The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » November 30th, 2011, 11:30 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:
shaneelal wrote:Not sure how true it is, but Android fans take note..

BUSTED! Secret app on millions of phones logs key taps

Researcher says seeing is believing

By Dan Goodin in San Francisco • Get more from this author

Posted in Security, 30th November 2011 02:34 GMT

Free whitepaper – 2011 Lippis Report

An Android app developer has published what he says is conclusive proof that millions of smartphones are secretly monitoring the key presses, geographic locations, and received messages of its users.

In a YouTube video posted on Monday, Trevor Eckhart showed how software from a Silicon Valley company known as Carrier IQ recorded in real time the keys he pressed into a stock EVO handset, which he had reset to factory settings just prior to the demonstration. Using a packet sniffer while his device was in airplane mode, he demonstrated how each numeric tap and every received text message is logged by the software.

Ironically, he says, the Carrier IQ software recorded the “hello world” dispatch even before it was displayed on his handset.

Eckhart then connected the device to a Wi-Fi network and pointed his browser at Google. Even though he denied the search giant's request that he share his physical location, the Carrier IQ software recorded it. The secret app then recorded the precise input of his search query – again, “hello world” – even though he typed it into a page that uses the SSL, or secure sockets layer, protocol to encrypt data sent between the device and the servers.

“We can see that Carrier IQ is querying these strings over my wireless network [with] no 3G connectivity and it is reading HTTPS,” the 25-year-old Eckhart says.

The video was posted four days after Carrier IQ withdrew legal threats against Eckhart for calling its software a “rootkit.” The Connecticut-based programmer said the characterization is accurate because the software is designed to obscure its presence by bypassing typical operating-system functions.

In an interview last week, Carrier IQ VP of Marketing Andrew Coward rejected claims the software posed a privacy threat because it never captured key presses.

“Our technology is not real time,” he said at the time. "It's not constantly reporting back. It's gathering information up and is usually transmitted in small doses.”

Coward went on to say that Carrier IQ was a diagnostic tool designed to give network carriers and device manufacturers detailed information about the causes of dropped calls and other performance issues.

Eckhart said he chose the HTC phone purely for demonstration purposes. Blackberrys, other Android-powered handsets, and smartphones from Nokia contain the same snooping software, he claims.

The 17-minute video concluded with questions, including: “Why does SMSNotify get called and show to be dispatching text messages to [Carrier IQ]?” and “Why is my browser data being read, especially HTTPS on my Wi-Fi?”

The Register has put the same questions to Carrier IQ, and will update this post if the company responds. ®
Update

More than 19 hours after this post was first published, Carrier IQ representatives have yet to respond to a request for comment. Meanwhile, computer scientists have uncovered an unrelated Android glitch that could also invade smartphone users' privacy.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/11/30/smartphone_spying_app/

meh that's what pretty much every phone OS does...RIM, apple, etc. Nothing new.

Carrier IQ references discovered in Apple's iOS

To date, the user tracking controversy surrounding Carrier IQ has focused primarily on Android, but today details are surfacing that the company also may have hooks into Apple's iOS. Well-known iPhone hacker Chpwn tweeted today that versions at least as recent as iPhone OS 3.1.3 contained references to Carrier IQ.

We were able to independently verify that at the very least, references to Carrier IQ's servers do exist within iPhoneOS 3.1.3 in a file located at /usr/bin/IQAgent. What exactly that binary is able to access or how it may communicate with either carriers or Carrier IQ is not yet known, though there are references to an IQAgent log on the device as well as references to collector.sky.carrieriq.com.

For versions 4.0 and up, Intell on MacRumors' forums has found similar references to the http://collector.sky.carrieriq.com location within /usr/bin/awd_ice2, although we have not independently verified that yet. Again, no clear word on just what is or is not being tracked or collected.

The story is developing, with chpwn promising a post providing as many details as he's been able to uncover thus far, including the possibility that the code wasn't enabled by default in iOS. We should emphasize that all we can say for sure at the moment is that iOS definitely contained references to Carrier IQ — but given how the story has progressed thus far, we expect there will be more to report on soon.

The Verge

achillies

Postby achillies » December 1st, 2011, 7:45 am

N3M3SIS wrote:

Actually this is a lot worse, this is a third party rootkit that the US carriers install on each device and everything is logged, including your sms, your passwords, the sites you browse, the passwords you use when browsing, including HTTPS and every single key press that is made on the device, the saving face is that not all that information is sent but the mere fact that it is recorded is bad enough.

Also this is only on the US Carriers phones, namely Sprint (so far), if your phone was bought outside of your carrier, then in theory, CIQ should not be installed, phones that were bought in the UK or anywhere outside America need not worry

Now we have one of the many reasons US carriers take so long to approve updates......

achillies

Postby achillies » December 1st, 2011, 7:48 am

Swisha wrote:
N3M3SIS wrote:
shaneelal wrote:Not sure how true it is, but Android fans take note..

BUSTED! Secret app on millions of phones logs key taps

Researcher says seeing is believing

By Dan Goodin in San Francisco • Get more from this author

Posted in Security, 30th November 2011 02:34 GMT

Free whitepaper – 2011 Lippis Report

An Android app developer has published what he says is conclusive proof that millions of smartphones are secretly monitoring the key presses, geographic locations, and received messages of its users.

In a YouTube video posted on Monday, Trevor Eckhart showed how software from a Silicon Valley company known as Carrier IQ recorded in real time the keys he pressed into a stock EVO handset, which he had reset to factory settings just prior to the demonstration. Using a packet sniffer while his device was in airplane mode, he demonstrated how each numeric tap and every received text message is logged by the software.

Ironically, he says, the Carrier IQ software recorded the “hello world” dispatch even before it was displayed on his handset.

Eckhart then connected the device to a Wi-Fi network and pointed his browser at Google. Even though he denied the search giant's request that he share his physical location, the Carrier IQ software recorded it. The secret app then recorded the precise input of his search query – again, “hello world” – even though he typed it into a page that uses the SSL, or secure sockets layer, protocol to encrypt data sent between the device and the servers.

“We can see that Carrier IQ is querying these strings over my wireless network [with] no 3G connectivity and it is reading HTTPS,” the 25-year-old Eckhart says.

The video was posted four days after Carrier IQ withdrew legal threats against Eckhart for calling its software a “rootkit.” The Connecticut-based programmer said the characterization is accurate because the software is designed to obscure its presence by bypassing typical operating-system functions.

In an interview last week, Carrier IQ VP of Marketing Andrew Coward rejected claims the software posed a privacy threat because it never captured key presses.

“Our technology is not real time,” he said at the time. "It's not constantly reporting back. It's gathering information up and is usually transmitted in small doses.”

Coward went on to say that Carrier IQ was a diagnostic tool designed to give network carriers and device manufacturers detailed information about the causes of dropped calls and other performance issues.

Eckhart said he chose the HTC phone purely for demonstration purposes. Blackberrys, other Android-powered handsets, and smartphones from Nokia contain the same snooping software, he claims.

The 17-minute video concluded with questions, including: “Why does SMSNotify get called and show to be dispatching text messages to [Carrier IQ]?” and “Why is my browser data being read, especially HTTPS on my Wi-Fi?”

The Register has put the same questions to Carrier IQ, and will update this post if the company responds. ®
Update

More than 19 hours after this post was first published, Carrier IQ representatives have yet to respond to a request for comment. Meanwhile, computer scientists have uncovered an unrelated Android glitch that could also invade smartphone users' privacy.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/11/30/smartphone_spying_app/

Carrier IQ references discovered in Apple's iOS

To date, the user tracking controversy surrounding Carrier IQ has focused primarily on Android, but today details are surfacing that the company also may have hooks into Apple's iOS. Well-known iPhone hacker Chpwn tweeted today that versions at least as recent as iPhone OS 3.1.3 contained references to Carrier IQ.

We were able to independently verify that at the very least, references to Carrier IQ's servers do exist within iPhoneOS 3.1.3 in a file located at /usr/bin/IQAgent. What exactly that binary is able to access or how it may communicate with either carriers or Carrier IQ is not yet known, though there are references to an IQAgent log on the device as well as references to collector.sky.carrieriq.com.

For versions 4.0 and up, Intell on MacRumors' forums has found similar references to the http://collector.sky.carrieriq.com location within /usr/bin/awd_ice2, although we have not independently verified that yet. Again, no clear word on just what is or is not being tracked or collected.

The story is developing, with chpwn promising a post providing as many details as he's been able to uncover thus far, including the possibility that the code wasn't enabled by default in iOS. We should emphasize that all we can say for sure at the moment is that iOS definitely contained references to Carrier IQ — but given how the story has progressed thus far, we expect there will be more to report on soon.

The Verge

The carriers that are found guilty of this should be made to pay, if not for the Open Source nature of android, this would have not been discovered when it was, now devs would be looking into every mobile OS

Postby pete » December 1st, 2011, 8:03 am

Feedback from the company here

IMHO the phone companies should have other avenues for getting user satisfaction feedback that putting spyware on all phones. :?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 1st, 2011, 4:01 pm

Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich review

If you argue that Ice Cream Sandwich isn't the largest incremental update to the Android platform since its birth, you're probably going to lose the fight. Not even counting the number of features added to 4.0, the changes in UI alone are enough to take your breath away. It's modern and refreshing, and the user experience is more polished than its predecessors, but we believe that newcomers to Google's mobile ecosystem won't find it quite as intuitive as competing operating systems as the tech-savvy and power-hungry crowd that has grown accustomed to Android in the past. Regardless of previous knowledge, this will probably be water under the bridge soon enough, as manufacturers push out devices with customized skins.

The interface isn't perfect, and several of its new features still have a beta feel (we're looking at you, Face Unlock), but Android 4.0 appears to do exactly what it set out to do: merge the best of two worlds into an attractive package. It's a gorgeous OS that offers great performance and -- for the most part -- doesn't feel like a half-baked effort. Factoring the new functionality, ICS effectively throws a one-two punch of mobile wonderment in our face. Ice Cream Sandwich feels like a natural evolution for Android, and we have a feeling Matias Duarte & Co. are just getting started.

Engadget

Postby S_2NR » December 1st, 2011, 7:33 pm

still waitin on ICS to be released :(

Postby Trini Hookah » December 1st, 2011, 7:56 pm

Anyone in here has or had experience with a Motorola Charm? :oops:

Any recommended apps?

Postby S_2NR » December 1st, 2011, 8:13 pm

why da soundin like ah woman phone :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » December 1st, 2011, 8:27 pm

LOL ogoarr :oops:

Starter android to try it out, will move on to something later on

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 1st, 2011, 11:23 pm

Google Targets Amazon's 'Prime' With 1-Day Delivery

Google Inc. is aiming to challenge the e-commerce supremacy of Amazon.com Inc. by diving deeper into the fast-growing world of Internet retailing.
The Web-search giant is in talks with major retailers and shippers about creating a service that would let consumers shop for goods online and receive their orders within a day for a low fee, said people familiar with the matter.

The Wall Street Journal

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 1st, 2011, 11:40 pm

Google confirms: we have no 'affiliation with Carrier IQ'

We've just received official word from Google about the Carrier IQ saga that has been blowing up the blogosphere today. In addition to confirming our report last night that Nexus devices do not include the software, Google also distanced itself from any responsibility for the tracking software:

We do not have an affiliation with CarrierIQ. Android is an open source effort and we do not control how carriers or OEMs customize their devices.

Increasingly, the story about Carrier IQ is turning into a story about where the blame lies. Two companies that actually have installed the software in some fashion — namely Apple and HTC — have either said they would remove it or would offer tools to customers to turn it off. RIM, Nokia, HP, and now Google also are distancing themselves from Carrier IQ. On the carrier front, Verizon has denied using the software, while Sprint says that it uses solely to "maintain network performance." That is a lot of companies running away from Carrier IQ, whose own commissioned independent investigation into keystroke logging isn't likely to come soon enough to bring anybody back.

The Verge

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 1st, 2011, 11:44 pm

Introducing a new homepage, new Channels, and a new look for YouTube

Today, we've launched a new homepage, new Channel design and added a fresh coat of digital paint to help you get more into YouTube and the Channels you care about.

Go forth to the updated www.YouTube.com and discover all the mind-blowing, comedic, useful, inspirational and truly awesome Channels that talented creators have built for you to discover!

YouTube Blog

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 3rd, 2011, 11:26 am

Apple's request to block Samsung Galaxy tablet, phone sales in the US is denied

As the legal drama between Apple and Samsung drags on around the world, US District Court Judge has rejected Apple's request to block the sales of Galaxy devices. Reuters reports the ruling came out late Friday, with the judge deciding "It is not clear that an injunction on Samsung's accused devices would prevent Apple from being irreparably harmed,". This isn't the first rejection for the folks from Cupertino either, after a request to speed up the trial was also denied back in July. The case itself will of course go on, but this means you'll still be able to get your hands on those Galaxy Tabs, Galaxy S IIs, and the like in the meantime.

Samsung:
Samsung welcomes today's ruling denying Apple's request for a preliminary injunction. This ruling confirms our long-held view that Apple's arguments lack merit. In particular, the court has recognized that Samsung has raised substantial questions about the validity of certain Apple design patents. We are confident that we can demonstrate the distinctiveness of Samsung's mobile devices when the case goes to trial next year. We will continue to assert our intellectual property rights and defend against Apple's claims to ensure our continued ability to provide innovative mobile products to consumers.

Engadget

dr_wildman

Postby dr_wildman » December 3rd, 2011, 9:01 pm

tuners i thinking of buying a ANDROID tablet or a iPod touch which 1 you guys would suggest? that is better?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 3rd, 2011, 9:13 pm

android all de way man

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2011, 9:44 pm

dr_wildman wrote:tuners i thinking of buying a ANDROID tablet or a iPod touch which 1 you guys would suggest? that is better?

depends on what ur using it for obviously

Postby pete » December 3rd, 2011, 10:30 pm

There's also an Android version of the ipod touch.

Galaxy Player 4.0

Galaxy Player 5.0

And unless I had purchased a bunch of apps on iOS already, I wouldn't even consider the itouch.
Only things the itouch have on those players is a higher res screen 960x640 as opposed to 800x480 and they can record 720p video (even though the camera on the itouch is supposedly 0.9MP as opposed to the 3.2 MP on the SGP)
SGP has GPS, built in FM radio and SD card slot.

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2011, 10:35 pm

i prefer my ipod touch to the galaxy player since it syncs seamlessly with itunes and because of ease of use.
i mostly use it for music though.

Postby pete » December 3rd, 2011, 11:12 pm

iTunes is part of the reason I hate my ipod touch.. Can't just plug in to any computer and copy songs.. maybe it does playlists a little easier and I guess I'll see when I get my SGP how tedious a task that is. I have a 2nd gen itouch so maybe that is why I don't like it but so many times itunes crashes when syncing, once i updated itunes and it removed all my music and movies from my itouch. bleh. drag and drop for me please.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » December 4th, 2011, 9:30 am

Where selling those players down here.

Postby pete » December 4th, 2011, 10:00 am

Nowhere yet.. That I know of. Maybe if their popularity takes off in the US people will start bringing them in to sell.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » December 4th, 2011, 3:04 pm

Courts Mega store has them all!

Postby Trini Hookah » December 4th, 2011, 3:19 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Anyone in here has or had experience with a Motorola Charm? :oops:

Any recommended apps?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 4th, 2011, 3:54 pm

hey guys, is there anyway to get the GPS to work down here? On the sgs2 that is...

Postby pete » December 4th, 2011, 4:07 pm

Whatcha mean? For turn by turn navigation? Not sure if there are any maps available for Trinidad for turn by turn navigation.

Postby r3iXmann » December 4th, 2011, 5:49 pm

u can use Waze for that ^

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 4th, 2011, 6:43 pm

yea waze is de next thing... not a good as google but next best thing

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » December 4th, 2011, 7:59 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:Anyone in here has or had experience with a Motorola Charm? :oops:

Any recommended apps?

1 or 2 apps i see will work on the phone

Launcher pro or adw home replacement(get rid of motoblur)
Advanced Task Killer
Angry Birds http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDCMqFKmsrU
Bonsai Blast
Skyfire (web browser)
Handcent SMS

Also i recommend you do this since the phone doesnt have much memory nor can it move apps to sd since its 2.1.

all steps taken from xda for the phone (i edited and added a few stuff linksetc)
first install easy installer (will enable you to access files on you sd)
step 1

Install z4root and root ur device and restart. (nb z4root is safe dont worry) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnKx1MAxMRI (tutorial incase ur not sure)

step 2
partition your sd card

Connect your SD card to PC with a card reader or phone itself and make it visible as a drive. Open Minitool select this drive and resize down FAT partition, you will see an unallocated area at the end of the card. Create ext2, ext3 or FAT32 partition in that area (create as primary, not logical), click apply. Unplug from the PC and reboot the phone. (To be on the safe side backup your data before starting)

step 3

install Link2sd and start application this will automatically lunch the script for mounting second partition u just have to restart your phone. https://market.android.com/details?id=c ... rch_result

step 4

all done just link ur app to SD

dr_wildman

Postby dr_wildman » December 4th, 2011, 8:17 pm

well i dont know much abt them.... like using the net ,play game n skype does the android can do those things?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 4th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Thanks alot fallen18! 8-)