T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby equipped2ripp » November 7th, 2011, 7:30 pm

tiger balm wrote:Is something wrong with the hyundia prices? Take a look at the 1995 and the 2000 prices. The 2000 prices are lower than the 1995 ones.

yup, some of those prices are wrong.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 8th, 2011, 11:44 am

the official marketing material I saw confirmed the hyundai 1995 and 2000 prices. I wish I could pdf it and upload for you guys to see but I don't have that time on my hands...maybe Mel's Auto at the time provided wrong informaton (which I doubt).

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » November 8th, 2011, 12:24 pm

ek4ever wrote:And yesterday coming onto the highway .... R35 GT-R cruises by, reach in town ... Jaguar XF at traffic lights and brand new BMW M5 and an AMG badged S500 in MovieTowne. Who say Trini cyah afford car :mrgreen:

Yuh understand? Is only small fish like we cyah afford a lil civic for 200 000 and lancer and thing when men buying jaguar for 700-800 grand and gtr's for a cool mil. Is only we poor people complaining lol.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 9th, 2011, 10:05 am

agent007 wrote:the official marketing material I saw confirmed the hyundai 1995 and 2000 prices. I wish I could pdf it and upload for you guys to see but I don't have that time on my hands...maybe Mel's Auto at the time provided wrong informaton (which I doubt).

Nah it's cool, thanks for the info. One thing though I guess a reduction in car prices in not as unlikely as we thought! Hope those times return. Unlikely though given what's happening in Japan and Thailand.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » November 11th, 2011, 10:36 am

NorStar2K wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:So, after all is said and done, this thread can be summarized as follows:

1) The SGV is the be all and end all of SUVs - you want an suv, buy an SGV.
2) The Jetta TSI twin charged is the best car there is in our market, period.
3) Buy an octavia if yuh can't handle the excessive 170 hp from the TSI. The octavia still carries Jetta bragging rights.
4) Korean cars have nice exterior design.
5) Most sales reps have the intelligence of a brick wall.
6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

I accept you premise, but the Jetta's service costs are extremely high for a car, whether Euro or not. No standard service on the SGV or RAV4 costs $6k-$7k.

Last time I checked a Standard service for the Jetta was $1000-$1500.....a service with front or rear disc brake change =$3000....& a general service with a replacement of fluids, plugs & filters = $4000

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 11th, 2011, 11:09 am

mammoo wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:So, after all is said and done, this thread can be summarized as follows:

1) The SGV is the be all and end all of SUVs - you want an suv, buy an SGV.
2) The Jetta TSI twin charged is the best car there is in our market, period.
3) Buy an octavia if yuh can't handle the excessive 170 hp from the TSI. The octavia still carries Jetta bragging rights.
4) Korean cars have nice exterior design.
5) Most sales reps have the intelligence of a brick wall.
6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

I accept you premise, but the Jetta's service costs are extremely high for a car, whether Euro or not. No standard service on the SGV or RAV4 costs $6k-$7k.

Last time I checked a Standard service for the Jetta was $1000-$1500.....a service with front or rear disc brake change =$3000....& a general service with a replacement of fluids, plugs & filters = $4000

Still high for that class of service for a car compared to a SUV.

Postby Stephon. » November 11th, 2011, 11:28 am

The most my SGV cost me to service was a little under 2500, that included changing disk brakes etc. :?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 13th, 2011, 7:32 pm

norstar2k, that "fully loaded" CS coming with a sunroof? And incidentally there's an ad in today's Express about the CY Lancer being on special at $175,000... so who exactly is gonna buy the CS at 5k more?! :?

Visited Lifestyle yesterday... I see Suzuki prices gone up too. Rep said the Swift is now $155K, and the SX4 Sport (only SX sedan they bringing from now on apparently, :?: ) is $174K. At that new price the Swift is still extremely competitive given the price of its rivals, Yaris Mazda2 Fiesta Fit/City etc. The SX4 I aint too sure about... that money getting you a Cerato, Elantra, and as of today, a CY Lancer too. I remember it being $159K not too long ago. what gives?!

Postby SUPAstarr » November 13th, 2011, 8:28 pm

Anybody kno if the Veloster commin to our shores

1.6 ltr 138 HP 2800lbs, should be nice

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 13th, 2011, 9:01 pm

supposed to arrive around February 2012 according to the person who updates the Hyundai TT facebook page. Estimated price is around $220,000.

What I'm not sure about is if we'll get that 1.6 direct injection engine, or the one that comes in the Elantra/ Cerato... have a feeling that's gonna be the case

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 13th, 2011, 9:44 pm

^^what...no Veloster Turbo?

STEUPS.

Similar to the Koup basically. Looks like N&M wants in on the market that the Koup is currently selling to.

Most likely the DI engine may NOT make it down here. The same engine is offered on the Elantra in other markets, and N&M opted to bring the lower hp NON-Di engine (at 130 hp instead).

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 13th, 2011, 10:03 pm

You're really excited over the Veloster Turbo as it hasn't even been revealed by Hyundai as yet. It should be in January 2012. At least from the reports I've read.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 13th, 2011, 10:47 pm

damieG82 wrote:norstar2k, that "fully loaded" CS coming with a sunroof?!

Nope! :shock:

Postby Habit7 » November 14th, 2011, 10:02 am

damieG82 wrote:norstar2k, that "fully loaded" CS coming with a sunroof? And incidentally there's an ad in today's Express about the CY Lancer being on special at $175,000... so who exactly is gonna buy the CS at 5k more?! :?

Visited Lifestyle yesterday... I see Suzuki prices gone up too. Rep said the Swift is now $155K, and the SX4 Sport (only SX sedan they bringing from now on apparently, :?: ) is $174K. At that new price the Swift is still extremely competitive given the price of its rivals, Yaris Mazda2 Fiesta Fit/City etc. The SX4 I aint too sure about... that money getting you a Cerato, Elantra, and as of today, a CY Lancer too. I remember it being $159K not too long ago. what gives?!

The Fiat Grande Punto has always been a local Suzuki Swift contender, and at $133K its value for money.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 14th, 2011, 10:54 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Anybody kno if the Veloster commin to our shores

VELOSTER (SPORTS)
3 DOOR Sports Coupe

* 6 Speed Automatic Transmission
* 1599 CC DOHC FUEL INJECTED ENGINE
* DUAL AIRBAGS / CURTAIN AIRBAG
* FACTORY AIR CONDITION
* E.S.P. ( Electronic Stability Program)
* RADIO CD PLAYER PREMIUM SOUND
* FOG LAMPS
* POWER & TILT STEERING
* FRONT AND REAR MUD GUARDS
* FOLDING MIRRORS
* ALLOY PEDALS AND CHROME HANDLES
* PANORAMIC SUNROOF
* MAP LAMP & ROOM LAMP
* SMART KEY ( PUSH BUTTON)
* 18" ALLOY WHEELS
* AUTO LIGHT & RAIN SENSOR
* LEATHER SEATS
* REAR WIPER
* REAR PARKING ASSIST
* BACK WARNING CAMERA
* POWER-WINDOWS / LOCKS / MIRRORS
* BLUE-TOOTH HANDS FREE
* CHILD ANCHOR
* SAFETY WINDOWS

$220,000.00 SPECIAL NETT

Trinislacker

Postby Trinislacker » November 16th, 2011, 11:25 am

As OP says....Who sells navara for 228k? Thanks

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 16th, 2011, 3:00 pm

chevy aveo 1.5 - $115k loaded and $110k basic :lol:

imagine 115k could at one point in time buy you a fully loaded sentra b14 1.6 super saloon now it buys you a chevy.

Postby Stephon. » November 16th, 2011, 3:15 pm

You say that like chevy is a bad vehicle.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 16th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Stephon, what I meant is a B14 is a compact car and the Aveo is a sub-compact. 14 has a 1.6 and aveo has a 1.5. I just remembering those days when cars were "affordable" but the Aveo is actually a good car. You see tons of them in the US, in fact, I even rented one and it was a gas saver for me when gas prices were close to $4. US/gallon

Postby SUPAstarr » November 17th, 2011, 9:25 am

Those aveos an optimas are sheeeet, at my las job they bought 11 and before the year end it was an avalanche (get the pun?) of electrical problems, by end of year 2 headgaskets were changed and rotor disks warped....all while some older Tuscons were still gettin licks like champs.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 17th, 2011, 10:56 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Those aveos an optimas are sheeeet, at my las job they bought 11 and before the year end it was an avalanche (get the pun?) of electrical problems, by end of year 2 headgaskets were changed and rotor disks warped....all while some older Tuscons were still gettin licks like champs.

[tunerlogic]Korean is toots bai. Dem chevy bess[/tunerlogic]

Postby Habit7 » November 17th, 2011, 11:59 am

[tunerlogic]if not frequently stolen or parts not widely available, is toots[/tunerlogic]

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 17th, 2011, 11:19 pm

2011 CR-V (3G)
$349,000.00 2.0 basic - SOLD OUT
$375,000.00 2.0 mid-spec - NOW $349K
$406,070.00 2.4 fully loaded

2012 CR-V (4G) due in January 2012.

In November 2011 Honda announced that supply shortages caused by flooding in Thailand would force production cuts. This may delay availability of the 2012 CR-V

Postby Stephon. » November 17th, 2011, 11:51 pm

Parents test drove a CR-V and a Captiva lately, the CR-V honestly isn't worth the money (according to my mom). Driving the CR-V uphill wasn't that impressive, whereas driving the Captiva uphill was effortless, that monster just kept running and running without even breaking a sweat. I think what makes the CR-V so expensive is the name that the vehicle built up in Trinidad.

I wonder if prices will raise across the board for 2012, or for Christmas :?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 18th, 2011, 6:16 am

Stephon. wrote:Parents test drove a CR-V and a Captiva lately, the CR-V honestly isn't worth the money (according to my mom). Driving the CR-V uphill wasn't that impressive, whereas driving the Captiva uphill was effortless, that monster just kept running and running without even breaking a sweat. I think what makes the CR-V so expensive is the name that the vehicle built up in Trinidad.

it also runs on diesel and is very very very low on the bandit scale.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 18th, 2011, 8:02 am

The Captiva would obviously be more powerful than the CRV because its turbo diesel but in terms of luxury, the CRV trumps the Captiva. At the end of the day we cannot compare the two because the Captiva was meant to compete with the Ford Everest, Toyota Fortuner, Nissan Pathfinder, Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento (more so the Hyundai and Kia).

At $325k I think its a good deal. Would I buy it? Perhaps....but I'll wait for the more aggressive 2012 model. The current 2011's are boring.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 18th, 2011, 10:01 am

acesinghit wrote:Stephon, what I meant is a B14 is a compact car and the Aveo is a sub-compact. 14 has a 1.6 and aveo has a 1.5. I just remembering those days when cars were "affordable" but the Aveo is actually a good car. You see tons of them in the US, in fact, I even rented one and it was a gas saver for me when gas prices were close to $4. US/gallon

Speaking of Aveo, try this on for size............

2012 Chevy Aveo

Postby Stephon. » November 18th, 2011, 10:17 am

Wow that's a good looking car. Looks bigger

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 18th, 2011, 10:17 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Parents test drove a CR-V and a Captiva lately, the CR-V honestly isn't worth the money (according to my mom). Driving the CR-V uphill wasn't that impressive, whereas driving the Captiva uphill was effortless, that monster just kept running and running without even breaking a sweat. I think what makes the CR-V so expensive is the name that the vehicle built up in Trinidad.

it also runs on diesel and is very very very low on the bandit scale.

The current 2010 Captiva is equipped with a 2.0L VCDi T/C diesel engine.
Performance: 110 kW (150 hp) 320 N·m (240 lb·ft)

The 2011/2012 facelift we hope to see, but may outprice itself against the competition.
The 2012 Captiva is equipped with a 2.2L VCDi T/C diesel engine.
Performance: 135 kW (181 hp) 400 N·m (300 lb·ft)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 18th, 2011, 4:12 pm

norstar do tell us (when that time comes) when that new model comes out, thanks :shock: