My Cubo 15 DJ Sub build

Kasey

My Cubo 15 DJ Sub build

Postby Kasey » July 1st, 2011, 1:08 pm

Well these are some of the pics that I took on my sub build. Its the Cubo 15" which I read is a really good sub that suppose to be able to compete with a single 18" reflex box. I used cheap ply cause these boxes are just an experiment so far.

The ply:

Outlining the horn paths:

These are the two sides of one Cubo 15" marked out. My lil daughter was helping me. LOL.

Okay so I managed to cut out most of the wood. Only pieces missing from this pile are the Baffle and tw1 6" braces
NOW FOR THE GOOD STUFF!!!

I started putting together one:

tHats all for now. Hope this is worth it.
Will continue this weekend.

Kasey

Re: My Cubo 15 DJ Sub build

Postby Kasey » July 1st, 2011, 1:10 pm

Oh the sub I am using is the Selenium 15SW1P-SLF

MONGO

Postby MONGO » July 1st, 2011, 1:39 pm

when building those enclosures why does everyone use ply?
Can mdf be used?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 1st, 2011, 1:59 pm

good going man , these things can be a pita , fun , stress , dust , happiness , time etc all rolled up into 1

plywood can take more roughing up & is more durable then mdf especially since enclosures like these are often being moved around ....

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » July 1st, 2011, 3:46 pm

nice nice, i wud like 2 get a demo of these subs, possible kasey?

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2011, 3:50 pm

nice, interesting that you built both sides together.
most people normally build the entire internals on one side and then just slap on the remain side

did you cut the wood yourself or carry by someone to rip the main width ?

for horn loaded subs you can use ply, whilst boxes of bass reflex or sealed designs which are really more of a resonating device its better to use a deader material

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 1st, 2011, 4:09 pm

Mongo:
Ply is the way to go for PA systems. MDF cannot take the jamming and sometimes even wetting.

Dynamix:
Of course u can get a demo man.

Pugboy:
Yea about building the sides alone: The time I was building the scoops, I tried that, but somehow, when it was time to put on the last side, the squareness was off a little. So now when I am building, I try my best to get all panels identical to the both sides.

Yes I cut the wood myself. I just used a circular saw with a straight edge clamped to the ply.

MONGO

Postby MONGO » July 1st, 2011, 5:15 pm

pugboy wrote:for horn loaded subs you can use ply, whilst boxes of bass reflex or sealed designs which are really more of a resonating device its better to use a deader material

Kasey wrote:Mongo:
Ply is the way to go for PA systems. MDF cannot take the jamming and sometimes even wetting.

Cool, makes sense 8-)

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 1st, 2011, 7:07 pm

if the 15 Cubo can give a ported 18" some competition , Imagine the 18" Cubo :shock:

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2011, 7:48 pm

the trick is to make some right angle jigs which you clamp to the pieces so they stand up straight 90degrees whilst you glue and screw them from below, I use a table with wheels so I can rotate it and drill from below easy
it helps if the wood was cut with a good square edge so they can stand on edge at 90

once you get the first few segments square the rest will usually follow
make sure to cut the other side slightly bigger just in case
you can always trim off excess with a router and edge trimming bit

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 1st, 2011, 8:19 pm

yuh have d plans saved?

cuz I now check and D WHOLE SITE DOWN

:""""""""(

*slits wrist*

dey had some wicked designs there
-----------------------------------

update: found some plans on FB
but they only have the pics, no explanation

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 6779716398

Postby 3stagevtec » July 2nd, 2011, 3:11 pm

Looking good Kasey!

(btw, my Supervisor really liking the processor you sold him! man was amazed at how well his mid and high range was sounding, he completely forgot about his bass.. lol gotta love the ease of tuning in those)

Postby X_Factor » July 2nd, 2011, 7:59 pm

looks excellent!
when its finished
if u wanna try it to compare with a dual 18" srx i'll try to arrange

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 3rd, 2011, 7:27 am

Rene:
glad to hear Pantin like the processor man. I tried to keep it in good condition for the next buyer.

Xfactor:
I would really like that comparison man. Will check u when I am ready.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 3rd, 2011, 10:04 am

eagerly awaits the completion.....

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 8:33 am

Progress so far has completed one box for testing:

Putting on triangle braces and bottom brace:

Be generous with ur wood glue:

Adding bottom panel:

Test fitting the handle:

Only the top panel to go on now!!!:

Size comparison to a single 18" sub:

The sub I am using:

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2011, 8:37 am

Nice, I am not sure if the flat piece in front of the triangle braces does anything.

What's the white stuff you used to seal the joints with ?

how many sheets ply you used for the 2 boxes ?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 9:31 am

Thew flat piece in front on top the bottom panel suppose to be a brace, plus it alters the horn mouth somewhat (may not be audible for one, but if using >8..........).

I wanted to stick to the drawing specs and not drift too much, cause we all know that every little change adds up in the overall scheme at the end.

One sheet of ply does exactly one box with some small strips remainding.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 4th, 2011, 10:36 pm

how's it sounding?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 5th, 2011, 7:46 am

Initial tests indicate ok results. I powered it with one side of a Crown K2. Not enough power for that subwoofer as it is rated at 800watts RMS.

When I finish the other one I will rig up the proper equipment to test the pair against one EAW SB850 That I have.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 5th, 2011, 8:49 am

I think in this type of enclosure, you'd probably need to watch the mechanical limitations of the subwoofer, instead of the electrical. i.e. monitor displacement as you go up to 800W, as the limit of the sub may come before 800W, and set highpass properly etc.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 6th, 2011, 9:09 am

^^thanx.

I finished the second sub, so I will be testing tomorrow. I will be stacking one Cubo15 on top each other coupling the horm mouths, and putting an EAW SB850 (loaded with RCF L18P300 18" subs) next to each other.

Will give reviews by Friday on how it sounds. Hmmmmmmm....two 15" selenium against two RCF 18"......I wonder.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 6th, 2011, 9:49 am

Cool, what was the cost of the drivers? The RCF sounds way more expensive.
You're going to measure any frequency response, or any other objective measurements?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 6th, 2011, 12:18 pm

^^I dont have the right equipment to do actual measurements. This will be a strictly ear thing. Sorry, I cant help it.

I can however, send the specs of the sub to the Cubo designer and he can model it in hornresp for me. I saw he did it for someone on his forum.

The selenium 15" cost $1400 for one and the RCF COST $2100 for one.

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2011, 7:56 pm

get a test cd with various freq tones like the one on the AVS forums.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 7th, 2011, 1:24 am

awaits results impatiently

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 7th, 2011, 8:03 am

boy i wanna hear how these sound..

also try them both on the floor on their side with their mouths coupled together or even standing correctly next to each other ....the latter are how they are meant to be...when the horn mouth is on the floor you should get some extra loading..

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » July 7th, 2011, 8:35 am

yeah kasey i would like to know how they sounded also.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2011, 8:42 am

This is an original JBL SRX or a clone ?

X_Factor wrote:looks excellent!
when its finished
if u wanna try it to compare with a dual 18" srx i'll try to arrange

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 13th, 2011, 2:33 pm

any updates on this?