Champions League T20- Cricket

civic minded

Re: Champions League T20- Cricket

Postby civic minded » September 28th, 2011, 10:02 am

ok what does this means? we out?? or we still have a chance?

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2011, 10:04 am

We have a mathematical chance of making it. We need to win our remaining two matches and hope that the teams at the top of the table falter.

323tuner

Postby 323tuner » September 28th, 2011, 10:08 am

Ravi Rampaul has been hit for 34 runs off of 2 overs (his last & the super over) which most likely has ended T&T chances of progressing in this competition, good try from L. Simmons but in the end 19 runs of 6 balls in this super over was just to much!

Postby rfari » September 28th, 2011, 10:15 am

ganga nah think straight since he tek that money from tstt nah. ohhh geez

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2011, 10:37 am

hydroep wrote:We have a mathematical chance of making it. We need to win our remaining two matches and hope that the teams at the top of the table falter.

C.S.k would be another very interesting game,you think they should try and experiment with Perkins or Emrit for these games??

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 28th, 2011, 10:37 am

This was really disappointing. Have to keep your fingers crossed hoping the top order teams really do some dodo.

323tuner

Postby 323tuner » September 28th, 2011, 11:26 am

T&T needs a closer, someone who can finish the game with that killer instinct either with bat or ball, I wonder what difference would the inclusion of K. Pollard or Dwanye Bravo would of made.

Postby sharkman121 » September 28th, 2011, 11:37 am

Really wouldnt help wondering that now cuz they aint there. When is our next game?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2011, 11:42 am

http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-l ... e=fixtures

next game is sunday against chennai super kings

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2011, 11:44 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hydroep wrote:We have a mathematical chance of making it. We need to win our remaining two matches and hope that the teams at the top of the table falter.

C.S.k would be another very interesting game,you think they should try and experiment with Perkins or Emrit for these games??

It depends on what the thinking is. If management has thrown in the towel, they could experiment with whomever they want.

If they're still hoping to qualify, I'd stick with the present formula, simply because we've played well for the majority of both matches thus far with it. We've only lost (IMO) because of questionable tactics at the end.

If you look at this match our spinners took more wickets and had better economy on average. After Ravi was slaughtered in over #20, perhaps it would've made sense to go with one of the those fellas instead. Even Cooper who only took one wicket and was the best of the bowlers in terms of economy may have been a better choice.

One thing's for certain, it's very unlikely we'll qualify from here.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2011, 12:44 pm

hydroep wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

It depends on what the thinking is. If management has thrown in the towel, they could experiment with whomever they want.

If they're still hoping to qualify, I'd stick with the present formula, simply because we've played well for the majority of both matches thus far with it. We've only lost (IMO) because of questionable tactics at the end.

If you look at this match our spinners took more wickets and had better economy on average. After Ravi was slaughtered in over #20, perhaps it would've made sense to go with one of the those fellas instead. Even Cooper who only took one wicket and was the best of the bowlers in terms of economy may have been a better choice.

One thing's for certain, it's very unlikely we'll qualify from here.

Do you think Ravi would use his injury as an excuse?? Also would you have chosen him to bowl the super over considering the over before?? I would have gone with Badree.

Cid

Postby Cid » September 28th, 2011, 12:54 pm

badree would have gone for 18 first ball.........

rampaul was a good choice....sometimes these things happen yes..

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2011, 1:05 pm

shakes, there's no reason to believe that Ravi would use this alleged injury as an excuse. Those fellas usually admit when they've done crap.

Based on the stats if I had to choose a spinner I would have gone with Sherwin. He took the most wickets and had the same economy rate as Badree.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2011, 1:16 pm

^^ asked because before the presentation of awards you heard Tom Moody making that comment in the background.I still disagree with the tactics he used during that over,staying around the wicket when clearly he was getting no where only boundaries,he could have at least tried over the wicket,changing the angle to the batsman for at least one delivery.

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2011, 1:27 pm

^Agreed, but more than him, I blame the tacticians for putting him to bowl that super over.

It was clear from over #20 that he was in difficulty...bowling the same way over and over but expecting a different result.

That should have been a clue to Ganga and others to try someone else.

At the end of the day, we are Trinbagonians and rest assured if they had used someone else and that person had gotten slapped all over the field we would be here debating why they didn't give Rampaul another chance...:lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2011, 1:34 pm

hydroep wrote:^Agreed, but more than him, I blame the tacticians for putting him to bowl that super over.

It was clear from over #20 that he was in difficulty...bowling the same way over and over but expecting a different result.

At the end of the day, we are Trinbagonians and rest assured if they had used someone else and that person had gotten slapped all over the field we would be here debating why they didn't give Rampaul another chance...:lol:

take win :lol: :lol:

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2011, 2:36 pm

It's ironic that Dwayne Bravo has just saved the Chennai Super Kings, which in turn has made our chances better by keeping the Cape Cobras at 2 points.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-l ... ointstable

Cid

Postby Cid » September 28th, 2011, 3:49 pm

hydroep wrote:^Agreed, but more than him, I blame the tacticians for putting him to bowl that super over.

hahahahah u issa boss for pointing that out

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 28th, 2011, 4:18 pm

had a co worker on the brink of tears,,,i was like wtf.....tears for a cricket game.......those guys already made their millions...i surely ent wasting tears over them......

JBL

Postby JBL » September 28th, 2011, 4:40 pm

why allyuh blaming rampaul?? yall didnt see the field ganga set for him?? stewpzzzzzzzzzz.... he left no margin for error for rampaul... he put rampaul under unnecessary pressure.. dont blame rampaul... blame darren ganga for that sh!t!! the same field he set for sherwin in the 19th over.. iz de same field he suppose to set in the 20th.. poooooor captaincy!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 28th, 2011, 4:45 pm

so ganga sell out?

Postby sliderz1 » September 28th, 2011, 9:27 pm

wth.......+2 pages :shock:

T&T gave away too many runs

........ we good as gone meng

1cry
2drink :drinking: :drinking:

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2011, 12:03 pm

So Pollard just helped himself to 58 from 37 balls with 6 4s and 3 6s. Trinidad and Tobago are a bit poorer without him and Bravo, who showed his worth yesterday but still we put up some competitive showings thus far.

Postby sliderz1 » September 30th, 2011, 12:33 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So Pollard just helped himself to 58 from 37 balls with 6 4s and 3 6s. Trinidad and Tobago are a bit poorer without him and Bravo, who showed his worth yesterday but still we put up some competitive showings thus far.

not competitive enough im afraid.....

when is our next game?

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2011, 2:01 pm

^Next match for T&T is on Sunday against the Chennai Super Kings.

Today's match between Mumbai Indians and Cape Cobras was rained out so each team gets 1 point (another "favourable" result for T&T). The points table now looks like this:

http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-l ... ointstable

Postby sliderz1 » September 30th, 2011, 2:12 pm

i find teams in this group bouncin back n forth.............no sole dominant display yet

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2011, 3:12 pm

it would be great to see the boys make a good come back

what time on sunday is this game?

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2011, 7:35 pm

^10:30 a.m.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2011, 9:56 pm

shucks guess thats another game i gonna miss...steups....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2011, 11:58 pm

basically we're in a must win situation for the next 2 games,if we are to qualify.