Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2011, 8:14 pm

Zeroman X2 fully agree with you

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 7th, 2011, 8:49 pm

thanks much guys.thought it was just my machine.downloading far cry 2 now.if i dont like it,i might even go as far as to install XP jus for that...on that note: With windows 7 alone on my machine,if i install XP,would it be able to dual boot like normal? or would it boot straight into either one of the OS's ?

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 7th, 2011, 9:22 pm

5forward wrote:thanks much guys.thought it was just my machine.downloading far cry 2 now.if i dont like it,i might even go as far as to install XP jus for that...on that note: With windows 7 alone on my machine,if i install XP,would it be able to dual boot like normal? or would it boot straight into either one of the OS's ?

You really shouldn't be getting problems with Far Cry 1 or 2 on windows 7. Check your drivers for your video card first or "Google" it and see if other people have that specific problem.

As for dual boots with windows 7 and windows XP, you're asking for trouble if you don't know what you're doing.
My suggestion if you're gonna do it, is do it on completely separate drives or separate partitions but XP will become the default boot OS unless you do some workarounds.
(Research about it first)

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 7th, 2011, 9:39 pm

bootloader troubles?
http://www.supergrubdisk.org/

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 7th, 2011, 9:45 pm

alrite tanks.found a forum as well...all this looks like some headache though.so ill do it only if its absolutely necessary...theres also the option to save all my stuff,install xp first an then 7,an everything would be fine...but problems arise when you do it backwards.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 7th, 2011, 10:23 pm

Far Cry 2 isn't worth it. You might get a good two hours out of it but then you'll realise how repetitive it gets.
If you're into FPS there are many more better titles.
Call of Duty and Battlefield coming out soon.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2011, 10:48 pm

^^ i agreeeee

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2011, 11:10 pm

I was jk about fc2.
I used a SSD setup recently. I will never use it again. I don't want to make myself waste 100+ on something that is not worth it.
I can't handle seeing rar files extract in seconds. It depresses me

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 8th, 2011, 12:38 am

Lol, I read an article once about psychology associated with the information age. Apparently people who use computers often (everybody) are becoming more intolerant and impatient when interacting socially because they expect people to react faster (kinda like computers).
Guess SSD drives will help make things worse.

Has no effect on me though, I was always impatient.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2011, 1:33 am

I cannot go back to a HDD. I LOVE the way apps just pop open with an SSD

even Photoshop and Illustrator open in about 3 seconds.
Windows starts up and shuts down in seconds too

HOW can I go back to HDD???!!!

I'm sure SSDs have cut down on the amount of cigarettes ppl smoke :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2011, 8:19 am

^^ dread.. i feel the same way, the fact that i reach to work and my workstation has a regular 320gb 7200rpm boot drive depresses meeeeeeeeeeee

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 8th, 2011, 9:17 am

Exactly!! Similar to using dial-up after broadband.

By the way it have nobdy here working flow who could say when they coming Belmont.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 8th, 2011, 9:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I cannot go back to a HDD. I LOVE the way apps just pop open with an SSD

even Photoshop and Illustrator open in about 3 seconds.
Windows starts up and shuts down in seconds too

HOW can I go back to HDD???!!!

I'm sure SSDs have cut down on the amount of cigarettes ppl smoke :lol:

ssd rules!!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 8th, 2011, 10:32 am

5forward wrote:thanks much guys.thought it was just my machine.downloading far cry 2 now.if i dont like it,i might even go as far as to install XP jus for that...on that note: With windows 7 alone on my machine,if i install XP,would it be able to dual boot like normal? or would it boot straight into either one of the OS's ?

If your CPU supports virtualization you shouldn't have to go that way, you can just run XP within win 7 (check microsoft.com on how to do so). Unless you already knew that in which case NM.

I wouldn't go thru that hassle for far cry 2, that game real boring

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 8th, 2011, 11:17 am

Zeroman wrote:Exactly!! Similar to using dial-up after broadband.

By the way it have nobdy here working flow who could say when they coming Belmont.

and kelly village! :|

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 8th, 2011, 11:42 am

Allyuh should check Flow Website it have a MAP of all the areas that they are building 2011-2012.

SSD is the way to go, i have some OCZ 240 GB Vertex 3 X 3 on my system doing RAID and DAm.. super FAST speeds can transfer files in about 940MB/s constant that pretty fast, system boot really fast aswell.

My Current Project i am working on with the i7 2600k and 2 570's i plan on using 4 SSD on that system.

I have a Drobo S 2G that have 5 3TB (15TB) install that my master storage can pull up the information on that drive any part of the world. true a secure FTP Server. Plus i have a offsite Backup system that handles most of my important data that about 1TB.

Best System yes. everything home Network into my 1000MB Network infrastructure. By next week i plan on upgrading the whole network home to Fiber so that all the computer can reply to each other faster.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 8th, 2011, 11:46 am

That map is a waste a time and updated very infrequently.

You trying to hack into Langley or what. That is a beast you building.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 8th, 2011, 11:57 am

Zeroman wrote:That map is a waste a time and updated very infrequently.

You trying to hack into Langley or what. That is a beast you building.

my current system can do that..

ASus Rampage 3X
i 7 980X
12GB Corsair GT

more on the system is posted on a video on my website home page.
www.firstchoicett.com

Every Year i upgrade my system. that one i am building is for the office. i fedup of this AMD system.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 8th, 2011, 1:21 pm

LOL,
I doh need all that dreadness for now.

Intel core i7 920 2.66ghz
Asus Extreme Design
GTX 470
6gb Corsair DDR3
Got about 6TB storage in total.

When a ready for the pentagon a know who to check then.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2011, 1:27 pm

a single core with 1 gb ram and a net connection with linux and u ready for anything... lol

xaira

Postby xaira » September 8th, 2011, 1:55 pm

men uing fibre in they house...well now i know we reach

100MB/s not enough for a house?

xaira

Postby xaira » September 8th, 2011, 2:07 pm

but all the ones i seeing is just a plugin for gigabit, so u not getting an increase in bandwidth, just less interference....which will equate to the same pings, just slightly faster transfer speeds, unless u doing something different?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2011, 2:46 pm

i stream 1080p in my house to the HDTVs..

i got fiber and gigabit switches

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 8th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Chiney wrote:i stream 1080p in my house to the HDTVs..

Serious people here not jokers. :lol:

Postby M_2NR » September 8th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Chiney wrote:a single core with 1 gb ram and a net connection with linux and u ready for anything... lol

QFT

Chiney wrote:i stream 1080p in my house to the HDTVs..

then u post this :|
you can stream 1080p content via a g wifi connection. Did it from my main pc to my pc in the front. No lag. I thought it wasnt possible but it is. Don't try to do anything else requiring the network on the said pc though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2011, 10:51 pm

^ 1080p is resolution so you can have a black image that is 20KB in size that is 1080p (1920x1080) resolution not requiring any big bandwidth at all.

Ever notice when you are streaming video and the internet bandwidth drops it may cause the image quality to drop a bit, but you're still at 1080p. Bandwidth is for quality.

you will need more than wireless G to push uncompressed 1080p video and uncompressed HD audio to a device.

HDMI bitrate is 10.2 Gbit/s
that is why you should use CAT6 and a gigabit wired network if you plan to stream video from a NAS or media player.

on another note, optical audio DOES NOT have the bandwidth required for HD audio such as the audio from a bluray movie (DTS-HD Master Audio or Dolby TrueHD). You must use HDMI to get that the data bandwidth needed for HD audio.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2011, 11:18 pm

well ok

let me explain

in my house there are 2 file servers which content is usually pulled from alot.. then theres the fact that over 7 ppl use the net at the same time as well as pulling movies from the file servers, if its not a dvdrip its a 1080p blu ray rip with true hd or some other high bandwidth audio. so yeh. i hate having a bottlenecked network, cuz like m_2nr said... u cant do anything else while that is going on.
and i saw that duaney boy mentioned cat6. i removed all the cat5 and even cat5e(which is said to have cat6 standards) so that i cud properly use the gigabit bandwidth. the thicker copper is better. forgot to mention i have a voip server as well... so i have a line in my house that needs to be up 24/7... so hence blink and flow gets money from me..( damn it.. i hate to admit but blink has been great to me..flow is never constant.. anytime a tech has to come, it works great. as soon as the day pass..is stress all over...)

anyhooo....... like i said b4..fiber and gigabit switches...and its not like the equipment is that expensive. unless you talkin smart switches with fiber backbones and vlan capabilities...

fiber is the interlink between 2 of my switches....thats all
Last edited by Chiney on September 8th, 2011, 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xaira

Postby xaira » September 8th, 2011, 11:24 pm

i stream 720p mkv/mp4/m4v/m2ts even 8gig movies over wireless G without a hitch, thats 54mb/s
average file copy speed i get is 3MB/s, so 100MB/s (Gigabit Ethernet) is not enough to run 1080p (to multiple tvs) or are you guys just fans of overkill?

Not to sh1t on you guys because fiber in ur house is pretty cool but does it give you any actual noticeable benefit over over gigabit ethernet?

xaira

Postby xaira » September 8th, 2011, 11:28 pm

Chiney wrote:well ok

let me explain

in my house there are 2 file servers which content is usually pulled from alot.. then theres the fact that over 7 ppl use the net at the same time as well as pulling movies from the file servers, if its not a dvdrip its a 1080p blu ray rip with true hd or some other high bandwidth audio. so yeh. i hate having a bottlenecked network, cuz like m_2nr said... u cant do anything else while that is going on.
and i saw that duaney boy mentioned cat6. i removed all the cat5 and even cat5e(which is said to have cat6 standards) so that i cud properly use the gigabit bandwidth. the thicker copper is better. forgot to mention i have a voip server as well... so i have a line in my house that needs to be up 24/7... so hence blink and flow gets money from me..( damn it.. i hate to admit but blink has been great to me..flow is never constant.. anytime a tech has to come, it works great. as soon as the day pass..is stress all over...)

anyhooo....... like i said b4..fiber and gigabit switches...and its not like the equipment is that expensive. unless you talkin smart switches with fiber backbones and vlan capabilities...

fiber is the interlink between 2 of my switches....thats all

well i guess if there are 7 power users in your house its warranted...there are 2 in my house...so i cant relate

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2011, 11:55 pm

xaira wrote:i stream 720p mkv/mp4/m4v/m2ts even 8gig movies over wireless G without a hitch, thats 54mb/s
average file copy speed i get is 3MB/s, so 100MB/s (Gigabit Ethernet) is not enough to run 1080p (to multiple tvs) or are you guys just fans of overkill?

Not to sh1t on you guys because fiber in ur house is pretty cool but does it give you any actual noticeable benefit over over gigabit ethernet?
100Mb/s is not gigabit

1000Mb/s is gigabit

you might be watching a 8gig movie but that size may just dependent on the playing time i.e. a 5 min movie would be smaller. It may be a 720p movie but what is the quality and how compressed is it?

YOU may not notice a drop in quality over wifi but if the data can't fit in the available bandwidth (wireless G) then the data will be dropped and you start loosing audio and video quality.

A good example is skype on low bandwidth - you still get video full screen, but the audio and video quality sucks

Another example:
BOTH these images are the exact same size and pixel dimensions

this image has little or no compression

this one has heavy compression due to lack of bandwidth to handle the bitrate of streaming this image

the lower the bandwidth the higher the compression needs to be to fit the same image into it to stream it

your compression on wireless G may not be THIS much, but it would definitely be there.