TriniTuner Blood Bank & Organ Donor Register

geodude

Re: TriniTuner Blood Bank Register

Postby geodude » October 31st, 2010, 11:44 am

can someone in the know post a list of the screening parameters so anyone considering can evaluate themselves before they actually go and get turned down,
would also save time answering the same questions from different individuals

geodude

Postby geodude » October 31st, 2010, 11:54 am

ok so i took my own advice seeing that it made so much sense and found the Criteria for Donating blood in Trinidad

Health criteria for donating blood

These guidelines are designed to ensure that blood recipients are protected from potentially harmful blood products, and that blood donors are protected from harm. Only people in good health are accepted as blood donors.

For your own safety, you should NOT give blood if:
* You have been prescribed medication for high blood pressure, diabetes, heart disease, fits or
asthma.
* You are a pilot or in any other service aircrew occupation.
* You have an occupation where a delayed faint from donating blood could cause a hazard (such as
a bus driver, heavy machine operator, etc.) UNLESS you will be off-duty immediately after your
donation.

For the safety of others, you should NOT give blood if:
* You or your sexual partner (past or present) has AIDS or tested positive for HIV.
* You are a man who has had sex with another man.
* You have ever accepted payment for sex.
* You have multiple sex partners.
* You carry the hepatitis B or C virus.
* You have ever injected drugs not prescribed by a doctor.
* You are a haemophiliac who has received treatment with clotting factor concentrate.
* You think you need an HIV test.
* You weigh less than 50kg.
* You have donated blood within the previous 16 weeks.
* You have donated blood three times in the previous year.
* You are pregnant.

You should not give blood for ONE YEAR if you have had sex with:
* A man who has had sex with a man (if you are a woman).
* A prostitute.
* A haemophiliac who has been treated with clotting factor concentrate.
* A carrier of hepatitis B or C.
* A person who has injected drugs not prescribed by a doctor.
or if you:
* Injured yourself with a needle or other sharp object contaminated with blood of another person.
* Had acupuncture, tattooing, ear or skin-piercing, tissue or hair transplantation.

link here
http://www.ttconnect.gov.tt/gortt/porta ... ting+Blood" target="_blank" target="_blank

sucks cause i can't donate, i was planning to make it a family event,

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 1st, 2010, 8:23 am

^^^^ "sucks cause i can't donate, i was planning to make it a family event"...
So still make the effort to get the family to donate!

One can easily see that having that desire to give blood on a regular basis can force persons to change or lead a healthy lifestyle.

Also it is suggested that regular blood donors tend to have much less health problems.

And when a friend or family is in urgent need, there is no stress to go hunting around for that elusive "pint".

Postby MG Man » November 1st, 2010, 8:30 am

I think I gonna make a turn next week and give

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 9:14 am

AutoSport wrote:^^^^ "sucks cause i can't donate, i was planning to make it a family event"...
So still make the effort to get the family to donate!

One can easily see that having that desire to give blood on a regular basis can force persons to change or lead a healthy lifestyle.

Also it is suggested that regular blood donors tend to have much less health problems.

And when a friend or family is in urgent need, there is no stress to go hunting around for that elusive "pint".

i hear you makes sense i will do a preliminary screening of some of my family members and if i get like 3 at least i will take them for a drive to the Mount Hope Hospital as the San Fernando hospital is real stress,

Do you know who i can contact about getting the mobile unit to visit a specific site, i am thinking about organizing a sort of heath fair, as around Christmas time most of the villages in the south area have social sport days for the community, if i can get them to visit would be great, on the day of these sport days would be a nice addition to the activities. Just and idea for now,

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 15th, 2011, 12:00 am

good info posted there geodude!!!!

looking forward to my next donation in, hopefully, March!!!

Postby MG Man » January 15th, 2011, 12:19 am

I overdue
think I gonna pass thru Mt Hope next week and give a unit

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 15th, 2011, 12:29 am

A blood bank unit usually visits my area and I'm made aware of such....last visit was early december.

Glad that I overcame my phobia about blood donation/needles........alas I could have started this so long ago.....

Postby MG Man » January 15th, 2011, 7:47 am

all part of my weight loss program

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 15th, 2011, 9:59 am

^^^what???? or are you just counting the 1 pint less as weight lost? if so then lol, but if there is some good talk in there I eh mind being informed...

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » March 11th, 2011, 1:49 pm

Blood Donors urged to boost supply

Chief Medical Officer Dr Anton Cumberbatch admitted yesterday that there has been a slowdown in the number of blood donors since January and asked that people continue to give blood freely.
"We would like if your family is going to do an operation you would see it as your civic duty to give blood," he said.
He said the Ministry of Health intended to expand the public awareness through media campaigns on the need to continue to voluntarily give blood.
Paula Chester-Cumberbatch, chief executive officer of the South West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA), who commended the Ministry on the system change for the collection of blood, explained that the former "chit system" was one that put pressure on the patient and their relatives to get the blood.
"The ministry stopped the chit system as of January 1; our role now is to continue to encourage people to volunteer to give blood, " she said.
She said the new volunteer system has taken away the responsibility of getting blood away from the patient and their families.
"So the system we have now will experience a little shock but I don't think it will last long."
She said as long as the Regional Health Authorities sensitise the public on the need to voluntarily donate blood things would improve.
Chester-Cumberbatch said on a weekly basis the SWRHA would ascertain its usage of blood for surgeries and other procedures.
Last week a San Juan woman whose father has been awaiting surgery for bladder cancer at the Port of Spain General Hospital for the past three months pleaded with the public to donate blood so that his life could be saved.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Don ... 77613.html

i went to mt hope today with a partner, both of us were going to give blood. they said, they were short staffed and would only be accepting 5 donors for the evening and they already had four and only take one of us. i said thanks and left. there will be a drive nearer to us next friday, we will be at that one.

i think that it is utterly ridiculous that they are appealing to people to donate due to low supplies and instead of making sure there is more than enough staff to accommodate persons willing to give freely, we have this non sense to deal with.

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2011, 6:20 pm

I've been turned away from mt hope before as well
and once, the told me I had to wait on 12 people..........I pointed out I was a VOLUNTARY donor, and these fcuks were only there out of desperation / necessity, and I remember a time voluntary donors were given preference...........woman just rolled her eyes
I drove to POS and gave there

Postby teems1 » March 11th, 2011, 10:23 pm

so wait nah MG

you have no problems with the new system of donating? with no bank system?

under this new policy, i could donate today, and in 2 weeks if i need it for myself, there exists the possibility that i won't have access to my own blood....

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2011, 11:52 pm

haven't donated in a while.............where'd u get this info?

Postby teems1 » March 14th, 2011, 3:42 pm

MG Man wrote:haven't donated in a while.............where'd u get this info?

from a thread in ole talk

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=362113&hilit=blood

Postby MG Man » March 14th, 2011, 7:18 pm

well that's fuckedup
that was always my insurance...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 19th, 2011, 11:53 am

^^^ent!!!!! I feel so violated and scorn all the juice and supligen I was fooled with!!!

Postby MG Man » March 20th, 2011, 12:30 am

sad thing is, lots of times I have donated blood to children in need who I did not even know, just because I read something somewhere, including here on tuner.........now someone cannot make a plea and get generous folks to rally to their cause since we can't donae for a specific person.........how forked up is that

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 21st, 2011, 11:16 pm

^^^^exactly!!!!!!

loch

Postby loch » March 24th, 2011, 10:37 am

I lost 7 units because they no longer use the account system. So now I have no back-up in case of emergency.
I normally stock pile and give to those who need and their family was medically unable to give. The sad thing is no one was informed it the new surprise.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 24th, 2011, 1:25 pm

And these people are complaining about a lack of Blood Donors?

When I go next month we will have a serious discussion on this unfortunate decision!

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2011, 1:52 pm

u forgot, the government says there is no shortage of blood

Postby wagonrunner » March 24th, 2011, 2:15 pm

MG Man wrote:u forgot, the government says there is no shortage of blood

what yuh expect?
when they looked out @ aranguez, and rienzi, they saw a lot of blood just waiting to be sucked out.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 29th, 2011, 7:33 pm

but they did note a drop of over 500 units per month......that's plenty!

krazy

Postby krazy » February 2nd, 2012, 2:52 pm

so i just read the criteria for donating blood.......only one thing i can't understand, why can't a man who has/had sex with a man donate blood?
is there any scientific reason for this?

Postby teems1 » March 22nd, 2012, 4:42 pm

krazy wrote:so i just read the criteria for donating blood.......only one thing i can't understand, why can't a man who has/had sex with a man donate blood?
is there any scientific reason for this?

because HIV and AIDS is/was very prevalent amongst the gay community

the chances of contracting the virus from unprotected anal sex is quite high. do some quick googling on it and you'll see exact % values.

slimsexytrini

Postby slimsexytrini » April 8th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Hey how do you get blood that was donated? A friend of mines sick and needs to get. Where to go and whats the procedure? I would be greatly appreciated for the help. Thanks.

Postby MG Man » April 8th, 2012, 7:12 pm

and you came here to ask that?
his medical practitioner didn't advise?

JM

Postby JM » April 11th, 2012, 1:13 am

Check with any blood bank at any hospital...Take the Donor card in with you...

Now that the old system is back does anyone know if old donor cards are valid?

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » August 8th, 2012, 11:25 pm

Have donated a couple times in the past. But will be eligible again from June 2013.