ABA Trading LTD wrote:why d firetruck i get some serious goosebumps reading that ^^^ lemme go take off this fuggin ac yes
ilove3 wrote:yo!! which had this effect on you?ABA Trading LTD wrote:why d firetruck i get some serious goosebumps reading that ^^^ lemme go take off this fuggin ac yes
nervewrecker wrote:ilove3, tuner search function kinda screwing up so I will re-type them when I get home.
nervewrecker wrote:I've had experiences that I cant explain too so I jus eh kno wat tuh say nah.
I'm a difficult person to make believe in those things still.
a friend of mine fadda was working on building a boat down forest reserve.
one night while passin through the forest reserve roads (place real cold & foggy) in a cleariong side the road - ther is a fig patch, a man came out with his hand raised & thumb pointing downwards like if he hitching a ride, me an three other fellaz outa de 5 in the car see him. feeling sorry for the man 'stranded' there dat hour the nite (bout 10:00pm ish) i ask dem if they eh wha give the man a ride, so we stop bout 30-40 feet after passing the fig patch, reverse & lo & behold no on there & there was nowhere he could go to without us seeing cuz rite round the fig patch clear for bout 30feet. we were all like wtf - so we drag out de blade from de trunk and cutdown dat fig patch![]()
one homeless jumbie - probably saved a lot ah me from jumbie related accidents
another nite (none ah we had no pool pass back then & we went down for a bath after it closed) commin back before first gate (place extremely foggy) we on wildness, doin some numbers one de road. a car came up behind keeping pace with us and eh looking tuh overtake, all yuh seeing is like the shape of a whiteish probably greyish unidenitfyable vehicle, bright dazzling head & fog lights. all who sitting near a window started hanging out and showing middle finger and cuzzing & thing (ah set ah punks getting some jones) zig zagging & thing tuh make sure he cant overtake.
nehow is a long stretch tuh the guard gate so we pull back in the window bout 100ft b4 the guarded gate (car still behind bumpering us so we kinda bummy if he is some kinda high ranking perosn now that goin and get the guard tuh firetruck us up wen we stop by the gate with him behind us) the car was there rite through behind us, d guard start tuh get on like an arsehole bout us speeding & driving like jackass so we jump one he case now, "wha bout de nex arsehole who bumpering we, dat eh dangerous too?" man say wha car? watching we like if all ah we mad, it had no car behind us, he could only see one set ah head & fog lights through the fog (ours) wen we turn around it eh hav no car behind us. it had no where where it coulda pull over and stop or turn off, was a nice stretch.
yuh wouldnt believe how fass we fly outa there and each man gone in he house.
it hav a sopt called phantom gate in the field roads too.
all this & im still not a believer, jas some1 who was a lil bit frightened at the moment by something I cant explain..........
ilove3 wrote:so no one ever get sucked by a socouyant?
speedbird777 wrote:i know people saw the ball of fire flying across already so i dont see why video will not be able to record it
d spike wrote:These original folklore characters were taught to us by the older folks... did they have a reason for these stories? Was it to keep the younger, wilder ones in check? I think so...
Consider the life in those days... and think about it. Information was only acquired by listening to your elders and betters...
The only real entertainment was when a fete or party was held (not the kind of thing allyuh call fete, eh... a fete was a dance held in the open... in the road or a savannah) and young men walked for miles from other villages to get a chance to catch the eye of some maiden.
Afterwards a logistical problem always occurred. How to get all these young people home in the dark without any unfortunate occurrences due to raging hormones? The luckier ones would either have family to stay by, or a relative with a cart as transport... but walking along the darkened roadway was the norm for many.
What better way to protect a young man (and his reputation) from misadventure by filling his head with stories about fellows led astray to their deaths by talking to strange, pretty ladies at night on the road? Bet your bottom dollar he hauling his arse straight home... faster still if he thought he saw a La Diablesse along the way...
Think how the figures of molestation, harassment and rape would decrease drastically if young men nowadays still believed in the existence of La Diablesse...
The frequent visiting of other villages on evenings, as pleasant as this could be for a young man, would cause his family a certain degree of concern. The telling of the stories about the road-straddling "Phantom" (the tall moko-jumbie spirit, who stood with one foot on either side of the road, waiting to merrily squash an unwary traveler) would likely curtail the fervour of making late-night trips...
For little children who were fond of playing outside, the regular telling of stories about douens would keep their tails close to home... better still if granny would recall from time to time, the little child she knew well, who ("just like YOU" -with a pointed finger and a sad shaking of the head) liked to stray, and one day never came back, lost forever in the bush...
For young lads who enjoyed going to the river and playing perilously close to bodies of water (causing parents to panic) the stories of water-spirits played a worthy role... I wonder how many young ladies were spared of being aware of the ignoble situation of being discovered bathing in a more private (a rather naive thought on their part) part of a river by a young fellow, who upon spotting the female form, was filled with silent dread of being seen in turn by the unaware creature, and quietly crept away...
Certainly the stories of a malevolent Mama d' L'eau curtailed a good few river adventures and crayfish hunts...
Speaking of hunting... the young man who loved this sport would be under undue pressure to lessen this activity. I will just mention the name Papa Bois, or Daddy Buchon, and that will suffice...
The knowledge of having to sleep outside if it is suspected that a jumbie followed you home from the forest (opening the door in this situation was an action known - and often proclaimed - by all old women, especially one's mother, to doom all the household instantly) would keep plans for venturing late deep into the forest in check.
And the Lagahoo... who would walk through the village, dragging chains, buck-naked, with a coffin on his head... and if you should spy him, you would instantly be placed under his spell for the rest of your life...
What better way to ensure the safe transportation of boxes of bottled bush-rum through the village? Strip naked, put the box on your head (standard method of carrying it anyway) and walk. The clinking of the bottles (chains???) will make sure whoever hears you will not dare attempt to see you, and whoever might glimpse you will dare not attempt to see any more of the affair... and their description of the matter will certainly be most distant to what they actually saw...
Stories of Mama Malady kept maccosious young people's eyes indoors when bawling was heard outside. This was the spirit of the woman who died in childbirth, and searches for her baby. If you make the mistake of peering outside when she is heard crying, she would snatch you and go 'way wit' yuh... (Of course, older heads could look outside to view the source of the commotion, as they were able to "protect" themselves, but you kept your arse inside. Imagine how much "people business" was protected from the wagging tongues of the younger generation...)
speedbird777 wrote:i know people saw the ball of fire flying across already so i dont see why video will not be able to record it
Conrad wrote:d spike wrote:...La Diablesse...
...the road-straddling "Phantom"...
...stories about douens...
...Certainly the stories of a malevolent Mama d' L'eau...
...Papa Bois, or Daddy Buchon, and that will suffice...
...And the Lagahoo...
...Stories of Mama Malady...
These are the ONLY folklore I know of as being told by my family from Moruga and father from Tobago.
DevilZ wrote:speedbird777 wrote:i know people saw the ball of fire flying across already so i dont see why video will not be able to record it
paranormal actvity 4 right thur
meccalli wrote:Word of mouth, in trinidad everybody does macco..lol but really its queer, my grandpops don't joke about that stuff..he doesn't even talk openly about his experiences, kinda keeps it as something happened that he won't like to experience again..he just says..back then there was a lot of evil...i'm guessing these things still reside in heavy forest..my cousins seen some weird sh^t up there in santa cruz.