USPS Issues and Delays

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Just got this in an email from my skybox courier.
Good info for tuners who also have a skybox with other companies and shop online regularly.

Hello,

We hope all is well with you.

Further to our e-mail dated 23 Feb. 2011, where we explained the delays being caused by USPS, along with links to news articles about same from the Wall Street Journal, we are again updating you on the situation.

We have been receiving complaints about delays in receiving packages sent with USPS, though the tracking information shows as being delivered.

USPS has been severely delayed due to a couple reasons. Firstly, they are on a cost cutting drive and will be cutting jobs.
Secondly, USPS intends to close some substations and have begun the exercise.

Here are two of the Wall Street Journal headlines in the recent past:-
1. Postal Service Targets 220,000 Job Cuts
August 12, 2011 06:25 p.m.
The U.S. Postal Service would reduce its work force by 220,000 jobs by 2015 under a plan presented to Congress to remedy dire financial conditions at the agency.

2. Postal Service Losses Mount
August 5, 2011 10:55 a.m.
The Postal Service lost $3.1 billion from April through June, bringing its losses for the year to $5.7 billion.

Back in 2009, the US Postal Service looked at closing approximately 700 post offices. The 2011 post office closure list features approximately 3,600 post offices.

In seeking your best interest, we have attached this link so that you may view an article in USA Today.

Link to USA Today article – release 07 July 2011:-
http://www.usatoday.com/money/economy/2011-07-27-usps-post-office-closing-list_n.htm (copy link and paste into your browser).

In light of this, we are suggesting if your packages are urgent; you may want to use a different service to have your packages delivered directly to your Miami address.

Note that UPS and FedEX deliver directly to your Miami address and packages don’t go to a substation first before being delivered to your Miami address.

Sincerely,
Your Caribbean Express Team

Re: USPS Issues and Delays

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 25th, 2011, 3:05 pm

Thanks, will keep in mind.

Postby TRAE » August 25th, 2011, 3:20 pm

oh flap man

tool-band

Postby tool-band » August 25th, 2011, 3:21 pm

thanks for the heads up

just about to place an order

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » August 25th, 2011, 4:04 pm

nice post.

was unaware of this

Devourment

Postby Devourment » August 26th, 2011, 2:44 pm

Just got a USPS parcel delivered from NY to Miami in 3 days....seems to be ok for me.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2011, 3:19 pm

alot of times too USPS tracking shows the item delivered to your skybox but the skybox didnt receive anything - can sometimes take days or even a week for it to eventually reach and then the skybox will ship it to you.

I always try to avoid using USPS

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 4:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:alot of times too USPS tracking shows the item delivered to your skybox but the skybox didnt receive anything - can sometimes take days or even a week for it to eventually reach and then the skybox will ship it to you.

same here. USPS delivers to a substation while other services deliver to the skybox doorstep.
The delays happen really randomly as well.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » August 26th, 2011, 5:17 pm

Add to it they seem to be dotish. I dont know if you saw my thread with the lost laptop. Well I found it . USPS delivered it to aeropost. I never had an account with Aeropost. I had to pay 45 usd to have it delivered to the correct address. Amazon was kind enough to handle me back the 45 usd. Will avoid usps like the plague from now.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 5:23 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:Will avoid usps like the plague from now.

THIS!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 26th, 2011, 5:27 pm

all that to let us know u with caribbean express....??

lol....good info....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 26th, 2011, 5:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:alot of times too USPS tracking shows the item delivered to your skybox but the skybox didnt receive anything - can sometimes take days or even a week for it to eventually reach and then the skybox will ship it to you.

sometimes you cant...had a few experiences where i shipped via fedex or ups and then get a message from say fedex that my package has been passed over to USPS.......

in order to qualify for free shipping most suppliers ship via USPS

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 5:52 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:all that to let us know u with caribbean express....??

lol....good info....

didn know thats something to be proud of.. :lol:

polarized

Postby polarized » August 26th, 2011, 6:33 pm

Amazon via USPS
Cellphone battery ordered July 21st, "delivered" July 25th, reached Cbean Express aug 12th,
2 t-shirts ordered July 21st, "delivered" July 25th, never reached skybox

Ebay via USPS
Webcam bought from FL to FL, bought 14th July, "delivered" July 26th, delivered to Cbean Express Aug 10th

I would say avoid usps at all costs

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2011, 7:34 pm

:lol: Oh wow, I always avoided them though, waited a month for an accessory and decided to avoid them at all costs. I'd rather pay more to ship with UPS than pay less with USPS. Time isn't refundable.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 26th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Ordered a few items from Amazon on different occasions and shipped via USPS, deliveries were on schedule. These were small items.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Before i had amazon prime. I used to tolerate them.
Now hell no.
One day shipping every time with FedEx.

Postby S_2NR » September 23rd, 2011, 6:19 pm

Just an update i got earlier:

Hello,

We hope all is well with you.

Further to our e-mail dated 25 August, 2011, where we explained the delays being caused by USPS, along with links to news articles about same from the CNN and MSNBC, we are again updating you on the situation.

We are receiving complaints about delays in receiving packages sent with USPS, though the tracking information shows as being delivered.
USPS has been severely delayed due to a couple reasons. Firstly, they are on a cost cutting drive and will be cutting jobs. Secondly, USPS intends to close some of its substations and have begun the exercise.

Here are two of the most recent headlines:-

CNN: http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2011/09/15/co ... g/?npt=NP1

MSNBC: http://bottomline.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2 ... ew-reality

Postal Service Losses Mount
August 5, 2011 10:55 a.m.

In light of this, we are strongly advising that you use a faster, more reliable service to have your packages delivered to your Miami address.

Note that UPS and Fed EX deliver directly to your Miami address and packages don’t go to a substation first before being delivered to your Miami address.

Sincerely,
Your Caribbean Express Team

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » September 23rd, 2011, 6:29 pm

never had any problems,with my stuff in miami

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 23rd, 2011, 6:35 pm

I have a couple items in transit via usps...I'm very concerned now..steups

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 23rd, 2011, 6:42 pm

Got some stuff shipped from TX to FL with USPS Priority Mail, no delays.
But I won't chance it next time. Fedex ftw.

ironman2012

Postby ironman2012 » September 23rd, 2011, 7:12 pm

I have a few packages that usps they said delivered to Miami since Monday,and haven't received it yet.

Delivered, Sep-19-11, 11:21 AM, MIAMI, FL, 33122
Arrival at Unit, Sep-19-11, 10:48 AM, MIAMI, FL, 33122
Processed through Sort Facility, Sep-18-11, 23:43 PM, OPA LOCKA, FL, 33054
Processed through Sort Facility, Sep-17-11, 23:11 PM, BETHPAGE, NY, 11714
Accepted at origin sort facility, Sep-17-11, 23:10 PM, BETHPAGE, NY, 11714

Waiting to see what happens tomorrow.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 23rd, 2011, 7:22 pm

Lasership ftw? :oops:

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » September 24th, 2011, 10:07 pm

i purchase alot of stuff delivered by USPS to my skybox and it does take almost a week longer..
the USPS tracking says its delivered, but the skybox doesn't get it until maybe a week later..

i'll called USPS office in the US, and they still insisted that the items were delivered on the said date as the tracking..
so please tuners avoid USPS as much as possible..use FedEX or UPS

Postby Bizzare » September 25th, 2011, 12:16 am

or ezone

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » September 25th, 2011, 12:35 am

I had a package that took 5 weeks from Hawaii to Miami through USPS lol

Postby Mark! » September 25th, 2011, 1:41 am

This the reason why

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 25th, 2011, 8:44 pm

It says delivered to my skybox, but I aint hear nothing from them yet...steupsss.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 25th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Just paid the extra on the order so USPS wouldn't be delivering it. FedEx ftw ;)

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 8:59 pm

USPS is rel failure thing.
Its surprising a government agency run by the US government would be so inefficient.