Re: The Truth

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2011, 2:46 pm

Can u give a brief example pios?

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2011, 3:57 pm

rfari wrote:Can u give a brief example pios?

Well there's subjectivity and relativity.

Eg. You see a car travelling on the road, you tell your friend the car is travelling fast. While he/she says the car is travelling slow. Who's right? What's true?

Experiences are unique to each individual.

Postby Mark! » September 25th, 2011, 4:02 pm

....could be like Facts and Opinion

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2011, 4:37 pm

Well is either the truth or is BS. One has to be chosen. So whaever the majority agrees with.

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » September 25th, 2011, 4:39 pm

the truth is relative to your knowledge and understanding....if you hearing 1+1=3 since you born and you enter school hearing the same thing, uni the same thing and then when you reach in the work place someone says its 2.....u wont say dats not true because since you young you hearing its 3??

so yea

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2011, 5:55 pm

Eg. You see a car travelling on the road, you tell your friend the car is travelling fast. While he/she says the car is travelling slow. Who's right? What's true?

A case like this shows tht the truth is relative as both persons are telling the truth. Each individual's account of the car's velocity is dependent on the inclination of the roadway, the width of the roadway, the number of other vehicle's on the roadway, the condition of the roadway etc. Tht's why I prefer fact/fiction which is absolute ('that car is travelling faster than the police jeep' or 'that car is travelling at 50km/h because my speed gun says so').

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2011, 5:58 pm

So if both accounts are different how can both be true?

Postby Bizzare » September 25th, 2011, 6:05 pm

aye as yuh say da, allyuh know what I've always wondered

Suppose what looks blue to me, actually looks red to you (what I would call red) and yellow to someone else (what I would call yellow)........ :shock: So what I would call blue, if you were to view the world from my eyes, you'd call it red :!:
Like, I dunno what you see through your eyes, so probably when we were learning colors in school, and the teacher told us that this color is red, probably you're seeing it as what I would call as yellow but you learned the name of that color you're seeing to be red....... Confusing huh?!?!?! And if you were to look at the world through my eyes, maybe trees would be blue to you cuz the color I learned to be green is what you saw when you were told that that color is ...... blue?? We probably see in different color, but we'll never know cuz we can't look through someone else's eyes. what I call dark maybe actually....... anyway that too confusing.... Think about it :|
Last edited by Bizzare on September 25th, 2011, 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2011, 6:06 pm

They maybe both telling the truth which is relative. Taking the factors I mentioned earlier would clarify who is telling 'more truth' than the other.

Postby Bizzare » September 25th, 2011, 6:08 pm

Wa I say above is too much heights, can't explain properly ...fack that :lol:

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2011, 6:10 pm

So we can agree what we hear as the "truth" is relative to a situation which happened at a certain time & place?

Postby Bizzare » September 25th, 2011, 6:17 pm

pioneer wrote:Eg. You see a car travelling on the road, you tell your friend the car is travelling fast. While he/she says the car is travelling slow. Who's right? What's true?

Depends on what speed is determined fast/slow. That's where opinion comes into play.

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2011, 6:25 pm

Bizzare wrote:
pioneer wrote:Eg. You see a car travelling on the road, you tell your friend the car is travelling fast. While he/she says the car is travelling slow. Who's right? What's true?

Depends on what speed is determined fast/slow. That's where opinion comes into play.

It's relative.

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2011, 6:29 pm

pioneer wrote:So we can agree what we hear as the "truth" is relative to a situation which happened at a certain time & place?

i agree with the above statement except the bold text. based on ur previous example, it wasn't based on hearsay but each individual's actual account of the vehicle's velocity. i think maybe the example was a bit misplaced but i'm think im seeing what u're getting to.

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2011, 6:31 pm

Bizzare wrote:

aye as yuh say da, allyuh know what I've always wondered

Suppose what looks blue to me, actually looks red to you (what I would call red) and yellow to someone else (what I would call yellow)........ :shock: So what I would call blue, if you were to view the world from my eyes, you'd call it red :!:
Like, I dunno what you see through your eyes, so probably when we were learning colors in school, and the teacher told us that this color is red, probably you're seeing it as what I would call as yellow but you learned the name of that color you're seeing to be red....... Confusing huh?!?!?! And if you were to look at the world through my eyes, maybe trees would be blue to you cuz the color I learned to be green is what you saw when you were told that that color is ...... blue?? We probably see in different color, but we'll never know cuz we can't look through someone else's eyes. what I call dark maybe actually....... anyway that too confusing.... Think about it :|

asked my aunt this when i was a child. its a mindfu.ck for people thinking about it for the first time :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2011, 6:40 pm

Bizzare wrote:Wa I say above is too much heights, can't explain properly ...fack that :lol:

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Loving this thread!

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2011, 10:49 pm

wrt to the car going fast or slow, truth is only relative in that case because we using relative terms 'fast' and 'slow'- but if you can measure the speed & it measures 80kph then the truth would be absolute (the car is going 80kph)

I've wondered about the colour thing myself

Postby rfari » September 26th, 2011, 12:14 am

redmanjp wrote:wrt to the car going fast or slow, truth is only relative in that case because we using relative terms 'fast' and 'slow'- but if you can measure the speed & it measures 80kph then the truth would be absolute (the car is going 80kph)

I've wondered about the colour thing myself

correctomundo. in this case, i refer to it as being a fact. its just my personal thing to classify true/false as relative and fact/fiction as absolute. just the interpretation would be different for different people which is fine.

Postby Cjruckus » September 26th, 2011, 12:31 am

I Want the truth to tihs question..

are the pics still in the mod room?

Postby rfari » September 26th, 2011, 12:38 am

to stray a little. just wanted to share an experience a while back.
i was doing an internship and was on my way from work a friday afternoon. traffic was unbelievably stink. insane traffic jam on wrightson road. anyways, just before breakfast shed, i noticed this homeless dude asleep in a big cardboard box with a stray dog (maybe his pet) sleeping next to him on some old rags on the pavement infront of furness building and it made me wonder; what if this guy really and truly enjoys that lifestyle? what if in his reality he's sleeping in a nice arse bed with a open plan bedroom with a sweet sea breeze blowing constantly? what if in his reality he doesnt have to work yet has everything that money could buy; fine dining (stale kfc fries from independence square) and a fassup tobo-down euro (a stolen grocery cart) etc. what if in his reality (which is a perception) he has accomplished all these things and he looks on at the people like u and i as being in the rat race? because once he perceives it (albeit thru drugs or otherwise), its his reality. who can fault him? its just like most if not all of us here thinking that having a good job, a nice car, a beautiful home is reality but infact, we can't take it when we leave this life. its all in our minds.

note to the trolls. i'm not condoning lazy man behaviour or drug use eh. just had to let allyuh know dat.

Postby Cjruckus » September 26th, 2011, 12:42 am

rfari wrote:to stray a little. just wanted to share an experience a while back.
i was doing an internship and was on my way from work a friday afternoon. traffic was unbelievably stink. insane traffic jam on wrightson road. anyways, just before breakfast shed, i noticed this homeless dude asleep in a big cardboard box with a stray dog (maybe his pet) sleeping next to him on some old rags on the pavement infront of furness building and it made me wonder; what if this guy really and truly enjoys that lifestyle? what if in his reality he's sleeping in a nice arse bed with a open plan bedroom with a sweet sea breeze blowing constantly? what if in his reality he doesnt have to work yet has everything that money could buy; fine dining (stale kfc fries from independence square) and a fassup tobo-down euro (a stolen grocery cart) etc. what if in his reality (which is a perception) he has accomplished all these things and he looks on at the people like u and i as being in the rat race? because once he perceives it (albeit thru drugs or otherwise), its his reality. who can fault him? its just like most if not all of us here thinking that having a good job, a nice car, a beautiful home is reality but infact, we can't take it when we leave this life. its all in our minds.

note to the trolls. i'm not condoning lazy man behaviour or drug use eh. just had to let allyuh know dat.

get a job hippie.

Postby rfari » September 26th, 2011, 1:29 am

jobs (9-5, 6-6) are for losers...next year this time imma be living off the fat of the land and smoking gan.. *dialup connection drops*

Postby rfari » September 29th, 2011, 7:15 am

0X

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 29th, 2011, 12:11 pm

pioneer wrote:Thing is, we base the "truth" based on someone else's account of reality?

If the individual in question is a "bandwagonist", then yes.

Postby rfari » October 18th, 2011, 8:06 am

:P OP abandon ched yes

Postby Rooki3 » October 18th, 2011, 8:11 am

computercentral wrote:Op you join since 2003 and this is your first post UDFR

Cid

Re: Re: The Truth

Postby Cid » October 18th, 2011, 8:23 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Matrix is everywhere. It is all around us. Even now, in this very room. You can see it when you look out your window or when you turn on your television. You can feel it when you go to work... when you go to church... when you pay your taxes. It is the wool that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth. That you are a slave, Neo. Like everyone else you were born into bondage. Born into a prison that you cannot smell or taste or touch. A prison for your mind.

What is real?
If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain - Morpheus

Dais wa we talkin bout D..... Besss movie

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 18th, 2011, 8:45 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Matrix is everywhere. It is all around us. Even now, in this very room. You can see it when you look out your window or when you turn on your television. You can feel it when you go to work... when you go to church... when you pay your taxes. It is the wool that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth. That you are a slave, Neo. Like everyone else you were born into bondage. Born into a prison that you cannot smell or taste or touch. A prison for your mind.

What is real?
If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain - Morpheus

Which one will you chose?

Postby bushwakka » October 18th, 2011, 9:50 am

julian mantle knows the truth

Postby K74T » October 18th, 2011, 10:03 am

The truth is that OJ did really do it