The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

trini_champ

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby trini_champ » November 26th, 2011, 7:57 pm

sentraman wrote:I am wondering if it a problem with the battery or if it is the phone. It was purchased On Friday from bmobile.

Doh hut yuh head. The battery life eh great. I have to consciously monitor my battery life and charge it every night without fail and I am not a heavy user. Unlike some people I does be busy during the day and eh have time to skylark with my phone. Mainly a few short phone calls, whatsapp messaging and the occasional fb check. It's more than good enough.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 26th, 2011, 9:09 pm

ah get meh s2 yesterday ... the battery life ain't too bad... looks like i'm gonna have to charge it every nite... ah real liking dis fone soo far...

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » November 26th, 2011, 10:39 pm

sentraman wrote:
X-Axis wrote:
sentraman wrote:
trini_champ wrote:
sentraman wrote:what kind of battery life do you get from the SGS2?

From 100% this morning at 7am I still have 60% at 7:26pm.

what kind of use are you giving it?

I just charged mine and was just going through some of the settings for about half hour or less. No bluetooth and no wifi on. Battery dropped to 91%. This is the second time i am using it after a full discharge and same crappy battery life. Phone was charged to 100% after it discharged and was not powered on until it was complete.

Wondering what I buy here.

I use full brightness, live wallpaper and quite a few widgets, plus I use approximately 1 hour of browsing, about an hour of gaming (HD games),wifi is always on, I'm always texting or using some messaging app, and a few phone calls in between. My phone is unplugged from the charger at 7am and usually dies around 8pm if I don't charge it in between. Considering what I put the phone through I think that is fair battery life.

Did you "condition" the battery when you first got it or did you just charge it whenever you felt like it?

Well I hardly use it today except for some calls and a brief 5 mins on the net and its been unplugged for 14hrs 30mins and is at 78%.

Properly conditioned before first use

achillies

Postby achillies » November 27th, 2011, 12:12 am

The SGS2 does not need calibration due to the hardware used in the phone, the only known way to reset the battery stats is to remove the battery from the phone for at least 90 seconds, basically fooling the hardware into thinking you have put in a different battery

Unlike HTC devices, battery calibration doesn't apply to our devices (SGS2)

Google MAX17040 for more info - while our fuel gauge chip (MAX17042) does have advanced features that would require calibration if used, those features are not yet enabled and it basically behaves identically to a 17040. Maxim specifically designs their fuel gauge chips to not require special calibration procedures..

There is a new way to root the SGS2 using "ZergRush Exploit", no flashing is needed, but the rooting is up to you and not really needed....

Jigs do work but Samsung has updated the bootloader so that the "custom binary" counter cannot be reset, all you need to do is flash the old bootloader though.

If you are having issues with your battery life, use the app called Better Battery Stats, it would show you your partial wakelocks, or which app is draining your battery when the phone should be in deep sleep, Get it in the market or from HERE

Word to the wise, if you are using the official Facebook app, always sign out of the chat, it is a poorly written app and can drain a full battery in very short time.....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 27th, 2011, 4:49 am

ok.. so i'm on the verge of buying an ipad 2.. someone convince me otherwise (i have a htc desire hd which for the most part i've been satisfied with)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 27th, 2011, 10:02 am

zcarz wrote:ok.. so i'm on the verge of buying an ipad 2.. someone convince me otherwise (i have a htc desire hd which for the most part i've been satisfied with)

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » November 27th, 2011, 7:13 pm

Screen filter and juice defender will help with battery drains.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » November 27th, 2011, 7:15 pm

Swisha wrote:
zcarz wrote:ok.. so i'm on the verge of buying an ipad 2.. someone convince me otherwise (i have a htc desire hd which for the most part i've been satisfied with)

Will the prime be available down here or yuh have to bring it down

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » November 27th, 2011, 7:16 pm

fallen18 wrote:Screen filter and juice defender will help with battery drains.

I uninstalled juice defender as it was facking with my edge connection.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 27th, 2011, 9:39 pm

anyone root their kindle fire yet? gonna root mine this week

Postby M_2NR » November 27th, 2011, 11:58 pm

is there anyway to get around the crap on youtube that doesnt allow me to watch it as if i were on desktop...i tried changing the UAString and now youtube.com says i dont have adobe flash :|
don't tell me webos actually better in this aspect eh

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » November 28th, 2011, 12:35 am

MadCrix wrote:anyone root their kindle fire yet? gonna root mine this week

where you rooting

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 28th, 2011, 8:32 am

u dl the software packs and fromt eh vidoes i have seen is a 1 min process

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 29th, 2011, 10:02 am

so...

Have a friend who managed to throw down her 10.1 tab...

screen "looks like lightening streaked across it"

options available to replace screen, or new unit required?

Postby Trini Hookah » November 29th, 2011, 10:21 am

original_lollybob wrote:so...

Should've gotten the Dell

ba-dum-ching :|

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 29th, 2011, 5:05 pm

new google maps out

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1368574
seeing they started to do their own foursquare thing now

Postby r3iXmann » November 29th, 2011, 5:14 pm

she selling as is? :fadein:

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » November 30th, 2011, 1:00 pm

Does anyone know where I can buy a Galaxy S2 for around 3600?

Postby pete » November 30th, 2011, 1:11 pm

Got a quote of 3995 from a place in Chaguanas, booth in TCM has it for 4300.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » November 30th, 2011, 1:18 pm

pete wrote:Got a quote of 3995 from a place in Chaguanas, booth in TCM has it for 4300.

Thanks for the heads up...I see that Samsung has fixed the Galaxy Nexus volume control bug so maybe I will wait and buy one of those.

Cid

Postby Cid » November 30th, 2011, 8:08 pm

uploadfromtaptalk1322698094271.png

Good stuff from getjar

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 30th, 2011, 8:33 pm

The next stage in our redesign

Six months ago we started rolling out a new look and feel for Search, News, Maps, Translate, Gmail and a bunch of other products. Our goal was to create a beautifully simple and intuitive user experience across Google.

We’re now ready for the next stage of our redesign—a new Google bar that will enable you to navigate quickly between our services, as well as share the right stuff with the right people easily on Google+.

Instead of the horizontal black bar at the top of the page, you’ll now find links to your services in a new drop-down Google menu nested under the Google logo. We’ll show you a list of links and you can access additional services by hovering over the “More” link at the bottom of the list. Click on what you want, and you’re off.

Making navigation and sharing super simple for people is a key part of our efforts to transform the overall Google experience, which is why we’re very excited about this redesign. Enjoy!

The Official Google Blog

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 30th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Not sure how true it is, but Android fans take note..

BUSTED! Secret app on millions of phones logs key taps

Researcher says seeing is believing

By Dan Goodin in San Francisco • Get more from this author

Posted in Security, 30th November 2011 02:34 GMT

Free whitepaper – 2011 Lippis Report

An Android app developer has published what he says is conclusive proof that millions of smartphones are secretly monitoring the key presses, geographic locations, and received messages of its users.

In a YouTube video posted on Monday, Trevor Eckhart showed how software from a Silicon Valley company known as Carrier IQ recorded in real time the keys he pressed into a stock EVO handset, which he had reset to factory settings just prior to the demonstration. Using a packet sniffer while his device was in airplane mode, he demonstrated how each numeric tap and every received text message is logged by the software.

Ironically, he says, the Carrier IQ software recorded the “hello world” dispatch even before it was displayed on his handset.

Eckhart then connected the device to a Wi-Fi network and pointed his browser at Google. Even though he denied the search giant's request that he share his physical location, the Carrier IQ software recorded it. The secret app then recorded the precise input of his search query – again, “hello world” – even though he typed it into a page that uses the SSL, or secure sockets layer, protocol to encrypt data sent between the device and the servers.

“We can see that Carrier IQ is querying these strings over my wireless network [with] no 3G connectivity and it is reading HTTPS,” the 25-year-old Eckhart says.

The video was posted four days after Carrier IQ withdrew legal threats against Eckhart for calling its software a “rootkit.” The Connecticut-based programmer said the characterization is accurate because the software is designed to obscure its presence by bypassing typical operating-system functions.

In an interview last week, Carrier IQ VP of Marketing Andrew Coward rejected claims the software posed a privacy threat because it never captured key presses.

“Our technology is not real time,” he said at the time. "It's not constantly reporting back. It's gathering information up and is usually transmitted in small doses.”

Coward went on to say that Carrier IQ was a diagnostic tool designed to give network carriers and device manufacturers detailed information about the causes of dropped calls and other performance issues.

Eckhart said he chose the HTC phone purely for demonstration purposes. Blackberrys, other Android-powered handsets, and smartphones from Nokia contain the same snooping software, he claims.

The 17-minute video concluded with questions, including: “Why does SMSNotify get called and show to be dispatching text messages to [Carrier IQ]?” and “Why is my browser data being read, especially HTTPS on my Wi-Fi?”

The Register has put the same questions to Carrier IQ, and will update this post if the company responds. ®
Update

More than 19 hours after this post was first published, Carrier IQ representatives have yet to respond to a request for comment. Meanwhile, computer scientists have uncovered an unrelated Android glitch that could also invade smartphone users' privacy.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/11/30/smartphone_spying_app/

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 30th, 2011, 8:50 pm

r3iXmann wrote:

she selling as is? :fadein:

yupp

how much would u be offering?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 30th, 2011, 8:56 pm

shaneelal wrote:Not sure how true it is, but Android fans take note..

An Android app developer has published what he says is conclusive proof that millions of smartphones are secretly monitoring the key presses, geographic locations, and received messages of its users.

In a YouTube video posted on Monday, Trevor Eckhart showed how software from a Silicon Valley company known as Carrier IQ recorded in real time the keys he pressed into a stock EVO handset, which he had reset to factory settings just prior to the demonstration. Using a packet sniffer while his device was in airplane mode, he demonstrated how each numeric tap and every received text message is logged by the software.

Ironically, he says, the Carrier IQ software recorded the “hello world” dispatch even before it was displayed on his handset.

Eckhart then connected the device to a Wi-Fi network and pointed his browser at Google. Even though he denied the search giant's request that he share his physical location, the Carrier IQ software recorded it. The secret app then recorded the precise input of his search query – again, “hello world” – even though he typed it into a page that uses the SSL, or secure sockets layer, protocol to encrypt data sent between the device and the servers.

“We can see that Carrier IQ is querying these strings over my wireless network [with] no 3G connectivity and it is reading HTTPS,” the 25-year-old Eckhart says.

The video was posted four days after Carrier IQ withdrew legal threats against Eckhart for calling its software a “rootkit.” The Connecticut-based programmer said the characterization is accurate because the software is designed to obscure its presence by bypassing typical operating-system functions.

In an interview last week, Carrier IQ VP of Marketing Andrew Coward rejected claims the software posed a privacy threat because it never captured key presses.

“Our technology is not real time,” he said at the time. "It's not constantly reporting back. It's gathering information up and is usually transmitted in small doses.”

Coward went on to say that Carrier IQ was a diagnostic tool designed to give network carriers and device manufacturers detailed information about the causes of dropped calls and other performance issues.

Eckhart said he chose the HTC phone purely for demonstration purposes. Blackberrys, other Android-powered handsets, and smartphones from Nokia contain the same snooping software, he claims.

The 17-minute video concluded with questions, including: “Why does SMSNotify get called and show to be dispatching text messages to [Carrier IQ]?” and “Why is my browser data being read, especially HTTPS on my Wi-Fi?”

The Register has put the same questions to Carrier IQ, and will update this post if the company responds. ®
Update

More than 19 hours after this post was first published, Carrier IQ representatives have yet to respond to a request for comment. Meanwhile, computer scientists have uncovered an unrelated Android glitch that could also invade smartphone users' privacy.

Note also that if you're running an Android Open Source Project (AOSP) based ROM—like CyanogenMod—you do not have Carrier IQ installed on your system.

8-)

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » November 30th, 2011, 9:36 pm

shaneelal wrote:Not sure how true it is, but Android fans take note..

Update

meh that's what pretty much every phone OS does...RIM, apple, etc. Nothing new.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » November 30th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Also if any android bros can help me get that GalaxyS2 I'd really appreciate it. :(

Postby pete » November 30th, 2011, 10:23 pm

Price on newegg is 560 US which alone is $3600 so I don't know how easy it'll be to get it at that price here.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » November 30th, 2011, 11:03 pm

I paid $540 on amazon but the price changes all the time. 2 weeks before I bought it it cost $529 and 1 week after it was up to $580.

Postby S_2NR » November 30th, 2011, 11:08 pm

trini_champ wrote:I paid $540 on amazon but the price changes all the time. 2 weeks before I bought it it cost $529 and 1 week after it was up to $580.

supply and demand