Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » October 3rd, 2011, 11:36 pm

2 of the 3 you gave me real spread out nice. nice colors. Got a nice 3" dia green hairy one from raj some wks ago and it split nicely. still waiting on the red and also the blue ones to split

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » October 4th, 2011, 10:16 am

HondaB20B wrote:
rmtuner wrote:Ok MUSHROOMS are a NO NO for me then.
Mostly predator fish I have and no chiller yet. Using PC fans.

HondaB20B wrote:
rmtuner wrote:the mushrooms hard to keep?
what lighting, flow etc.. it need.

HondaB20B wrote:any saltwater people have any corals, inverts, fish or other stuff to trade?
right now i have some mushrooms.

check your PM boss, i tell you call me since after 2pm.
Placement of mushrooms are low, like on your base rock or below ledges. they dont require much light or heavy water flow. Temps must be below 84F. if you have a chiller well then you good to go. If you have certain triggers, angels and other non reef safe fish.............. then you can safely say "YOU HAD MUSHROOMS" :lol: :lol:

or ok. d pc fans might work cause Ares on d forum running fans and have some nice mushrooms. What kinda predators you got. Hoping to do one after i finish the reef

Clown Trigger, Niger Trigger, Picasso Trigger, Lunare Wrasse.
The PC fans does keep my 75g tank between 26c-28c

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 4th, 2011, 6:25 pm

rmtuner wrote:Clown Trigger, Niger Trigger, Picasso Trigger, Lunare Wrasse.
The PC fans does keep my 75g tank between 26c-28c

Wow........... nice collection. that clip will surely eat corals, mushrooms and even inverts.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » October 8th, 2011, 10:05 pm

ok newbie here with a serious question

i want a saltwater aquarium

but i want to do it "in wall"

like this

or

similiar to those

i will have access behind it because it will be below my step, which is enclosed so all the mess would be behind there

i plan to cut the wall and fit an aquarium inside with a stand behind

my questions are:
should i buy an aquarium? or should i have one made, what type and thickness of glass? who or where can i get this done?

and who can set up a salt water aquarium for me?

how about lighting too?
i'm serious and ready to get this done, if its a service you offer please let me know

Postby sharkman121 » October 8th, 2011, 10:48 pm

copper_shot,

1.You can do this for yrself, i did.

2. You should have yr aquarium made to the specs you want depending on the space you have available.

This guy made made my aquarium, from Diego and he's good and reasonable. 633-3653

3. Lighting, we'll cross that bridge when we reach there.

This is my "in wall" build on another forum. Follow it and you'll get alot of tips. I upgraded mine after so it look better now but the general concept is the same. Take a look.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthrea ... harkman121

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » October 20th, 2011, 9:12 pm

*cricket chirping*
HondaB20B MIA

Anyone have daisy/clove/glove polyps frags for sale ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 20th, 2011, 10:18 pm

deadfish13 wrote:*cricket chirping*
HondaB20B MIA

Anyone have daisy/clove/glove polyps frags for sale ?

whey sah, miniture coconut trees................. :D :D

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » October 20th, 2011, 10:23 pm

Raj had a good bit of those

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 20th, 2011, 11:04 pm

ARES0610 wrote:Raj had a good bit of those

and then there were none.............

(is not me)

Cid

Postby Cid » October 20th, 2011, 11:29 pm

Ah know allyu salt men is look down on de freshwater fellaz eh but ah go still post up some phone pics of meh lill planted...
uploadfromtaptalk1319167780573.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1319167714277.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1319167689095.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1319167643300.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1319167618885.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1319167589917.jpg

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » October 20th, 2011, 11:38 pm

Ares i got one type from Raj , looking for other colours.
Dean go eat some shrooms, i didn't take all . it have a frag there still ..lol

jsr

Postby jsr » October 21st, 2011, 8:50 am

I am wondering if there is a way to place a glass or transparent structure on this pond. Reason is to make it look like an outdoor aquarium and to prevent my dogs from going inside . The picture below is the present one though the landscaping around it has been modified since.
Picture.jpg

Postby sharkman121 » October 21st, 2011, 10:42 am

lol @ spongebob house

Ares i got thru with the plastic canvas.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 21st, 2011, 3:11 pm

deadfish13 wrote:Ares i got one type from Raj , looking for other colours.
Dean go eat some shrooms, i didn't take all . it have a frag there still ..lol

thats wasting it............. dry it and SMOKE IT!!!!! 8-) 8-)

when it bear, save ah grop for me. if when i come back it still there, i'll take it

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 21st, 2011, 3:24 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
deadfish13 wrote:*cricket chirping*
HondaB20B MIA

I not MIA boss....................... i'm in d south american rainforests looking for the rare and elusive black fresh water seahorse.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 21st, 2011, 5:20 pm

Where y'all get your sand from? And what's the avg cost on it?

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » October 21st, 2011, 11:04 pm

Sharkman ever see pictures with GSP on the Moai Head. Gonna try that some day. lol

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » October 21st, 2011, 11:08 pm

Yeah sharkman make sure you scrape it up good. Make it as rough as you can get it.
Sand is about $300 for a 5gallon bucket.

Postby sharkman121 » October 22nd, 2011, 2:28 am

nah din see any pics deadfish. Ares i rough up that screen till it couldnt rough up anymore. used a hacksaw cuz i didnt have any tools and sandpaper was not nearly enough.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » October 22nd, 2011, 8:20 am

I see you real rough it up, it get hole and thing, lol.
Where you got those clamp reflectors and how much $? I looking for some of those long time.
Raj Said he was expecting new fish during the week so just a heads up. Anybody went recently?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 22nd, 2011, 9:18 am

^^^^ i wonder what fish he bringing

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » October 22nd, 2011, 10:44 am

some new clowns , flasher wrasse, nassau tang, yellow tang , anthias some others i dont remember.
had some clowns with larger white spots and told me he had full white, but they sold.

NO NEW CORASL DEAN !!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:

Postby sharkman121 » October 22nd, 2011, 7:42 pm

some pics of the algae scrubber i put together today. Ares i got the reflectors at bhagwansingh. $100 each.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » October 23rd, 2011, 9:22 am

Ok, I have to check them.
The scrubber looking good. Once it gets a little established you will get growth like mad on it.

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » October 23rd, 2011, 10:46 am

what is the difference/efficiency of the srubber compare to boipellets in term of nurient export. or do they do completely different things.

Postby sharkman121 » October 23rd, 2011, 2:34 pm

ive heard too many people complain about biopellets not working as compared to the ease of building and effectiveness of a simple algae scrubber. The scrubber costs almost nothing to build whereas biopellets are expensive. U need to change out media ever so often for biopelllets so it can be expensive, u have to worry about having enough flow to tumble the pellets and worry about releasing nutrients back into the water if they become saturated.

check out this site for more info algaescrubber.net

netsket

Postby netsket » October 24th, 2011, 5:19 am

anyone know where I cud buy or who have the housing for a 4ft aquarium light...i want the stand itself to buy....dont want the light or dont need the light to be working....i am going to make up my own lighting.

Postby UML » October 25th, 2011, 8:41 pm

How good are those protein skimmers by Chai's??? I think they have Jeebo and some others.

Also, can I do a reef setup without using a chiller? Trying to avoid the expense of a chiller...is it possible or do i need the chiller to grow coral? Or will the water temp be too hot for coral growth?

I considering using LED lighting to try to keep the water temperature low....but how will this affect water temperature and will it allow coral growth?

currently in a predicament of buying lighting but i not sure if to go with the LED or the T5...cause of the chiller factor.....i have plans of buying a chiller in the future as I get more experienced with saltwater tanks....but as a novice im not sure if I should invest that much money in lighting and chiller. Please advise.

Postby sharkman121 » October 25th, 2011, 9:13 pm

UML wrote:How good are those protein skimmers by Chai's??? I think they have Jeebo and some others.

dem Jeebo skimmers is rel sheit IMO!

Also, can I do a reef setup without using a chiller? Trying to avoid the expense of a chiller...is it possible or do i need the chiller to grow coral? Or will the water temp be too hot for coral growth?

u can have some coral without a chiller but a limited variety and not the really pretty ones IMO. you should be able to keep some mushrooms probably. i put off buying a chiller for a long while but eventually bought one its inevitable ull have to buy one.

I considering using LED lighting to try to keep the water temperature low....but how will this affect water temperature and will it allow coral growth?

currently in a predicament of buying lighting but i not sure if to go with the LED or the T5...cause of the chiller factor.....i have plans of buying a chiller in the future as I get more experienced with saltwater tanks....but as a novice im not sure if I should invest that much money in lighting and chiller. Please advise.

Led fixtures for reef aquaria are very very expensive. t5's would get the job jone much more efficiently. whether u have T5's or led's once u dont have a chiller the temp would be too hot for regular coral if you live in Trinidad.

Pics of yr setup?

Postby sharkman121 » October 25th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Word of advice any reefer would give you also is to buy the best equipment possible the first time around. Alot of ppl including myself try to skimp on price or get bargain buys and always have to end up buying the correct stuff.

Wish i splurged on the correct equipment the first time around.