The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2011, 10:37 pm

^ but all those apps available in the app store.

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 10th, 2011, 12:18 am

That's what I trying to figure out I have all those apps already and I factory unlocked

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2011, 12:34 am

^ me too

Postby M_2NR » July 10th, 2011, 1:56 am

LOL oh Lord.

i was gone say sumn eh but lemme shush.

btw... iMovie... is.. EPIC!!!! i took 6 mins to export a 7min 720p video... i find that isnt bad for a phone no?

rookie

Postby rookie » July 10th, 2011, 11:04 am

Same thing I saying that jailbreak not really making sense got the ipad2 wednesday been using iPhone for a long while so it makes no sense jail breaking it TSTT got screwed and will screw few ppl cause now the Phone unlocked for all @ Duane what's the BEST iPad apps cause I still loading up!!!

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 10th, 2011, 1:04 pm

Trinituner needs an app.....lol

Btw is there anyway I can set up my hotmail, that when I delete an email it is also deleted from the server?

rookie

Postby rookie » July 10th, 2011, 1:50 pm

Just save the trinituner page to front screen that's all so it automatically becomes an app

hot blue

Postby hot blue » July 11th, 2011, 11:33 am

how do non-jailborken iphone 4's deal with caller id?

that's the only reason I jailbroke mine... for the caller ID fix.
I guess you can do it manually and SSH the file to your phone.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 11th, 2011, 12:30 pm

Save all your numbers in the appropriate format & hope for the best.

Postby M_2NR » July 11th, 2011, 12:31 pm

^ search the thread for a post with Contacts Tool i think, a user posted about it

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 11th, 2011, 5:13 pm

Apple has just seeded the third beta of iOS 5 to registered to developers. Beta 3 of iTunes 10.5 is also available and will be required to sync with iOS 5 beta 3 devices. This new iOS 5 beta is compatible with the iPad, iPad 2, iPhone 4 (GSM/CDMA), iPod touch 3/4, and the Apple TV. Xcode 4.2 Preview 3 is also available for developers. Additionally, Xcode 4.1 has gone Golden Master and should be released soon.

Change Log

Reminders app has a new icon

New location services preferences

------

With just two smartphone models available for sale, Apple still managed to top comScore’s list of smartphone OEMs in the three-month period ending May 2011. Following this morning’s report that Microsoft’s share of the U.S. smartphone OS market has slid 35% since the launch of Windows Phone 7, more data from comScore’s most recent MobiLens report has been shared on the firm’s mobile blog. In this quick tidbit, the market research company notes that 76.8 million people in the U.S. owned smartphones during the three months ending in May of this year. Over that period of time, Apple was the No. 1 smartphone vendor with 26.6% of the market, despite the fact that the company sells just two phones: the iPhone 4 and the iPhone 3GS. At 24.7%, RIM found itself second on the list, followed by HTC with 11.8% of the U.S. market. Motorola and Samsung rounded out the top-10 with 11.4% and 8.9%, respectively. Falling below the “other” category which sat in the No. 6 spot were LG with 4.8% of the U.S. market, HP with 2.7%, Nokia with 2.1%, Kyocera with 0.4% and finally Sony Ericsson with 0.2%.

------

We have been expecting new MacBook Airs this week and now it appears that the ultra-thin notebooks won’t be the only new Macs this week. According to our source Mr. X, part numbers for an upgraded Mac Pro line have appeared, hinting at a release for the new line of professional-minded desktop Macs in the coming days. Here are the new MacBook Airs:

As you can see from the Apple-internal part numbers above, Apple will be releasing four new MacBook Air models. This includes two 11 inch models and two 13 inch models; both screen sizes will come in entry level and upgraded configurations. Built-to-order options (BTO) will be available as well. We expect some RAM and processor upgrades. Our sources who handled the new MacBook Air told us earlier this month to not expect any noticeable exterior changes. Speedy Sandy Bridge processors and Thunderbolt I/O are this model’s main upgrades.

Surprisingly, it also looks like new Mac Pros are coming as early as this week. The new line was rumored to be launching in the last week of July or the first week of August, but it looks like Apple is getting them out earlier (or we just got the part numbers super early, which is unlikely). The new Mac Pros are may feature a re-designed enclosure that is both narrower and rack-mountable. A faster, 16 core model is also a possibility and Thunderbolt is an obvious addition. As expected, a new Mac Pro Server model will also debut. Here are the new Mac Pros:

As we previously reported, these new Macs will be Apple’s first to ship with Mac OS X Lion pre-installed. Apple is expected to release OS X Lion through the Mac App Store this Thursday, July 14th. We have also heard rumblings that suggest new MacBook Airs on Thursday, so perhaps Apple launches all three products on that day. We are also expecting new Mac minis in the near future (maybe this week) with Thunderbolt and faster CPUs

------

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 12th, 2011, 6:06 pm

You know what they say, ignorance is bliss. According to a study by Retrevo, 34% of iPhone users believe that they already have a ’4G’ device. AT&T and Verizon are starting to aggressively market their 4G networks, and new, 4G-equipped smartphones are hitting the shelves from iPhone competitors, like Android.

The typical consumer can be easily confused by similar numbering and phrasing in marketing, and the iPhone “4″ seems to be the reason for all of this 4G confusion.

Carriers are notorious for intentionally blurring the lines between what separates different technologies and products. Put yourself in the shoes of a normal person that walks into an AT&T or Verizon store. With 4G marketing everywhere alongside a giant “iPhone 4″ marquee, wouldn’t you get confused?

To add to the confusion, carriers are slapping the 4G label on Verizon’s LTE (Long Term Evolution) technology and AT&T’s HSPA+ data network. Both technologies offer different sets of speeds at different rates, but it’s all thrown under the “4G” umbrella.

If one-third of iPhone users already think they have a 4G device, then most consumers probably don’t care if an iPhone 4G comes out this year or not. The likelihood of a 4G-enable smartphone from Apple in 2011 is very slim, so don’t hold your breath.

We all probably know people that would fall into this 34% demographic of iPhone users that are oblivious to the difference between 3G and 4G. Does that let Apple off the hook for another year with no iPhone 4G? As always, sales will have to determine that.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 12th, 2011, 10:04 pm

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 13th, 2011, 12:05 pm

Apple's latest beta of iOS 5 has reportedly enabled AirPlay Mirroring support for FaceTime!

TiPb writes, "The ability to easily start a video call and beam it onto the big screen is compelling. Whether it's grandpa and grandma, or the team in England, it takes FaceTime from a small, personal experience to a big, group experience at the touch of a button. I snuck out to a developer friend's place to try it out, and yeah. Magical."

iOS 5 can't arrive soon enough!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 13th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Can anyone with a jailbroken device give me the repo for 'Modmyiphone' please.

I think i deleted by mistake and now i can't get it back.

Don't want to jailbreak all over again and cydia is not re-installing over itself.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » July 13th, 2011, 10:28 pm

Postby M_2NR » July 13th, 2011, 10:33 pm

google broken again? :lol:
http://modmyi.com/forums/cydia-support/ ... dress.html

I HATE GETTING PUSH TO WORK ON HACKTIVATED DEVICES :x :x :x

SAM is so annoying! Thank God for @anethema, push doctor yes! gah...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Monster CleanTouch Pen

Postby RapToR » July 14th, 2011, 10:00 am

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 14th, 2011, 5:15 pm

@ M_2nr

Yea, it look like google spoil on my side ... lol.

I searched and searched and couldn't fix it. Even tried what hot blue suggested, but nothing worked till the last comment in that link you posted.

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2011, 5:24 pm

oh yeh i forgot about those "More Sources" option as well.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 15th, 2011, 1:26 pm

Here’s something quick and eyebrow-raising to boot this morning. A YouTube guitarist puts an iPhone 4 inside his instrument to capture some rarely seen footage of how the strings oscillate. The awesome effect is further amplified thanks to the way the iPhone 4′s shutter works, he explains in a video description:

I just happened upon this trick when testing what it was like filming from inside my guitar. Note this effect is due to the rolling shutter, which is non-representative of how strings actually vibrate.

In other words, the iPhone 4′s CMOS sensor scans objects diagonally from the top left to the bottom right, producing the interesting effect. Now that we’ve seen it in action, we have a couple of ideas of our own to shoot fast-moving objects to take advantage of the camera shutter effect.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 15th, 2011, 2:09 pm

Rumor: Redesigned iPhone 5 May Be Delayed Due To A5 Chip Overheating Issue?

iPhone 5

The iPhone 5 rumor mill is working overtime.

According to Chinese website – Sohu, Apple’s faster dual-core A5 processor that currently powers iPad 2 is overheating in iPhone 5, which might delay the launch of Apple’s fifth generation iPhone.

Apple is widely expected to launch the eagerly awaited iPhone 5 later this fall.

Sohu reports:

Due to the emergence of Apple's current A5 processor overheating problem, so Apple will not soon be launching a new generation of the iPhone 5 smartphones, but Apple will launch this fall is still an iPhone 4, enhanced mobile products or the name iPhone 4S, this iPhone 4S is mainly based on the iPhone 4 on minor upgrades and no significant upgrade.

According to Sohu, the A5 chip overheating issue initially forced Apple to delay the launch of iPhone 5 to late August and early September timeframe instead of the annual June-July timeframe. However, according to the report, the launch of a completely redesigned iPhone 5 has now been pushed to 2012 and Apple will launch a specs bumped iPhone 4S later this year.

It is not the first time that we’ve heard rumors about the possibility of a new iPhone dubbed iPhone 4S that looks like iPhone 4 and comes with improved specifications such as improved 8-megapixel camera etc..

Please note that Sohu does not have a track record with Apple related rumors so take this with a pinch of salt.

What do you think? Let us know in the comments below.

[Sohu via 9 to 5 Mac]

hmmmm havent upgraded to the white i4 because i was waiting on the new one....

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 15th, 2011, 2:45 pm

Don't update to iOS 4.3.4

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=16080

iOS 4.3.4 Software Update
Fixes security vulnerability associated with viewing malicious PDF files.

Products compatible with this software update:
• iPhone 4 (GSM model)
• iPhone 3GS
• iPad 2
• iPad
• iPod touch (4th generation)
• iPod touch (3rd generation)

For information on the security content of this update, please visit this website:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1222

*NOTE: iOS 4.2.9 is also out for Verizon iPhone 4s.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 15th, 2011, 2:48 pm

Apple News | WARNING: Don't Update to iOS 4.3.4, Save Your SHSH Blobs

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=16081

Apple today released iOS 4.3.4 to block the recent jailbreak released by comex. Do not update if you want to remain jailbroken.

Apple will stop signing iOS 4.3.3 shortly so make sure to save your SHSH blobs as soon as possible.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 15th, 2011, 3:06 pm

Remember I asked about it ... you think now they would act now?

Apple News | Developer Questions Why Apple Allows Pirated Games on Game Center

GAMEized, the developer behind the iOS game FingerKicks, is speaking out on iOS game piracy and questioning why Apple's Game Center supports pirated apps.

In a post on their blog, GAMEized reveals how excited they were about app sales based on the number of Game Center players, only to find that most were pirated players.

Because Apple only provides app sales data once per day, GAMEized used the Game Center leaderboards as a barometer for how many players had purchased FingerKicks. It was reasonable to assume that 5,000 players meant at least 5,000 sales, and since many customers don't use Game Center, the actual sales numbers might have been much higher.

It was a bitter disappointment when we discovered that the Game Center numbers weren't reflected in the iTunesConnect purchase reports. In fact, iTC reported only 160 purchases – a substantially lower number than the number of people actually playing the game. How it that possible?

FingerKicks has now sold 1163 legitimate copies but there are at least 15,950 pirated copies being played regularly on Apple's Game Center. That equates to an astonishing 91% of downloads that are pirated.

Most bewildering of all is that even with all their rhetoric chastising piracy and intellectual property theft, Apple apparently has no functional counter-piracy safeguards in place on their Game Center – essentially permitting users to play pirated software on their Game Center without any fear of reprisals or consequence.

Unfortunately, this type of piracy is commonly associated with jailbreaking because it requires a jailbroken device. Please help reduce this stigma by supporting the developers that work hard to bring you these apps.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 15th, 2011, 3:52 pm

I tested gevey pro on 4.3.4 and it works, also the baseband is still 04.10.01

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 15th, 2011, 5:39 pm

Yuh seriously doh stick na hoss :P

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 16th, 2011, 12:37 am

mojosodope, u tried jailbreaking 4.3.4???

Postby M_2NR » July 16th, 2011, 12:53 am

jailbreak for 4.3.4 is tethered

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 17th, 2011, 12:27 pm

While the hoopla surrounding the recently released iOS 4.3.4 (and iOS 4.2.9) focused on it killing the PDF exploit that allowed JailbreakMe.com to function — and could potentially allow bad guys to attack the iPhone and iPad as well — it looks like Apple also patched an exploit that had been used to achieve untethered Jailbreakers since iOS 4.1. According to @i0n1c:

For those that did not get it: iOS 4.3.4 does not only fix jbme3 as announced, but also silently kills the ndrv_setspec() integer overflow.

In addition to that iOS 4.3.4 also adds code to dyld to detect attacks with binaries using “incomplete code signing”.

“Incomplete codesigning attacks” were used for all untether exploits from at least iOS 4.1.0
Wonder if {Apple] only tried to stop my xploit from modifying LCs at runtime with the new check, or if they knew it would stop [incomplete codesigning] attacks.

That last tweet revives the debate about wether or not Apple is simply concerned about iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch security, or if they’re specifically targeting Jailbreak exploits to close down. Some, like JailbreakMe.com, are such a risk Apple closes them as soon as possible. Others, like ndrv_setspec() survived for months and several IOS updates.
Either way, we once again thank the Jailbreak developers for their time and tenacity in always looking for new exploits and new ways to Jailbreak.