Re: Virgin Atlantic gets flat tire

Postby Bizzare » August 11th, 2011, 10:49 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Sky wrote:
pioneer wrote:if dey turn off de engine know how hot in there gonna get :|

In there gonna get hot anyway, because they hadda take off the ac belt from the engine to reach the landing gear and change the tire.

That's only if the gumshum valve is stuck open. Otherwise, they can just disable the vertical lift generation bypass and access the tyre from the footwell

shaq090 approves!!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 11th, 2011, 10:53 pm

Sigh lemme clear it up for you all.

They were to depart just 20 mins after British Airways. Unfortunately the aircraft was navigating a section of runway closed off for repair work. Those of you familiar with the slanted exit that leads to the end of runway 11. There is a trench there and also marked with barriers.

The Aircraft was to turn through the middle section and instead went to the slanted area. We all saw the plane rise like it was on a speedbump and when the main gear hit the trench the whole thing dropped (think of a real bad, hard landing where the wings flex almost to the ground.) The pilots then tried to move and that's when the tyre on the extreme right bogey blew. They tried applying full power and the jet wouldn't budge... this is all at 8:10- 8:30pm.

So now it's half on the taxiway, half on the runway. They shut off engines around 8:30 or so but left the APU and nav lights/ wing flashers on... and Airports Authority began their mobilization plan... inspecting the damages and the what course to take. Thing is... if you are familiar with 747's they carry 4 main bogeys (sets of wheels) the two outer bogeys the rear wheels are in the trench and the front wheels of the inner two are in the trence. From what I am hearing it may be difficult (or even impossible) to get it out without doing any further damage... I doubt even the tow vehicles will be able to help.

So passengers came off near 9pm... baggage and fuel being removed... nav lights remaining on as a warning against any runway incursions and there are now floodlights on the runway on the aircraft as well. May be heading back down there soon but not sure though.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2011, 10:58 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:
zcarz wrote:this is why i've lobbied on many a international forum for VTOL to become a part of civil aviation...

You so smart...tell me moar...

what are your arguments against VTOL?

Postby gt4tified » August 12th, 2011, 2:17 am

Exciting times.

30hz

Postby 30hz » August 12th, 2011, 5:41 am

crownpoint re-openend for nomal opeations @ 0439. i guess they move it. will cost tt gov some paper

Postby AllTrac » August 12th, 2011, 5:44 am

pioneer wrote:Image

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Team Loco » August 12th, 2011, 6:31 am

MISHI wrote:Sigh lemme clear it up for you all.

They were to depart just 20 mins after British Airways. Unfortunately the aircraft was navigating a section of runway closed off for repair work. Those of you familiar with the slanted exit that leads to the end of runway 11. There is a trench there and also marked with barriers.

The Aircraft was to turn through the middle section and instead went to the slanted area. We all saw the plane rise like it was on a speedbump and when the main gear hit the trench the whole thing dropped (think of a real bad, hard landing where the wings flex almost to the ground.) The pilots then tried to move and that's when the tyre on the extreme right bogey blew. They tried applying full power and the jet wouldn't budge... this is all at 8:10- 8:30pm.

So now it's half on the taxiway, half on the runway. They shut off engines around 8:30 or so but left the APU and nav lights/ wing flashers on... and Airports Authority began their mobilization plan... inspecting the damages and the what course to take. Thing is... if you are familiar with 747's they carry 4 main bogeys (sets of wheels) the two outer bogeys the rear wheels are in the trench and the front wheels of the inner two are in the trence. From what I am hearing it may be difficult (or even impossible) to get it out without doing any further damage... I doubt even the tow vehicles will be able to help.

So passengers came off near 9pm... baggage and fuel being removed... nav lights remaining on as a warning against any runway incursions and there are now floodlights on the runway on the aircraft as well. May be heading back down there soon but not sure though.

so de pilot put on the hazard lights?? lol

but Chiney's wrecking could pull that plane out normal normal 6575522

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2011, 6:51 am

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 12th, 2011, 6:56 am

foss wrote:at Crown Point International... :shock:

Renamed ANR Robinson International Airport a few months ago.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 12th, 2011, 6:57 am

They should also join the roadside assistance program and get back on track in an hour or two.

Or Mishi coulda call his crew, charge them up with some good blue food, and then grab a 2" tow rope and haul that out in no time.

Postby cinco » August 12th, 2011, 6:57 am

wah mishi yuh large
u have yuh name on a virgin atlantic plane?

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2011, 8:20 am

kevcam wrote:
foss wrote:at Crown Point International... :shock:

Renamed ANR Robinson International Airport a few months ago.

Doesn't matter

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 12th, 2011, 8:36 am

Here's more

Latest news was that Jusamco engineers were flown in by helicopter last night to help assess the situation as they were the ones doing the work on the runway/ taxiway. Also being told that rim(s) may have also been broken as well and Boeing may have to send some representatives in also.

Caribbean airlines have flown in a couple smaller flights this morning but it's going to be a mess for a while. EDIT being told the aircraft was moved this morning. Will check it out when i get down there

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2011, 8:39 am

front of the plane has a buttcrack? o_O

Postby TRAE » August 12th, 2011, 8:51 am

dey shoulda use rhinotire
http://www.rhinotire.com/

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 12th, 2011, 9:34 am

nicely posted mishi!!!!

TK!

Postby TK! » August 12th, 2011, 10:06 am

great update man!
for the OP.. take note... this is how u report

Postby foss » August 12th, 2011, 10:10 am

TK! wrote:great update man!
for the OP.. take note... this is how u report

doh beat up.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 12th, 2011, 1:31 pm

zcarz wrote:
Rallyfignis wrote:
zcarz wrote:this is why i've lobbied on many a international forum for VTOL to become a part of civil aviation...

You so smart...tell me moar...

what are your arguments against VTOL?

For one thing, it would be frightfully expensive.

We did a feasibility study several years ago using Canadian operator HeliJet to operate scheduled/charter flights for the air-bridge using S-76 helicopters. The cost to the consumer would've much more than the current fixed-wing cost of $300TTD.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » August 12th, 2011, 2:59 pm

Well Most of MISHI story is correct except that it is two tyres that are actually blown on the air-craft & one wheel damaged slightly.. I was one of the passengers on board at the time. It have some passengers who took shots of the wheels close up....will see if I could get a hold & post it.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 12th, 2011, 3:07 pm

foss wrote:

not sure if srs or lulz worthy.

kinda both actually

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 12th, 2011, 3:40 pm

Cool... we were on the fence when the tyres blew... sounded as one tyre.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 12th, 2011, 5:38 pm

pioneer wrote:So why you stole Raoul Yeates pics man?

Cause Raoul Yeates is my mild mannered alter ego...

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2011, 5:56 pm

MG Man wrote:front of the plane has a buttcrack? o_O

yeah but the plane is still a virgin as far as I know :wink:

Postby DFC » August 12th, 2011, 7:15 pm

anybordee here ever ride in ah virgin atlantic plane?

Postby Sky » August 12th, 2011, 7:38 pm

MISHI wrote:Cool... we were on the fence when the tyres blew... sounded as one tyre.

We were on the back road by the runway next to sandy point when we saw a plane passing kinda kinda close to the fence while turning. Then in sandy point we heard BODOW (thats how it really sounded) And felt it. We just assumed someone slam a door down the hall.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » August 13th, 2011, 12:27 am

MISHI wrote:Cool... we were on the fence when the tyres blew... sounded as one tyre.

Yuh shots were after we departed the aircraft...... :)
Wuda like to get down & that side to play fass today ....but no transport.
Fras blank me....lol

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 13th, 2011, 12:35 am

I had others before that just that I wouldn't post those up.