Audio Control 6xs ...

Keptis

Postby Keptis » February 24th, 2009, 12:38 pm

Hi,

I have a brand new 6XS i have parked up for about 2 years. Am I to believe there are custom made chips that can be bought and installed on my 6xs to allow greater performance than the factory installed chips it came with.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 24th, 2009, 2:39 pm

it does not allow greater perfoemance^^^^

it's just as good as any original chip,but it does not exceed the original,it simply changes the frequency

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 24th, 2009, 7:36 pm

Keptis,with normal X-overs if u want to change the frequencies, u just turn a knob. With Audiocontrol, u have to change the chip...u can buy chips or build them ur self.Once u get the right type of resistors, it gives the same performance as the installed ones.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 26th, 2009, 10:20 am

Keptis :
see if this helps....

tweeters:: 3500 hz or higher
midrange:: 350 hz to 3500 hz
midbass :: 80 hz to 250 hz
subwoffers :: 150 hz and lower (much lower!!)

those are the recommended freq for the 6xs...
now all you need to do is figure out what you want your system to do..

casper

Postby casper » February 27th, 2009, 9:00 am

Rovin...u hooked up ures as yet?

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 27th, 2009, 10:18 am

rovin you selling yours???

:lol: :lol: :lol: :?:

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » April 16th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Updates??

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2010, 1:08 am

was searching for something else & came across this old thread

u can see d date i made this thread & im not lying when i say i only had cause to use it last oct when i once a yr occasionally enter gallery.

I dont have daily use for it since my daily set is a sealed sub in box & a pair of comps ran with d passives it comes with & my hu has fr\rear & sub filters.

If u into gallery its very good to bandpass ur highs , mids or lower mids & bass so that u have each set of speakers or drivers playing within its most efficient freq range (for my set i used a pair of RCF N850 , Pair of 10" RCF L50 & 1 15" for bass)....pretty good line drive built into it so u really dont need a matrix after this unless u have a very big set with alot of amps ...had my set playing very controlled & clean - got many compliments

like i said above i havent had cause to use it for daily\SQ use but its a very good piece of equipment & i expect it will work just as well in any type of properly designed set ....

d_ad_man

Postby d_ad_man » April 6th, 2010, 9:16 pm

:idea: :idea:

Hydrographic Dezigns

Postby Hydrographic Dezigns » April 14th, 2010, 12:18 am

currently i am using A DQS to 6XS.......trust me its a lot of tuning but everyday it sounds better...lol

crossing my Faitals on 90hz, best midbass I ever heard......paired with N850 DRIVERS.....Bandpass

Can't go wrong with Audiocontrol processors, once you know how to use them....

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » April 14th, 2010, 11:41 am

A next question pertaining to the 6xs

My current head unit and processing are a pioneer 5100ub, Clarion preamp and a Clarion x-over.

I was contemplating on buying a 6xs.. Would my music sound much better than with the clarion x-over. And If i am using the 6xs would I still have to use my preamp or can i bypass it??

casper

Postby casper » April 14th, 2010, 11:47 am

still use ur pre amp...and yea it will sound better cuz the slopes are better and it cuts more accurately than the mcd....

who s next

Postby who s next » April 14th, 2010, 1:02 pm

all u need is the pioneer head unit & 6xs
and some proper chips while tuning to your listining enjoyment

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 14th, 2010, 1:10 pm

get a zapco sxsl :lol: :lol:

Re: Audio Control 6xs ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 11th, 2011, 1:59 pm

ent is $60 for a chip by rrr ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 11th, 2011, 6:55 pm

how much $ for d lil resistor thingies that make up a chip ? & what about time\energy\gas to run around looking for it then d soldering , sounds like some work to go thru just so it cost less than $60

what is d freq of d chip u need & y u dont make a wtb thread since u might get like a used 1 for 1\2 price ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 11th, 2011, 8:42 pm

ohor , never really looked into it or had reason to change d chips that came with my 6xs but then too i hardly use it unless i competing in gallery & last time i did that was in march last yr , otherwise d built in xover in my deck in good enough for daily use ...