TrinbagoMan wrote:I even held it by its tail :-) Did not recognise it

hoss u on sh't :P

Re: Help identifying a snake

Postby Razkal » October 18th, 2011, 8:58 am

Yodins wrote:what Razkal is?

i hear he is half man, half bear..half pig :|

trinbagoman, you and puppy really lucky yes, well you especially! handling a maps like that, they're usually aggressive and hate being handled.
if you usually walk through the bush, definitely source a couple pics of the venomous snakes we have locally and familiarize yourself with them, not all will be as calm as that guy and it'll be worth knowing when to skate out!

legoRB

Postby legoRB » October 18th, 2011, 10:10 am

Razkal wrote:trinbago man, that is definitely a mapepire balsain (yes, Bothrops atrox)..

the skin pattering and the eyes look dull probably because the snake was/is close to shedding, skin also covers the eyes of snakes and begins to turn opaque when shedding is imminent.

where'd you take the pic?

Yep....TM you are lucky dude...Snakes are really supposed to be more defensive/aggressive when they are shedding due to increased vulnerability cuz of skin shedding on eyes...

Give thanks and praise..

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 18th, 2011, 4:45 pm

In terms of poisonous snake bites, is the sande grande hospital the only hospital with snake anti venom?

(edited)
Last edited by TrinbagoMan on October 18th, 2011, 5:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » October 18th, 2011, 5:12 pm

^ I think you mean anti-venum, yes.

Postby rfari » October 18th, 2011, 6:21 pm

From past snake bite cases in the news I think grande is the only hospital that has anti-venum

glennj

Postby glennj » October 18th, 2011, 9:50 pm

thats not a boa or a rat snake. might be a mapepire or a bushmaster. use caution.
dont kill it though, but relocate it far from your home.

Postby rfari » October 18th, 2011, 10:08 pm

What's the best way to move a mapapire?

Postby rollingstock » October 18th, 2011, 10:14 pm

You don't move a mapepire, they move you :?

Postby Razkal » October 18th, 2011, 11:42 pm

^:lol:

best thing is to leave it alone, honestly. not all individuals will be overtly aggressive, but the species is documented as being easily agitated and will strike to defend its space.

they have a host of striking methods too, that certainly will catch you off guard.
its not the snake you want to risk handling yourself if you aren't sure of what you're doing imo.

spray some black disinfectant around your yard perimeter to deter snakes coming in if they frequent your place i guess.

Postby rfari » October 19th, 2011, 9:54 am

So in other words razkal wha u saying is if u see a mapapire, run like a b'tch but if u have a choplass, carve the snake up rell nice and wash the blood away wid some black disinfectant? J/k
So fellas tht camp in the bush wha they do to prevent a snake like this from visiting?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 19th, 2011, 10:33 am

As Razkal said pour some disinfectant around the perimeter. I have heard of this technique a lot, but never used it. i am rather fond of snakes.

Postby Razkal » October 19th, 2011, 11:36 am

the disinfectant thing does in fact work, using ammonia also works.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » October 19th, 2011, 7:56 pm

rfari wrote:
Yodins wrote:what Razkal is?

razkal is one ah de resident 2nr bushmen

scene

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2011, 8:59 pm

rfari wrote:From past snake bite cases in the news I think grande is the only hospital that has anti-venum

yes it is,seriously don't know why though :?

Postby rfari » October 19th, 2011, 9:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
rfari wrote:From past snake bite cases in the news I think grande is the only hospital that has anti-venum

yes it is,seriously don't know why though :?

Sad indeed yes. Do bushmen have their own concoction for snake bites or they head to the hospital like everyone else? And wht about private hospitals do they carry anti-venum or u have to be treated in grande?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2011, 11:25 pm

the last guy I knew who was bitten by a mapapire lost his voice,he sounds like he has permanent sore throat now.....would have been worse if he wasn't rushed to the hospital (s/grande).I highly doubt private hospitals carry anti-venom,other wise,the public would have been notified accordingly.

As for the bushmen who get bite,from my experience,depending on where you get bitten,let's say it's your foot,those guys would cut the affected area,to try and avoid the poison from attacking the entire nervous system.......
I was in my garden one day and this happened to a workman,he was picking vegetable,snake bit him on his forearm,next thing I see meh boy,slice open he hand yes,I was like wdmc,we wrapped his hand in a towel and went to the hospital about 15 mins away and well they fix him up,doctor said that was the best thing he ever did....

matix

Postby matix » October 19th, 2011, 11:29 pm

fer de lance........ maperpire balsain

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2011, 11:30 pm

^^ ah think we already established that.lol

Postby nervewrecker » November 1st, 2011, 10:34 pm

my hands still smell stink lol but nevertheless, what is it?

Postby joker » November 1st, 2011, 10:51 pm

meccalli wrote:looking at the eyes, doesn't seem venomous.

rofl

man watch the eyes and say that ....

d spike

Postby d spike » November 2nd, 2011, 1:01 am

nervewrecker wrote:Image

my hands still smell stink lol but nevertheless, what is it?

Most snakes will release musk from their anal glands when alarmed, so that action isn't helpful in figuring out who he is. (If a creature a hundred times your size picked you up, I'm fairly sure that you would fart too - as well as perform a few other unfortunate reactions as well. :lol: )
It certainly isn't any of the venomous fellows here in Trinidad.
I would need to see a clearer picture of its back (including the side) to identify the bugger. The local snakes who choose brown for their formal wear tend to have faint or distinguishing marks/stripes along the side.
The shape of the head is rather distinctive (as well as the enlarged nostril) but the filing cabinet inside that ol' skullbox of mine doesn't seem to be opening.

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2011, 4:20 am

lol, its the same as this one I had on the first page:

just a tad bit smaller.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2011, 6:37 am

what's that on your right index finger?? as for the snake it looks like a common rat snake to me...they eat rats,chicken,ducklings etc etc.

Postby rfari » November 2nd, 2011, 6:44 am

Nerve u ketch tht in ur home?

Postby rfari » November 2nd, 2011, 6:46 am

Nerve u ketch tht in ur home?

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2011, 7:04 am

shake the living, the second pic is an old one, more info on the first page in the thread.

yup fari, snake slithered into the kitchen through the small space under the back door. While I was walking in he now came through & had a look like 'hey, sssup, dont mind me, im just passssssing through, carry on kind sssssir'. Ok lol, he wasnt hissing but he eventually went under the freezer & I got him out.
I set the fellow free by the roadside for him to be about his buisness.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2011, 9:39 am

saw this in the garden this morning,looks like he just ate something..
305461_10150896355165632_704435631_21185515_2133679213_n.jpg

Postby rfari » November 2nd, 2011, 10:13 am

nervewrecker wrote:shake the living, the second pic is an old one, more info on the first page in the thread.

yup fari, snake slithered into the kitchen through the small space under the back door. While I was walking in he now came through & had a look like 'hey, sssup, dont mind me, im just passssssing through, carry on kind sssssir'. Ok lol, he wasnt hissing but he eventually went under the freezer & I got him out.
I set the fellow free by the roadside for him to be about his buisness.

good thing you saw it. you think its a regular thing for snakes to do that?

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:saw this in the garden this morning,looks like he just ate something..

it living? wha kinda snake is that?