Any SCUBA Divers?

AbstractPoetic

Any SCUBA Divers?

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 5th, 2011, 5:04 pm

Any divers on the forum??

I'll be going on my first diving experience in Tobago and wanted to hear of what places are worthwhile. I'll be diving in Speyside. Any other places I should consider? :mrgreen:

Re: Any SCUBA Divers?

Postby bushwakka » August 5th, 2011, 6:59 pm

u certified already im guessing? Mt. Irvine wall is worth checking out, easy dive

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » August 5th, 2011, 7:24 pm

who you diving with?

lots of choices in speyside, some dependent on water/weather conditions

japanese gardens; bookends; st giles; london bridge to name a few

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 5th, 2011, 7:40 pm

bushwakka wrote:u certified already im guessing? Mt. Irvine wall is worth checking out, easy dive

Yes, certified. I don't think I'll be able to dive without it! :lol:

Thanks for that suggestion. I was under the impression Mt. Irvine waters are pretty rough though.

Postby SR » August 5th, 2011, 7:40 pm

if its your first time stick to speyside nuff to do in one day

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 5th, 2011, 7:41 pm

sleepertercel wrote:who you diving with?

lots of choices in speyside, some dependent on water/weather conditions

japanese gardens; bookends; st giles; london bridge to name a few

Diving with Extra Divers Speyside. We plan on definitely using a guide!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 5th, 2011, 7:44 pm

SR wrote:if its your first time stick to speyside nuff to do in one day

Yup, first time. I'm hoping visibility will be good during the time I visit.

Thank you.

Postby bushwakka » August 5th, 2011, 11:57 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
bushwakka wrote:u certified already im guessing? Mt. Irvine wall is worth checking out, easy dive

Thanks for that suggestion. I was under the impression Mt. Irvine waters are pretty rough though.

there is a strong current out there that u can do a drift dive on

and then there is a section near the rocky shore called the Mt. Irvine wall where its pretty calm beneath the surface and lots of fish an stuff around there.....was like finding nemo

i did those dives as part of my padi certification with extra divers crown pt

Postby Mark! » August 6th, 2011, 1:48 am

I does dive...

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 8th, 2011, 1:13 pm

bushwakka wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

there is a strong current out there that u can do a drift dive on

and then there is a section near the rocky shore called the Mt. Irvine wall where its pretty calm beneath the surface and lots of fish an stuff around there.....was like finding nemo

i did those dives as part of my padi certification with extra divers crown pt

Thank you kindly, good sir. I'll try and schedule a dive there. I'm hoping to put my NAUI training to good use!

Postby stev » August 8th, 2011, 1:39 pm

a few years ago when some friends of mine went diving off scarborough, they saw a dead shark (5 ft) with it's fins missing :|

*insert Jaws music here*

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2011, 1:58 pm

Nah dread not into the scuba diving thing, muff diving seem kool

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 8th, 2011, 1:59 pm

stev wrote:a few years ago when some friends of mine went diving off scarborough, they saw a dead shark (5 ft) with it's fins missing :|

*insert Jaws music here*

...and yet, you're still here relaying your experiences. What a weak attempt to deter me :lol:.

Postby stev » August 8th, 2011, 2:11 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
stev wrote:a few years ago when some friends of mine went diving off scarborough, they saw a dead shark (5 ft) with it's fins missing :|

*insert Jaws music here*

...and yet, you're still here relaying your experiences. What a weak attempt to deter me :lol:.

not trying to deter u hoss, just letting you know to use Gillette Fusion Pro Glide instead of a disposable razor if u planning to shave under water...

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 8th, 2011, 2:23 pm

stev wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

*insert Jaws music here*

not trying to deter u hoss, just letting you know to use Gillette Fusion Pro Glide instead of a disposable razor if u planning to shave under water...

I'm not a "hoss".

And I don't shave, I laser...and am hairless.

Thanks for your advice though. I'll pass it on to my better half. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby K74T » August 8th, 2011, 2:32 pm

:rofl: :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » August 8th, 2011, 2:37 pm

^^^ d man hit mih ah technical F*** up dey yes. lol

newayz...if its ur first time, as SR said above, there is a lot you can do there in one day. friends of mine dive there all the time. I'm yet to go :(

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 8th, 2011, 2:50 pm

Postby stev » August 8th, 2011, 2:55 pm

drunken master that was totally uncalled for :|

u spoil d ched boy.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 8th, 2011, 3:01 pm

I guess you are for scuba...

Hope your happy like a hippo.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » August 8th, 2011, 3:06 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

wat??... like yuh certificate = your regulator awah??....

haha...i dive...and i'm not certified...as yet!!

brainchild

Postby brainchild » August 8th, 2011, 3:09 pm

zoom rader wrote:Nah dread not into the scuba diving thing, muff diving seem kool

:lol: :lol: :lol: ...hope u certified

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 3:16 pm

stev wrote:^^^ d man hit mih ah technical F*** up dey yes. lol

newayz...if its ur first time, as SR said above, there is a lot you can do there in one day. friends of mine dive there all the time. I'm yet to go :(

She saying she's a she not a he...

AP whats the difference between all the different types of certification PADI, NAUI, OMG, WTF, BBQ..

what do the different types mean and what are they used for?

I know i could prolly just look it up myself but for the general information of the thread nah, plus i jus lazy. :|

AbstractPoetic wrote:And I don't shave, I laser...and am hairless.

Thanks for your advice though. I'll pass it on to my better half. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wats the name of the electric shaver you bought for yr SO in the other thread a while aback..been trying to remember it?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 8th, 2011, 3:35 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
stev wrote:^^^ d man hit mih ah technical F*** up dey yes. lol

She saying she's a she not a he...

AP whats the difference between all the different types of certification PADI, NAUI, OMG, WTF, BBQ..

what do the different types mean and what are they used for?

I know i could prolly just look it up myself but for the general information of the thread nah, plus i jus lazy. :|

AbstractPoetic wrote:And I don't shave, I laser...and am hairless.

wats the name of the electric shaver you bought for yr SO in the other thread a while aback..been trying to remember it?

Why would you be lazy when you're about to embark on the most exciting watersport experience ever??! :lol:

There are many different agencies and organizations that teach scuba diving and open water diving, outside of advanced diving (wreck diving, deep diving, rescue diving, etc.). Some of these agencies include:

PADI
SSI
NAUI
CMAS
BSAC

There is no major difference amongst these agenices other than their teaching styles. Ultimately, though, it will come down to your instructor. I went with NAUI because I preferred their style of teaching. While PADI offers more classes and is well known, I think its far too commercialized and not individualized. Like I relayed earlier, many divers that met their death while diving were PADI trained. Moreover, I think there is something wrong when I can be certified in a matter of hours or only after a crash weekend course. That should tell you something about the quality of PADI training.

I'm not sure about PADI, but for NAUI certification I needed to complete at least 5 open water divers before I became certified. I did an additional three dives with my instructor for good measure. I highly recommend NAUI but seeing how you are in TT, absolutely positively go with BSAC.

http://www.bsac.com/

Postby stev » August 8th, 2011, 3:42 pm

he is she.......noted with apologies

Team EVO

Postby Team EVO » August 8th, 2011, 4:26 pm

If you are an experience diver i would recommened Diving off Castara or Parlatuvier...there are no dive shops i know off around that area, you would have to take your own gears and link with one off the local fisher men and they would take you out for a small fee ($200-$300), those locations has some of the most beautiful SMALL reefs in Tobago. the fisher men know all the spots! Basically anywhere on the coast of the Caribbean Sea would be good, and some the best visibility ever!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 8th, 2011, 4:40 pm

Team EVO wrote:If you are an experience diver i would recommened Diving off Castara or Parlatuvier...there are no dive shops i know off around that area, you would have to take your own gears and link with one off the local fisher men and they would take you out for a small fee ($200-$300), those locations has some of the most beautiful SMALL reefs in Tobago. the fisher men know all the spots! Basically anywhere on the coast of the Caribbean Sea would be good, and some the best visibility ever!

For fear of those fishermen leaving us at sea, I'd rather go with a local diving company and pay the extra funds for them to take us to that location.

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 4:58 pm

bess we form a small group an buy a pirogue yes :lol:

Team EVO

Postby Team EVO » August 8th, 2011, 5:14 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Team EVO wrote:If you are an experience diver i would recommened Diving off Castara or Parlatuvier...there are no dive shops i know off around that area, you would have to take your own gears and link with one off the local fisher men and they would take you out for a small fee ($200-$300), those locations has some of the most beautiful SMALL reefs in Tobago. the fisher men know all the spots! Basically anywhere on the coast of the Caribbean Sea would be good, and some the best visibility ever!

For fear of those fishermen leaving us at sea, I'd rather go with a local diving company and pay the extra funds for them to take us to that location.

:lol: I don't think they would...but i guess it's what you feel safe with...but i can almost guarantee that no dive shops will take you those areas...for two reasons
1. From where most dive shops are they would tell you its to far, dive shops are mostly situated to the North-East or the West of the island
2. Most of the shops in Tobago are owned by foreigners and they would tell you NO simply because they would not know the spots.

Anyways there are still places like the Mt.Irvine wall etc...but i'll tell you if you looking for exciting dives those are the spots or even off Speyside has some nice spots, i'll recommened going with the dive shop that is situated in Blue Water Inn, they really know the spots!!!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 8th, 2011, 5:50 pm

sharkman121 wrote:bess we form a small group an buy a pirogue yes :lol:

I second this. We go take turns diving. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Team EVO wrote: :lol: I don't think they would...but i guess it's what you feel safe with...but i can almost guarantee that no dive shops will take you those areas...for two reasons

1. From where most dive shops are they would tell you its to far, dive shops are mostly situated to the North-East or the West of the island
2. Most of the shops in Tobago are owned by foreigners and they would tell you NO simply because they would not know the spots.

Anyways there are still places like the Mt.Irvine wall etc...but i'll tell you if you looking for exciting dives those are the spots or even off Speyside has some nice spots, i'll recommened going with the dive shop that is situated in Blue Water Inn, they really know the spots!!!

Well do you have any recommendations for fishermen in Castara?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

I also have family in Tobago. Maybe they can take us to these sites. :P