Feelings about Drag Racing

professor

Feelings about Drag Racing

Postby professor » August 10th, 2011, 8:54 am

I saw this quote in a magazine yesterday, it was made by someone who was drag racing (successfully) in the US for over 10 yrs, he moved from Drags to Drifting and now in to Circuit Racing.

'Drags are excellent from the engineering aspect, but it's the same 1/4 mile in every city'

I guess the same could be said for Circuit Racing if you only race on one track.

Maybe the real racers in Trinidad, are to be found in Solodex and Rally.

Re: Feelings about Drag Racing

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 10th, 2011, 8:59 am

go kart club i believe changes there track every year

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 10th, 2011, 9:46 am

we cannot take this statement with out knowing what he piloted and what were his et's . all 1/4 miles are not the same and temperatures and humidity affect et times . As for types and speed of cars take a look at youtube and the 10 sec and under smaller cars, many of these car get sideways at well over 100mph and look for kako racing , queen st rx, fastest 12a and the 7 sec rotas and sr's see how they go down the track crossing the finish at and angle sometimes crashing at the finish line .

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 10th, 2011, 9:52 am

^^^agreed about humidity, track temps, groove line... they differ and driver must be aware of these changes....then again maybe the crew chief needs to be more cognizant of such than driver.....

Postby turbosingh » August 10th, 2011, 10:36 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^agreed about humidity, track temps, groove line... they differ and driver must be aware of these changes....then again maybe the crew chief needs to be more cognizant of such than driver.....

Not forgetting the quality of materials used to build the track,poor quality is a major factor!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 10th, 2011, 1:40 pm

ask anyone who has raced at what is now a the promised land at Camden , anyone care to to an event to crash analysis of the 3 tracks where drag racing was held and have a time variation factor , to determine which is our most dangerous track

Postby bluesteel29 » August 10th, 2011, 1:48 pm

professor wrote:I saw this quote in a magazine yesterday, it was made by someone who was drag racing (successfully) in the US for over 10 yrs, he moved from Drags to Drifting and now in to Circuit Racing.

'Drags are excellent from the engineering aspect, but it's the same 1/4 mile in every city'
I guess the same could be said for Circuit Racing if you only race on one track.

a 10sec car from foreign aint gonna make 10sec in trini because of the difference in track

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Drags are boring, circuit racing is boring.
Rally the only one offers excitement.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » August 10th, 2011, 2:06 pm

I say to each his own. I love all forms of motorsports but I tend to favour/lean to drag racing.

Postby A172 » August 10th, 2011, 2:12 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Drags are boring, circuit racing is boring.

spectators gonna spectate.

Postby TRAE » August 10th, 2011, 3:05 pm

i actually find more rush in a drag than a circuit race unless I'm way outta the opponents league... buh my good sir do you race?

Postby noshownogo » August 10th, 2011, 3:08 pm

hmmm sounds like hondahoe justifying his 1/4mile ET

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2011, 3:14 pm

TRAE wrote:

i actually find more rush in a drag than a circuit race unless I'm way outta the opponents league... buh my good sir do you race?

I do not race...only spectate and imo I just find it rather boring to see a car go down a 1/4 mile strip or go around and around the same track.

If ppl get thrills off watching those races though kudos to them.

Postby AllTrac » August 10th, 2011, 3:24 pm

Drags is the best spectator auto sport, i can sit down in hot sun and watch for hours.
Circuit is 2nd in my list
Dex is boring, worst yet is if you watching it on video.
stock car racing is annoying
Rally has its 3 second moments every 10 mins, that 3 seconds could be extended if hondaho rallying and he turn over de car.
drifitng gets old fast. The novelty has already worn off with me.

Postby RBphoto » August 10th, 2011, 3:25 pm

Drags are the 100m dash of motor racing. High performance, instant gratification. I personally prefer drags.

Postby TRAE » August 10th, 2011, 3:29 pm

TRAE wrote:

I do not race...only spectate and imo I just find it rather boring to see a car go down a 1/4 mile strip or go around and around the same track.

If ppl get thrills off watching those races though kudos to them.

can you at least drive a stick? because in addition to the atmostpheric conditions and tarmac conditions on the racetrack, a driver really has to know his vehicle to time his gear changes to maximise the gear box to make that engine work 100%. while its fun to see Mad Cow burn out on one spot and start donutting, its also fun IMHO to see the skill of a driver that can conquer the 1/4 mile especially with high powered vehicles where wheel spin, humidity, bad visibility, etc is to be considered.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2011, 3:47 pm

Mandatory I can drive a manual.

Maybe I should make reference to the fact I also prefer test cricket over ODI and 20/20 so basically you get that I rather watch where people have endurance and rough it out over a period of time where the conditions change drastically especially if you go after other drivers (rallying where the gravel becomes looser etc.) than a mere 10 odd secs in a drag race.

Once again to each his own

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » August 10th, 2011, 6:10 pm

There's a huge difference in spectating and competing.

To a spectator, drag racing could be boring since all you see is the car going down a straight line.
To the racer, going down that straight line is a rush as you're (usually) trying to push the limits of your machine. Then you get to do it all over again...

I favor autox/solodex because I like throwing the car sideways... but its more expensive than drag racing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 10th, 2011, 6:27 pm

^ drag racing can be very expensive!!!

the instant gratification may be the allure to T&T fans

drag racing is more popular in T&T, rally more popular in Barbados and circuit more popular in Jamaica and Guyana

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 10th, 2011, 6:51 pm

talking about that .....who going circuit in guyana ...

red jet have flights for 122.00 usd

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 10th, 2011, 6:55 pm

^ plan to

CMRC finals this year will be good

Rx

Postby Rx » August 10th, 2011, 7:42 pm

drag racing gives a huge adrenaline rush... and yes, INSTANT GRATIFICATION [more so when u win a race]

I have taken my bone stock Forester down the 1/4 and 1/8 mile strips ... all I can say is WIN OR LOSS, I'M THE BOSS !!!! ......lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 10th, 2011, 7:49 pm

^ by instant gratification I meant the fans get to see who is the winner of a race in less than 15 seconds whereas they have to wait all day or days for rally or circuit

Rx

Postby Rx » August 10th, 2011, 7:55 pm

^^ true dat!!

In my case, the instant gratification occurred in 15.6 seconds after the green light...lol

drlancer

Postby drlancer » August 10th, 2011, 8:15 pm

from your post professor, i can be seen that you are not a drag racer, I am! do you have any idea how difficult it is to keep a rear wheel drive car doing just about 375 hp in a straight line doing 12 secs? with the other car right up your arse in the other lane......bro that is an adrenaline rush. i respect all other forms of motor sport, but drag racing is my love!

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » August 10th, 2011, 8:33 pm

professor wrote:I saw this quote in a magazine yesterday, it was made by someone who was drag racing (successfully) in the US for over 10 yrs, he moved from Drags to Drifting and now in to Circuit Racing.

Well said 8-)

Rx

Postby Rx » August 10th, 2011, 8:36 pm

drlancer wrote:from your post professor, i can be seen that you are not a drag racer, I am! do you have any idea how difficult it is to keep a rear wheel drive car doing just about 375 hp in a straight line doing 12 secs? with the other car right up your arse in the other lane......bro that is an adrenaline rush. i respect all other forms of motor sport, but drag racing is my love!

Hoss.. you are barking up the wrong tree.

My guess is that you have no idea who is the "Professor"

You'll learn soon enough.

Peace. 8-)

Postby MG Man » August 10th, 2011, 8:55 pm

my car gives best value for money at drags...while you clowns only get ah lil 10 seconds on the track, I get a solid 24 seconds!!!!!

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » August 10th, 2011, 8:56 pm

drlancer wrote:from your post professor, i can be seen that you are not a drag racer, I am! do you have any idea how difficult it is to keep a rear wheel drive car doing just about 375 hp in a straight line doing 12 secs? with the other car right up your arse in the other lane......bro that is an adrenaline rush. i respect all other forms of motor sport, but drag racing is my love!

...the professor is an excellent driver btw 8-) 8-) ...

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » August 10th, 2011, 9:07 pm

From your post drlancer, it can be seen that you cannot identify the real Professore :lol::lol:

Rally> all :D

Drag racing to me is always the same old same old, but like all others it is still a motorsport.
To each his own....Racers gonna race