The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » October 20th, 2011, 10:46 pm

pete wrote:Anyone ever used Qik video from an iPhone to another device? How does it compare with facetime?

I think it's around the same quality. Skype acquired Qik a couple months ago so Qiks quality and encoding which they were initially known for was essentially incorporated into Skype's mobile algorithms. Making it possible to Skype video chat from an iPhone.

Compare Skype quality (with latest update) and FaceTime on ios5, both of them are pretty good but rely heavily on a good connection quality (ping/jitter) and speed. You should find that Skype maintains a better connection over slower networks tho, At least that's what I can tell from my experience.

casper

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby casper » October 20th, 2011, 10:47 pm

Skype's audio quality for iPhone is pretty damn good :shock:

I rate it!!!!

Re: Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby S_2NR » October 20th, 2011, 11:43 pm

casper wrote:Skype's audio quality for iPhone is pretty damn good :shock:

I rate it!!!!

Same thing for android.
Nothing special there.

casper

Postby casper » October 21st, 2011, 9:22 am

^^^what i meant is that it actually sounds clearer than normal voice calls...and even facetime audio as well...skype audio realll bess...wish that quality was the same for normal voice calling as well :cry:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 21st, 2011, 9:57 am

I have to say the same thing about Skype.
But then I have no experience using the iPhone on another network e.g. in the US to compare voice quality.

It's not like our voice quality here is anything to boast about.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2011, 2:54 pm

so would Apple be suing Nokia as well for "copying" them? my guess would be no since it's not Nokia that is currently kicking their arse :lol:

Image Image

Image Image

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 22nd, 2011, 3:47 pm

mitch ... you don't have work to do or sumtin ??? ... :D

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 22nd, 2011, 4:11 pm

i'll pass since the n8 was to much problems :|

mitch wrote:so would Apple be suing Nokia as well for "copying" them? my guess would be no since it's not Nokia that is currently kicking their arse :lol:

Image Image

Image Image

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 22nd, 2011, 4:48 pm

The nokia packaging may look similar to iPhone packaging but the phone itself to me can't be mistaken for an iPhone. Some of samsung's phones look like 3GS iPhones.

About Siri, apparently Siri needs data not just to do web searches or send info to iCloud but also to just work. Period. If u ask siri to do a task like setting a reminder or an alarm it won't work without data. Not because it has to send any stuff to iCloud but because processing of what u just told it is done at a server and not on the phone itself. Not knocking Siri, just seeking to clarify and understand how it works incase someone else asks for info.

Postby M_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 5:47 pm

i must say though, apple copied webos a bit in terms of backup.
I just did over my Touchpad and it does almost exactly what iCloud backup does... pull all data from the cloud and applies the settings. all my apps are being synced as i speak...

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 22nd, 2011, 7:33 pm

How do u rate the touchpad against the iPad 2? Tried getting a tp during the fire sale but nada.

Postby M_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 8:45 pm

Honestly, an OS that had a lot going for it.
After using it, I didn't want to buy an iPad again.
At the end of the day, an iPad is tied to iTunes, you need to jailbreak it to get actual pc replacement use out of it.
For the average user give them an iPad but for me, webos has grown on me.
The minute you use the multitasking on webos you will feel iOS is missing something.

The greatest Downfall of it was the app development. It certainly needed more. Also load times...
But don't get me wrong, the dev community is alive and buzzing.
Take for instance, proxy support, that was broken out of the box, in no time a few apps were pushed out to fix it, and it allows almost all the apps to work with a proxy unlike iOS where only safari would work.

Yes, flash is dying but for now multiple sites still use it, having full flash support is super! And no, battery drain does not occur as claimed by a certain group lol.

Then there are the many "tech" things you can do. Ubuntu, android all can be multibooted or run in a card.

So it's never too boring as some might presume it is. For a tablet OS, android cannot touch it, and at times on par with iOS or better.
/rant

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 23rd, 2011, 6:48 pm

Anyone else having issues with iBooks running iOS 5? App just crashes on launch

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2011, 6:53 pm

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 23rd, 2011, 9:40 pm

^^^ sucks. Hopefully something can be done about it soon. Used iBooks to have PDFs on the phone....

Anyways, Apple has posted the Celebrating Steve video from their on campus event on the 19th. (Requires Safari 4 or 5 on Mac OS X Snow Leopard or Lion, Safari on iOS 3 or later, or QuickTime 7 on Windows.)

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2011, 10:09 pm

ohh... i use goodreader for that. i bought it way back when it was 99c. it has some pretty useful options now.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 23rd, 2011, 10:11 pm

M_2NR wrote:i must say though, apple copied webos a bit in terms of backup.
I just did over my Touchpad and it does almost exactly what iCloud backup does... pull all data from the cloud and applies the settings. all my apps are being synced as i speak...

iCloud is an evolution of MobileMe.... which is was an evolution of .Mac (pronounced dot mac)...

...which was introduced in 2002. I synced my different a/c on all Macs I used home and office, plus my cell phones — photos, contacts, calendar, reminders, alarms, bookmarks and had online backup storage using "iDisk", plus my photos could be uploaded straight to a .Mac website...

iCould just took that further in the natural progression they had planned for it, regardless of who they appeared to have copied.

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2011, 10:31 pm

im talking the apps part ;)
whoever it came from it was nice and so glad it finally came to iOS in 5.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 23rd, 2011, 10:36 pm

As was previously reported, Apple’s new MacBook Pro lineup is launching as early as next week. Today, we have all the details on the new notebooks and this looks to be a minor refresh with faster processors and more storage (for some models). The prices will be the same as the current model’s prices.

New 13 inch MacBook Pros:
    2.4 GHz dual core processor, 4 GB of RAM, 500 GB hard drive, SD card slot
    2.8 GHz dual core processor, 4 GB of RAM, 750 GB hard drive, SD card slot

New 15 inch MacBook Pro:
    2.2 GHz quad core processor, 4 GB of RAM, 500 GB hard drive, SD card slot
    2.4 GHz quad core processor, 4 GB of RAM, 750 GB hard drive, SD card slot

New 17 inch MacBook Pro:
    2.4 GHz quad core processor, 4GB, 750 GB hard drive, SD card slot, Express Card slot

Built-to-order configurations:
    15 inch: 2.5 GHz, 4 GB of RAM, 750GB hard drive (faster 7200 RPM)
    17 inch: 2.5 GHz, 4 GB of RAM, 750GB hard drive (faster 7200 RPM)

Configurations (23 Oct 2011):

Configurations (24 Oct 2011):

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2011, 11:55 pm

i thought it got delayed because intel holding back on launching some of its new chips?

EDIT: oops it was mac pros lol
http://www.macrumors.com/2011/10/21/int ... arly-2012/

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 24th, 2011, 12:51 am

M_2NR wrote:im talking the apps part ;)
whoever it came from it was nice and so glad it finally came to iOS in 5.

Yea... Folder and apps syncing.
Been there for Macs for a long time.

Now comes on the iPhone for the rest of the world.

It amazing me every time people discover a new feature, I realize how ahead of the curve Apple is with their Macs. And yet people still wonder why I use one.

Postby M_2NR » October 24th, 2011, 1:21 am

hmm nice. i sometimes wonder though, who was the one to make such a horrible implementation of notifications in the first place. geez it took 4 revisions for them to decide to "copy" android?
(word is, it was maemo first?)

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 24th, 2011, 5:49 am

i need a gevey sim to unlock an iphone 4,does anyone have in stock? thanks.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 24th, 2011, 7:42 am

M_2NR wrote:hmm nice. i sometimes wonder though, who was the one to make such a horrible implementation of notifications in the first place. geez it took 4 revisions for them to decide to "copy" android?
(word is, it was maemo first?)

Remember in the beginning Apple didn't really provide for 3rd party apps. So it was only a few apps that could handle it's own notification and that was simpler than having a notification center.

When the app store exploded things started to spiral almost out of control, and I believe Apple was more concerned about getting other parts of the OS where it should be. A notification center was just the next step. It became necessary with people having so many apps on their phones.

Remember also that even without a notification center, iTunes would show you apps that needed updating and would download updates, then install them next time you plugged in your phone — which was how anyone synced.

Now with a little more freedom from your PC, I guess there was now really a need for such a feature.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 24th, 2011, 9:17 am

Guys, i want to buy an Unlocked Iphone 4 from the Apple Store online, anyone knows if they accept Int'l Credit Cards Like Scotia Mastercard? Or should i look in to some other way?

casper

Postby casper » October 24th, 2011, 10:15 am

quick question ppl...can a small neo magnet frick up an iphone???

casper

Postby casper » October 24th, 2011, 10:20 am

my bredren have a 3g and he does alot of PC repairs and have this tool that looks like an antenna with a small magnet at d end and he usually has it in d same pocket with his phone and he tellin me he think it shittin up his hd but i told him magnets dont affect flash storage...he saying otherwise...can anyone shed some light???

Postby S_2NR » October 24th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Magnets affect all electronics depending on the strength.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 24th, 2011, 10:39 pm

PapaC wrote:Guys, i want to buy an Unlocked Iphone 4 from the Apple Store online, anyone knows if they accept Int'l Credit Cards Like Scotia Mastercard? Or should i look in to some other way?

dont know if they changed it yet but before an american card + address was required.....

Postby S_2NR » October 24th, 2011, 11:00 pm

guys.. im thinking about switching from windows to mac. looking at the 13" macbook pro.
currently my laptop is win7 with i5 processor, 640gb hd and 6gb ram.
im a student so budget is tight..
anybody here did the switch?
is it worth it?
what are the pros and cons?