achillies

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » July 29th, 2011, 6:49 am

mitch wrote:
achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:i paid £440 for mine from the UK when it now came out and was only available in Europe outside of Korea at that time...

interested to know where bmobile are getting their stock from though

This is my issue right now, I don't know where they getting it from, I heard they have a unit you can actually play with down at west mall, I might have to pay them a visit to see if its the International version they have

if u do go to check it out, enter *#1234# and see what the CSC code is...

This is my plan exactly

But in research I found this

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpos ... ostcount=8

Since the hardware is exactly the same, I should in theory be able to flash the international version of the firmware on the device
Last edited by achillies on July 29th, 2011, 8:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

azeem

Postby azeem » July 29th, 2011, 8:00 am

anybody had any luck updating the firmware on the SGSII?? i mean with kies or on the phone itself.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 29th, 2011, 9:37 am

azeem wrote:anybody had any luck updating the firmware on the SGSII?? i mean with kies or on the phone itself.

updated...yes
using kies...no

always used Odin for updates so far. what's ur CSC code?

Postby honda hoe » July 29th, 2011, 9:48 am

manual updates ftl :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 29th, 2011, 10:09 am

honda hoe wrote:manual updates ftl :|

waiting forever for automatic updates ftl.

yuh get d new Market yet? :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 29th, 2011, 1:23 pm

update for optimus 1 anyone?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 29th, 2011, 6:27 pm

achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:
achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:i paid £440 for mine from the UK when it now came out and was only available in Europe outside of Korea at that time...

interested to know where bmobile are getting their stock from though

This is my issue right now, I don't know where they getting it from, I heard they have a unit you can actually play with down at west mall, I might have to pay them a visit to see if its the International version they have

if u do go to check it out, enter *#1234# and see what the CSC code is...

This is my plan exactly

But in research I found this

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpos ... ostcount=8

Since the hardware is exactly the same, I should in theory be able to flash the international version of the firmware on the device

That is what i ended up doing with my I9000T. Flashed an international 2.3.4 firmware on it and it working better than ever.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 29th, 2011, 6:44 pm

I went to Bmobile, the phone wasn't on display again, but i asked some questions, it seems they have the I9100, but it may have firmware slightly modded for Trinidad and Tobago, either way, it shouldn't be and issue to flash international version.

azeem

Postby azeem » July 29th, 2011, 8:34 pm

csc: i9100UUBKD1

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 30th, 2011, 12:05 am

azeem wrote:csc: i9100UUBKD1

hmmm never saw an update for this CSC yet so doubt u'll get an update over Kies.

is this a phone from bmobile?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 30th, 2011, 1:49 am

aye mitch, you get through with Photovine yet?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 30th, 2011, 12:37 pm

nope not yet

azeem

Postby azeem » July 30th, 2011, 1:26 pm

mitch, phone is from a tuner named dyshant

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2011, 1:32 pm

azeem wrote:mitch, phone is from a tuner named dyshant

oh godd..u wait three weeks for a phone from he?
u have rel patience dan!

azeem

Postby azeem » July 30th, 2011, 1:34 pm

hoss i didnt know, but yea it take about 3 weeks.

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2011, 1:35 pm

i was gona order a phone from him.
then he tell me 3 weeks.
i take back my money and ride out.
he fackin mad

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 2nd, 2011, 2:26 pm

Canalys: Android rules the smartphone world, Samsung could've done better

Thought Android was killing it in the US? Try the rest of planet Earth, bud. The latest from our friends at Canalys has Google's mobile OS on 48 percent of smartphones worldwide, or nearly one out of every two sold. Mountain View's stratospheric rise came at someone's expense, and it looks like Nokia's the loser here folks, which corroborates the data from last week's IDC report. Espoo's foibles are troublesome in a market that grew 73 percent year over year, especially when Samsung shipped 421 percent more handsets than it did a year ago. As a result, the Korean company has surpassed Nokia in smartphone marketshare, just like its rival in Cupertino. Despite the rampant growth, the research firm suspects Sammy could have done better, noting that it had failed to capitalize on Nokia's "weakened state around the world" with its "global scale and channel reach." We'll see if Samsung takes Canalys' constructive criticism to heart in Q3, but while you wait, you can read the full report after the jump.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 2nd, 2011, 2:38 pm

Start Google Plus Combines Google+ with Facebook and Twitter

Start Google Plus is a great extension for Chrome and Firefox that lets you update Twitter and Facebook from within Google+, also adding feeds from both social networks onto your main page. We mentioned it in our Facebook to Google+ migration guide, but felt it deserved to be highlighted on its own because it's so useful.
To get started, you just download the extension and install it like any other, then log into Google+ and authorize both your Twitter and Facebook accounts. Once you've done that, you'll see your Twitter stream and Facebook news feed show up in your Google+ feed. This is really great if you want to go to a single location for all your updates, but if it's too much in one place you can always just turn it off. What's really useful is the ability to post status updates to all three services directly from Google+. The extension adds buttons to select which networks your messages gets posted to and those buttons live right by where you add which circles and specific people get to see your message. You can toggle them on and off, so it's really easy to make changes on a message-by-message basis.

If you want everything in one place, Start Google Plus is a really great way to make that happen.

We received lots of tips from lots of people about this extension before posting it in the guide and, of course, right here, so thanks to everyone who let us know!

Lifehacker

achillies

Postby achillies » August 2nd, 2011, 5:16 pm

^^^ some really good stuff

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 2nd, 2011, 6:57 pm

Move over Skype, calling from Gmail now supports 38 languages and cheaper calls

Kon'nichiwa, hola, and bonjour says Google, as it expands Gmail calling to support a total of 38 languages and four currencies including Euros, British pounds and Canadian / US dolla dolla bills y'all. The calling feature allows Gmail users to call landlines and mobile phones from within their Gmail browser for next to nothing, making the email center a one-stop shop for IMs, emails, video and voice calls. The year-old service is lowering its call rates to $0.10 per minute to mobile phones in the UK, France, and Germany, $0.15 per minute to Mexico, and $0.02 per minute to any number in China and India. Calling landlines is even cheaper -- which would be fantastic if you actually knew someone that still used one. The expanded language support and cheaper calls adds another piece of ammo to Google's arsenal as it goes head-to-head with Skype (which charges $0.18 - $0.25 per minute for calls to UK mobile numbers), after the company conveniently partnered with Google+'s arch nemesis for calls from within the social network. But hey, at least those late-night arguments won't cost the former nearly as much as it once did.

Official Google Blog

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 3rd, 2011, 4:10 pm

there should now be a 2.3.4 update on Kies for ur phone...

I9100UHKG7/I9100UUBKG6/I9100UHKG4/I9100UHKG7

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 3rd, 2011, 5:32 pm

did we really expect anything better from Apple and Microsoft?

When patents attack Android

I have worked in the tech sector for over two decades. Microsoft and Apple have always been at each other’s throats, so when they get into bed together you have to start wondering what's going on. Here is what’s happening:

Android is on fire. More than 550,000 Android devices are activated every day, through a network of 39 manufacturers and 231 carriers. Android and other platforms are competing hard against each other, and that’s yielding cool new devices and amazing mobile apps for consumers.

But Android’s success has yielded something else: a hostile, organized campaign against Android by Microsoft, Oracle, Apple and other companies, waged through bogus patents.

They’re doing this by banding together to acquire Novell’s old patents (the “CPTN” group including Microsoft and Apple) and Nortel’s old patents (the “Rockstar” group including Microsoft and Apple), to make sure Google didn’t get them; seeking $15 licensing fees for every Android device; attempting to make it more expensive for phone manufacturers to license Android (which we provide free of charge) than Windows Mobile; and even suing Barnes & Noble, HTC, Motorola, and Samsung. Patents were meant to encourage innovation, but lately they are being used as a weapon to stop it.

A smartphone might involve as many as 250,000 (largely questionable) patent claims, and our competitors want to impose a “tax” for these dubious patents that makes Android devices more expensive for consumers. They want to make it harder for manufacturers to sell Android devices. Instead of competing by building new features or devices, they are fighting through litigation.

This anti-competitive strategy is also escalating the cost of patents way beyond what they’re really worth. Microsoft and Apple’s winning $4.5 billion for Nortel’s patent portfolio was nearly five times larger than the pre-auction estimate of $1 billion. Fortunately, the law frowns on the accumulation of dubious patents for anti-competitive means — which means these deals are likely to draw regulatory scrutiny, and this patent bubble will pop.

We’re not naive; technology is a tough and ever-changing industry and we work very hard to stay focused on our own business and make better products. But in this instance we thought it was important to speak out and make it clear that we’re determined to preserve Android as a competitive choice for consumers, by stopping those who are trying to strangle it.

We’re looking intensely at a number of ways to do that. We’re encouraged that the Department of Justice forced the group I mentioned earlier to license the former Novell patents on fair terms, and that it’s looking into whether Microsoft and Apple acquired the Nortel patents for anti-competitive means. We’re also looking at other ways to reduce the anti-competitive threats against Android by strengthening our own patent portfolio. Unless we act, consumers could face rising costs for Android devices — and fewer choices for their next phone.

Posted by David Drummond, Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer

The Official Google Blog

Postby S_2NR » August 3rd, 2011, 5:33 pm

fack them :x

achillies

Postby achillies » August 3rd, 2011, 6:27 pm

mitch wrote:

there should now be a 2.3.4 update on Kies for ur phone...

I9100UHKG7/I9100UUBKG6/I9100UHKG4/I9100UHKG7

When I saw this, I get shock wii

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 3rd, 2011, 8:07 pm

^lol ent :lol:

the person who post about it on XDA thought TTT was the code for Brazil :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 4th, 2011, 12:52 am

In the battle for social networking dominance Google Plus has burst on the scene attempting to dethrone Facebook. Column 5 sizes up the competition and gives us a glimpse at what role the user will play in deciding a winner. (August 2, 2011)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 4th, 2011, 9:46 am

Skype two-way video chat finally arrives on more Android handsets

An updated version of Skype just appeared on the Android Market sporting a crucial improvement: it now supports two-way video calling on a wide range of current Android handsets, rather than the meager four that had previously received preferential treatment. If you have a recent phone from HTC, Samsung or Sony Ericsson (excluding the Arc), then you're probably in luck. Oh, and LG Revolution (Verizon) and Acer A5 owners can get their vogue on too. Running Gingerbread is a must, though, because Froyo will only let you use your device's rear camera, which is obviously quite difficult to pose for.

(These handsets already support video calling)

Samsung Google Nexus S
Sony Ericsson Xperia neo
Sony Ericsson Xperia pro
HTC Desire S

Video calling is now available on the following Android devices:

Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung Galaxy S
Samsung Droid Charge - Verizon
Samsung Galaxy Tab
HTC Desire (2.2)
HTC Thunderbolt - Verizon
HTC Sensation
HTC Evo 4G
HTC Evo 3D
HTC Incredible S
HTC Desire HD
HTC Flyer
LG Revolution - Verizon (2.2)
Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY
Sony Ericsson Xperia ray
Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro
Acer A5

Engadget

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » August 4th, 2011, 3:00 pm

Hey guys,

I just finished the app for TTonline and am waiting for my Apple developer account to add the iphone version, check it out if you have time: https://market.android.com/details?id=c ... rch_result it's free.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 5th, 2011, 5:49 pm

comScore reports on market and OS marketshare in the US for Q2

comScore released their report on the mobile phone market in the US for the second quarter of this year. They found that Android is pulling ahead of iOS and that those are the only two OSes that didn’t lose market share.

Samsung is solidifying its place as the top phone maker in the US (note: counting both feature phones and smartphones) with 25.3%, up 0.8% compared to the previous quarter. Apple overtook RIM in Q2 and now sits in 4th place. Apple also grew the most quarter-on-quarter (QoQ), a full percent, reaching 8.9% of market share.

Not surprisingly, iOS overtook BlackBerry OS and seized the second place in OS popularity in the US with 26.6%. Android, however, is well ahead with 40.1%, widening the gap between it and iOS. Meanwhile, Microsoft's presence in mobile phones continued to decline and Symbian is on its last two percent.

The smartphone market in the US grew 8% QoQ. The top three OSes (Android, iOS, BB OS) control a hair over 90% of the US smartphone market share, leaving very little room for Windows of Symbian.

GSM Arena

comScore

Postby honda hoe » August 6th, 2011, 2:46 pm

mitch wrote:Skype two-way video chat finally arrives on more Android handsets

An updated version of Skype just appeared on the Android Market sporting a crucial improvement: it now supports two-way video calling on a wide range of current Android handsets, rather than the meager four that had previously received preferential treatment. If you have a recent phone from HTC, Samsung or Sony Ericsson (excluding the Arc), then you're probably in luck. Oh, and LG Revolution (Verizon) and Acer A5 owners can get their vogue on too. Running Gingerbread is a must, though, because Froyo will only let you use your device's rear camera, which is obviously quite difficult to pose for.

(These handsets already support video calling)

Samsung Google Nexus S
Sony Ericsson Xperia neo
Sony Ericsson Xperia pro
HTC Desire S

Video calling is now available on the following Android devices:

Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung Galaxy S
Samsung Droid Charge - Verizon
Samsung Galaxy Tab
HTC Desire (2.2)
HTC Thunderbolt - Verizon
HTC Sensation