shotta 20 wrote:Thanks, will check them tmr, Anywhere else?
sharkman121 wrote:UML wrote:tell me about it...is more than a year i "preparing"![]()
why did u sell it? any complaints?
nah it was brand new...never used. i use a mag drive 9.5 as my return pumpdeadfish13 wrote:How do i use activated carbon ?
u put it in a mesh bag in a high flow area in the sump, put it in filter bags for a HOB filter or any kind of mechanical filtration or u can get a reactor canister for it and use a pump.
i use this for carbon and gfo, its from bulk reef supply.com
innovativeaudio wrote:yea fellas ah need ah lil advice here
i have a half of tank (dem 400gal tuff tank) and i mining some kois. on many occasions i have to problem with the algae building up til it gets really thick. i dumped all the water and relocated the tank to a sheltered cuz i have learnd that rain fall and the sunlight is the ideal condition for algae growth.
i have the tank in an area where there is little sunlight and no rainfall but i seein that i getting algae building up on the walls and the bottom of the tank. i am using a king 2 power head and i built a filter which consists of floss and carbon........... i've read where ppl use the same filtration technique as mine without the uv light and they don get the problem i get because they say that their biological phase is really developed
tried the pond block but it eh really hold out for long ah not looking to go into purchasing them uv lights cuz i trying tuh keep filtration basic (plus i doh have d kinda money tuh jump out for one of them lights
any advice as to filtration techniques or tips of building a new filter.....thanks
sharkman121 wrote:Still need to get a booster pump and pressure gauge for the Ro Di unit though.
sharkman121 wrote:doh beat up nah dan, i only need a booster pump for the time when water pressure in d pipe low. Odderwise d pressha good.
rmtuner wrote:innovativeaudio wrote:yea fellas ah need ah lil advice here
i have a half of tank (dem 400gal tuff tank) and i mining some kois. on many occasions i have to problem with the algae building up til it gets really thick. i dumped all the water and relocated the tank to a sheltered cuz i have learnd that rain fall and the sunlight is the ideal condition for algae growth.
i have the tank in an area where there is little sunlight and no rainfall but i seein that i getting algae building up on the walls and the bottom of the tank. i am using a king 2 power head and i built a filter which consists of floss and carbon........... i've read where ppl use the same filtration technique as mine without the uv light and they don get the problem i get because they say that their biological phase is really developed
tried the pond block but it eh really hold out for long ah not looking to go into purchasing them uv lights cuz i trying tuh keep filtration basic (plus i doh have d kinda money tuh jump out for one of them lights
any advice as to filtration techniques or tips of building a new filter.....thanks
you could try the Tetrapond ClearChoice Gravity Biofilter. I have one each running on two ponds and it keeps the water crystal clear.
HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:doh beat up nah dan, i only need a booster pump for the time when water pressure in d pipe low. Odderwise d pressha good.
Pal, i not beatin up yuh know, cause is not bad filtered water going in my tank. i have a pump. tha manufacturers tell you that house pressure is still not enough.
then again... what do i know about reef tanks and stuff. i just trying to help you out pal.
I give up....................... thats it yes
sharkman121 wrote:HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:doh beat up nah dan, i only need a booster pump for the time when water pressure in d pipe low. Odderwise d pressha good.
Pal, i not beatin up yuh know, cause is not bad filtered water going in my tank. i have a pump. tha manufacturers tell you that house pressure is still not enough.
then again... what do i know about reef tanks and stuff. i just trying to help you out pal.
I give up....................... thats it yes
i want u to relax...U seem to pms easily.
The recommended level set by manufacturers is 50PSI. I get near 50 PSI on a few time a week when the water is "bussin the pipe". I know this because of a pressure gauge i borrowed from a friend for a while. The ONLY reason i might buy a booster pump is to have all bases covered in the event i need to make RODI water quickly in an emergency and theres not enough pressure.
I heard you since the last time we discussed ro di units a couple months aback and i agreed with you. My decision still has other external factors so dont assume i dont listen. Thanks for your help, appreciated but i also do a lot of research on my own. so u saying "u give up...thats it" means what?
sharkman121 wrote::lol:
ah hope yuh doh run mih wen ah come home by yuh and check yuh for piece of coral
UML wrote:Do u guys bring in ur equipment urself or buy from Raj?
I interested in buying a 4ft reef light..find raj price a bit high compared to what i see online....I know i have to consider taxes, shipping and handling,etc.
what do u guys do?
how much extra wud it cost me in taxes, etc? $1000?
please advise
HondaB20B wrote:UML wrote:Do u guys bring in ur equipment urself or buy from Raj?
I interested in buying a 4ft reef light..find raj price a bit high compared to what i see online....I know i have to consider taxes, shipping and handling,etc.
what do u guys do?
how much extra wud it cost me in taxes, etc? $1000?
please advise
this is my opinion and my opinion only........ if you buy any expensive electronic equipment, (pump, chiller, protein skimmer.....etc ) and you plug it in and it lasts 2 wks lets say, and you call d company and tell them....................... how much you going to pay to ship it back.
If you buy it raj he will replace it providing you didnt tamper with it.
if you buy a hood and ship it down, the bulbs has no warranty on them. by raj, he will still replace it. T5 bulbs are $150 and has to be replaced every 5-6 mths
sharkman121 wrote:I have a 6 month old 4 x 48inch T5 setup for sale. Comes with moonlight and external ballasts for $600. I lookin to upgrade to some LED'S.
HondaB20B wrote:UML, look ah deal................
HondaB20B wrote:i realy hope you know what you getting into eh.
48X18X18 = 67gal. did you check d cost on sand, live rock, saltwater to full the tank and also for regular water change. pumps, fish, coral, inverts, filter .......etc?