Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
L_man1986

Re: Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby L_man1986 » October 3rd, 2011, 8:19 pm

HEY GREAT INFO GIVEN. JUST ONE QUESTION. I HAVE A CAR WHICH IS IMMOBILE AT THE MOMENT. I AM SELLING IT, IF AND WHEN IT IS SOLD WHAT DO I DO ABOUT THE TRANSFER AS THE CAR WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO BE SEEN AT HTE LICENSE OFFICE???? :?

leonhussain1986@hotmail.com

thanx

Poison Ivy

Postby Poison Ivy » October 12th, 2011, 3:57 pm

anyone know the process and cost to change a vehicle from P to H?

Party rocK

Postby Party rocK » October 14th, 2011, 9:55 am

does the other party (seller) have to be present at the counter or can he copy his legal documents etc. and let the buyer do the transfer when changing over the vehicle into his/her name?

ps. if there is a change of colour on the vehicle that is different from the colour on the certified copy ..what has to be done ? thanks in advance .

ronaldinho gaucho

Postby ronaldinho gaucho » October 16th, 2011, 11:25 am

how about changing your vehicle from R to P,Whats the process with that

Lance

Postby Lance » October 17th, 2011, 1:13 pm

toyolink wrote:I don't believe this infor. has been posted as yet,so here goes;

I just got back home after seeking to transfer a PCP vehicle which was first registered in May 2010 and myself and buyer were advised that all roll-on roll-off units which have been registered over the last 2 years are subject to an off site exercise and the period needed to clear the transfer is up to 2 weeks.

Until the paper work comes back the licensing authority will accept no payment for transfer and therfore no receipt can be provided to facilitate closure of bank financing during this period.

We visited with the officer in charge and he confirmed the situation and although he was sympathetic he indicated that the present situation was somewhat out of the licensing authorities hands and there was very little he could do.He also recognised that 'competent authorities' may not have published anything to inform the public.
All sellers and buyer be so advised.

Anyone,

Is this still the case?

sally giffard

Postby sally giffard » October 20th, 2011, 8:32 pm

can anyone tell me the cost to change from H to a P car

Postby Morpheus » November 1st, 2011, 10:15 pm

Ah yes. The "search" function works..........

BUMP

sasgaralli1

Postby sasgaralli1 » November 4th, 2011, 4:53 pm

i have to a transfer but the person has the company name on the certified. can some please tell em the procedure to transfer a car with the company name as the owner? thanks

sasgaralli1

Postby sasgaralli1 » November 7th, 2011, 12:09 pm

any1 plz?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 10th, 2011, 1:40 pm

Initial post update to be neater.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 17th, 2011, 2:41 pm

^ good job

question:
I already applied to get a certified copy when i made the transfer. Can I give the chit to anyone to collect the certified copy or I need to collect it in person?

Lance

Postby Lance » November 27th, 2011, 4:07 pm

searchingone wrote:^ good job

question:
I already applied to get a certified copy when i made the transfer. Can I give the chit to anyone to collect the certified copy or I need to collect it in person?

Chit can be given to anyone. However, if you want to make sure, you can probably write a small letter and send a copy of your ID. That should be more than sufficient.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 28th, 2011, 9:02 am

Lance wrote:
searchingone wrote:^ good job

question:

Chit can be given to anyone. However, if you want to make sure, you can probably write a small letter and send a copy of your ID. That should be more than sufficient.

thank you!

Peppermoney

Postby Peppermoney » November 30th, 2011, 8:35 am

if you change an engine, what is the process that you have to go through in the license office in town?

foxy girl

Postby foxy girl » January 4th, 2012, 2:40 pm

If I bought d car a while now (jus never had d time 2 transfer) an put full insurance 4d year on it den there is no need for d previous owner to show proof of his previous insurance right???????

foxy girl

Postby foxy girl » January 4th, 2012, 2:48 pm

Peppermoney wrote:if you change an engine, what is the process that you have to go through in the license office in town?

Jus go in town an tell dem u wanna do a change of engine. they may jus make u full out a form an do an inspection. Not a long procedure.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 10th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Listing updated, PCU added.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 11th, 2012, 1:39 am

People, Sando is the best place to transfer. In and out in less than one hour.

That could never happen in POS.

fras

Postby fras » January 21st, 2012, 8:35 pm

How much is engine change and vehicle inspection?

larafan

Postby larafan » February 4th, 2012, 9:42 am

question....

i'm buying acompany owned vehicle, and was told by the persons selling that i would have to pay VAT on the vehicle, baasically its 90,000 for the vehicle so i would have to pay 13,500 vat....

whats the story here?...i need some clarification

fras

Postby fras » February 4th, 2012, 10:46 am

that is correct... no vat on company vehicle!

larafan

Postby larafan » February 6th, 2012, 9:04 am

fras wrote:that is correct... no vat on company vehicle!

so i would have to pay the 13,500?

linker

Postby linker » February 23rd, 2012, 7:01 pm

NorStar2K wrote:People, Sando is the best place to transfer. In and out in less than one hour.

That could never happen in POS.

+1!!
Transfer took about an hour and went back 7 days later and got my certified copy. :D :D :D

*skunk2*

Postby *skunk2* » February 25th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Hey if ur license plate is PCA year 2002 how much do u have to pay?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 26th, 2012, 1:39 pm

*skunk2* wrote:Hey if ur license plate is PCA year 2002 how much do u have to pay?

Come nah man, allyuh getting too lazy now. Check the first page of the post. Here, now do the math. :lol:

New Transfer Taxes (as of October 1 2009):
Cars
$6000.00 - Under 2 years
$4500.00 - Over 2 years but not over 5 years
$3000.00 - Over 5 years but not over 7 years
$1350.00 - Over 7 years but not over 10 years
$0150.00 - Over 10 years

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 26th, 2012, 1:55 pm

And for those of you who don't transfer immediately at the point of purchase from the previous owner (cash purchases), you are circumventing the law. Banks, cognizant of this, will not issue the check for payment without the proof of transfer (chit).

Also proof of ownership does not lie with your insurance, but what the certified copy says. Yet policies are being issued without an updated certified copy. And, in an accident the previous owner can be held accountable especially in the event of an injury/accidental death.

And those of you who've never transferred will soon find out the implications of this if you have to get your vehicle inspected (5+). But hey, I'm sure someone will say there's a way around that right too? SMH!

x2bord

Postby x2bord » March 17th, 2012, 12:28 am

How come it don't have series like PCG and PCO??????

zamoomafo

Postby zamoomafo » April 15th, 2012, 12:30 pm

i did a search on a car i want to buy and the results showed it was used to get a mortagage , it is possible for the mortagage to be paid off and it search still reflect this ...?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 2nd, 2012, 1:17 pm

anyone knows teh cost to reserve a number plate

firaz25

Postby firaz25 » May 19th, 2012, 9:00 pm

Nite everybody. I really need some help.

I gonna buy a van right but the present owner does not have the certified copy. He lost it.
What is the procedure for getting a new one??

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”