The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » August 15th, 2011, 10:23 am

awww snap! sheit just got real! will the next Nexus be a Moto? hmmm...

Google acquiring Motorola Mobility

Happy Monday to you, and happy Monday to Motorola Mobility, which Google has announced is about to become its next acquisition. This comes hot on the heels of a $56 million Q2 net loss for Moto -- and CEO Sanjay Jha's less than subtle hints about going fishing for Android-related patent royalties. Now, at a price of $40 per share for a total of about $12.5 billion, Big G will be making Moto a "dedicated Android partner" to "supercharge the Android ecosystem" and "enhance competition in mobile computing."

Larry Page had this to say about the deal:

Motorola Mobility's total commitment to Android has created a natural fit for our two companies. Together, we will create amazing user experiences that supercharge the entire Android ecosystem for the benefit of consumers, partners and developers. I look forward to welcoming Motorolans to our family of Googlers.

What happens next? While this will of course strengthen the ties between hardware and software, Google is pledging to continue offering Android as an open platform -- Moto will license it and others will be able to as ever. Additionally, Google will continue to operate its new toy as a separate business and not morph it into an in-house hardware wing. But, one has to wonder what this means for companies like Samsung, which partnered closely with Google on the Nexus S, and of course HTC, which released the Nexus One and the iconic G1. And then there's the big question: just where does Moto Blur fit into this equation?

Engadget

Re: Google buying Motorola?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2011, 1:34 pm

Your title is misleading
Google is buying Motorola Mobile who makes Android devices, not the whole of Motorola

Re: Google buying Motorola?

Postby tr1ad » August 15th, 2011, 1:40 pm

also even though the post in the google thread was posted after this, that thread has more views

Postby M_2NR » August 15th, 2011, 2:51 pm

I'm SURE Sony Ericsson was like fcuk no!!!!. There was a rumor a while back that... google... was considering... them... :rofl:

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2011, 3:05 pm

MadCrix wrote:any roms for optimus one?

eet does chansform? :wink:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 16th, 2011, 9:07 am

hmmm, nice move Samsung...

CyanogenMod founder joins Samsung Mobile, promises to make Android 'more awesome'

We already knew Samsung loved the guys at CyanogenMod, but we didn't think they'd start absorbing parts of its development team. According to Steve Kondik's Facebook page, the Android facade's head sculptor is setting up shop at Samsung Mobile. Sammy's new software engineer told his fans that although his 'side project,' CyanogenMod, is not affiliated with his employer in any way, he will be "working on making Android more awesome." Makes sense, we heard Samsung's phones were looking for a fresh coat of awesome.

Engadget

Postby r3iXmann » August 16th, 2011, 9:19 am

M_2NR wrote:I'm SURE Sony Ericsson was like fcuk no!!!!. There was a rumor a while back that... google... was considering... them... :rofl:

then we'd get the next android phone in 10 yrs? with updates every..2? :lol:

samsung ftw

btw anyone ever got to test one of those new htc 3d phones? i have a friend who might be buying one soon

Postby M_2NR » August 16th, 2011, 5:20 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
M_2NR wrote:I'm SURE Sony Ericsson was like fcuk no!!!!. There was a rumor a while back that... google... was considering... them... :rofl:

then we'd get the next android phone in 10 yrs? with updates every..2? :lol:

samsung ftw

btw anyone ever got to test one of those new htc 3d phones? i have a friend who might be buying one soon

and crazy CSR saying a F/W will be supported with not even a press release citing it.

ironically, their is a rumor of a 4.3" SE 720p phone.... *chokes in laughter*

i think if anyone is gonna buy those things they should use it for a while. The screen is 3D as well right? I hated using it on a DS :cry: eye strain FTL.

Postby Chimera » August 16th, 2011, 5:22 pm

eh get around to rooting meh aria yet yes lol

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 16th, 2011, 6:06 pm

HTC EVO 3d is ok, but it made me sick after 5mins in 3d mode.. I'm using a EVO 4G right now & I love it.. the battery life sucks but its definitely a step up from my 2G iPhone.

I have a NIB Motorola Photon with HDMI docking station.. $550 takes it

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 16th, 2011, 6:45 pm

Hot a Zagg invisible shield for the HTC Aria if anyone interested.

Paid $250 for it and will let it go for $200

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 17th, 2011, 2:46 pm

^ Photovine now available yo (iOS only for now though :|)

Photovine grows out of private beta, begins sprouting on iPhones everywhere

It popped up in private beta earlier this summer, but Slide's Photovine is now open to the public, available as a free download on Apple's iOS App Store. Surprisingly there's no Android app yet -- a curious move considering Google (Slide's parent company) isn't known to exclude its own mobile platform with new product rollouts. Huff Post went hands-on with the app, summing it up as "Instagram meets Piictu," also noting the bizarre exclusion of an option to add your Gmail contacts -- though you can import your friends from Twitter and Facebook. It's probably safe to say that an Android app will be coming soon -- or perhaps some other indication that Google and Slide do in fact share the same roof -- but for now, iPhone owners can slide on down to the source link to get their photo sharing fix.

Engadget

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 17th, 2011, 2:55 pm

Officially off the Android bandwagon. Never again. IPhone FTW.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 17th, 2011, 3:00 pm

kthnxbai

Postby SUPAstarr » August 17th, 2011, 3:41 pm

attention whore is whoring, she jus need to let everyone kno she buy an iphone

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 17th, 2011, 4:02 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:attention whore is whoring, she jus need to let everyone kno she buy an iphone

Uhm, what?? Anyone can get an IPhone. I'm just relaying it's considerably better than Android.

Toodles.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 17th, 2011, 4:45 pm

thanks for ur "expert" advice. ciao.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 17th, 2011, 4:54 pm

mitch wrote:^ Photovine now available yo (iOS only for now though :|)

Photovine grows out of private beta, begins sprouting on iPhones everywhere

It popped up in private beta earlier this summer, but Slide's Photovine is now open to the public, available as a free download on Apple's iOS App Store. Surprisingly there's no Android app yet -- a curious move considering Google (Slide's parent company) isn't known to exclude its own mobile platform with new product rollouts. Huff Post went hands-on with the app, summing it up as "Instagram meets Piictu," also noting the bizarre exclusion of an option to add your Gmail contacts -- though you can import your friends from Twitter and Facebook. It's probably safe to say that an Android app will be coming soon -- or perhaps some other indication that Google and Slide do in fact share the same roof -- but for now, iPhone owners can slide on down to the source link to get their photo sharing fix.

Engadget

Looks like a nice app.

Just need to get people involved with it

Postby SUPAstarr » August 17th, 2011, 5:52 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:attention whore is whoring, she jus need to let everyone kno she buy an iphone

Uhm, what?? Anyone can get an IPhone. I'm just relaying it's considerably better than Android.

Toodles.

AbstractPoetic wrote:Officially off the Android bandwagon. Never again. IPhone FTW.

oh my bad i gained so much information from your statement that you are off the bandwagon. I totally picked up the part where you RELAYED how much better it is.

plz eh..its called being attention whore, now if you said you had so an so problem with android an iphone does not have such issues then yea, i could live with that. but you sound like you see somebody iphone lightsaber app an gone an buy an iphone to do it too

achillies

Postby achillies » August 18th, 2011, 9:08 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Toodles.

SMH

LOL!

If it has to be said, then it isn't considerably better, if it was, then there would be no argument and you wouldn't be in the ANDROID thread saying it, this is the behavior of an INSECURE individual

Also, you should refer to the posts on Android market-share for further clarification...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2011, 2:36 pm

Greypatch wrote:is the nexus prime out ?

not yet, rumoured to be launching in October...

Samsung Nexus Prime serving up Ice Cream Sandwich in October?

The hunt for the next Nexus phone (also known as the Nexus Prime) is on, and it looks like we could see it donning Ice Cream Sandwich in time for Halloween. According to a report in Korea's Electronic Times, those oh so familiar "insiders" are fingering an October launch for the Samsung handset. It will apparently rock a 4.5-inch HD AMOLED display and a 1.5GHz dual core processor, which squares mighty nicely with previous reports. Of course, we'll believe it when we see it -- or at least an official announcement -- but for now, we're keeping the Ice Cream Sandwich dream alive.

Engadget

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2011, 2:53 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

[/b]
Uhm, what?? Anyone can get an IPhone.[b] I'm just relaying it's considerably better than Android.

Toodles.

Yuh issa mad woman orr? I consider myself a techy & a Apple fanboy but I'm happier with my EVO 4G than i was with my borrowed iPhone 4.. I'll explain more in a few. I'm late for my appointment at Red Door spa in Harrahs. AP, yuh wanna come? Me eh mind rubbing Dem butt cheeks for free.. wait! What??

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2011, 3:37 pm

webOS bites the dust...

"In addition, HP reported that it plans to announce that it will discontinue operations for webOS devices, specifically the TouchPad and webOS phones. HP will continue to explore options to optimize the value of webOS software going forward."

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 18th, 2011, 3:40 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

[/b]
Uhm, what?? Anyone can get an IPhone.[b] I'm just relaying it's considerably better than Android.

Toodles.

Yuh issa mad woman orr? I consider myself a techy & a Apple fanboy but I'm happier with my EVO 4G than i was with my borrowed iPhone 4.. I'll explain more in a few. I'm late for my appointment at Red Door spa in Harrahs. AP, yuh wanna come? Me eh mind rubbing Dem butt cheeks for free.. wait! What??

Atlantic City? Ewwww. :lol:

Yeah, I upgraded to an IPhone for work and totally prefer it over my personal Android (G2). Perhaps its the difference in network but surfing and video is much more seamless on my IPhone. I also prefer the IPhone given its extended battery life. I do not have many programs running and yet my G2 loses power in less than 5-6 hours. IPhone gives me close to twice as much life hours.

Like I said, IPhone FTW. That's my expertise advice! Can't wait for the IPhone 5 release!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2011, 3:47 pm

so wait u comparing a G2 to an iPhone (4 i'm assuming)? no wonder u came to that conclusion :S

please use a high end phone from HTC or Samsung next time.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 18th, 2011, 3:50 pm

mitch wrote:so wait u comparing a G2 to an iPhone (4 i'm assuming)? no wonder u came to that conclusion :S

please use a high end phone from HTC or Samsung next time.

Consider it done but I'm only interested in Androids with extended battery life, if that's at all possible.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2011, 3:51 pm

i get 2 days battery life on my Galaxy S II

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 18th, 2011, 4:26 pm

^Yeh 2 days plus on my S1 :|

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2011, 5:26 pm

i normally get a full 24 hours with my captivate with moderate-heavy use on stock gingerbread.

and NO..android is not better than iOS eh..NEVER! :drinking:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Yes I agree about the limited battery life.... The EVO 4G gives me only 4-5 hrs of use compared to my iPhone (2g & 4) which gave me 10 hrs easy.. Firetruckin android don't even offer a C&P feature for text messages, so I ended up using the Handcent app which gives me C&P and talk bubbles layout like my old iPhone... I also test the processor speed with my borrowed i4 (same WiFi network) and the EVO 4G was a little faster..

With that said, I still have my iPhone 2g on my night stand.. I can't bring myself to retire it just yet.

BTW AP, Vegas in October.. yuh down?? Issa boys lime but we eh mind bringing ah lil sand to the beach :lol: