how much you tip at restaurants ?

mediahouse

how much you tip at restaurants ?

Postby mediahouse » February 14th, 2012, 8:35 pm

Most restaurants nowadays encourage this tipping as part of the service of the waiter/waitress , but is it really necessary to tip them?

lets say you on a date and your meals cost 350 or so maybe more on top that they charge you 10% service charge and 15% vat , so lets say your bill cross 400 now with included taxes and on top of that the waiter now expects a tip. What will you do or how much you tip?

Today i tip a waiter $5 after the meal cost bout 400 and she said only $5 , like wtf she expect me to mine she ah wa?

Is it just me or arent a restaurant suppose to provide free service to customers like taking orders, tending tables etc, its all part of the experience. Now they get smart and you have to pay 10% just for them to serve you which should already be their job.

I know most chine shops dont have any service charge its usually the high society names adopt this "smart" business sense .

so what do you tip?

Re: how much you tip at restaurants ?

Postby pioneer » February 14th, 2012, 8:40 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 14th, 2012, 8:43 pm

tip is around 10%, so $40 for your $400 bill

that's a mighty affordable restaurant you ate at BTW

mediahouse, when you out with your g/f, do you talk about the same thing she spoke about yesterday?

Postby redmanjp » February 14th, 2012, 8:44 pm

well maybe not free but i find dat service charge should cover it

geh she d $5

ah wonder if they end up making more in tips than their actual salary

Postby Trini Hookah » February 14th, 2012, 8:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:tip is around 10%, so $40 for your $400 bill

mediahouse, when you out with your g/f, do you talk about the same thing she spoke about yesterday?

HAHAHAH!!!!

Postby SR » February 14th, 2012, 8:57 pm

sigh

if yuh hadda ask yuh eatin in the wrong place

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » February 14th, 2012, 8:58 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:tip is around 10%, so $40 for your $400 bill

HAHAHAH!!!!

Hahaha, but it's like what Duane said, usually 10% of the bill, but i think they don't deserve it if they have attitudes like that ($5 only?). On the other hand, those guys who help you carry your stuff/goods at supermarkets do deserve it. IMO btw

Postby S_2NR » February 14th, 2012, 9:01 pm

10% if service is good.
0% if not

Postby Bizzare » February 14th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Since it seems like tipping is compulsory, why don't these establishments just add the markup (10% as you guys say) on the meal itself.
Cuz if it's my choice whether I tip or not, any waitress telling me the following would piss me off :x :x :x

mediahouse wrote:Today i tip a waiter $5 after the meal cost bout 400 and she said only $5 , like wtf she expect me to mine she ah wa?

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » February 14th, 2012, 9:03 pm

them mad yes all kinda extra chargers and wah a big tip on top that...

Postby SR » February 14th, 2012, 9:05 pm

tipping isnt compulsory

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 14th, 2012, 9:11 pm

10% or greater.

Postby gastly369 » February 14th, 2012, 9:15 pm

shame to say what i does tip oui

*now understands why i think they flirting with me when i leaving*

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 14th, 2012, 9:15 pm

mediahouse wrote:Most restaurants nowadays encourage this tipping as part of the service of the waiter/waitress , but is it really necessary to tip them?

lets say you on a date and your meals cost 350 or so maybe more on top that they charge you 10% service charge and 15% vat , so lets say your bill cross 400 now with included taxes and on top of that the waiter now expects a tip. What will you do or how much you tip?

Today i tip a waiter $5 after the meal cost bout 400 and she said only $5 , like wtf she expect me to mine she ah wa?

Is it just me or arent a restaurant suppose to provide free service to customers like taking orders, tending tables etc, its all part of the experience. Now they get smart and you have to pay 10% just for them to serve you which should already be their job.

I know most chine shops dont have any service charge its usually the high society names adopt this "smart" business sense .

so what do you tip?

I dont tip in places like ruby tuesday, tgi friday's etc unless the service is really good(which is never is). I'm being charged a service charge already. If it is, I would probably just round up the bill(leave $15-$20 give or take).

If I go to other restaurants;chaud, Jaffa etc, I would however leave a tip; usually 10% of the before tax+ vat total cost . Usually less if I think the service should of been better; or none at all if i'm disappointed.

Tipping isn't mandatory here; you're being charged gratuity already.
Last edited by crazychinee on February 14th, 2012, 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 14th, 2012, 9:15 pm

bassotronics, have to disagree with you there. Some of the grocery baggers have a STINK attitude, but a few are genuine and are tipped to suit.

Postby rollingstock » February 14th, 2012, 9:26 pm

Tip the waitress.....

Tip the bartender.......

Tip the bag boys........

But pass a little $40 to your friendly neighborhood policeman and everybody makes a stink over it :?

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 14th, 2012, 9:33 pm

Postby equipped2ripp » February 14th, 2012, 9:34 pm

10% service charge isn't the tip towards the server.

the 10% service charge a restaurant charges, pays for the tablecloths, dishes, cutlery and what have you. it's the establishment that takes the 10%, the server doesn't get the 10%, unless the establishment gives them a 1 or 2% as an added bonus to their salary.

Postby Stephon. » February 14th, 2012, 9:38 pm

Some of yall need to spend some time in Canada and not tip :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 14th, 2012, 9:38 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:10% service charge isn't the tip towards the server.

the 10% service charge a restaurant charges, pays for the tablecloths, dishes, cutlery and what have you. it's the establishment that takes the 10%, the server doesn't get the 10%, unless the establishment gives them a 1 or 2% as an added bonus to their salary.

So why does ruby tuesday charge this shiet for takeout?
10% to bring it to my car?

Who gets tipped for doing their job anyway?

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2012, 9:44 pm

a lot of it depends on the quality of service received also

Postby S_2NR » February 14th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Stephon. wrote:Some of yall need to spend some time in Canada and not tip :lol:

for real :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 14th, 2012, 9:56 pm

if the waitress is pleasant i leave 40$ if she is a beyotch as alot of them sometime are i elave 4$ for kix....but i always try to distinguish between a tired waitress and an attitude.
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on February 14th, 2012, 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

konartis

Postby konartis » February 14th, 2012, 9:57 pm

i doh tip at all!! that service charge is they damn tip...you does dpne have to beg them to serve you in most places anyways...well except at zani bar in movie town, them service bess!! but still..no tip!!

Postby SR » February 14th, 2012, 9:58 pm

in chain and big restaurants the server dont get anything

in small mom an pop places the server gets the tip but there is not 10% extra charge or vat on your bill

some of allyuh does tip to impress yuh date cuz u feel its the "right thing to do'

in most cases that 10% is the rest way of charging you a higher bill without adding it in to the price of the actual meal itself

this is how they increase thier profit margin

Postby teems1 » February 14th, 2012, 10:39 pm

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » February 14th, 2012, 10:48 pm

As said before, the 10% service charge does not go toward the server. It goes toward the establishment.

A lot of people who work in these types of jobs depend on the tips or gratuity they make for doing their job. In Trinidad, you don't have to tip someone, as I agree that most servers have bad attitudes, in which case you're free to leave $0.

If your server was good to you and treated you with excellent service, it is common place to show your gratuity with a monetary reward. 10% - 15% is the North American norm, but we're in Trinidad so that isn't mandatory. Even $20 goes a long way to show your appreciation here.

As Stephon. pointed out, if some of you left our shores and gave a waiter a $5 tip on a $400 bill, you'd probably be embarrassed while walking out of the restaurant. Outside of Trinidad, tips are mandatory (10-15%) and this is printed on the menu.
Last edited by jsm1985 on February 14th, 2012, 10:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 14th, 2012, 10:48 pm

hadda be mediahouse eh
ibtl

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 14th, 2012, 10:57 pm

left a twenny @ jenny's todai afta a buffet special 4 2! 600 bucks . twas self service btw

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 14th, 2012, 11:20 pm

All this to say yuh spend $400 on diner with ah gyal :?

You're a Freaking cheapskate to only give the waitress $5.. Gratuity should be 15% of the total bill. Nothing less unless if you had bad service