22%
Both / Doesn't matter
27%

Total votes: 127

Amazon vs. eBay

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2011, 8:03 pm

Question for people that shop online, where do you prefer to buy items in general?

I searched and I didn't find any threads on this, (so doh harass meh) and I'm kind of interested in knowing.

Re: Amazon vs. eBay

Postby Morpheus » June 14th, 2011, 8:15 pm

From my experience, ebay has a wider variety but I more trust amazon for some reason.

Don't get me wrong I have ordered from both. But I order smaller items from ebay. Phone cases, screens, bulbs,etc.

Amazon gets the larger cash purchases.

Postby rfari » June 14th, 2011, 8:48 pm

depends on what you looking for. Books and electronics > 200USD, Amazon. Everything else, ebay.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » June 14th, 2011, 9:02 pm

trust amazon anytime whem looking for a bargain ebay for it...bought most of my pc parts of ebay....works bess....but only buy from top rated sellers

Postby Sky » June 14th, 2011, 9:02 pm

Both are good.

While a seller can be bumped off Amazon's merchant list if they do crap, ebay sellers get positive or negative feedback. Amazon would be trusted more because of this, but all you can do is just buy from sellers with thousands of positive feedbacks. I won't chance more than 200 usd with ebayers still though.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 14th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Good info

Postby r3iXmann » June 14th, 2011, 9:27 pm

lulz.

i buy tons of stuff on both sites every week

i have amazon prime..free 2 day shipping and 3.99usd overnight..cant go wrong,especially with how much stuff i move

ebay is great for all purposes,especially if you're looking for some trinket or the other that cant be found new

and their resolution system is great..woman tried to scam me a while ago with a phone..got my cash back within 2 weeks

there is no 'better' one,it's just a matter of different strokes for different folks

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2011, 9:35 pm

I recently started to use Amazon more, mainly because paypal giving me trouble with my new Credit Card =/ If eBay wasn't dominated by PayPal I probably wouldn't have even used amazon as much as I did recently.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 14th, 2011, 9:43 pm

I'd say Amazon, when buying stuff off ebay I can't ship to skybox address, only to the address on paypal which matches billing address on my credit card.

Postby rfari » June 14th, 2011, 9:45 pm

With regards to scammers on ebay, doesn't paypal take care of that? The most I've encountered with ebay is faulty stuff. Almost all times the seller doesn't bother to wait for me to return the item. They just ship a new one. Its all about the ratings to them.

Just one incident on amazon. Ordered book before christmas and it didn't reach after a month. I contacted the seller and they were brisk with a full refund and 10% off my next purchase. The book didn't reach until march (aeropost fault). Anyways, I told them what happened and re-sent the payment. Got to keep the discount tho.

Postby Sky » June 14th, 2011, 9:46 pm

r3iXmann wrote:lulz.

i buy tons of stuff on both sites every week

i have amazon prime..free 2 day shipping and 3.99usd overnight..cant go wrong,especially with how much stuff i move

ebay is great for all purposes,especially if you're looking for some trinket or the other that cant be found new

and their resolution system is great..woman tried to scam me a while ago with a phone..got my cash back within 2 weeks

there is no 'better' one,it's just a matter of different strokes for different folks

What happened with her? She got more than bad feedback? Or they kick her off?

Postby rfari » June 14th, 2011, 9:49 pm

shaneelal wrote:I'd say Amazon, when buying stuff off ebay I can't ship to skybox address, only to the address on paypal which matches billing address on my credit card.

Tht's weird. Explain to the seller before you buy and they may link it for you.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 14th, 2011, 9:55 pm

rfari wrote:
shaneelal wrote:I'd say Amazon, when buying stuff off ebay I can't ship to skybox address, only to the address on paypal which matches billing address on my credit card.

The sellers I've contacted say it's their policy to only ship to the paypal address, found it to be less hassle to buy from amazon.

Postby Sky » June 14th, 2011, 9:58 pm

Just go into your bank and give them the skybox addy to add to the cc account.
You can't change country with paypal though.

Postby r3iXmann » June 14th, 2011, 10:01 pm

Sky wrote:What happened with her? She got more than bad feedback? Or they kick her off?

she just got bad feedback but she didnt have a bad history (just one or two incidents here and there) so she wasnt kicked off

but the story was that i bought a phone from her and it was cdma (there were cdma and gsm versions to this phone) but she clearly listed "GSM" in the description

then the lies started,lol

first, she said she didnt know about phones then she said that i had 'buyers remorse', then she said she meant to put cdma but there was a problem with the web form..all kinda arseness yes but paypal deal with that :lol: :lol: :lol:

shaneelal wrote:
rfari wrote:

The sellers I've contacted say it's their policy to only ship to the paypal address, found it to be less hassle to buy from amazon.

some sellers will only ship to a confirmed paypal address..doesnt have to be the billing address
just find a seller that is willing to ship to your address using registered mail (fedex etc) and it automatically becomes confirmed

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 14th, 2011, 10:08 pm

Amazon ftw

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 14th, 2011, 10:14 pm

I find what I want on Amazon and Raptor does bring it een fuh me!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » June 14th, 2011, 10:16 pm

Ebay for the stuff i can afford to lose, Amazon for practically nearly everything else!

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 10:21 pm

amazon! amazon prime ftw! order stuff regularly on amazon with free two day shipping and customer service is top notch..

dont kno about the third party sellers, normally order directly from Amazon LLC.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 14th, 2011, 10:21 pm

amazon any day any time,bought alot of stuff already,cyah complain

Postby foss » June 14th, 2011, 10:24 pm

allyuh have morneyy tuh spend oui. :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 14th, 2011, 10:34 pm

debe market and sjr imports pwn both

Postby gastly369 » June 14th, 2011, 10:34 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby foss » June 14th, 2011, 10:40 pm

gastly369 wrote:

daz for yuh son i hope.

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 10:43 pm

foss wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

daz for yuh son i hope.

doh be on halo dan.. 0X

but the action figures is kinda pushin it.. :lol:

Postby foss » June 14th, 2011, 10:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:
foss wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

daz for yuh son i hope.

doh be on halo dan.. 0X

but the action figures is kinda pushin it.. :lol:

but all those are action figures :|

Postby M_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 10:48 pm

If you are using eBay, make sure its through paypal otherwise... UDFR.

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2011, 10:51 pm

LOL I was expecting a simpsons set from @gastly369

Postby gastly369 » June 14th, 2011, 11:02 pm

Stephon. wrote:LOL I was expecting a simpsons set from @gastly369

lol.. hummm :idea:

nah ordered this for my friend lil bro his bday soon(8yrs).. all halo pyeongs tho XD

Postby gastly369 » June 14th, 2011, 11:26 pm