Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 16th, 2011, 11:10 am

Yup..Workin on it actually

Postby pugboy » November 16th, 2011, 12:31 pm

are they selling infrared grills locally yet ?
charbroil making some not too expensive now
gyro grills are infrared, they use a ceramic stone which converts the lpg fire into radiant heat

Postby SR » November 16th, 2011, 2:41 pm

yes both the home store and abc had the last time i checked

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » November 18th, 2011, 3:03 am

pugboy wrote:are they selling infrared grills locally yet ?
charbroil making some not too expensive now
gyro grills are infrared, they use a ceramic stone which converts the lpg fire into radiant heat

Yes , bought this one from Pricesmart Chaguanas beginning of the year....

I have some chicken on the grill, seasoned with Ethiopian Berbareh .
DSC04003.JPG
CharBroil Quantum Infrared Grill

dman

Postby dman » November 25th, 2011, 2:10 pm

hey fellas unfortunately i am looking for a grill again - pugboy thanks for the one u gave me it worked great until my pits (pitbulls) sent it flying and it was no more (it was an accident ) so i am looking again

i would like a charcoal grill with smoker if not just a good grill none of the thin stuffi saw this at dansteel south it looks good but soft and reviews say once out of the box it rusts quickly

http://www.charbroil.com/ProductInfo/10 ... moker.aspx

it is $2100 i believe

i would like something like this but in a durable model

Postby De Dragon » November 27th, 2011, 5:27 pm

dman wrote:hey fellas unfortunately i am looking for a grill again - pugboy thanks for the one u gave me it worked great until my pits (pitbulls) sent it flying and it was no more (it was an accident ) so i am looking again

i would like a charcoal grill with smoker if not just a good grill none of the thin stuffi saw this at dansteel south it looks good but soft and reviews say once out of the box it rusts quickly

http://www.charbroil.com/ProductInfo/10 ... moker.aspx

it is $2100 i believe

i would like something like this but in a durable model

So yuh pit destroy yuh pit? :lol:

Postby SR » November 27th, 2011, 8:50 pm

what a PITy

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2011, 12:44 pm

beef pie for lunch

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2012, 6:40 am

selling the combo pit I made last year as I don't have much time to use it.
Haven't used it in months.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=421532

Postby X_Factor » February 10th, 2012, 7:28 am

^WTF!! i cant believe it....

this is as good as it gets ppl...would blow away any of those commercial grills

btw...doing a lil project and it involves a bit of welding....its just to build a rack 14" in diameter...
yuh have time these days?

Postby SR » February 10th, 2012, 8:54 am

sold the gas grill going shopping for a new one next month

looking at the charbroil infrared line

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2012, 12:22 pm

I might be able to do it tomorrow if everything cut and just need tacking
I welding up a shelf tomorrow midmorning or so

Infrared is the bomb for high heat searing, I want to get a small one

Postby SR » February 10th, 2012, 1:19 pm

prices not bad waiting for a sale though the newer ones work nice for smoking as well

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2012, 4:05 pm

I know somebody who got a scratch/dent one from pricesmart xmas time like 1/2 price

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 12th, 2012, 2:25 pm

I moved from coals to gas recently , bought a Weber S-320 grill (awesome grill)

Question : I saw the empty LPG gas tanks for sale at pricesmart, where do i get them filled?

Thanks.

Postby SR » April 12th, 2012, 2:30 pm

north plant gas processors in either macoya industrial estate or on gaston st changuanas

recomend converting to 20lb lpg instead

much cheaper and you can get replacment cylinders at any gas station

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 12th, 2012, 2:43 pm

thanks sr! will do that soon

Postby X_Factor » April 13th, 2012, 7:40 pm

my latest ratch grill/smoker
its pretty much a drum with a ring burner at the bottom, and a smoke pan on the top of the ring stove with a few chunks of coal and hickory wood chips
i did a fast ting with some chicken and it actually worked excellent fast ...crisp skin, tender meat...chicken was done in about 50mins
gonna try some lamb tmr...i need a cover though, so i can put in a temp gauge

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2012, 8:21 pm

why the cloth covering the ring burner ?
you have to be careful doing that as the ring burner has air inlets just by the knobs
the fire could choke and out and then you would have a barrel full of lpg waiting to explode

Postby X_Factor » April 13th, 2012, 9:01 pm

yeah, i learnt that the hard way....i moved it after...

what u doin in the morning?...might pass for the saws

Postby shogun » April 13th, 2012, 9:13 pm

BlueIce wrote:I moved from coals to gas recently , bought a Weber S-320 grill (awesome grill)

Freal.

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2012, 10:19 pm

will be in all morning
pass anytime in the morning

X_Factor wrote:yeah, i learnt that the hard way....i moved it after...

what u doin in the morning?...might pass for the saws

Postby X_Factor » April 14th, 2012, 11:08 am

so when we having a lil cook off now?

Postby SR » April 14th, 2012, 1:33 pm

have to assemble the new pit

:)

plus in the works is a new custom made barrel pit that project will start next month

Postby X_Factor » April 14th, 2012, 2:32 pm

^ take some build pics of the barrel pit

Postby SR » April 14th, 2012, 4:25 pm

will try to document

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2012, 7:04 pm

just make sure it don't weigh close to 1/2 ton

Postby SR » April 15th, 2012, 4:40 pm

na na has to be able to move around and possible easy...ish to transport

trying not to get carried away on the design

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 15th, 2012, 9:38 pm

finished mines in 1/2 hr on old yrs day ... even cut the area under neath it for the flame/heat to be properly ventilated.... still need to find time to build a suitable stand... bricks make a firm but imovable stand .

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » April 15th, 2012, 9:48 pm

SR wrote:have to assemble the new pit

:)

plus in the works is a new custom made barrel pit that project will start next month

chewps..still awaiting the taste of sr's legendary bbq