Questions for WIMAX Post Paid (TSTT Can't Answer)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 21st, 2011, 11:57 pm

ok update.

I called TSTT but its very hard to get a correct answer. Different CSR give me different answers.

One woman from India told me that if you take the post paid you pay $599 for the modem. But if you take a 1 year contract you get the modem free.

I call back today and a guy told me that the only thing the contract does is give you a 5% discount. He say you still have to pay $599 upfront for the modem and $200 deposit for something.

But he says you will get back your $599 in the next bill cycle. Then he said he not sure what he just said and if thats correct.

I ask him how long it would take to receive this service if I apply he says he has no idea. It can take months WTF

Can anyone help me out here?

I do already have DSL Land Line internet. But I want the Wimax to use elsewhere and around the country its the cheapest service at only $149. I figure this would be cheaper than the MY 4G for $350. And I always have access to a AC power source wall socket.

Need internet but not on the go. I am close to a electrical socket.

1 mile away from my Router at home.

Currently use internet on my PSP with Opera Mini via a Java Emulator.

thinking of getting a touch screen phone.

the prepaid WIMAX would be good but the highest package is $100 for 400MB

A wikipedia page is about 1MB. A IGN or gamespot page I assume is about 3MB.

I assume I would eat out 400 MB in no time. Anyone has experience with this on how long this prepaid $100 package lasts and any suggestion?

Wish I could reach that router home but its 1 mile away.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 24th, 2011, 3:51 am, edited 3 times in total.

15devils

Re: How long would the prepaid WIMAX 400MB package last?

Postby 15devils » September 22nd, 2011, 8:47 am

yo jus get the postpaid wimax,1 mb for 149 & 2mb for 229 mnthly. if you don't have a landline on your name small thing.jus go to a blink auth dealer,pay the deposit of 599. and you get it via ttpost 3 days after.and you can use it wherever you getting 4g coverage.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » September 22nd, 2011, 10:00 am

Bout 350...

Srsly, Effectic I see you're a webdesigner....how could you not workout how long a 400mb prepaid package would last?

Which isn't very long at all as you rightly estimated. Honestly, on my WiMAX package, i exceed 400mb just from web surfing almost every single day.

Aside from that, do you have any Maya experience?

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 22nd, 2011, 10:55 am

Devourment wrote:
Srsly, Effectic I see you're a webdesigner....how could you not workout how long a 400mb prepaid package would last?

Only you can answer how long. No one will know your surfing habits.

It will last you as long as it takes you to use 400Mb.

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 10:59 am

facepalm.jpg

Postby rfari » September 22nd, 2011, 5:23 pm

i have 2 spare ubiquiti nanobridges. avg of abut 10km @ 100mbps depending on terrain. we could work something out. if not u could try long range wi-fi

Postby Stephon. » September 22nd, 2011, 5:37 pm

It will last until you reach your 400MB limit or until you die (whichever comes first)

Postby Bizzare » September 22nd, 2011, 6:37 pm

Effectic, u serious brah?

Postby redmanjp » September 22nd, 2011, 7:10 pm

i was only considering this as a backup if my flow net go down- but prepaid net fuh d whole month?! u cud get d wimax at blink prices if u don't have a land-line

Postby equipped2ripp » September 22nd, 2011, 11:06 pm

S_2NR wrote:facepalm.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2011, 11:34 pm

15devils wrote:yo jus get the postpaid wimax,1 mb for 149 & 2mb for 229 mnthly. if you don't have a landline on your name small thing.jus go to a blink auth dealer,pay the deposit of 599. and you get it via ttpost 3 days after.and you can use it wherever you getting 4g coverage.

ow cool didnt know they had post paid WIMAX

$149 a month for 1MB wireless internet is awesome. I assume its unlimited.

But do you like have to prove you don't have landline to get this package?

someone was telling me they only give post paid to people who can't get land line access.

HOG

Postby HOG » September 23rd, 2011, 2:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
15devils wrote:yo jus get the postpaid wimax,1 mb for 149 & 2mb for 229 mnthly. if you don't have a landline on your name small thing.jus go to a blink auth dealer,pay the deposit of 599. and you get it via ttpost 3 days after.and you can use it wherever you getting 4g coverage.

ow cool didnt know they had post paid WIMAX

$149 a month for 1MB wireless internet is awesome. I assume its unlimited.

But do you like have to prove you don't have landline to get this package?

someone was telling me they only give post paid to people who can't get land line access.

dont take it
it works like sheit once more than one person using it

15devils

Postby 15devils » September 23rd, 2011, 3:17 pm

nah man,i live central and no problems,and level people have it by me...
you have to go to a blink dealer however,not in a tstt public office.

HOG

Postby HOG » September 23rd, 2011, 3:41 pm

but 1mb?? wa u will do with da?? dat dont even be 1mb

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2011, 1:10 am

I live Piarco and very few people has this. So I won't have problems with to many people using this also its a single PC for it. Well a android tablet.

512k speed is good enough for me.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2011, 1:13 am

btw what kinda distance we looking at here for this wifi?

would it reach 75 feet?

Re: Questions for WIMAX Post Paid (TSTT Can't Answer)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2011, 3:50 am

I just call TSTT and like them can't give me a correct answer. Also they cannot understand what I say.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 24th, 2011, 7:32 am

PM sent.....Can u recommend a blink dealer in chaguanas?

thanks

rookie

Postby rookie » September 24th, 2011, 7:41 am

TSTT trincity take a left by the door a thicky there will handle u 229 2mb 149 1mb jus sign up an u will get it in a couple of weeks :lol: no money up front

Postby rfari » September 24th, 2011, 8:07 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:btw what kinda distance we looking at here for this wifi?

would it reach 75 feet?

There are some cheap wifi routers that you can add directional antennas and share network connections over the 1 mile distance u want. Confirm if u line of sight and I let u know what to do from there. No need for monthly fees and all tht jazz if u already have an internet connection in the area.
edit:
u would need
http://www.data-alliance.net/-strse-158 ... Detail.bok

&

http://www.data-alliance.net/-strse-149 ... Detail.bok

&

suitable antenna extension extension cable

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » October 7th, 2011, 8:33 pm

just so yall know, you cant roam with that. i have it. it is confined to a specific geographical location. i tried it. it just showed good signal strength but wont connect. and we didn't pay for the wimax modem. and it worked the same day

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 7th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Here's what I suggest you do.

come tothe realization that youve been ripped off

Wrap the Wimax modem in duct tape until is like twice its original size

tie a rope around it

Go to the outlet where you got your plan

go to the CSR

beat she ***** with it.

Wait for police to come.

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 8th, 2011, 2:05 pm

ok the 599.00 is an advance payment towards your bill,you have to pay this once you have no existing landline service on your name.the money is deducted from your monthly rental until the credit runs out,then you start paying the rental.the contract gives you 5% discount of your monthly charge.so instead of paying 149 for the 1mb,you pay like 142.55 or thereabout.thats it.there is no extra payment of 200.00.
existing people who have blink via their landline,cannot switch or take wimax.wimax is given to people who cannot get blink via their landline.however,lets say you have blink already and wanna get it,some else can take it for you in their name.now this is the postpaid package eh.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » October 8th, 2011, 4:10 pm

we had the 4mb blink package and made the switch....and it's the POSTPAID package

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 9th, 2011, 11:50 am

15devils wrote:ok the 599.00 is an advance payment towards your bill,you have to pay this once you have no existing landline service on your name.the money is deducted from your monthly rental until the credit runs out,then you start paying the rental.the contract gives you 5% discount of your monthly charge.so instead of paying 149 for the 1mb,you pay like 142.55 or thereabout.thats it.there is no extra payment of 200.00.
existing people who have blink via their landline,cannot switch or take wimax.wimax is given to people who cannot get blink via their landline.however,lets say you have blink already and wanna get it,some else can take it for you in their name.now this is the postpaid package eh.

thanks man

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 10th, 2011, 8:13 am

jehusaunders wrote:we had the 4mb blink package and made the switch....and it's the POSTPAID package

you maybe was given special preference for outage problems or something.but tstt wimax max speed is 2mb,so why you "downgraded" ?

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » October 10th, 2011, 1:01 pm

@15devils. exactly. we thought it was movable, because we move between trinidad and tobago regularly. so we thought it was a cool idea. so when we realise that it can't be used anywhere there is service but only a fixed location where it's activated that was a bummer. we kept it cause we got the huwaei bm626 modem which kinda strong when it comes to wifi. plus voip will soon be implemented.

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 10th, 2011, 2:57 pm

oh,ok,cool...yeah,i agree with why you switched.but i think they should have higher speeds.i mean,i find it good and thing,but 1mb and 2mb is phoqed up for this day and age.