Riders........Is it suicide???.....Yeah Fack Dat (update)

bluespeed

Re: Riders........Is it suicide???

Postby bluespeed » March 19th, 2011, 1:30 am

Discipline is the word.... I learned to ride on a KZ1000 when I was 15 years old, and up to this day I have never touch down...ridden both in the states & canada without any accidents....
not to mention after learning on the Z....my next bike was an '89 GSXR-1100...my last bike before I got married cbr '05 600rr...and no falls...

so my boy, ask yourself this....am I disciplined?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 19th, 2011, 9:26 am

^^^yes???

turbotommy

Postby turbotommy » March 19th, 2011, 9:35 am

buy a new model 600cc bike jed... easy to ride, easy to handle , easier to sell than a lower cc bike...if u buy one of them 250cc, yuh will want to sell it back in a week time to get a bigger bike...

Postby X2 » March 19th, 2011, 5:06 pm

Mr Gear wrote:OK something else that was not said here that needs to be mentioned. A 250cc trail bike has nothing in common with the riding experience on a sport bike so buying a 250cc trail to learn means that all you will be learning is how to ride a 250cc trail and not a sport bike.

Sure you might build your confidence but you will still have to learn how to ride a sport bike even with all your 250cc trail bike experience and what is worse you will have to unlearn the bad habits you developed on the 250cc trail

Great point. I learned to ride on trail bikes as a kid and my first venture on a sport bike was a bit life changing... :lol:

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 20th, 2011, 10:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:My dad ride motorbike for years in Both Trini and the US and he never had a single accident.

If you follow the rules, take your time and be cautious there is absolutely nothing to worry about.

There are more accidents and deaths in Trini from cars than bikes eh.

Thats probly true but only because Bikes arnt as popular over here than they are in UK/US, there aint really much Motorbikes down here, but im sure if there was availability like there is in the UK, ur previous statement would be different

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » March 20th, 2011, 11:21 pm

Short answer is yes and no.
1. Just know that you could end up dead or worse crippled.
2. Think about the people that will suffer if you die.

Personally I always loved bikes but never bought one when I was younger and I am happy for that. I learnt to ride on a 1100cc, now I ride a 1200 modified. How do I ride? Carefully! Have I ever fallen , yes. Many times and hopefully never again. Did I make a decision to ride regardless of the consequence, yes. Making that decision is the biggest obstacle you will have before buying a bike. Ask yourself are you wiling to take that risk for something you love, are you willing to pay the ultimate price?

Anyways, try to stay positive. If you love bikes buy one and be careful on it. Learn the bike, clutch, brakes etc. Never push yourself to the limit on the road, bikes are fast and intoxicating but it only takes .01c worth of gravel to end your life, just know that.

Buy the bike you want not some bike you want to learn on, then learn on that.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 22nd, 2011, 10:46 am

Thanks for the additional comments....

Smaller bikes seem really hard to find up here.....and once you do find them they almost the price of a big bike :?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 23rd, 2011, 9:52 am

I am a newbe rider also prob 6-8 months on the road. I would recommend investing a little time and money in Woods bike school(Ato bolden Stadium) and do a 6-8 weeks on the trails, the terrain is different and many skills can be learned. I have seen experienced riders come and have difficulty
but after the training they appreciate and take it on the road like throttle control, bracing for a lean/fall and understanding your bike and its capabilities.I feel more confident on the road, then you can prob invest in the 600cc. I haven't ridden a road bike yet, but i ride a Dominator 650 Cross/Trail to work Chag. to town almost everyday and its heavy. Cars 90% are courteous and let u pass but u have to develop a for sight and anticipate vehicles movements and the other 10%
You can check out this web site http://triniriderz.freeforums.org/
Its made buy the guy who sold me his bike from the uk, its trying to build the riding community of Trinidad as there is no dedicated bike section on tuner and there are so many bikers here whom can pass on there experiences and advise
Will see u on the road soon :)

Bacon

Re: Riders........Is it suicide???.....Yeah Fack Dat (update

Postby Bacon » August 27th, 2011, 2:36 am

So a few of you asked for pics of the final result...

So here is a small update...

Yeah....I guess I too harden....Got her a couple weeks ago and thankfully I have not dropped her as yet.....Just taking my time and allowing myself to learn at MY own pace...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 27th, 2011, 8:15 am

Congrats and goodluck.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 27th, 2011, 8:16 am

Bacon wrote:Image

NICEEEE!!!! :P :P :P

congrats Bacon, keep safe on the roads! 8-)

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 27th, 2011, 10:13 am

those were carb or FI?
i remember when that bike was launched.....i was like WOW!

you might want to check that rear plate......looks like if the rear suspension bottoms out, the tire may touch it.......

good luck, ride safe, shiny side up!

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 30th, 2011, 1:23 pm

Thanks guys and Gyal...

It is FI Mr Splat.....

The clearances appear to be ok....Maybe it is the angle of the pics....But thanks for pointing that out...And yes Shiney side up :)

Yodins

Postby Yodins » August 30th, 2011, 1:51 pm

RIP to the guy. allyuh say ah lil prayers fuh ppl on bikes nah, dey need it.

r1riderz

Postby r1riderz » August 30th, 2011, 5:29 pm

wateva works for u padna...handle yuh business.....practise on a trail in de trails is ah nice startin point.......dat was me....jus remember clutch clutch and more clutch.....one life to live......when HE ready for yuh....yuh cyah say next week......it all depends on u yourself and the situations dat arise....hope i help yuh....1up

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 30th, 2011, 6:41 pm

7up...

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » August 30th, 2011, 7:12 pm

I'm not on tuner much these days so I'm now seeing this thread.

I started on on a 1000 RR a while back, no problems at all.

I strongly reccomend the 600 CC, especially the Honda as the power curve isn't as aggressive, your resale value will also be better when you're ready to upgrade, but don't be fooled the 600 RR is no sissy bike :)

The thing the remember is first, give it a complete thought process and toss up all the pros and cons, once you've made up your mind the most important thing is to be careful, concious and ride within your ability.

MAKE SURE TO INVEST IN FULL PROTECTIVE GEAR.

As you continue to ride your skill and ability will increase and you'll be rolling with the pack.

Don't allow yourself to be brought into foolish stunts, ride with a RESPONSIBLE group who will guide you and not try to impress you as a novice.

There are a couple good websites for riding as well as youtube videos, check those out.

N.B: for months i rode around the streets of my neighbourhood until I felt confident enough to go out unto the main streets, I reccomend you do the same.

You can send me a PM I'll forward a website I found very helpful.

Be safe and enjoy............ :)

Postby Sky » August 30th, 2011, 7:45 pm

Bacon wrote:

*UPDATE AUGUST*
Yeah....I guess I too harden....Got her a couple weeks ago and thankfully I have not dropped her as yet.....Just taking my time and allowing myself to learn at MY own pace...

Postby shogun » August 30th, 2011, 9:17 pm

Congrats Bacon...just be careful on these roads man.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 31st, 2011, 4:23 pm

Yeah thanks.....I am staying away from testesterone and will limit my riding with other people to a girl that works with me that just got her first bike as well.

I think the worst thing I can do is ride with a bunch of experienced fellas at this point.

Postby shogun » August 31st, 2011, 4:29 pm

^Nice, double bonus...chicks on bikes rule!
Sorry about my "these roads" comment, in my post above...i just realised your location...i'm an idiot.
Goodluck on the roads anyways though.

Postby pete » August 31st, 2011, 4:55 pm

With all the traffic on the roads these days I'm more and more considering getting one as well.

Anyone here rides from Chaguanas or Arima into Port of Spain in the morning? How long does it take?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 31st, 2011, 8:48 pm

pete wrote:With all the traffic on the roads these days I'm more and more considering getting one as well.

Anyone here rides from Chaguanas or Arima into Port of Spain in the morning? How long does it take?

chaguanas to POS 15mins arima to POS 24mins :twisted:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 31st, 2011, 10:30 pm

No scene at all shogun....I need to be careful regardless of what country the road is located. 8)

Yeah something does attract them lil asian girls to bikes up here...I ain't know what.

lola.308 wrote:I've been advised that bikes are not for females because we won't be able to control it but I've seen some men my height n size on the bikes so I'm asking.

I does come across a couple fellas that does hadda tilt there bikes to the side and balance on their tippy toes at red lights so I feel you go be ok....

Postby pete » September 1st, 2011, 7:25 am

LOL bluespeed, I meant in traffic taking your time between lanes and not going too fast or on open highway.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » September 1st, 2011, 10:56 am

pete wrote:LOL bluespeed, I meant in traffic taking your time between lanes and not going too fast or on open highway.

bro dat is taking your time with traffic lights from arima to pos :lol:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 1st, 2011, 11:19 am

Mr Gear wrote:2007 - 2009 Honda CBR 600 cc RR. This is the lightest 600 ever produced. It makes handling this beauty very easy for a beginner. I started on a 2007 model - No regrets.

Well said. I chose a CBR 600RR to learn on cause it is definitely the most nimble nd best handling 600cc sport bike ... very forgiving. I decided on a 600 to start cause I didn't want to have to upgrade too soon. This paid off since I still have my 600RR and it's quite enough bike for me after 2 years.

As for safety, a lot of the accidents I've seen mostly come down to riders being reckless and pushing their bikes too far. Some of the sheit I see going on the street should be reserved for a track .... some of these guys riding with just a helmet and minimal safety gear.

I'm very carefull when I ride and I know my limits so I don't ride to exceed these limits. I observe my environment and if things are getting too much for me I pull over and relax or let the situation clear up. You can't be gung ho all the time on a bike, at some point you'll get in trouble.

And if you're riding in a group let the leader know your experience level and ride to suit YOUR level not the pack. A good leader will assign someone to ride with you and if the pack gets ahead they will stop and wait for you.

Motorcycle riding is a great experience and a thrill but ppl considering a bike must be responsible and be level headed and put their safety first.

Enjoy your bike and enjoy riding. Be safe out there.

Postby pete » September 1st, 2011, 2:24 pm

Do you use it recreationally or for transport?

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » September 1st, 2011, 5:19 pm

So first off - Congrats Bacon! She looks sexy :) How difficult was the bike test and how did you go about it in terms of preparation?

I live on the edge of Yaletown and walk to and from work (12 minutes walk). Have no need for a bike, but man I want one to ride on the weekends with all the great scenery around BC. With a move to a new apt soon I'll be able to save a good chunk of money and I've been thinking about using that toward a 600.

Too bad it feels like fall already...just now it'll be raincouver again. Still gives me time to save toward the bike.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 1st, 2011, 8:52 pm

transporter001 wrote:Get yourself a hayabusa :lol:

goodness :shock:

not me and bike :evilbat: