BBQ question to coal or not to coal

dman

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby dman » August 19th, 2011, 2:18 pm

help still looking for a grill -- gimme some options -- saw a weber in bagwansinghs for $1000 checked it online $60us a weber silver 18.5 inch i have been looking but most feel fragile

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 19th, 2011, 3:59 pm

bought bar be que two days ago,...from central....thing taste like gas!!!

seems as though they used gas to light up the grill...the "fuel fumes" taste was unbearable....

Postby SR » August 19th, 2011, 5:26 pm

chimney stack and news paper to start up coals

no fuel

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chimney_starter

best way for local coals

dman

Postby dman » August 20th, 2011, 1:31 am

bbq grill hunting tomorrow could u guys gimme some places to check?

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

Chimney works even better if you put over a 2 ring burner instead of newspaper

If you want to buy a grill I have a cheapo grill that I modified to giveaway for any small contribution.
Will post a pic of it today.

Postby X_Factor » August 20th, 2011, 10:48 am

^ which one is that?

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2011, 11:28 am

no it is a little one I was trying to use as a pizza oven
it has been outside so it looking beatup and have slight surface rust but can be easily cleaned up with a steel brush and a can of hightemp paint

the bottom was cutout to fit the freon tank below, which you can hang a 2 ring burner underneath and put lava rocks on the inside bottom grill and you good to go.

it was actually only used 2-3 times, never had meat in it
only pizza

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2011, 11:33 am

beef pie yesterday

Postby X_Factor » August 21st, 2011, 11:37 am

how much u want for it?

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2011, 11:46 am

Dman supposed to be coming for it, so he have first option
I giving it away for a any contribution

Postby X_Factor » August 21st, 2011, 11:56 am

if he not taking it, hit me a PM
it looks like the start of a new experiment!

dman

Postby dman » August 21st, 2011, 12:02 pm

ah callin u pugboy but no answer i sent u a pm also --

dman

Postby dman » August 22nd, 2011, 12:36 am

thanks pugboy - collected the grill this evening had some lamb on it later - we will take pics next time - worked great

dman

Postby dman » September 1st, 2011, 12:30 pm

dman

Postby dman » September 1st, 2011, 12:42 pm

painted it with harris 1200f paint thanks lennard

Postby SR » September 1st, 2011, 8:52 pm

nice good start to the joys of bbq/grillin

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 20th, 2011, 8:50 pm

Anyone know where I could get minced chicken to make some burgers in the St.augustine area??

Tried HiLo but only saw minced beef..

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2011, 10:28 pm

manufactured a satay/yakitori/skewer grill box out of some scraps

christening tomorrow

same style like

Postby X_Factor » November 3rd, 2011, 7:27 am

looks good
i feel i need to bring my smoker by u for a tune up
the vent covers n them fell off

Postby SR » November 3rd, 2011, 9:02 am

looking good

side ah d rd kinda bizness

grill yuh own

if yuh into beef hi lo st augustine has some nice cuts packaged

nice fat content within the meat itself perfect for slow cook grilling

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2011, 6:05 am

Postby SR » November 9th, 2011, 8:44 am

what cheese you use on your pies

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2011, 4:23 pm

pricesmart shredded mozarella , its not real buffalo milk cheese
but its good enough,
the fresh belgiosio is way better but more expensive and you have to cut it
bagged shredded it is easy to use.

Postby SR » November 10th, 2011, 8:37 am

ah feel ah gonna try one this weekend on the gas grill

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2011, 4:36 pm

use the common clay tiles, they are 12" 3/8 thick and cheap
make sure they are uncoated, the coated ones have a water repellent chemical on them
you can check by just dropping water on it

Postby SR » November 10th, 2011, 6:59 pm

hmm will see what i can find was gonna use a pizza tray with holes that i normally use in an oven

legoRB

Postby legoRB » November 16th, 2011, 1:10 am

Hmmmm....just stumbled into this ched...because I wanted to find out more about smoke wood chips..

I really like what I am seeing in this ched meng...Nice to see 2nrs can "handle there stories"... 8-)

Nice pies..pugboy...feeling hungry now... :oops:

Anyhowz.... Where can I get some smoke wood chips guize?? How much $$??

Re:

Postby meccalli » November 16th, 2011, 9:28 am

Polydor wrote:try the black angus......

nothing at all........ultra high heat....infra red the best....sear 4 3 mins either side....

when eating use a little HP BBQ sauce....

wash down with some red wine.

bye.

I live for this recipe...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 16th, 2011, 9:40 am

dman wrote:bbq men where is the best place to buy a grill in tnt ?

Bought it on Sat at bhagwansings - $2500 total incl. of tank.
Mounted up - Angus, 1/2oz patties, 6 legs & thighs, lamb - beers.

Nice toy.
Cleaned up next morning, like brand new again.

Lookin foward to saturdays at home even more

BTW,

Avoid the 5 most common grilling mistakes
Last reviewed: December 2010
VIDEO:
Grilling Techniques

To help you sidestep typical gaffes, we sought the expert advice of Steven Raichlen (www.barbecuebible.com), barbecue-cookbook author and host of "Barbecue University" on PBS, as well as our in-house grillmeisters. Here are their tips:

Food sticks to the cooking grates and/or won't sear properly.
Preheat the grill for 15 to 20 minutes. "Gas grills have a tendency to burn cooler than charcoal, so it's imperative that yours be fully preheated," Raichlen says
Flare-ups occur.
Don't overcrowd the cooking surface. Raichlen suggests keeping 40 percent of the grates empty. If fatty foods such as salmon or rib-eye steaks flare up, move the items to a cooler or nonflaming section of the grate.
Food is under- or overcooked.
Cooking with the lid open allows heat to escape and compromises roasting. Use high heat for searing thick cuts of meat, then lower to finish cooking.

To check doneness of meat, insert an instant-read thermometer into the sides of steaks and chops or into the thickest part of burgers and chicken to ensure proper temperatures have been reached. Cook food to at least the following internal temperatures, as recommended by the U.S. Department of Agriculture: beef burgers, 160° F.; beef steaks, chops, and roasts, and lamb, 145° F. (medium-rare) and 160° F. (medium); chicken, 165° F.; fin fish, 145° F. or until flesh is opaque and separates easily with a fork; pork, 160° F.

Food tastes bland.
To add flavor and tenderness, use a marinade made with an acid--vinegar, lemon juice, plain yogurt. But marinate for too long and the food can become mushy. Marinate shrimp for 15 to 30 minutes; salmon steaks, 30 to 60 minutes. Chicken breasts need at least an hour, and up to 4. Marinate other chicken pieces for 4 hours. Tender cuts of beef need 15 minutes to 2 hours, while ­less-tender ones can take 6 to 24 hours. Always refrigerate marinating foods.

Spice rubs are another great way to add flavor. Start with a base of sugar and salt and doctor it with the spices and herbs you enjoy--black pepper, chilies, cumin, and garlic and onion powder. Apply the rub just before cooking or, for less-tender cuts, up to one day in advance to intensify the flavor. Note: Brush on barbecue sauce near the end of the cooking time. This allows the meat to thoroughly cook without burning the sauce.

Smoking results are poor. People often make the mistake of trying to smoke food on a gas grill. The results will never be good even with a smoker box, says Raichlen, because too much smoke rushes out of the grill vents, making it hard to get true barbecue flavor.

Postby SR » November 16th, 2011, 11:06 am

you can convert to use normal 20lb cylinders