Best post paid plan for a smart phone?

Tired Accord

Best post paid plan for a smart phone?

Postby Tired Accord » July 12th, 2011, 3:00 pm

So if one bought a smart phone from outside of TT, what is the best approach to getting it on a data plan with either service provider here? Can you just get a data plan without purchasing a smart phone from the company? Please advise.

i2smart4u

Re: Best post paid plan for a smart phone?

Postby i2smart4u » July 12th, 2011, 3:32 pm

$150 for a data plan with bmobile added to whatever post paid bundle you have. check the website.....blackberries are $100 per month for a 5mb package which is kinda unlimited unless you use the ph as a modem.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » July 12th, 2011, 3:43 pm

i2smart4u wrote:$150 for a data plan with bmobile added to whatever post paid bundle you have. check the website.....blackberries are $100 per month for a 5mb package which is kinda unlimited unless you use the ph as a modem.

Also, it's probably gonna take you quite a while to exceed 5mbs with our slow ass third world EDGE networks. :roll: :roll:

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » July 12th, 2011, 3:58 pm

Christian thanks for that. What about the red people?

Postby S_2NR » July 12th, 2011, 4:00 pm

bmobile > digicel

Aquarius

Postby Aquarius » July 12th, 2011, 4:04 pm

Smokey wrote:
i2smart4u wrote:$150 for a data plan with bmobile added to whatever post paid bundle you have. check the website.....blackberries are $100 per month for a 5mb package which is kinda unlimited unless you use the ph as a modem.

Also, it's probably gonna take you quite a while to exceed 5mbs with our slow ass third world EDGE networks. :roll: :roll:

true..... :cry:

Dont waste your time with the Red......SLOW AS F*.....my car right now :|

you could save that $200 unlimted for something better

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » July 12th, 2011, 4:10 pm

S_2NR wrote:bmobile > digicel

I dig what you're saying. But it's for the wife actually, who is on red pre-paid right now, and would prefer to keep her number....so hence i'm wondering about what red have to offer. She won't be doing alot of browsing while out a road though, except when home, and then the phone could surf on the wifi home.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 12th, 2011, 4:15 pm

does bb work in other islands or territories?, a friend of mine went to jamrock and this is how it went.

From Antigua no network , in new Kingston no network , bmoblie said the restart battery pull , did this 3 time no network , insert digi sim in bmobile b berry , whats app works with network , 2 hrs with *100 manager says this is and isolated case , 20 ins with lime representative says this is common with tt based blackberrys . Short term option take out a 70 J sim with lime , no Trinidad resolution since Sunday

Postby S_2NR » July 12th, 2011, 4:49 pm

ask in the bb thread^^

and if ur wife dont browse that much and barely use data then just get a digicel data plan.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 12th, 2011, 9:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:ask in the bb thread^^

and if ur wife dont browse that much and barely use data then just get a digicel data plan.

social plan if needed for just fb,msn and bbm ?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » July 14th, 2011, 4:14 am

shaq090 wrote:

So can one "upgrade" a pre-paid account to a data account?

I'm gathering that there are options for plans? Such as this "social plan" that shaq is referring to? Also, the phone might not be a b-berry - so in that case, I won't need it to have bbm/bis.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 14th, 2011, 6:33 am

Tired Accord wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

So can one "upgrade" a pre-paid account to a data account?

I'm gathering that there are options for plans? Such as this "social plan" that shaq is referring to? Also, the phone might not be a b-berry - so in that case, I won't need it to have bbm/bis.

nope ur kinda confused...lemme explain
IF you have a berry these are your options
Digicel has unlimited, my mail(just ur emails can be viewed) and social (just social sites like fb,bbm etc can be used)

Bmobile has either unlimited bis, 5MB bis and same social plan

If you have a smartphone that is not a berry then
Bmobile ur option is unlimited edge or pay as u use( recently came out)
Digicel has unlimited data package for 200 a month or cap data plans for different prices
http://www.digiceltt.com/en/postpaid/data-plans

Postby S_2NR » July 14th, 2011, 9:23 am

i thought u come here lookin for reviews but u come for general info..wtf :?
just call digicel/bmobile and get the info na OP.

FMA340

Postby FMA340 » November 11th, 2011, 3:47 pm

So if u don't sign up for the $150 data plan, and yuh postpaid smartphone phone is configured properly for data, would internet/data work on it?

Postby tr1ad » November 11th, 2011, 5:37 pm

This is so much a repost