UML wrote:sharkman where u get the iwaki pump from? i see u mentioned it earlier
does raj sell it?
thx for the advice sharkman
my setup?![]()
still in meh head
hopefully before christmas
UML wrote:tell me about it...is more than a year i "preparing"![]()
why did u sell it? any complaints?
deadfish13 wrote:How do i use activated carbon ?
UML wrote:How good are those protein skimmers by Chai's??? I think they have Jeebo and some others.
Also, can I do a reef setup without using a chiller? Trying to avoid the expense of a chiller...is it possible or do i need the chiller to grow coral? Or will the water temp be too hot for coral growth?
I considering using LED lighting to try to keep the water temperature low....but how will this affect water temperature and will it allow coral growth?
currently in a predicament of buying lighting but i not sure if to go with the LED or the T5...cause of the chiller factor.....i have plans of buying a chiller in the future as I get more experienced with saltwater tanks....but as a novice im not sure if I should invest that much money in lighting and chiller. Please advise.
JM wrote:Hey some was telling me that they use crushed coral in their pond setup to keep the pH stable.....
is it literally..just..actual coral?
deadfish13 wrote:Heads up to anyone interested in Red Tail Catfish , Chai's have a few . $200.00 and they about 4-6 inches....priced seemed low to me and i asked the girl twice .
always wanted one of these but ended up going with a Reef tank...err tub![]()
How do i use activated carbon ?
sharkman121 wrote:UML wrote:tell me about it...is more than a year i "preparing"![]()
why did u sell it? any complaints?
nah it was brand new...never used. i use a mag drive 9.5 as my return pumpdeadfish13 wrote:How do i use activated carbon ?
u put it in a mesh bag in a high flow area in the sump, put it in filter bags for a HOB filter or any kind of mechanical filtration or u can get a reactor canister for it and use a pump.
i use this for carbon and gfo, its from bulk reef supply.com
ARES0610 wrote:UML wrote:How good are those protein skimmers by Chai's??? I think they have Jeebo and some others.
Also, can I do a reef setup without using a chiller? Trying to avoid the expense of a chiller...is it possible or do i need the chiller to grow coral? Or will the water temp be too hot for coral growth?
I considering using LED lighting to try to keep the water temperature low....but how will this affect water temperature and will it allow coral growth?
currently in a predicament of buying lighting but i not sure if to go with the LED or the T5...cause of the chiller factor.....i have plans of buying a chiller in the future as I get more experienced with saltwater tanks....but as a novice im not sure if I should invest that much money in lighting and chiller. Please advise.
I have a reef set up with 4x t5 bulbs and 4 led par 30 bulbs. The t5 bulbs do heat the water a bit. I don't use a chiller, just some clip on fans.
I keep all kind of coral, including sps and a clam.
link wrote:I actually using a 55gal drum (filled with oyster shells) in a 600gal water tank..........filtered water overflows from ist bio tank (600gal) through shells, out of drum (holes drilled like giant sieve) into tank (2nd bio tank) which oflws into 55gal drum with submersible pump delivering to all tanks which oflw back into 1st bio tank.
I 'sludge out' both bio tanks every month with a sump pump - takes about 10mins each.
Complete recirculation. Every 3 mths or so I do a 600gal water change from the connected 600gal reserve tank when I see pH reaches 8...
the tanks in the system approx. 4500gal volume
netsket wrote:deadfish13 wrote:Heads up to anyone interested in Red Tail Catfish , Chai's have a few . $200.00 and they about 4-6 inches....priced seemed low to me and i asked the girl twice .
always wanted one of these but ended up going with a Reef tank...err tub![]()
How do i use activated carbon ?
you should check Charran's Fish Farm in Cunupia...you WILL NEVER go Chais again.....I bought one from Chais for $150![]()
went Charrans and saw it for $100![]()
Chais ripping off ppl....and dey does move real dottish too!!!
wouldnt washing it out like that remove important bacteria and affect the cycling of ur tank?? I very rarely attempt to clean my tank...like once a year.
Morpheus wrote:Hi guys. Know anywhere that can replace the bottom glass of an aquarium? Or at least repair it? It has a crack and is leaki......well all the water leaked out.
http://imageshack.us/clip/my-videos/257/r9m.mp4/
That's the tank last night when I came home from class. By 11:40pm I hear the pump bawling. Running dry yes. Steups.
ARES0610 wrote:UML wrote:How good are those protein skimmers by Chai's??? I think they have Jeebo and some others.
I have a reef set up with 4x t5 bulbs and 4 led par 30 bulbs. The t5 bulbs do heat the water a bit. I don't use a chiller, just some clip on fans.
ARES0610 wrote:ARES0610 wrote:UML wrote:How good are those protein skimmers by Chai's??? I think they have Jeebo and some others.
niceeeeeeee...thx for the info. wah kinda fans? the small computer fans? cause i have one of those set up already doing nothing...will try it. wah temperature you get in your tank with that set up??
Temperatures get to about 85F. What you need to worry about is sharp sudden changes.
I just use lasko clip on fans. I don't think most people really need chillers.
sharkman121 wrote:an iwaki wouldnt make sense for that size tank UML, a mag drive 7 should suffice.
http://www.amazon.com/Danner-Mag-Drive- ... 862&sr=8-1
ARES0610 wrote:Well he was considering a chiller, so the money saved could buy him the vortech and some fish.
I got the korallia on amazon. I can't really help you with the pump, I didn't really do much research in that area. I just bought a resun king because that's what I found. It is about 700gph, but you have to factor in your head loss. I have a slow turnover through my sump though. I know a lot of people like a fast turnover and use their return for added flow but that is sort of inefficient use of energy, because most of it is used to overcome head loss and not for flow.
What are plans for the tank? fish? coral? What type of coral? This could really change your set up and cost.
shotta 20 wrote:Anyone knows where i can get an aquarium like this to buy ?
Basically same shape and but doesn't necessarily need to have all the fancy exterior work.