Looking for SR20VVL info

nareshseep

Looking for SR20VVL info

Postby nareshseep » July 10th, 2011, 2:40 pm

1. Looking at doing some reading on the SR20 vvl, and is it true about the engine suffers from oil starvation?

2. What gearboxes can work with this engine?

3. What extractors work with this engine?

4. What protocol does the obd system for this use?

imperial

Re: Looking for SR20VVL info

Postby imperial » July 10th, 2011, 3:23 pm

1) Many SR's suffer from oil starvation IF the oil an/crankcase gets a good hit and it compromises the oil pick up line located in the case. Many of the SR's run a good healthy oil pressure if there is no damage to the oil pan.
2) SR is SR is SR is SR. So what I'm basically trying to say, is that all the FWD SR engines will work with any FWD SR gearbox. I've never heard an SR box not being able to mate up to an SR engine.
3) There are 2 main descriptions to group FWD SR boxes. Big Spline (24 teeth main shaft) and the Small Spline (18 teeth main shaft).
They can also be grouped into Hydraulic and Cable type (each group may contain Big Spline and small spline), referring to the type of clutch deactivating mechanism it possesses. In addition, it can be grouped as LSD or Open Diff (Non LSD)(again, each group may contain Big Spline and small spline). For example there are Big Spline boxes that are Hydraulic and Non LSD, and there are Small Spline Boxes that are Cable Type and LSD. But all boxes can be used in any FWD SR application.
4) The SR20VE engine, from what I heard possesses exhaust ports that may may not match up with the normal extractors from the SR20DE. So a VE specific type may have to be sourced.
5) This is a relatively new engine so OBD II system may have to be used (I may stand corrected).
Hope this helps.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 10th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Cool thanks for the info @Imperial

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 10th, 2011, 9:34 pm

doing some digging up and found this

Just for the record - the SR20DET doesn't have oil pressure problems, all the oil related failures are due to importers forklifting engines around and setting them on the oilpan, which is of course stupid, and if you ding up the oil pan it starves. All experienced installers either replace the oil pan or bang out the bottom of it like mad, even if it looks flat, cause it can look fine and still not be. Those who bang it out or replace it never have problems.

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... =sr20+swap

QG

Postby QG » July 11th, 2011, 10:43 am

good work imperial and nareshsheep...you guys nailed it. Howeer the older VE (from 1997 year production) uses OBD1 and the newer VE series uses the OBD 2.

And yes the VE ports are slightly different from the DE's....right again imperial.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 11th, 2011, 6:28 pm

port outlets are same size but its different placement of the exhaust studs. watch stock paper gaskets to see.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 14th, 2011, 8:45 pm

it doesn't matter odb1 or 2 port it still uses a odb1 protocol in the SR20VE (none 20V). when you go in the bamboo to buy a VE how do you tell which ODB it uses? Only the 20V and VET are real ODB2

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 3rd, 2011, 9:29 pm

Ok bumping this thread again...can the sr20vvl run super? and what mileage on a full tank of gas do you all get with the vvl?

XP50

Postby XP50 » November 4th, 2011, 11:18 pm

i use super with my ve for the longest while now. what i have observed is that you should let the engine warm up at optimal temperature and then drive. failure to do so results in the ignition rattling "pinging"

with super gas i get around 400km per full tank. and thats with all types of driving (hard, slow, medium)

the premium gives u better performance for sure, however super is not that bad given the circumstances that i am running from arouca to sando each day.

afternex2

Postby afternex2 » November 6th, 2011, 8:09 pm

i got some great advise frm ah tuner,if u wana run super change yuh thermostat. either nismo or mishimoto.plz do not remove it. engine would run hotter,loss of power an other things. premium would feel better,an u can get bout 400km-425km based on how yuh drive plus traffic an so forth.
i run my car with super,everyday driver an it works for me.plus i does pump it when i feel like lol.

QG

Postby QG » November 18th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Coolz