**Rim test??

Postby Morpheus » May 15th, 2011, 3:26 am

Have a major shimmy at a certain speed. Around 110kmh, etc. Did enough wheel balancing. Doh talk for when slowing down hard..... annoying :evil:

Is there somewhere that tests rims for straightness, symmetry, roundness,etc?

Wondering if 1 or more of my rims dish.

NOTE: When I say test rims I mean taking rim off car, removing tyres, putting on machine, etc.

Just wondering....... cause I contemplating replacing them if that is the case.

5forward

Re: **Rim test??

Postby 5forward » May 15th, 2011, 10:10 am

Well i dont know about the testing of the rim.the other guys would have to tell you about that part...but in the mean time,borrow a set of wheels from your padna for a lil 2 hours and see if you still get the problem

altec

Postby altec » May 15th, 2011, 10:33 am

check rims only on a balance machine that spins. you will see if there is a bend. you using oem rims or aftermarket?

Postby Morpheus » May 15th, 2011, 5:15 pm

^^Aftermarket rims. And thanks for the suggestions

altec

Postby altec » May 15th, 2011, 5:33 pm

there is a possibility the you may need hub centering rings for those rims. If you still have the originals put them on and see in the shakes go away

Phoenix4tt

Postby Phoenix4tt » May 15th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Are you sure it the rim?. At that speed you need to speed balance the back wheels as well, However if the problem is there on slowing down it could be your rotors or even axel. Has any parts been changed or have the rotors been machined recently. You need say recent repair done to the car.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 16th, 2011, 8:07 am

I agree with altec. Get some hubcentric rings first and see if that solves the problem.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » May 17th, 2011, 6:34 am

Tyres could be the problem.

Postby Morpheus » May 17th, 2011, 10:41 pm

Guys I not sure where the problem is. Could be a number of things as we all mentioned. That's why I wanna start checking and eliminating bit by bit.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2011, 10:35 am

Go to masterserv
Ask them to do a full suspension check and mention the problem.
Let them re-balance the 4 wheels, and they'll be able to tell you if your rims are bent

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » May 19th, 2011, 7:58 pm

Use rims from someone you know (hopefully theirs not bent lol) and see if the symptoms persists. You mentioned slowing down too, maybe badly warped rotors or simply....when last you did a suspension checkup?

Postby Morpheus » May 19th, 2011, 8:07 pm

Suspension was checked and bushings and tie rods were replaced August 2010. More attention was paid to the front though.

I am noticing some fine haairline cracks on the front rotors. Similar to this pic. Just the smaller cracks eh. Wanna replace them just for those cracks alone. Far less for if it warp too :?

Any idea of the full suspension check at Masterserv? And which branch do you recommend VexXx Dog?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Chaguanas.

Postby Morpheus » May 20th, 2011, 12:31 am

^^Thanks man

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

In this way you can condense your troubleshooting efforts and save some time & $..
good luck pallie

Postby Morpheus » June 24th, 2011, 2:58 am

LiL. Update. My 2 back tyres were nearly gone. Had them since I bought the car 2.5years ago. Inner side of tyres worn badly. From the outside, threads looking normel. That fooled me of course. Also improtantly, the sidewalls had some bad cracks on them. Time to replace.

Anyhoo, bought 2 new Dunlops , put them on the rims and put the combination in front. Moved the front rims/tyres to the back. Balanced all 4 from scratch (Yes I realise some shops don't remove the old weights) :roll: .

:) The shake/shimmy is gone totally during acceleration but is there during deceleration. I'm leaning towards rotor discs. In fact I a going in that direction.

New Age Auto calling $400 a side, used! :shock: :shock:

I will upgrade one time yes. Better I put extra and buy new and upgraded.

Ordered these a few days now. Will let you all know howit goes

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » June 30th, 2011, 9:34 am

xtech

Postby xtech » July 2nd, 2011, 8:59 pm

Postby Morpheus » July 3rd, 2011, 1:33 am

*pelts xtech with egg. Is now you go post that?? :lol:

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » July 4th, 2011, 5:21 pm

do epoxi steel really hold on rims ? can it take the heat? have a damaged rim, got it welded but has a fine leak somewhere n it looses pressure very very slowly? think epoxi can hold it?

Postby Morpheus » July 15th, 2011, 7:03 pm

UPDATE: Collected and installed the rotors this afternoon. Everything is smooth now. On accelerating and braking. Thanks for all your input.

Image New disc
ImageOld Disc
ImageUnevenly worn 3 week old Wagner pads. Apparently the previous pads were Bluebird SSS pads, hence the more narrow wear line :?
ImageHairline cracks on one of the old discs.
ImageCompleted

Postby Hook » July 21st, 2011, 11:48 am

Any reviews on the braking performance now that they're broken in?