal tstt fashion wana dig ppl eye out.

this i want to see.

mojosodope wrote:I confirmed with bmobile today that existing iPhone users will receive no support when it comes to existing handsets, only new handsets purchased through bmobile will receive the micro sims, slightly faster data plan, etc. I confirmed via, phone, online and in person at the bmobile store in trinicty.

I dont see why you all expect them to care. Its bmobile guys come one.

But what is this "slightly faster data plan"? i feel i go call in again yes :lol:

___

BTW i can't help but lol at this...

3G my @$$

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 6:55 pm

^ ^ I explained the slightly faster data plan thing in my last post, but that's what just the rep said whenI called and inquired this morning. She said that was the reasoning for the caps on the data for the plan 1 and 2 was that it was slightly faster.

******* sorry made a mistake and said that the data plan cost $250 instead of $150, I mean to refer to the plan 1 and 2 *******

Don't get your hopes up on the image they used with the 3G symbol, it's just a generic one, they didn't even put the bmobile next to it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 14th, 2011, 6:55 pm

thanks for correcting my maths, i knew it was sounding rediculous, BUT - i dont think you only pay half your monthly payment, they are saying you pay 250 each month on top of the 3000 you already paid.
Last edited by Bezman on June 14th, 2011, 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 6:56 pm

M_2NR wrote:Good stuff jsm.

Here is the screenshot, the icon is there regardless of if I have it on silent or not.

Strange, it was never there before :S

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 14th, 2011, 7:07 pm

I have had a post paid plan with digicel for the past 3 years...
I would wish for them to intro the iPhone..
i thought they would first (seeing as Jamaica's Claro...Digicel)....what can i say..tstt too greedy steups

S_2NR wrote:once digicel launch the iphone u will see how fast bmobile will get their act together and reduce prices.. :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » June 14th, 2011, 7:10 pm

bmobile really over doing this...............

on LIME network they actually welcomes the current iphone user to activate a iphone data plan

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 14th, 2011, 7:10 pm

sht rth: hi good day

kjames5: welcome to bmobile webchat

kjames5: How may I assist you?

sht rth: i would like to enquire about the data sim

sht rth: ?

kjames5: Please specify what you would like to now about the data sim please?

sht rth: the cost and average speeds of the device

kjames5: a data SIm cost $25

kjames5: the service is unlimited internet for $150 per month

sht rth: any contracts?

kjames5: There are no contracts for this service

sht rth: do i need to make any deposits on this?

sht rth: or just the first month payment and the cost for the sim

kjames5: no you can visit any front office to make the purchase

sht rth: so i can just go for it and then i will get the bill at the end of the first month?

kjames5: you just need to pay the advance first months bill of $150

kjames5: You will be billed monthly thereafter

sht rth: so clarify with me, when i go to apply for this

sht rth: i will need to walk with 475?

kjames5: You need to walk with a valid Id and utility bill in your name and $25 plus $150

sht rth: and also the cost for the first 3 months?

kjames5: You need to walk with a valid Id and utility bill in your name and $25 plus $150

sht rth: oh ok

kjames5: there are no up front charges for the first 3 months

sht rth: but then i dont need to pay for the first 3 months?

sht rth: you have me confused

sht rth: do i need to pay $150x3=450+$25(for sim)

sht rth: at the registration process?

kjames5: after you make your initial payment for the first month you begin to use your service

sht rth: and what are the average speeds of the data sim?

kjames5: then at the beginining of teh second month you will be required to pay for that month's service at the start of the month

kjames5: you wil receive you invoice in the mail at the end of each month

sht rth: so in others words i just pay $150 every month?

kjames5: up to 2 mb/ per second

sht rth: are u sure?

sht rth: the bmobile data sim??

sht rth: that doesnt sound correct

epic fail

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2011, 7:12 pm

that's business dude, it's an advantage of being a first mover 8-)

consumers win when there is competition competition

it's a business, not a charity

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 7:20 pm

^ well said,

main problem here is that there's not enough competition.

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 7:20 pm

understood..

but prices should not be unnecessarily inflated like what tstt is doing with the iphone.

i dont expect them to give it away, but be reasonable.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 14th, 2011, 7:30 pm

blehhhhhhhhhhh neva mind
Last edited by shaq090 on June 14th, 2011, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 14th, 2011, 7:32 pm

shaq090 wrote:sht rth: hi good day

sht rth: so i can just go for it and then i will get the bill at the end of the first month?

kjames5: after you make your initial payment for the first month you begin to use your service

kjames5: then at the beginining of teh second month you will be required to pay for that month's service at the start of the month

epic fail

where u get that u needed to pay 475? from that convo i didnt see the guy tell u that... :?

and if they say up to 2 mb/sec... doesnt mean u have to get that...

i don understand what the epic fail is... i must be confused

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 14th, 2011, 7:35 pm

shaq090 wrote:so if i have a iphone then i can get 3g?
Crystal Fraser: It is offered for the Iphone only
awergt agerg: right
awergt agerg: so what would be the cost for it if i had a iphone
Crystal Fraser: The price range from $375 $525 and $750
Crystal Fraser: monthly
awergt agerg: for 3g?
Crystal Fraser: yes
awergt agerg: or in 3g u mean the iphone 3g
Crystal Fraser: that also includes a voice plan
awergt agerg: so if i have a iphone already all i have to do is go in one of ur stores and take a 3g plan?
Crystal Fraser: Yes

duane make sense outta this please

those are the actual costs of the plans

when u take the "upfront service payment"/24 + monthly cost thas wat u get

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2011, 7:53 pm

S_2NR wrote:

understood..

but prices should not be unnecessarily inflated like what tstt is doing with the iphone.

i dont expect them to give it away, but be reasonable.
to their shareholders, a high profit margin is very reasonable in any environment.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 14th, 2011, 8:50 pm

shaq090 wrote:sht rth: hi good day

epic fail

Where you get 3 months and $475 from? You confusing yourself there.

Bezman wrote:thanks for correcting my maths, i knew it was sounding rediculous, BUT - i dont think you only pay half your monthly payment, they are saying you pay 250 each month on top of the 3000 you already paid.

Yes, you will only have to pay half of your monthly payment, your bill will look something like this for the iPhone Plan 1:

Monthly fee: $250
Credit from downpayment: ($125)
Total now due: $125

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » June 14th, 2011, 10:06 pm

jsm1985 wrote:
Bezman wrote:thanks for correcting my maths, i knew it was sounding rediculous, BUT - i dont think you only pay half your monthly payment, they are saying you pay 250 each month on top of the 3000 you already paid.

Yes, you will only have to pay half of your monthly payment, your bill will look something like this for the iPhone Plan 1:

Monthly fee: $250
Credit from downpayment: ($125)
Total now due: $125

The english language is truly one of the most difficult to understand :wink: The ad clearly states that the downpayment will be rebated to the customer's account over 24 mths. How else is bmobile supposed to tie trinis down to a contract? Montary "incentive".

I know bmobile is normally ridiculous but I'm sure their hands will be tied a bit here. Being an authorized iphone seller comes with conditions. That's why there was no pre advertising blitz. Apple's sitpulations. Also I'm sure a company will pre-approve everything their franchise holder does such as prices, in store displays etc. Especially a new one! Reputation means a lot to serious businesses.

I like the developments I'm seeing on the cellphone front though. It took a while but at last Android and iphone are "offically" here.

Postby M_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 10:47 pm

OK so are we getting 3G in Trinidad for Voice plans or not? I really think we should keep that discussion in the next 3G thread though no?

mojosodope wrote:Don't get your hopes up on the image they used with the 3G symbol, it's just a generic one, they didn't even put the bmobile next to it.

yuh taking things to seriously bro. It was for kix i pointed that out.

Parvin wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Good stuff jsm.

Strange, it was never there before :S

not exactly that one, but it belongs to a notification based program from cydia. It was there before OpenNotifier. cant remember the name.

Check cydia and see if u had something like that in packages. I remember it was really buggy. sometimes it showed.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2011, 10:58 pm

M_2NR wrote:OK so are we getting 3G in Trinidad for Voice plans or not?
we got that answered already from a TSTT engineer

Yes we are getting 3G on bmobile in T&T for voice plans and it may be out by September or October 2011. It is definitely NOT operational right now.

not sure which 3G data technology they will use though.