Turbo the old diesel engine

wasbinator

Turbo the old diesel engine

Postby wasbinator » October 11th, 2004, 7:35 pm

Fellas ah just ask in the PSI forum and they tell meh that it possible to turbocharge my old nissan LD28 motor
So ah want to know if anybody have a idea on how it could be done, what is needed and how much it might cost.
Any information would be helpful

wasbinator

Postby wasbinator » October 12th, 2004, 7:11 pm

Oh gosh
help out a lil' indian boy nah
please

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » October 13th, 2004, 3:58 am

First thing would be to figure out the easiest/cheapest way to lower your CR drastically.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 13th, 2004, 8:50 pm

Inshan give the man some detailed info about how to go about it na....he really new to this stuff.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 14th, 2004, 8:23 am

Somebody..help him na, I would but I don't know about diesel tuning. I know they don't use spark plugs and have really high compression in order to ignite the mixture....that's it. He has a N/A LD28 and wants to turbocharge it...help him out with where he can find parts, approx. cost, labour involved, parts he will need etc.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » October 14th, 2004, 12:54 pm

I could address this, but first let me say... this is not going to be as simple as turbocharging a gas engine. Because of a NA diesel's extremely high CR, drastic changes have to be made wrt the comb. chamber to lower the CR.

It may involve changing or machining pistons, hogging out of the comb. chambers (this would usually upset the head burn design). I am not sure if the L28 turbo manifold fits the LD28 head, if it does, then a big part of your project is done for you. I am sure X2Board or Allan would be able to tell you more.

Just remember that when you turbo this engine, you will be shortening it's lifespan.

allan

Postby allan » October 19th, 2004, 12:49 pm

feller pm meh and i will give u some tips