Juniper

BulletProof

Re: Juniper

Postby BulletProof » November 4th, 2011, 1:22 am

ворвзаконе wrote:Trac Rix3man: looking to set up a redundant link via sub sea cables from MIAMI NAP to TRINI landing satation but im using Optical Muxs with cisco routers, I want to try a diffrent type of router im looking at the M7 or the M10 junipers

Type of redundant circuit is an STM16

does it work welll and the cost of replacemnt cards etc?

Juniper and Cisco are pretty much well matched when it comes to high-end networking equipment. Juniper has more advantages with Virtual Router configurations and is better for MPLS. You may also want to look at Alcatel-Lucent stuff for NAP connectivity.

Management and configuration is a world apart from Cisco though, so if Cisco is what you're used to - stick with Cisco.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 1:41 am

BulletProof wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:that's all we sell here

check meh for a bess price 8-)

Don't think so, mate.. I work for Check Point ;)

I now thinking about the months in sydneyI had, odd to see yew posting :lol:

hope alls good.

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » November 6th, 2011, 6:54 am

AllTrac wrote:NAP? thats the Win server 2k8 feature rite? dont know the cost, but why dont you use a cisco router?

NO Trac the NAP of Americas in Miami

BulletProof wrote:
ворвзаконе wrote:Trac Rix3man: looking to set up a redundant link via sub sea cables from MIAMI NAP to TRINI landing satation but im using Optical Muxs with cisco routers, I want to try a diffrent type of router im looking at the M7 or the M10 junipers

Juniper and Cisco are pretty much well matched when it comes to high-end networking equipment. Juniper has more advantages with Virtual Router configurations and is better for MPLS. You may also want to look at Alcatel-Lucent stuff for NAP connectivity.

Management and configuration is a world apart from Cisco though, so if Cisco is what you're used to - stick with Cisco.

I rather go Calix that Alactel Lucent, Already have AL FTTx equipment and it's giving to many issues

BulletProof wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:that's all we sell here

check meh for a bess price 8-)

Don't think so, mate.. I work for Check Point ;)

R3ix Bullet you guys sell Optical Mulitplexers also for a ring topology looking at 2 pm me your contact will call or email on MONDAY with more info

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » November 6th, 2011, 9:32 am

Redundant STM-16's (2.4Gbps). Let me guess you working for Flow or TSTT?

I find it funny you asking these questions here...

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » November 6th, 2011, 10:40 am

I dont work for Flow Or TSTT neither digicel, illuminat,greendot, Lisa, At&T or 360 communications......who i work for is classified

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » November 6th, 2011, 10:57 am

ворвзаконе wrote:^^

I dont work for Flow Or TSTT neither digicel, illuminat,greendot, Lisa, At&T or 360 communications......who i work for is classified

I am curious who else in T&T would light up redundant STM-16s if they are not a major ISP?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 6th, 2011, 11:03 am

From what I gather, you're looking for hardware recommendations and not help with BGP configs. Not familiar with Juniper boxes but won't recommend Calix as they're more for Access.

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » November 6th, 2011, 11:26 am

shaneelal wrote:From what I gather, you're looking for hardware recommendations and not help with BGP configs. Not familiar with Juniper boxes but won't recommend Calix as they're more for Access.

the BGP configs are fine Terramark and TATA are supporting us with that.

The juniper is what will be doing my routing between the NAP and my CO.

you are right the calix is for access

As for the reason why i gave preffrence to Calix Fttx solution to Alcatels FTTx is because its more robust and integrated that Alcatels especially when setting up TDM circuits to convert the TDM signal to IP and back to TDM.

plus i saw a wicked pole mounted calix OLT for a large residential area which al doesn't support.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » November 6th, 2011, 11:57 am

Alcatel, Calix sounds like TSTT to me...

Postby r3iXmann » November 6th, 2011, 12:02 pm

TSTT, flow,lisa etc are the only telecoms companies locally? :lol:

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 6th, 2011, 1:01 pm

ворвзаконе wrote:
shaneelal wrote:From what I gather, you're looking for hardware recommendations and not help with BGP configs. Not familiar with Juniper boxes but won't recommend Calix as they're more for Access.

As for the reason why i gave preffrence to Calix Fttx solution to Alcatels FTTx is because its more robust and integrated that Alcatels especially when setting up TDM circuits to convert the TDM signal to IP and back to TDM.

plus i saw a wicked pole mounted calix OLT for a large residential area which al doesn't support.

From talking with the local guys dealing with Calix, I'm not impressed with that company. Heard complaints of lots of software updates to fix issues. As a company mainly dealing with access equipment they don't seem to be investing much in R&D. Last I heard they only had 4 port OLT boards with a limited back-plane, while most other manufacturers have 8 port OLT boards, even Huawei's MSAN seems better. Do your research before investing in Calix, I'd like to think they're are better access equipment providers.

Juniper routers don't have TDM interfaces and allow you to build ip trunks?

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » November 7th, 2011, 12:40 pm

shaneelal wrote:
ворвзаконе wrote:

From talking with the local guys dealing with Calix, I'm not impressed with that company. Heard complaints of lots of software updates to fix issues. As a company mainly dealing with access equipment they don't seem to be investing much in R&D. Last I heard they only had 4 port OLT boards with a limited back-plane, while most other manufacturers have 8 port OLT boards, even Huawei's MSAN seems better. Do your research before investing in Calix, I'd like to think they're are better access equipment providers.

I currently use a MUX to do the conversion.....but calix have that already bulitin in there ONT's and NID's with AL i'll need to have both the ONT and the MUx

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » November 7th, 2011, 12:41 pm

shaneelal wrote:
ворвзаконе wrote:

I currently use a MUX to do the conversion.....but calix have that already bulitin in there ONT's and NID's with AL i'll need to have both the ONT and the MUx