The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby equipped2ripp » July 18th, 2011, 4:05 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:^ wait till y'all see the new navara engine.

240hp/550NM torque 3.0 v6 turbodiesel FTW.

:mrgreen:

they give a date for the release??

N&M won't bring that...

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 18th, 2011, 4:05 pm

they not bringing it...even on special order

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 4:18 pm

typical N&M ...........oh well......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2011, 4:35 pm

^ 7-speed gearbox too!

:( :'(

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » August 22nd, 2011, 8:33 pm

[color=#FF8040]lighthammer wrote:
^^ nah, that can't be accurate.

Presently it's $269,000 for a fully loaded, 4x4 automatic, leather seats hilux at TTTL.
They can't price the new model so drastically, they'll lose a lot of their market (esp to more affordable options like the Ranger and Navara).

I'd estimate that a fully loaded 4x4 automatic/leather/full powered options 3.0L D4D hilux would top out at around $275,000.

way over 300k Bro... auto fully loaded with cc etc... i kid you not....

[/color]

A leather hilux fully loaded at TTTL is $285,000 the fabric is $265,000.....this new 2012 version fully loaded (leather) is gonna be $300,000 giv or take a few dollars.....they are already taking orders

Postby equipped2ripp » August 23rd, 2011, 2:29 pm

Fully loaded with VSC and CC is $315K. The model without those is $290K.

Postby Team Loco » August 26th, 2011, 9:34 am

wagon r wrote:if i won 1 as a prize i sell it or ask for a refund.

Ranger or nothing...

i'd go with nothing......works better !
:D :D :D :D

new hilux is ok, but the tail lights are hideous!

Val

Postby Val » August 28th, 2011, 10:02 am

People in trinidad don't buy the Hilux to work with it, they buy it because for some reason a Hilux is considered a luxury vehicle. TTTL knows this, and they price to suit.

No matter what you do to a van, it's still a van. In 2011, I still cannot understand how people can drive a vehicle with leaf springs and a tray, and consider it a luxury vehicle (guessing most don't even use the tray).

That said, it does look like a Corolla.

badart

Postby badart » August 28th, 2011, 11:33 am

i can't understand how a vehicle with leaf springs and a tray drive so great.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2011, 5:42 pm

val wrote:People in trinidad don't buy the Hilux to work with it, they buy it because for some reason a Hilux is considered a luxury vehicle. TTTL knows this, and they price to suit.

You are exactly right.
It all started a few years ago with the "DUB" trend where a magazine called "DUB" that dealt with popular car culture in the US made having oversized and flashy (often chrome-coated) magrims on vehicles fashionable and trendy. It started with Hummers and other SUV's, and as these type of SUV vehicles are very expensive in Trinidad, the local scene took it upon themselves to use pickups instead (since they were suv-like in size, so it had to count, right?).

Now I've learned to be tolerant of other people's tastes and decisions, after voicing my own opinion a little too strongly on this forum - however IMO this whole oversized, flashy rim thing is just that - a fad or trend that'll eventually die out or at least fade away.

How many trucks are you starting to notice now on the road have lift-kits and mud tyres?

Back in the 1990's and early 2000's, a pickup cost less than a well-equipped midsize or even sometimes a compact sedan.
But because of market trends, a pickup can cost as much as a an SUV, sometimes even as much as a small-sized house.

I say, you know what, fack-it all. These people have they right to spend the money as they like. If they make a stupid decision, then so be it, that's totally on them.

As far as the new 2012 model hilux goes, IMO toyota is trying to stretch the concept of a "do-it-all" vehicle a bit too far now. Sure it looks more "executive" to appeal to the middle-class buyers, but take a walk down Wall Street in NYC, or maybe 5th avenue....how many 'executives' drive a frickin' pickup? No matter how much carryboy accessories or bling you throw on it, underneath it all it's still a pickup truck that was designed primarily to carry heavy loads, sometimes go off-roading.

I always say, if you really wanna see what a pickup is for (or SUV, depending on the model) - watch the Australians. http://www.4wdaction.com.au/

And yes, a vehicle with leaf-springs in the back WILL drive like sheit if you try to push it as far as you would with a tuned performance car. No if-ands-or-buts about it. Lowering it doesn't help (cuz you still dealing with leaf-springs). Only if you change out the entire suspension to a racing-suitable suspension would you get the desired performance.

example:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 29th, 2011, 11:11 am

wait a min - pickup truck racing..... what they trying to do? copy the US nascar truck series racing?

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 29th, 2011, 2:41 pm

that Hilux aint got nothing on the BT50.....

an dat Silvia got pwned!! but the light rear end actually helped wit drifting thru those tight turns

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 29th, 2011, 3:07 pm

^^ its more driver relegated than vehicle

pickups only

Postby pickups only » August 29th, 2011, 9:30 pm

well fellas d old model navara finally have some competition now that the new model hilux is here...............lol

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » September 6th, 2011, 10:05 pm

any idea when toyota is expected to bring in the new hilux ? went today and was told they don't have a date ...

Postby equipped2ripp » September 6th, 2011, 11:50 pm

they won't rush to bring them in anytime soon.

the current model is still selling very good.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 7th, 2011, 8:50 am

there will be a beachmark now with pricing to hit at 300K, almost all of them will cost this much. Ford will go direct competition with Toyota with pricing ( so said the Mc Enenrey ) as both set to cost roughly the same. I am not sure about Nissan but i am sure they will follow suit.
Only other option for buyers now to buy something below the 300k mark may be the Mazda Bt50.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » September 7th, 2011, 6:46 pm

never notice any new model hilux with sunroof,only sportero have factory installed sunroof.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 8th, 2011, 8:19 am

civic minded wrote:there will be a beachmark now with pricing to hit at 300K, almost all of them will cost this much. Ford will go direct competition with Toyota with pricing ( so said the Mc Enenrey ) as both set to cost roughly the same. I am not sure about Nissan but i am sure they will follow suit.
Only other option for buyers now to buy something below the 300k mark may be the Mazda Bt50.

Or a Wingle.
Or a Gonow
Or a Dmax.
Or a barebones Navara (hehehehe).

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 8th, 2011, 9:22 pm

^^ wel yeh but i am not really considering those options but the more popular brands

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 8th, 2011, 9:23 pm

Maska announced that they have this new model in stock - i am guessing way into excess of 300K

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 14th, 2011, 7:47 am

Yes...advertsied on todays press (express page 25)....$335,000....crazy if you ask me!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 14th, 2011, 7:53 am

i really dont see the advantage of buying the van from Maska or M rampersad other than get all the bling with the pickups. I asked the sales guy at Maska what is the advantage... He watch me hard and tell me people know his is better quality....and i am like... gezzz man come back down to planet earth!

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 14th, 2011, 8:02 am

talking about quality...my mechanic partner told me of someone who bought a TCR hilux from one of those dealers- not toyota- the oil in the engine had broken down given the time vehicle was parked up- engine evenutally damaged after the guy bought it...had to be rebuilt...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 14th, 2011, 8:10 am

of course where he bought it - had to foot the cost

Postby Team Loco » September 14th, 2011, 9:58 pm

wait wait, allyuh still talking about this overgrown corolla?
this was the last time they actually made a hilux:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 14th, 2011, 10:09 pm

^^no argument there!!

Postby ronsin1 » September 15th, 2011, 8:42 am

I see Maska is advertising the 2012 Hilux for sale

Postby sliderz1 » September 15th, 2011, 9:56 am

civic minded wrote:i really dont see the advantage of buying the van from Maska or M rampersad other than get all the bling with the pickups. I asked the sales guy at Maska what is the advantage... He watch me hard and tell me people know his is better quality....and i am like... gezzz man come back down to planet earth!

haha............maybe he gave me the same look

but as far as the interior goes :faint:

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » September 15th, 2011, 1:21 pm

MASKA asking $365 for the 4x4 and $325 for the 4x2 2012 hilux vigo ...

Should be in the show room by the next 2 weeks .

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”