Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby UML » October 30th, 2011, 8:25 pm

gorsh now i more confused :lol: :lol:

lighting giving me a real headache...trying to get best of both worlds...good lighting at low temps

really cant handle buying bulbs so often

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2011, 8:36 pm

go the T5's, you wont go wrong.

Postby UML » October 30th, 2011, 8:44 pm

HondaB20B wrote:go the T5's, you wont go wrong.

k. but why not the LEDs?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2011, 8:48 pm

from what i checking online, they not fully definite that LED's as standalone units realy work to grow corals and stuff.................... it real costly

Postby UML » October 30th, 2011, 8:54 pm

ok thank you for the advice

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2011, 8:59 pm

what are you deciding to go with............... fish only with live rock and one or two corals or reef? What kinda fish
Last edited by HondaB20B on October 30th, 2011, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » October 30th, 2011, 9:00 pm

But Honda there are a lot of guys who run led solely reef aquaria with all types of coral. Couple of guys i know personally and dozens of youtube vids. I think the verdict is already out on leds.

It is however extremely costly.

Postby UML » October 30th, 2011, 9:02 pm

HondaB20B wrote:what are you deciding to go with............... fish only with live rock and one or two corals or reef? What kinda fish

well i starting off fish only with the intention of going reef...so thats why i trying to choose equipment wisely..so i dont have to upgrade...just transfer 8-)

maybe one or two corals in the earlies
Last edited by UML on October 30th, 2011, 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2011, 9:04 pm

^^^^ Who are these guys you personally know...........
personally in a chat room or you know them in person personally we talking about
Last edited by HondaB20B on October 30th, 2011, 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2011, 9:07 pm

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:what are you deciding to go with............... fish only with live rock and one or two corals or reef? What kinda fish

well i starting off fish only with the intention of going reef...so thats why i trying to choose equipment wisely..so i dont have to upgrade...just transfer 8-)

what kinda fish

Postby UML » October 30th, 2011, 9:12 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:

what kinda fish

clown,dorie?, tangs, i guess what i see that i like...dont know much about fish.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2011, 9:22 pm

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:

what kinda fish

clown,dorie?, tangs, i guess what i see that i like...dont know much about fish.

you got to make sure they are reefsafe. tangs, clownfish and most wrasses are reefsafe along with some others

tecpure

Postby tecpure » October 30th, 2011, 10:37 pm

hi and good night to all fish keepers & aquarists Aquarium Fish Association of Trinidad &Tobago will be holding a meeting on the 6/11/2011 all are welcome it will be held in the south any one want more info you call 7509704 or email me at tecpure@hotmail.com sharkman the meeting is to every in the hobby of saltwater and freshwater

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » October 31st, 2011, 12:28 pm

link wrote:
rmtuner wrote:
innovativeaudio wrote:yea fellas ah need ah lil advice here

i have a half of tank (dem 400gal tuff tank) and i mining some kois. on many occasions i have to problem with the algae building up til it gets really thick. i dumped all the water and relocated the tank to a sheltered cuz i have learnd that rain fall and the sunlight is the ideal condition for algae growth.

i have the tank in an area where there is little sunlight and no rainfall but i seein that i getting algae building up on the walls and the bottom of the tank. i am using a king 2 power head and i built a filter which consists of floss and carbon........... i've read where ppl use the same filtration technique as mine without the uv light and they don get the problem i get because they say that their biological phase is really developed

tried the pond block but it eh really hold out for long ah not looking to go into purchasing them uv lights cuz i trying tuh keep filtration basic (plus i doh have d kinda money tuh jump out for one of them lights

any advice as to filtration techniques or tips of building a new filter.....thanks

you could try the Tetrapond ClearChoice Gravity Biofilter. I have one each running on two ponds and it keeps the water crystal clear.

I take it now that your water is clear but yr getting algae buildup on the sides & bottom of the tank.
emtpy yr filter & rinse (not Scrub) once a week...also siphon the waste from the bottom of tank TWICE a week & top up with clean water.
The algae on the sides of tank is part of your biological phase becoming
developed (established). Also I think yr overfeeding the fish...they shud be foraging on algae between feeds & keep growth in check.

thanks fellas will look into it

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2011, 1:17 am

Thanks Tecpure, ill see if i can make it.

UML i think u were enquiring about these units some months ago, They're Loc Line flow accelerators. Ordered them on modularflow.com

An Dean, check out this link, all sps in this thread were grown solely from T5 lighting.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthrea ... sps+corals

Postby UML » November 1st, 2011, 7:00 am

^^^^yea i was. how much u paid for that? I end up getting something kinda similar by Raj :(

think is i dont know if it working as it supposed to or making any difference :(

bought another set last week to install in my saltwater setup

btw u sure that is the correct link to where u bought them...cause i clicked the link and i didnt see it.

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2011, 10:48 am

^ sorry, is modularhose.com

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2011, 2:50 pm

UML, this thread has everything you need to ever know about T5 lighting. All questions answered.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthrea ... +sps+tanks

let me know when u ready for the fixture.

Postby UML » November 1st, 2011, 4:05 pm

thx..will check it out

still undecided....doing some research on it. also gave ur number to another interested person.

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2011, 8:23 pm

ok no problem

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 1st, 2011, 9:09 pm

UML, you still undecided? right now i would of grab that light system from him. you cant go wrong with T5's. Metal halides is out of the question (real heat) and LED's is still iffy when it comes to growing coral efficiently and effectively. the cost of LED's are going to buss d piggybank

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2011, 9:17 pm

i was contemplating earlier to keep it and use the bulbs and ballasts from the 2 fixtures to do one big 8 or 10 bulb fixture with 2 metal halides and the moonlights from the fixture all in one retrofit kit and use steel cables to allow it to suspend from the ceiling over the tank :idea:

my bro is an electrician say he willing to assist with the project cuz i dont know jack about wiring, i just know what design i want.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 1st, 2011, 9:33 pm

Why you gonna run metal halides now? your tank shallower compared to mine and i growing brain and doughnut corals on the sand bed with my T5's. you already have a algae outbreak, yuh trying to pull out d lil remaining hair in yuh head or whah.

Postby sharkman121 » November 1st, 2011, 10:23 pm

nah i know how to handle d algae, the halides are for clams particularly..although not reserved to.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 1st, 2011, 11:20 pm

lol.................if you say so boss. sometimes i does really ask what you smoking yes

Postby sharkman121 » November 2nd, 2011, 10:48 am

Nope... you do know it can be turned on or off independantly right..is algae u studyin so?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 2nd, 2011, 2:26 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Nope... you do know it can be turned on or off independantly right..is algae u studyin so?

No? :shock: :shock: ................. i stop studying your tank long time.
BUT AH KNOW YUH STUDYIN MINE THOUGH :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 2nd, 2011, 6:19 pm

RAJ GOT IN FISH TODAY FOR ALL THOSE INTERESTED............
HE STILL HAS SOME CORAL FROM LAST WEEK

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 2nd, 2011, 10:38 pm

hey guys tried searching in the 116 pgs and couldnt find.. i am looking for an intank filter for my aq its a 20 gal by my estimate
thng is its a boat shaped tank and was given to my wife by her sister as a b-day gift and the resun filter started to leak currant into the water... when i touched the glass or the water i was feeling the shock
tried all the places in south except the mall and they all looked at me and said i need an external filter ..i cant because of the cover .. either i find a decent intank filter or a cut a new opening in the glass cover

anyone seen in any fish place and can help plz post

Postby sharkman121 » November 2nd, 2011, 10:43 pm

^ wazir in Aranguez 674-3030

check out their Tetra Filters