School of Higher Education Reviews ? BSc in Construction

kevin310

School of Higher Education Reviews ? BSc in Construction

Postby kevin310 » December 30th, 2011, 9:49 am

Thinking about starting the BSc in Construction Project Management . I'm sure we have past students of the school on tuner. What are your thoughts ? Would you still sign up if u knew then what u know now ?

I want to get certified from a foreign university , without leaving the country. After checking around, this was the only school i found that offers courses in construction/civil engineering. I'm too paranoid / lack discipline to try any online courses. Thanks in advance

Re: School of Higher Education Reviews ? BSc in Construction

Postby AllTrac » December 30th, 2011, 9:59 am

dont know anything about the course itself, but I would advise that you go to an actual school forget those online crap, there is alot more you learn that regular book work when you are in and a part of an actual school/class environment, you also brush up your people skill and prepare yourself for the harshness of society by dail interactions etc etc

Postby stev » December 30th, 2011, 10:14 am

ent cipriani does do dem ting?

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » December 30th, 2011, 10:16 am

I agree 100%

badandy

Postby badandy » December 30th, 2011, 9:35 pm

place on rushworth st. by chance?

principal is a rel smartman and money man...

friend enrolled and got screwed all how with hidden fees...lol..eventually he got thru..

cant rem. what cert./degree he got[accredited...not sure....]

Azrael

Postby Azrael » December 30th, 2011, 10:49 pm

is costaatt better than utt?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 31st, 2011, 7:05 am

Azrael wrote:is costaatt better than utt?

what you think :?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » December 31st, 2011, 7:26 am

badandy wrote:place on rushworth st. by chance?

[size=85]principal is a rel smartman and money man..[/size].

friend enrolled and got screwed all how with hidden fees...lol..eventually he got thru..

cant rem. what cert./degree he got[accredited...not sure....]

I agree..Ole Mc Donald is what you mentioned there...
Got caught in his web and $3000 poorer

Postby pioneer » January 1st, 2012, 5:24 am

just don't come knocking on service commission's door when you're done expecting a job ok?

it doesn't work that way

Postby De Dragon » January 1st, 2012, 6:58 am

pioneer wrote:just don't come knocking on service commission's door when you're done expecting a job ok?

it doesn't work that way

Why boy?

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » January 1st, 2012, 7:10 am

pioneer wrote:just don't come knocking on service commission's door when you're done expecting a job ok?

it doesn't work that way

Why boy?

yeah why boy ?

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » January 1st, 2012, 7:45 am

All bullocks. The man running the school is probably a old money grubbing thief, but the course legit and government recognized. I know a few project managers from oil companies and government who did the course.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 1st, 2012, 10:01 am

i did it.
its not an online course
you sit in an actual class room and get lectures from qualified ppl
its worth it since you get your bsc from Heriot-Watt University (google it nah)
you even get an official graduation where the deans from the university come to Trinidad to hand you your degree personally.

is McDonald a smart man?
YES but he is helpful and will not bar you if you do not pay, he actually has a heart, (not like sbcs) and you are getting what you paid for since this course is not offered anywhere else.

Postby tr1ad » January 1st, 2012, 10:09 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:i did it.
its not an online course
you sit in an actual class room and get lectures from qualified ppl
its worth it since you get your bsc from Heriot-Watt University (google it nah)
you even get an official graduation where the deans from the university come to Trinidad to hand you your degree personally.

is McDonald a smart man?
YES but he is helpful and will not bar you if you do not pay, he actually has a heart, (not like sbcs) and you are getting what you paid for since this course is not offered anywhere else.

couldn't agree with you more....

it's a good service they offer, and old mc is a helpful guy especially when asked about career pathing

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » January 1st, 2012, 10:21 am

course is a bit expensive, but good ting no cheap........works out to about 75k , bridging courses included
sorry gate not available

Postby pioneer » January 1st, 2012, 4:15 pm

sinister_15 wrote:

it doesn't work that way

Why boy?

yeah why boy ?

Because in the real world degrees from utt and costatt mean nothing, "graduates" are usually no smarter than someone selling air fresheners by nestle.

Postby foss » January 1st, 2012, 7:07 pm

sinister_15 wrote:

it doesn't work that way

Why boy?

yeah why boy ?

Because in the real world degrees from utt and costatt mean nothing, "graduates" are usually no smarter than someone selling air fresheners by nestle.

proof?

Russellgold

Postby Russellgold » January 1st, 2012, 8:56 pm

check trinizuela bro..
city & guilds exams..!
xlent teaching

Postby pioneer » January 1st, 2012, 10:37 pm

They come to interviews, can't answer simple common sense questions like "tell us your personal strengths and abilities"...

They go onto say "well, i have a degree"

FAIL

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » January 2nd, 2012, 9:30 am

sinister_15 wrote:

it doesn't work that way

Why boy?

yeah why boy ?

I attended UTT , i understand why someone would say that about a UTT student. But you can say the same for any other educational institution . UWI included , i have co workers with first class degrees from UWI and they need to be trained from scratch. I mean simple things like pythagoras theorem. Everyone is different , and i am sure that this does not apply to the majority of university students. I have no shame in admitting that i forgot half of the things i learnt at school . But dont we all ? Can you blame a student if a syllabus is structured in such a way that student have to cram to pass an exam, instead of really understanding what he is doing ?

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2012, 11:45 am

sinister_15 wrote:

it doesn't work that way

Why boy?

yeah why boy ?

I attended UTT , i understand why someone would say that about a UTT student. But you can say the same for any other educational institution . UWI included , i have co workers with first class degrees from UWI and they need to be trained from scratch. I mean simple things like pythagoras theorem. Everyone is different , and i am sure that this does not apply to the majority of university students. I have no shame in admitting that i forgot half of the things i learnt at school . But dont we all ? Can you blame a student if a syllabus is structured in such a way that student have to cram to pass an exam, instead of really understanding what he is doing ?

Clearly you can't differentiate between job-specific training (which is always needed) for a new recruit and common sense.

I rest my case.