Enclosure modeling Real world vs virtual.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 11:31 am

Spent the night trying to model an enclosure and couldnt get past a big dip in the 60hrtz area.

This sub is going to be lpf'ed at 63htz (active off deck), what Im wondering is if this dip could be ignored and cabin gain would sort that out?

Or should I scrap vented and go bandpass to get the bandwidth I want?
Last edited by kurpal_v2 on November 4th, 2011, 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

silent_riot

Re: Enclosure modeling Real world vs virtual.

Postby silent_riot » November 4th, 2011, 1:48 pm

Is it a midbass? Highpass @ 63Hz?

Postby SR » November 4th, 2011, 1:54 pm

virtual modeling can never replicate the acoustics of the cabin the enclosure is placed in
some programs will try using general charactersitics but there is nothing better than actually building it and measuring its graph to compare with the virtual then you will have a better feel for how to manipulate the virtual to suit the cabin

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 3:47 pm

silent_riot wrote:Is it a midbass? Highpass @ 63Hz?

My mistake LPF @ 63hz

SR wrote:virtual modeling can never replicate the acoustics of the cabin the enclosure is placed in
some programs will try using general charactersitics but there is nothing better than actually building it and measuring its graph to compare with the virtual then you will have a better feel for how to manipulate the virtual to suit the cabin

So best bet is to use an enclosure with adjustable tuning/airspace and "map" an car graph then compare it to the tuning program of choice.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 4th, 2011, 5:49 pm

Forget about the dip at 60Hz, what going on below 40Hz????

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 8:33 pm

low Q, Low Vas, Mid Fs sub makes no good on the low end.

Ill try over the weekend what I get response wise from the sub and will post results. Wont post the sub, to avoid any confusion etc.

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2011, 9:33 pm

is it what I think it is?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 5th, 2011, 10:27 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Spent the night trying to model an enclosure and couldnt get past a big dip in the 60hrtz area.

Ugh - I hope you're not planning to play any music with that thing. That's "one-note bass" taken to the extreme.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » November 5th, 2011, 11:24 am

That had better be for SPL. No way that is gonna play music well.

Postby Gladiator » November 5th, 2011, 12:26 pm

That characteristic is of an over sized enclosure with an unloaded driver. Check your TS parms to make sure you have the correct units in the database.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 5th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Gladiator wrote:That characteristic is of an over sized enclosure with an unloaded driver. Check your TS parms to make sure you have the correct units in the database.

I thought so myself but when I model it with lower airspaces I get the same looking line just at different peaks.

I tried loading another older model of the driver/ using the T/S the manufacturer had on their website, I got ahold of a "broken in" T/S test and still no dice (manufacturer and post break in were close)

No this is not an SPL enclosure guys, from the looks of it and speaking with the subs's company, for what i want a 6th order bandpass "should" be the the best bet.. Considering that option..

Didnt get a chance to carry out any tests today because the coil had unraveled after the last carshow and the owner didnt realize till today.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 5th, 2011, 7:25 pm

What are the t/s parameters of that driver?

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 5th, 2011, 7:42 pm

Free Air Resonance 35 Hz
Qts 0.25
Qes 0.27
Qms 3.1
Vas 15L
Sensitivity 87 dB

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 5th, 2011, 7:55 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Free Air Resonance 35 Hz
Qts 0.25
Qes 0.27
Qms 3.1
Vas 15L
Sensitivity 87 dB

What size is this driver? 15 l is a very low Vas for a subwoofer...

Postby 3stagevtec » November 5th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Free Air Resonance 35 Hz
Qts 0.25
Qes 0.27
Qms 3.1
Vas 15L
Sensitivity 87 dB

What size is this driver? 15 l is a very low Vas for a subwoofer...

It's a 10"..

MONGO

Postby MONGO » November 6th, 2011, 12:36 am

dd 9510g?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 7th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Boom, Does what I told you , waay back, make any sense now regarding that sub.

I sure hate to say I told you so.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2011, 5:15 pm

nigel1977 wrote:Boom, Does what I told you , waay back, make any sense now regarding that sub.

I sure hate to say I told you so.

Different sub from what you maybe thinking about but you made me think back to 2008 there eh :lol:

And yea thats exactly what Im going to do when I get the parts.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 7th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Different sub from what you maybe thinking about but you made me think back to 2008 there eh

Any chance of getting the t/s parameters for that driver actually measured? I've been running through a number of ideas for that driver, and that low published Vas throws a spanner into everything I come up with.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2011, 8:51 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
Different sub from what you maybe thinking about but you made me think back to 2008 there eh

Any chance of getting the t/s parameters for that driver actually measured? I've been running through a number of ideas for that driver, and that low published Vas throws a spanner into everything I come up with.

I got the prebreak in TS

This is what the guy said:

The Qts will drop about .1, the vas will climb as high as 50% and the Qes will drop as much as .2, the Fs shouold settle around 32Hz once broken in

No post break-in (looking at the site specs it seems to be post break in)

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 21st, 2011, 1:26 am

So exams over

Back at it :mrgreen:

Recone should be on by tuesday

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 21st, 2011, 12:21 pm

hoss that Bl rel high; it either has a phat ass or a tight gap or both.

Postby meccalli » December 26th, 2011, 7:56 am

Don't forget about cabin resonance and gain, which would start off at around 50hz