drunk driver kills another driver in freeport

DSM_05

Re: drunk driver kills another driver in freeport

Postby DSM_05 » August 7th, 2011, 8:13 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Van_crosses_highway_killing_car_driver-127016038.html

Van crosses highway killing car driver
By Sue-Ann Wayow South Bureau
Story Created: Aug 6, 2011 at 12:51 AM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 6, 2011 at 12:51 AM ECT
A LAVENTILLE man was killed when his car was hit by a pick-up van that crossed the median of the Solomon Hochoy Highway on Thursday night.
Gary Garth, 34, of Upper Pashley Street, Laventille, died at the scene from head injuries.
The driver of the pick-up, a 29-year-old man of La Horquetta, was taken to hospital complaining of chest pains.
The collision happened at around 9.45 p.m. near the Freeport overpass, in an area where the cable barriers separating the north and southbound lanes of the highway have not yet been built.
Police were told the black Ford Ranger was travelling north when it spun out of control and crossed the highway.
Garth's car, a Toyota Corolla, broadsided the pick-up van on the passenger's side.
Police have begun a motor manslaughter investigation.

A van again.

Get them off the highway.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 7th, 2011, 8:50 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Not blaming police for the the man death's.........Just noting that there should be more police presence on the highways... and more random stops with the breathalyser in effect to help get rid of drunk drivers.........

What I will never understand is why the po po just dont parkup near all these summer/carnival parties and just breathalize everyone driving.

You know how much money the PP will collect with that alone?

PapaDouen

Postby PapaDouen » August 7th, 2011, 10:26 am

How many people have even been breathalyzed in this country? They should take away their license if they're caught.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » August 7th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Sky wrote:The logic behind it was that without insurance, the car is illegal on the road and deemed a weapon in the killing.

So then when you're caught without insurance what's the charge? Attempted murder? :?

Wishful thinking...this is Trinidad jed!!!

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2011, 9:54 am

Very sad. Did not see anything about no license, insurance or DUI in the news report but it does not surprise me considering where the man originates from.

FYI *$kїđž!™ , what time are you on the highway? I have been driving north/ south/ Mayaro for over ten years now, and I have seen a marked increase in patrols at all hours of the day, but particularly between 4:00am and 8:00am.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 8th, 2011, 12:47 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
FYI *$kїđž!™ , what time are you on the highway? I have been driving north/ south/ Mayaro for over ten years now, and I have seen a marked increase in patrols at all hours of the day, but particularly between 4:00am and 8:00am.

yeah i guess is prob the timing....but they ent gonna pulll over any drunk driver during that time....Thats when ppl heading to work and things will be quiet for the police......

they should be patroling at nights after the fetes etc......

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 8th, 2011, 2:06 pm

If the police and government wanna make some big money put a mobile patrol outside all fetes and clubs ....... and I bet almost all drivers over the limit..

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » August 8th, 2011, 2:35 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:kinda hard to take pics and drive...plus it is against the law to play with a phone while driving....

every morning when im going to work at 4am, there are police on the road.

Blaming police for people driving recklessly?? dude seriously....

We need to be more responsible for our actions....we need to stop pointing fingers and blaming each other when something happen....

it is sad that an innocent person died and the arm of the law will deal with the person who caused it.....

Seriously.......... I drive from South to POS everyday at that 4am and there are hardly ever any police if any at all on the road at that time

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » August 8th, 2011, 2:41 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i aint a lawyer but i know once a person die in an accident its vehicular manslaughter and not murder

If that is the case, how come the popalie character that killed the policeman was not charged.

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2011, 2:41 pm

Drive slower then.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 8th, 2011, 3:51 pm

rdeonarine wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:kinda hard to take pics and drive...plus it is against the law to play with a phone while driving....

We need to be more responsible for our actions....we need to stop pointing fingers and blaming each other when something happen....

it is sad that an innocent person died and the arm of the law will deal with the person who caused it.....

Seriously.......... I drive from South to POS everyday at that 4am and there are hardly ever any police if any at all on the road at that time

serious...at 4am this morning there was a police under corintha flyover with a guy who was loading his vehicle on a wrecker......

rdeonarine wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:i aint a lawyer but i know once a person die in an accident its vehicular manslaughter and not murder

If that is the case, how come the popalie character that killed the policeman was not charged.

wasnt the young woman charged?? the same one with the altezza??

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,129751.html

http://test.guardian.co.tt/?q=news/crim ... ays-prison

She had been denied bail when she first appeared on Monday, charged with driving her car dangerously, causing the death of SRP Renaul Dopson and causing grievous bodily harm to his colleague, Wendy-Ann Timothy, on October 17.

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » August 8th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
rdeonarine wrote:

serious...at 4am this morning there was a police under corintha flyover with a guy who was loading his vehicle on a wrecker......

I enter the highway from San-do tech bypass there, so i would have missed that. But seriously tho, I dont recall ever seeing patrol cars that often.

rdeonarine wrote:

She had been denied bail when she first appeared on Monday, charged with driving her car dangerously, causing the death of SRP Renaul Dopson and causing grievous bodily harm to his colleague, Wendy-Ann Timothy, on October 17.

All dat rubbish talk was not called for hoss, I merely asked if she has been formerly charged and penalised for the crime which she has done, Was there any jail sentence?...fine? .....penalties etc.

Postby Stephon. » August 8th, 2011, 4:10 pm

Accidents are so common on this highway that its becoming a joke now, this incident in particular is rough. I drove on that highway for the first time on saturday since feb and people were flying down the highway like they were on an airport runway, I even saw a car that starting skidding when he had to mash a sudden brake. When people hear from me that I don't go south because I want to avoid that highway with those drivers, they automatically think it's a racist statement, but no it's more like a I wanna live to see tomorrow statement. I'm not saying that there are no accidents on the east west corridor, but the chances of getting in an accident on the north/west highway is evidently much higher than it is anywhere else in Trinidad. Stay mad if you disagree.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 8th, 2011, 4:15 pm

rdeonarine wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:
rdeonarine wrote:

I enter the highway from San-do tech bypass there, so i would have missed that. But seriously tho, I dont recall ever seeing patrol cars that often.

rdeonarine wrote:

All dat rubbish talk was not called for hoss, I merely asked if she has been formerly charged and penalised for the crime which she has done, Was there any jail sentence?...fine? .....penalties etc.

posting facts is now rubbish talk??

how come the popalie character that killed the policeman was not charged.

is completely different to "was the woman who killed the policeman charged?"

long story short she is before the courts....justice would be served the due course....

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » August 9th, 2011, 8:34 pm

ilove3 wrote:to prove a murder, there must be INTENT.... So he will be charged with manslaughter. Sad in any case. RIP. Btw, do u have a pic of the guy? I got a glimpse of the guy... if I am correct, he used to work Dairy Bar, on Frederick St back in the day?

yea he used to wurk in d dairy bar wayyyy back when....no pics of him..just pics of his 101 corolla cus he was selling it to go buy a corolla wagon.

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » August 10th, 2011, 5:24 am

the police investigating the case is saying that my friend was somehow wrong in the whole accident thing.....word on the grapevine is that he is being paid a large amount of money by someone affiliated with the driver of the ranger......i now understand why some ppl does resort to takin justice into their own hands.