what is the best way to kill a tree

Re: what is the best way to kill a tree

Postby gt4tified » October 9th, 2011, 9:15 pm

bump for a similar dilemna.

My next door neighbour has a set of fig trees planted right alongside their side of the wall separating our properties (wall is about 7' high). The trees have now grown really really tall and are leaning over my roof. There is even a bunch of green fig growing on one of the trees, hanging over my roof.

When the old fig leaves die they droop and then drop on my side and are discolouring my wall (painted white). When I asked my neighbour about cutting the trees, he said that his mother (who lives with him) doesn't want him to touch the fig trees, at all, at all.

Suggestions as to what to do anyone?

Postby SR » October 9th, 2011, 9:20 pm

velpar by the roots should sort that out

Postby gt4tified » October 9th, 2011, 9:27 pm

I don't have access to the roots...well not in plain view anyway....the wall is a solid concrete one and 7 foot high....at best I would have to go up on a step ladder and make sure no one is watching and do mih thing....which might be harder than it seems because the man mudder is at home ALL de time and watches the place like a hawk jed....lol

The next thing is, does this velpar emit a pungent or noticeable odor?

Postby SR » October 9th, 2011, 9:34 pm

nope easy to mix in water and just pour over the fence by the roots of the tree yuh could do it at night

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » October 10th, 2011, 12:43 am

if you can get your hands on one of these, could take down the tree and the neighbours in less than a minute.

Postby gt4tified » October 10th, 2011, 1:23 am

^^^Oh cool, and mih burtday coming up too!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 10th, 2011, 1:29 am

I had the very same problem that SR had.

Simple solution. I used a drill and drilled a hole middle of the tree trunk. Them used a funnel to pour Round Up poison in it. Drilled 2 holes actually.

Killed that tree easy. No worries. Neighbor wondered what happen to the tree. I tell he someone must have done you a favor.

The kant say he going to plant back 2 trees in place yes. :?

Doh worry I go kill them when he not looking.

That facking mango tree was home to termites and all kinda killer bees etc. the man never clean the damn tree. He refuse to kill it.

He telling me some load of horse sh!t about how if you kill the tree you go born back ah tree in yuh next life somewhere in Haiti.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 10th, 2011, 1:37 am

Not only that this man does eat grass and thing all kinda leaves he find. He say they does use the same thing to make medicine so why not.

Yes this is the same man that some years ago drink bay rum and eat datura seed. He took his daughter underwear draw and throw it in the ravine along with his TV and furniture and kitchen appliances. Then later jumped off his house roof.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 10th, 2011, 7:32 am

SR wrote:nope easy to mix in water and just pour over the fence by the roots of the tree yuh could do it at night

did you ever sort out the problem,the best way which works for me is to make several openings into the rooting system of the tree,say its a mango tree use a heavy duty drill and make the holes at the base,then pour poison down inside,afterwards,it would take a week or so before the tree begins to rot from bottom go up.

Postby rfari » October 10th, 2011, 8:14 am

gt4tified wrote:bump for a similar dilemna.

My next door neighbour has a set of fig trees planted right alongside their side of the wall separating our properties (wall is about 7' high). The trees have now grown really really tall and are leaning over my roof. There is even a bunch of green fig growing on one of the trees, hanging over my roof.

When the old fig leaves die they droop and then drop on my side and are discolouring my wall (painted white). When I asked my neighbour about cutting the trees, he said that his mother (who lives with him) doesn't want him to touch the fig trees, at all, at all.

hoss, doh kill the banana tree nah jed. it will tek like 1 minute to trim the old leaves from ur wall.

Postby Sky » October 10th, 2011, 9:26 am

rfari wrote:
gt4tified wrote:bump for a similar dilemna.

hoss, doh kill the banana tree nah jed. it will tek like 1 minute to trim the old leaves from ur wall.

Ras Irie say, doh smoke banana leaf!

Postby rfari » October 10th, 2011, 11:16 am

:P Nah srs ting. Ur neighbour being difficult. It doh mek sense to kill a bearing tree because of this. Cut the bunch if it over on ur side when it get full and they would get the idea not to plant so close.

Postby gt4tified » October 11th, 2011, 5:04 pm

rfari wrote::P Nah srs ting. Ur neighbour being difficult. It doh mek sense to kill a bearing tree because of this. Cut the bunch if it over on ur side when it get full and they would get the idea not to plant so close.

Mamoo....izza whole fig patch dem plant. And it have enuff fig trees that bearing on their side to not give a fcuk about whether I cut the one bunch that growing on my side.

Plus, why de jail I must landscape my neighbour trees?...I have enuff yard of my own to look after. But since you know exactly how long it will take to trim the leaves from my wall, ur more than welcome to come do so.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » October 11th, 2011, 5:49 pm

i know a guy name Lyndon Moses ...we use to go to school together but he end up goin down the wrong path. He started to smoke weed like crazy until people gave him the nick name "tree"..anyways, so eventually when u living that kinda lifestyle u knw what does happen right? ppl does want u killed!
So eventually "tree" had alot of enemies ..Real people wanted "tree" killed, they tried stabbing him and that didnt work, they tried beating him up..that didnt work, they even tried chopping him an that didnt work either so one day a group of fellars pulled a gun and shot "tree" and he died.
So OP if u want to kill a "tree" u could try that, it may definitely work. :lol:

Postby rfari » October 11th, 2011, 6:23 pm

gt4tified wrote:
rfari wrote::P Nah srs ting. Ur neighbour being difficult. It doh mek sense to kill a bearing tree because of this. Cut the bunch if it over on ur side when it get full and they would get the idea not to plant so close.

Mamoo....izza whole fig patch dem plant. And it have enuff fig trees that bearing on their side to not give a fcuk about whether I cut the one bunch that growing on my side.

Plus, why de jail I must landscape my neighbour trees?...I have enuff yard of my own to look after. But since you know exactly how long it will take to trim the leaves from my wall, ur more than welcome to come do so.

You seem very distraught about this. Why you don't flip ur neighbour's fence/wall/galvanised sheet and chapup the fig? Instead of moving like a pooseyhole and poisoning it?

TriP

Postby TriP » October 11th, 2011, 7:40 pm

rikosher

Postby rikosher » October 11th, 2011, 8:31 pm

ah cud gve uh ah number fuh ah man, all u hve to do is not be home so uh cya get d blame...

Postby BrotherHood » October 11th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Saw my uncle do this in the past to a tree. Firstly, he chipped off the bark so as to expose a sort of fleshy and sticky substance beneath which was done about 12 inches wide and went around the circumference of the tree at the base. He soaked a 3 inch thick rope in lanate and wraped it around the trunk of the tree. In no time the leaves turned yellow and started to fall until all fell off. The tree is now leafless and just stnda there as unsightly as ever. The said tree here is a very massive mango tree. Don't know what kinda of mango but the tree is bigger than a breadfruit tree.
Reason my uncle did this is because he didn't want anybody picking and eating mango :shocked:
...........he is a mental..

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2011, 8:44 pm

velpar or diesel,with a length of 2"pvc,straight to the root.I did it on a rainy night,died in a month.You know the neighbor had to cut it down before it fall on his own house?and all I was asking is for him to cut the branches coming in my house.

Postby BrotherHood » October 11th, 2011, 9:32 pm

rspann wrote:velpar or diesel,with a length of 2"pvc,straight to the root.I did it on a rainy night,died in a month.You know the neighbor had to cut it down before it fall on his own house?and all I was asking is for him to cut the branches coming in my house.

Postby gt4tified » October 11th, 2011, 10:29 pm

rfari wrote:You seem very distraught about this. Why you don't flip ur neighbour's fence/wall/galvanised sheet and chapup the fig? Instead of moving like a pooseyhole and poisoning it?

Well yeah I'm a bit fed-up of their stupidity, but I wouldn't say that I'm very distraught over it....it has been going on for way too long though. I painted my side of the wall earlier this year and already it looks just like before.

The neighbour owns rottweiler dogs so jumping the wall is out of the question. I sense ur an environmentalist though...you seem to take umbrage to the recommended option of poisoning the root.

But doh beat up cuz I'm still waiting to hear from you a reasonable solution....

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2011, 10:39 pm

gt4tified wrote:
rfari wrote:You seem very distraught about this. Why you don't flip ur neighbour's fence/wall/galvanised sheet and chapup the fig? Instead of moving like a pooseyhole and poisoning it?

Well yeah I'm a bit fed-up of their stupidity, but I wouldn't say that I'm very distraught over it....it has been going on for way too long though. I painted my side of the wall earlier this year and already it looks just like before.

The neighbour owns rottweiler dogs so jumping the wall is out of the question. I sense ur an environmentalist though...you seem to take umbrage to the recommended option of poisoning the root.

But doh beat up cuz I'm still waiting to hear from you a reasonable solution....

So you want people to condone your poisoning of the fig trees? Trim the leaves/fig/neighbour/neighbour mother or anything hanging over your side of the wall!

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2011, 10:45 pm

so gt4tified should have to trim the neighbour tree for the rest of his life? nah man.

that eh make sense

neighbour eh paying him for his time to do that.
and no one on tuner going to trim the tree for him.

just curious tho, anyone who giving the advice "NOT to kill the tree and Nah leave the tree alone and jus trim the leaves", allyuh have neighbours who tree branches/dead leaves/rotting fruits bothering allyuh?

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2011, 10:55 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:so gt4tified should have to trim the neighbour tree for the rest of his life? nah man.

that eh make sense

neighbour eh paying him for his time to do that.
and no one on tuner going to trim the tree for him.

just curious tho, anyone who giving the advice "NOT to kill the tree and Nah leave the tree alone and jus trim the leaves", allyuh have neighbours who tree branches/dead leaves/rotting fruits bothering allyuh?

NO, but before you take off, I'm sure that I would have a reasonably good relationship with my neighbour that would preclude such dramatic measures.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2011, 11:05 pm

lucky you, you have reasonable neighbours (for now)

many of us don't have that luck.

easy to give advice saying Don't do XYZ when you've never been in the extremely annoying situation.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2011, 11:06 pm

btw I hereby condone your poisoning of the neighbour fig tree once it bothering yuh.

If yuh get 3 condones then yuh good to go.

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2011, 11:07 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:lucky you, you have reasonable neighbours (for now)

many of us don't have that luck.

easy to give advice saying Don't do XYZ when you've never been in the extremely annoying situation.

Easier to give advice that will possibly lead to legal problems then?

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2011, 11:12 pm

Have fun trimming a neighbour tree for the rest of yuh life :|

Even if you just trim the tree , muffler bearing neighbour could still send you a lawyers letter saying you damaging his fruit trees and he want compensation, then you need to waste time and $$ to reply to that claim (whether it has substance or not)

nah man...that doh make sense

when you in the situation you`ll understand that there really is only one way to deal with something like this.

Postby rfari » October 11th, 2011, 11:12 pm

@ABA's 1st post-yup. Had tht issue with a neighbour and his almond tree. Every weekend I had to be racking up leaves near tht side of the yard. Got fed up and told him tht something have to be done. He agreed and the next weekend I helped him cut most of the branches over a bottle of white oak.

@gtfied's-i'm not an environmentalist; just fond of banana plants. Tell you what. I have the silver bullet method for ur problem. It would make the patch die as though a drought hit it and you definitely wouldn't get any suckers growing there for a few years to come. But u hadda replant bananas in ur yard to replace the ones u kill.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2011, 11:15 pm

rfari wrote:@ABA-yup. Had tht issue with a neighbour and his almond tree. Every weekend I had to be racking up leaves near tht side of the yard. Got fed up and told him tht something have to be done. He agreed and the next weekend I helped him cut most of the branches over a bottle of white oak.

You have plenty more patience than me. But to have the neighbour dead fruits or dead leaves coming in my yard where customers/patients/clients need to park everyday....if it happen twice that's too much.

Btw when can you come do the estimate? weekends or during the week?