Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2009, 9:20 pm

renegade_wolf wrote:I didn't know that VR4 and Evo 7,8,9, front brakes could work in a CK.
But I doubt doing this would be a bolt for bolt job. What exactly would need to be changed to make this work

Additionally I gather you all talking about the front brakes but would rear disk brakes of these cars work in the rear of a CK?(correct meh if i wrong)

rear may be a little more difficult since it needs the trailing arms etc to fit properly........

(correct ME if im wrong)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 30th, 2009, 7:48 am

Rudman wrote:So wha happen?

Nobody like K-Sport?..... :|

Nope!... Not for $2300 US... for front brakes alone!
That = $19k TT +... now add the cost of rear disk kit too... :roll:
Sanctifier wrote:BTW if you think rear Brembo conversions for Lancers are too expensive...
US 2nrs have to pay an EXTRA $1500 US (Wilwood) just for big rear disk kits with internal handbrakes like an Evo.

Link--> Wilwood kit

btw those are 8-pot K-Sport calipers, eh!

For the record, in May I got 4 x Evo 9 Brembos PLUS 4 x rotors (eBay), in VERY good condition (for the rwd Lancer GSR Project) for about $510 US.
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 30th, 2009, 8:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 30th, 2009, 8:10 am

renegade_wolf wrote:...I gather you all talking about the front brakes but would rear disk brakes of these cars work in the rear of a CK?(correct meh if i wrong)

AFAIK Not without ALL Evo rear disk/handbrake cable parts... and maybe some minor fabrication for rear caliper bracket, handbrake cable brackets etc.

My $0.02¢

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » August 3rd, 2009, 10:06 am

fras wrote:rjaggs where u got those pads n price

Trinidad Brakes and Clutch in Barataria, under $300 for the front pair

fras

Postby fras » August 3rd, 2009, 1:41 pm

Cool

Wolf

Re: Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Postby Wolf » August 14th, 2009, 11:45 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
shaker wrote:using wagner quick stop brake pads

dats ur problem rite there

so am what wrong with wagner?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 15th, 2009, 8:51 am

i used to think think wagner was a good pad.....

but myself along with a lot of other ppl came to realise that the wagner pad damages ur rotor, overheats quickly, causes brake fade and one set ah madness..i had a lot brake problems until i discovered OEM brake pads.....since using them i NEVER had a brake problem.....

car stops on a dime, never overheats, i never get brake fade (YET), never smelt the pads etc,

turns out my brake problem was related to the pad rather than the braking system.......

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » August 15th, 2009, 10:08 am

^^^ on th other hand i never had any of those problems using wagner...

Postby *KRONIK* » August 15th, 2009, 12:04 pm

^^^ well u for one know the problems i had........

but ih saul goode :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wolf

Postby Wolf » August 15th, 2009, 7:56 pm

so where u geting OEM brake pads?

I using Wagner about a year now i noticed the smell and heat problem but i always thought is because i does run the highway kinda hard from south to central.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 15th, 2009, 10:28 pm

Wolf, check PM

Wolf

Postby Wolf » December 1st, 2009, 9:01 pm

Wolf wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
shaker wrote:using wagner quick stop brake pads

dats ur problem rite there

so am what wrong with wagner?

I answer this question yesterday. Imagine doing 80 on the speedo mashin hard brakes from by the hankook sign till past JTA in sando after licensing eventually pulling handbrakes to stop a friggin car just because of a lil rain.

was thinking ok 8 mths since changing pads had to add fluid sunday time to change pads again, goes out and buys wagner quick stop for a third time.

arrived by mechanic and removes the old pads.
pads had a good amount of life in them centre line still clearly visible i would say about quarter life (you could put a quarter to stand in it) but the centre and parts around the pad were braking off. Eventually saw that the reason i couldn't stop was that the pads had developed small scorch marks (don't know what else to call them other than a black gloss mark in the centre of one side) on them that was causing them to skip on the rotor thus increasing my stopping distance.

had these changed in the afternoon however I sorry that I had to put back the same brand as i already had it on hand. Next time for sure or next brake adjustment/service I going to try a different brand or if possible OEM. The mechanic agreed that this pad too rough on the rotors and would eventually wear it down.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 2nd, 2009, 8:48 am

^^^^^^

yup.........

thatts exactly what happened to me.......

been using OEM since and NO complaints........

BTW have the rotors replaced/ resurfaced if they are scorched .......since this will only cause a repeat of the aforementioned incident......

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 2nd, 2009, 6:38 pm

Wolf, sounds like you've been glazing your pads man!

Wolf

Postby Wolf » December 7th, 2009, 6:40 pm

*KRONIK - rotors ok had them checked but will still resurface at next change as i still using the wagner for now.

Rudman - first set did this as well when i compare it it was at the same life as well found them in a box under the sink when i went to store this set it have the same scorch marks. I would say that is the pads themselves that wear out like this.

first set - took bumper to bumper port of spain traffic at 6 and 4 daily.
second set - highway drive from central to south and back daily.

both ended up with the same scorches/glazing in the end.
driving habits alone can't contribute to this.

denszio

Re:

Postby denszio » May 31st, 2011, 2:05 am

blazing wrote:Calipers from Eclipse GSX, Stealth, Diamante, VR4 galant, Evo 1-3 are a direct bolt on the CK.

There are 2 different types of brake fittings to the caliper. A banjo bolt type and a screw in type. I have used both types with no problems.

Master cylinder should be upgraded too with a 1 1/16 bore from ABS vehicles or at least a 1" bore one.

I have used the 276mm 4x114 VR4 discs already on 4x100 CK already and it still works excellent up to today.

Another great benefit from upgrading to twin pots is the ease of acquiring better pads such as Hawk.

I was just wondering if I would need another banjo bolt to connect my current brakeline to the Galant (Single Big Piston) caliper that I have. The Galant Caliper has a screw in type line. Is this bolt on?

Re:

Postby Morpheus » June 1st, 2011, 10:54 pm

fras wrote:I'm using slotted & cross drill rotors on my mivec... stopping has improved but need to get better pads... currently using wagner pads

^^Mind giving me an idea what and where you got them??

My rotors look like this now :|
Just the fine cracks, not the large one.

fras

Postby fras » June 2nd, 2011, 12:20 am

The rotors were for a 2002 USDM CS Lancer and ordered off ebay...
The LS Trim Lancer uses the same bolt pattern (4X114) and the dimensions were the same!

blazing

Re: Re:

Postby blazing » June 4th, 2011, 7:09 pm

denszio wrote:

I was just wondering if I would need another banjo bolt to connect my current brakeline to the Galant (Single Big Piston) caliper that I have. The Galant Caliper has a screw in type line. Is this bolt on?

i used a screw type caliper with banjo bolt already. it needed 2 washers as the banjo was slightly taller, but i am not sure of the reverse...but there are other dual piston calipers that used the screw type fitting like diamante and 1st gen awd eclipses.

Postby Morpheus » June 14th, 2011, 3:58 am

WHat are the mivec specs as compared to this one pictured?

Fras it's from a US Lancer LS as you suggested

fras

Postby fras » June 14th, 2011, 10:09 am

This should be the mivec:

256mm Diameter
45.5mm Height
24mm Thickness

Postby Morpheus » June 14th, 2011, 5:47 pm

Hmmm I wonder if they will work. The dimensions ain't far off........

fras

Postby fras » June 14th, 2011, 6:19 pm

They worked on my car... I later learned that they were installed wrong :lol:

Postby Morpheus » June 14th, 2011, 7:56 pm

^^LoL. On the wrong side you mean right??

Heh heh. Thanks for the help. I think I may go with those.

$400 a side for used originals in the Bamboo :shock:

Seems more reasonable to pay extra for brand new upgrades 8-)

fras

Postby fras » June 14th, 2011, 9:17 pm

Bless...
Don't laugh me nah man :( they should have marked the rotors (right n left) LOL

Postby Morpheus » June 14th, 2011, 9:32 pm

^^I laughing with you man :D . Easy mistake to make

fras

Postby fras » June 14th, 2011, 11:00 pm

Word 8-)

Postby Morpheus » June 16th, 2011, 3:28 pm

Hear the latest nah. Well I got my wear indicater noise on the left side (2 months now I "making time" to change them :oops: ).Took down the pads and carried them with me because I know the average parts place eh know sheit bout the CK mivec and dem.

Man watch the pads and say they looking like Bluebird pads :? He had a confused look when I told him they came off a CK4 mivec and that I was told that they carry the same brake set-up as the VR-G Galants.

Anyway I went by Roach Auto in Tunapuna. Same thing. That looking like Bluebird Pads(Bamboo man sorry :lol: ). He ask me bout 3 times "You sure these came off the CK?". :) "I just took them off". He even brought out a set of Bluebird pads and compared them for me. Same bleddy thing! :shock:

I told him let me see the Galant pads. The are broader than the Bluebird's but the notches line up the same. I took the Galant pads yes :|

Only source of worry, of course with the Bluebird pads being more narrow, the rotors in turn cut to suit. :evil:

Anyhoo, didn't really bother because I already ordered a set of the rotors from the post above. Once the arrive I'll replace the pads again. Fresh rotors, fresh pads.

Oh, the existing pads when taken off were slightly concaved. Hence, the rotors were checked and are convexed to suit :evil:

Postby Morpheus » June 16th, 2011, 3:30 pm

^^My last pad change was done by my mechanic (as it was the first pad change since I bought the car). In trying to make sense of it, maybe he took down Bluebird pads and replaced it with same as the rotors were already cut to suit. I dunno. *shrug

fras

Postby fras » June 16th, 2011, 6:09 pm

I just used to ask for VRG Galant pads 8-) no probs
Got some ebc redstuff from W2J once... best pads i even ran but was warned that they dont like rotors!

U should try to get oe pads or better tho!
I have the part numbers for oe, mintex, ebc red & green stuff if u need!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”